Advice Needed: Any Mummy who put baby in infant care centre ?

Ive been bringing my gal to the IFC for the past few days for 30 - 60 mins each day before her actual enrollment on Monday. Today my gal poo-ed there and I witnessed one of the teachers changing her diaper. gosh! she was quite rough! Then I get her to warm the milk for me, it was quite hot and she insists that it was just right. sigh... i hope other teachers are better...

sherine,
no. mine is in amk

Hi Pei Pei, yap at my kids IFC they mix both BM and formula for me to feed them. Not bad leh, your IFC provide so many things. I remembered on my first day, both hubby and me need to go coz got so many barang. Do tell the teacher you displeasure. Otherwise they will think that you are ok with everything. How big is your gal? My twins are coming 4 months and they seem ok with strangers which is a good thing. I want them to be sociable as I've seen how my niece who is so sticky to my SIL. Touch her abit only she will cry until like someone died.

Hihi, we have many new mummies joining us here! ^^

My boy's butt area very red yesterday.. I guessed due to he refusing to lie down during diaper changing, not clean properly bah.. Then silly me forgot to indicate this on the comm book today..

One qn, how do we change bb diaper smoothly when they more mobile huh? I have being struggle with this for so long.. until I really dislike changing diaper for my boy. On good days, toys or other things can make him guai guai let me change diaper. But most of the times, is catching time lor.. untill I just let him stand and change for him, but cannot wipe clean enough..

pastries,
hw abt giving him something to play wif?
i will give jodie either her calendula cream or a spare diaper

this thread is running fast, no time to log in for past few days.

My IFC can store my whole packet of diaper.i calculate that i need to bring about 1 big packet a month.the centre will change the diaper about 3 hrs each time..so about 3-4 at IFC then at home, before sleep, i change once.for clothes, change twice at IFC and once when reach home, cos weather hot leh, change to short sleeve,

aiyo,my boy oso struggle when changing diaper.very hard hor, if use pullup pants, very exp leh..i oni use when i go outside..so i distract him when watever log, like juju78cream, spare diaper, vick etc..

snowyee11, can u share again how u cook the porridge? did u buy those porridge maker e.g pigeon and put inside rice cooker? or u use slow cooker? I saw isetan selling TIGER porridge maker like thermal flask like tat, im wondering if can put rice inside will turn to porridge.cos im looking at easier way to cook dinner for mt boi..hes coming to one, need more solid such as rice/porridge, cant be forver feeding cereal+veg+meat.

Juju/Janiemin, my boy also likes to play with spare diaper! haha! I give whatever I can, ru yi oil, diaper cream, hp.. but most of the time, he just refuse to lie down, and even 2 adults cannot handle, he want to crawl away means nothing can stop him. End up I wear the diaper for him from his butt to the front.. Every diaper change like a nightmare for me!

I also reserve pull up pants for outside use only.

I cook porridge using slow cooker. Cook the meat & vege, then use the water from cooking meat in slow cooker for porridge. I only throw the vege & meat into the slow cooker when time to serve because don't want to lose the nutrients. Then add abit of ikan billis powder into the porridge before serving. But lately my boy don't like porridge, he likes whatever we are eating but I don't let him eat.

By one year old can increase solid meal to 3 per day right?

Sophia, guess probably it's new bah. The IFC just below my block, so these 2 days I start to bring things down liao.

I have told them how to warm my bm this morning cos they use HOT water to warm the bm. By right, can only use warm water as high temp will spoil the nutrients in the bm.

My gal is 15 weeks now. Just a little younger than yours. Ya, definitely we also want our gal to be more sociable.

Pei Pei,
Maybe your ifc is new and the teachers also new.
U monitor closely.

LC,
Don't worry ya, it's common they will fall sick in ifc..My boi got flu also like once or every 2mths. When they are older, give some supplements like vitamins to build up their immunity.

Pastries,
my boi also the same, he like to turn here turn there when I change his diaper, I also need to distract him toys to distract him. Sometimes I told him change diaper, then he will "guai guai" lie down.

we mummies here all same fate, diaper changing has become a nite mare yes. my boy ... no matter what i gif him - spare diaper/toy/calendula cream, he'll put inside his mouth! now i only gif him things that he CAN put inside his mouth. sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

hv not started using pull-up pants due to high costs.

pastries
hv 2 air d butt area for as long as it's convenient 4u. don't mean to scare you, the last time my boy had nappy rash, dunno y affect the penis, kena penis infection, heng it cleared up after a few days (but need to put steroid cream tt doc prescribed. if mon the redness doesn't go away, tell the IFC teachers to try & air d butt area as well.

pei pei
yes, voice ur concerns 2 d teachers. yes, cannot use hot water to warm BM. i'm surprised the IFC pple don't know this

snowyee11, no leh, these teachers are transferred from other centres one. i will monitor closely since i only start work in Apr.

Lina, the reason they gave was because the warmer takes a long time, hot water faster! so now i give them instruction to use the warmer and warm the milk 30mins before my gal's feed time and keep the milk in the warmer until she wants to drink.

i think the teachers are going to find me very fussy, cos the other kid there on bm has not such instruction (probably the mother didn't know)! and also i ask them to use wet cotton balls (not wet wipes) to clean my gal if she dirties herself, cos gal mah, very messy, wet wipes might not be as easy to clean. then the teacher said she will use what is the convenient to them. think i'm not going to top up the wet wipes and force them to use cotton balls. haha...

peipei,
dat will take a super long time wor...
btw, why cannot use hot water?
even when mil warmed up my ebm during confinement, she also use hot water leh

juju, if the water is very hot it will destroy the nutrients in the ebm. i'm using pigeon food warmer. usually i set the temp to ard 50 deg (recommended is 40deg though) and it takes about 10-15 mins to warm the milk. at most, i will set it to 70deg to speed up the warming if in a hurry. i didn't know about this too, until my friend told me and get me the warmer.

well, just make sure it's not boiling hot water bah. ard 70deg should be ok. also dun let the ebm heat up till too hot.

of cos la. else how to feed super hot cereal to bb? & glass btls can't even be handled when hot lor... ouchie!

wow......this thread is running fast....

feel very tired, i had been working real late nights recently n sleep at almost 2am everyday.... luckily my gal dun wake up for milk liao.

Hi Pei pei,how's ur gal? doing fine at ifc?

thanks mummies for all d advise on fruit puree, i am kind of excited letting my gal to start semi solid, i think is a big step for her.

ya, now difficult to change diaper for my gal oso, she likes to turn here n there, cannot keep still.

pastries, thanks for ur advice on cooking porridge.

Yeterday went to isetan sale n bght the porridge maker,the SA said add boiling water & rice and 45 mins later will have porridge, dun true or not but bght in the end cos not very exp lah 39.90. My boi boi starts to walk recently, and through out ydae shopping, he doesnt want to be carried or put in pram..he wants to walk..pooed when to change diaper 2 adults oso cant handle!!sigh..

yes, better to ait the butt..but sometimes no choice leh, they dun wan to lie down.so have to quickly change.

Hi sherine and snowyee
very tiring Mann!! My boy din go to the centre since Tuesday. Though fever subsided on thurs, we decided to keep him with us until next Monday.. Today went Chinatown to get the med for his phlegm.. He always has this phlegm problem probably he was a 36weeker. I am very exhausted cos hubby working at night and I have to handle my boy and my three month old girl and I kept them in separate rooms, just in case my girl got the flu bug so these few nights, I had to keep going to the two rooms to check on them and to latch my girl. Sometime feel that we are superwomen.
Back to IFC, have to close one eye at times. The teachers might say ok ok ok to your requests but might not follow end of the day and your baby is still well and good when they get home.. I deposited one packet of diapers with the IFC. I used those Cheap but ok diapers as I know the teachers will keep changing as not to have any complain on nappy rash.

For babies on solid food, you might wan to do an extra tub of purée for the centre to mix with the cereal, if they allow. I did thar as I feel mixing cereal with milk is not nutrious enuf and is boring for my boy. More work of course.. Just my suggestion.

bluzcorner, my gal will be going to ifc tomorrow! I do hope she can adapt well. but from last week's experience (been bringing her here for 30 - 60mins each day), she seems to be quite ok after the first few visits and will play on her own when sitting on the rocker chair. It's exciting for us tomorrow, but I'll be so sad without her at home with me for the next 3 weeks, before i go back to work.

re: ebm
I also didn't know cannot use hot water to warm up ebm!! Juju, u still bfing? Wow.. pei fu pei fu

Janiemin, the porridge maker sounds so convenient, do feedback after u have used it! Your boy can walk already? So fast ah, my boy only just learnt how to sit up on his own at 10 mth, slow manz! Till now, he still tummy crawling since 7 mth. But I was so happy when he sit up on his own cos I was so worried at one stage lor..

Now your boy just know how to walk, he won't want ppl to carry or sit in pram, but after a while, he will want you to carry! Many ppl told me that (when the novelty of walking wears off, haha)

Pei Pei, all the best to your gal at IFC today. Why sad? Go shopping, had high tea, enjoy & pamper yourself before going back to work. :)

I agree with LC tat we are superwoman, i oso handle my bb most of the time as hubby got rotate shifts and study part time at nite..actually good to bring own puree and muz with the cereal but very lasy + tired..excuses ++.whaha..so LC u are really super mummy.

Porridge maker.
I tried liao.really will cook the rice to porridge wor.I first boiled the stock and rice to boiling state then i trsf to the food jar.cos i missed the timing, i went checked after almost 2 hrs whahaa..very busy, it was cooked..then i poured out into a pot to add vegetable & fish to cook over the stove for less than 5 mins..ok next time, i shall try to put everything in and see how..and this time must really time for 45 mins as wat the SA said.

I guess its time for me to cook some porridge for my bb at dinner, last time he rely on cereal.nw he close to 1 year, must give something more nutritious lah, but no time to watch over the fire so i bght this porridge make to try..Its TIGER brand, its actually call Food Jar..selling 39.90 at isetan during sale, they state usual price is 109..I shall try to add eveything tonight and see how.

Yes, my bb just learnt how to walk..again, bring him to jurong point ntuc yesterday and wants to walk, made a fuss there.hiaz..

Hi Juju78,
I copied n pasted fm other thread.Hope the mummy dont mind.kekeke.700ML Tiger Porridge Maker & Food Jar w Bag (MCW-PO71). $39 @ Isetan Private Sale for Mbrs onli
Here's pdt link, same model no. as Edj's http://www.usa.tiger-corporation.com/products/72
$49 @ Carrefour..

U go check out cos i heard the price went up.no more sale liao.but other place oso selling.so can go look ard.

janiemin,
muacks! dat means mine also can!
lol... mine is MCW-P091, 0.9L... hee... dun nid to spend extra money liao. cos the manual put only for keeping things warm, nvr say can cook

Hi janiemin

your hubby working shift too? U have a helper? I am all alone . Wonder if I should just let go and get a maid.. Finacially heavy with two kids and a maid..

Re:porridge maker
this is interesting.. Too bad, my boy passed the porridge times, now he wan to eat what we are eating..

Hi pastries
prob your boy will be able to speak earlier.. Heard usually slow in walking will speak earlier.. I wanted my boy to walk when he couldn't, now he is walking and walking everywhere he wants, very headache! And u are right, he dun wan to be carried and the pram but after awhile he wan to be carried and he is heavy..

Re: extra classes
any mummies bringing their babies for extra classes other than IFC?

Peipei,
I think it is good that you brought your girl to familiar with the environment 1st. Yoru gal should get used to it very fast.

LC,
Wa, you reali supermummy. You can take care 2 kids alone without maid, I don't think I can.

Enrichment classes
My boi now in PG. Well, I intend to bring him for some enrichment classes when he is older. Nw, still too early. He only knows how to play, even in the PG now, the teachers told me he like to walk here walk there, cannot sit still.

janiemin,
Ya, I heard from Su Dajie your boi can walk. Wow pretty fast leh. Ur boi now hw many mths? Mine only started working at 13mths. Now he don't wan me and my hubby to carry or hold his hand. Somemore now he can run, I feel so tired chasing after him. Sigh! If only me & my boi alone, then he will sit in the pram. If my hubby around, he will want to come down or ask my hubby to carry when he is tired.

Or the lunch jar you bought is cheap leh $39.90. Usually tiger brand quite exp. Mine is ENDO brand, I bought around $30 from giant, looks abit like yours, don't know can make
porridge anot but I know if I cook the porridge in the morning, at night it is still very hot. So I think can also. Maybe I try out this weekend.

Janiemin, u dun intend to feed yr boy rice? I am lazy to cook after work (actually I don't know how to cook at all, -_-)

LC, my boy babbles alot. Now when he drop things, he will said 'Uh Oh', very funny. I brought my boy to attend Genius Space trial class before, qte good but I find it not really necessary because he is in IFC. I will try Gymboree and also GUG later. You also interested in trial class for your bb?

Ya, pei fu you can handle 2 kids without maid, I confirm cannot. If u hire maid, then yr younger bb don't need to be in IFC right? The sum work out pretty the same, and the maid can do housework for you.

ladies, 4 porridge jar/lunch jar etc, u may want to take note that best not to leave the porridge in it for more than 6 hours.

LC, I think with maid still put the bb in IFC ba, cannot trust maid leh. I'm skeptical, cos heard so many horror stories abt maids ill-treating bbs =(

Hi Pei Pei,

no worries, i'm sure ur gal able to adapt. I put my gal in 1wk b4 i went back to work and she's doing fine.

Since u got d spare time now, hv some personal time and do ur own stuff bah, if not when u start work will b very bz liao.

Thanks for your well wishes!

my gal survived the first day!! well, things went pretty well at the ifc, at least she is napping and drinking well. though she is still quite distracted and not napping as long as usual and drinking slightly lesser milk.

think after this week then i will try to arrange for my own program. but given that i'm still expressing bm for her, i can go out for long also. haha..

Aiyo, i keyed a long reply and dun know hit wat key and all gone.. Retyped again:-

Hi, Snowyee

I am currently on matenity leave till end of march. my MIL will take care of my daughter for awhile before we send her to IFC.. i can't rest my mind if she goes IFC too young cos of the exposure to virus.. she is a 35weeker (coincidentally, my two kids are prematured babies) so I have the thinking that her immunity is not as strong, hence, try to house her away as much as possible until she is older, say 1 year old.. my boy will be at the child care. the problem is that I dun drive so sending and fetching them back will be an uphill task.. and I dun wan to be a weekend mummy to my girl by leaving her overnight with my inlaws..

How old is your boy? he is in PG, so prob ard the same age as my boi.. I have the ENdo thermal cooker.. tried to cook the porridge and the steam egg together using the small plate. result: the porridge not so "lan" as compared to using a slow cooker. the egg kind of too hard, not soft..the receipt fr the cooker seem to give me the impression that the end result is tasty leh.

Hi, Pastries

Like wat Linda say, I dun trust maids to take care of my kids. of course, there are good maids around but I dun wan to take any chance. I have a part time cleaner coming every fornightly, probably will ask her to come weekly. my hubby takes care most of the housework but dun wan him to be so tired too especially he works shift. but of course, I have some contradicting thinking of getting a maid at some points.. they can help to carry the shopping bags if we go out with the kids. now hor, if we go shopping, we can;t buy anything cos no extra hands to carry.. and if got maids, we can have some couple time by leaving the maid and the kids with my inlaws.. so "mao dun"..

Hi, Pei Pei

glad that your girl is doing ok today. go and pamper yourself..your girl will adjust slowly and things will set in better as days go by..

juju78
yes,the manual din say aything abt cooking porridge as well.but the SA said,so i bght n try.

Lina,
why cant leave porridge for more than 6 hrs? anyway,i din tink i will be doing tat..its pretty long ha..

LC,
yes,if employ a maid will add on burden. I employ part-time cleaner like some mummies here to help out in housechore duirng wkend loh..

Snowyee11,
ya,he start to walk during CNY first day,ard 11 months,he going to be 1 year old in april.yes, very tired,cos he knws he to walk n wants to walk so dun wan us to hold his hand as well.
i think the thermal flask/food jar works the same regardless of brand, so can try.but must boil the stock to boiling first.

Pastries,
i intend to feed him rice a well.so a misture of rice & porridge..cos last time he rely on cereal.so if really really no time, then cereal loh.but cook rice,then have to cook the side dishes.porridge seems easier hor..I like him try pigeon food those package one as he loves it but very expensive loh.cant afford to feed everyday.fresh is still the best.
so wat u feed ur bb? since u lasy to cook n duno hw to cook? actually, really very tired to cook after work.

enrichment class,
I want to go for those trial leh..but all seems to be in town area..if really interested and sign up package, then have to travel every week down.

LC, your boy and your gal is not in the same centre huh? Then you need to run 2 places to fetch them back? I understand what u said about maid, that's the reason I chose IFC over maid too.. If you hire maid but still place your gal at IFC, then really financially abit xiong.. Actually what you described is what I am thinking if I am gonna have no. 2.

Your shopping reason is damn funny but so true!! I also find cannot buy too much things, very ma fan!

btw, the chinatown shop u mentioned, the chinese med is good?

Janiemin, if my hubby is not working on weekend, then he will cook! If he is working, then my mum will cook porridge and bring it over (we stayed very nearby). Now my boy only drink milk at night, I intend to start dinner when he turn 1. So now only weekend need to cook lor. If we go out, then is bb jar food.

Enrichment class, ya lor, I am not confident to bring bb out alone so if hubby working on weekend, I dunnoe I can bring bb alone to the enrichment class.. That's why I am still not rushing into it.

I see lotsa of mummies when they have 2 kids is normally with a maid..but i think we are concerned abt maid issue..but as u all said hire maid + IFC -> very expensive.I like IFC cos i think they learn something. maybe the maid will be busy chatting on the phone when we are not around.

yes,i agree bring kids out to buy grocery is very hard..cant buy a lot.

pastries,
good tat ur hubby can cook.at least one of u cook can liao.oic tat good tat ur mum will bring food over.

Up to nw, i oso no confident to bring my bb out alone..only got 1 time when i waited for my hubby at jurong point.I think wait for him to be older, then i may consider bring him go out n shop..

juju, cooler bag? i have one, but think can only store EBM for about 4 - 6 hours, which is my usual pump interval also. haha... hmm... probably immediately after pump i go out and rush back for the next pump lo. then i can't be running too far from home! lol...

LC, think my gal is adapting well at IFC. this morning when the teacher fed her milk, she was playing with the teacher! kept smiling at her and gave her the sheepish smile, such a little "hiao po". but i do miss my gal when i'm alone at home now, mummy's separation anxiety. by right, i should be able to rest more and nap when she is at the IFC, but i can't sleep leh though i'm very tired. sigh... hope things will get better for me after a few days. haha... so funny...

peipei,
the ice block sold wif medela cooler bag can last 12 hrs & up. the only issue is dat quite heavy.
i ever tried to take it beyond 12hrs, still very cold. but dat day i was in office most of the time.

Janiemin, I didn't know we belong to the same category --> no confidence to bring bb out alone. haha. I see alot of mummies bring bb out alone, really think myself quite useless in this aspect. I also think when he older, then I am more confident in brining him out alone..

When my boy ready to start dinner, I am thinking of ordering tinkat without msg and mash those food with rice together and let him eat, can right? Maybe 3 or 4 times per week, then other night is other food, like bb pasta, or macaroni, just cook and mixed with those ready made sauce or potato puree.. etc

LC,
So u putting ur ger in IFC after she turns 1? At least ur can help you looked after. Yes, if got a choice, I also wish my boi can keep away from the virus as much as possible. My boi turning 18mth end of this mth. I've switched him from the prev IFC to current PG. Different centre. It seems he is more happier in current Centre. Hw old is ur boi now?

I have the thermal cooker as well but dun know which brand, my mum helped me to buy from OG. Yes, I think still need to cook separately.
I also feel the slow cooker is tastier.

My hubby seldom do household chores so I'm the one doing but he can handle my boi better then me. He also can cook but he will leave to me to care of my boi's meals.

I oni brought my boi to alone to JP NTUC, no confident to bring him out alone too. There was once I brought him to kitty palace, I have to chase him and follow him closely else later he get lost.

re: bringing bb out
i think when bb is still small, it's easy to bring them out. cos not so fussy, can't run ard yet.
i dread the day comes when my gal starts walking. i'll prob think twice abt bringing her out. lol
i realise dat as she grows older, my alone trips wif her goes lesser!

Juju? Medela cooler bag can really last 12 hrs? I haven try it yet. If this is possible, then I can bring the bag out and pump in nursing room. Hee... Thanks for informing!

Re bringing bb out: I've tried it a few times to travel Alone with my then 2 months gal away from home. Taking train from clementi to city hall and from AMK to clementi. Well, it was mAnageable, but u gotta be prepared for the lil one to start crying and you need to bring a lot of things. Quite tiring after that. :p

peipei,
must use wif the ice block. dunno if they change the ice block or not. u trial & error by bringing out at longer lengths of time la

Hi pastries
my gal will be taken care by my mil until she is one year old then will put her in the same centre as her brother, if start earlier, lesser separation anxiety but we are worry abt her immunity as she is a 35weekers.Shopping is really impossible now with two kids so we usually will go out without them, once a week, just some couple time but we still end up buying Kids stuff and groceries. The Chinatown one is not tcm leh, just A medical hall. The tingkat should work out fine. I intend to do tat too but haven research which tingkat service is good and have healthy menu..

Hi snowyee
my boy is 19mths. Hyperactive, like to walk around at home and opening the drawers etc but one trick work on him when he is naughty-face the wall.. :p

re:bringing baby out
I used to bring my boy out to shopping when he was three months old..spent a lot of individual time with him as I bring him out very often, either in a pram or a carrier.. Missed that moments! Now not so much Liao bec wan to give some time to my girl. But somehow I dun have that much of confidence of bringing my girl out alone. Somehow she is more difficult.

Juju, what you said make sense also, imagine running & chasing after your gal in public places! lolx!

LC, i see.. Ya, the initial 6 months at IFC are very headache, bb fall sick almost every month. You have MIL to help you take care till 1 year, still ok wor.

For tingkat, they will placed at door step if nobody at home right? I think my sis used Neo Garden.. the problem with Tingkat is my hubby don't like to eat the same kind of dinner everyday (rice with vege, meat.. etc), whaha!

Peipei, u staying Clementi? Which IFC are you gal in?