Advice Needed: Any Mummy who put baby in infant care centre ?

janiemin/Lina,

I think it's better to start after 1 year onwards. Actually I've yet to let my boi try. There is a brand called laughing cow not bad.

The rainbow vacuum actually have tried once. That time they came to our house for demo. Yeah I think the dirty is quite dirty when they showed us.

hi snowyee
i've checked with the doc last weekend, and he said it's ok to give cheese/yogurt from 6 months onwards. if the concern is on the cow milk proteins, i've read that Cheese isn't your typical dairy product. The milk protein commonly responsible for dairy allergy is largely broken down in cheese as it matures and cheese is often well tolerated by individuals with sensitivities to dairy products. The same applies to yogurt, which is why many pediatricians will agree that it is safe to introduce both of these products prior to baby's first birthday.

Brands of cheese - laughing cow is one (but some mummies on the forum are saying is too salty). saw that another brand is kiri (not sure how common it can be found in supermarts though)

As for yogurt, so far i only know yoplait or yobaby

hello everyone,
Happy CNY.seems like all busy during CNY period.

snowyee11,
how is ur PG? bb adapting well?

pastries,
how about urs?

I forgot whos bb is in Jurong point my first skool. Is it ioroios of juju78?

What about the rest? Lina,annette,bluzcorner..

Happy Chinese New Year! Hope all of u have enjoyed ur CNY.

My boi kanna chicken pox during last week so we stayed at home, did not go "bai nian". Want to take the chicken pox jab next mth. Now no need liao...Guess must be someone in the Childcare pass to him as teacher told me someone in cc also got chicken pox.. But IFC and CC is separated, hw the virus spread, I also dun understand..and 5 babies in IFC kanna chicken pox..Poor thing. Haiz, nvm lah. 1 more week, my boi will go to PG in another CC liao.

janiemin,
My boi gg to PG only in march.

Lina,

Yes actually I know they can take cheese but just that I dare not try cos' I heard cheese has bacteria so that's why it is recommended to take after they turn 1 year old. But I think the normal craft cheese also can. Yogurt is ok.

snowyee,
ur boy in whispering hearts? maybe thru teacher interaction or when they "meet" cc kids at the pickup area?
hope he recover soon!

juju78, thanks.then its ioroios.

snowyee11,
aiyo,if ur bb coping well.very sad to get chicken pox cos very itchy then they will stratch..ok,sorry, i keep thinking its in March.
yes i think chicken pocx travel thru the air.so maybe teacher interaction.

now its my turn to search for PG, have to be kiasu..its on waiting list..sianz..

was just thinking the thread so quiet ...
happy cny all.

janiemin, my boy's in kinderland@mnd complex. teacher just commented that he was grouchy the last two days. think all the cny visiting and playing has really upset his routine *sigh* but he's behaving ok at home so hope he's back to his cheery self in the centre today.

snowyee, oh dear, chicken pox. hope ur little one is much better now. just curious, did the gp/pd prescribe any medicine or just lotion for bathing?

how soon must start searching for PG huh? at first i thot can relax cos so many CCs around, but seems like to get into the popular ones, have 2b KS and chope a place fast fast hor?

lina, where is mnd complex? how old is ur bb?

i think snowyee11 search for PG at age 1.yes, more PG than IFC so can relax..but popular ones must chope..and i lately tink of the future leh..then i got stress up man..are all of u 1st time mummy? cos i think if i goin to give birth to another bb, better to find one tat have both PG/CC & IFC or else i have to go two places..i think i will die leh..then look at my area, not much IFC & CC together except jur. point but the waiting list quite long.so i either wait or go find other IFC which again not so convenient for me.

juju78/janiemin,
Yes, my boi in whispering hearts. Yes, I also think through teachers interaction. Probably the IFC teachers also contact with the cc kids. Thks, he has recovered already. Chicken pox like HFMD, fever up and down wan. My boi got fever for 6days. Beginning of the year I alry used up my cc leave.

janiemin,
which PG u are on waiting lists now?

lina,

yap, the gp did give bathing lotion and calamine lotion to apply.

But if ur chilc in ifc now, then he will automatic switch to the PG when they turn 18mths, no need to be on waiting list unless u switching to another PG like me.

janiemin,
Wa u alry planning for 2nd bb. I think I will just have 1..haha, me and my hubby not young anymore. Another 1 dun know mentally I can take care..

janiemin
MND complex is near Tanjong Pagar mrt stn. u noe amoy food centre, it's in the same building as kinderland. the food centre is on 1st & 2nd flrs, kinderland's on 5th flr.

my bb is 6.5 months old. tis kinderland has IFC/PG/CC all at one pl, we hv not decide if bb should still stay the same pl 4 PG though. kinderland PG is ok lah (the kids i c always look v happy), but i also like another one tt has a big outdoor area and small animals. we c how then. yup, me 1st time mummy, v blur.

snowyee
u take care too, mummy. goodness, u must hv bn so worried. good thing he has already recovered.
2 hv a 2nd bb, think not only mentally, physically (bbs really drain our energy man!) & financially (i feel) also must b sound and prepared. i always jokingly say this whenever pple ask me 2 try 4 2nd one, unless chop, stamp, confirm 2nd one is a girl then i want =)

Lina,
Me also 1st time mummy. Also v blur..tat's why I always ask my friends who have kids for advise.
Yah me too, I think if confirm 2nd 1 is a girl, I will consider..heehee

I think still can find baby yogurt lah, may need to try those bigger supermart like giant, carrefour. I still can find in NTUC.

im back so tired.Oh more mummies here now.

Anyone of u buy from De Baby Shoppee from SMH Bulk Purchase thread?Supposed to meet up and pick up my items but eh nvr turn up,shd i make a police report

Waited for so long till baby and hubby get so flared up

Happy CNY!

Snowyee11, glad that yr boy recovered from Chicken Pox already.

re: PG/CC
After IFC, straight go to CC, don't need to go PG right? If ok with the CC, then don't need to switch centre.

re: 2nd kid
I am also 1st time mummy. Same as Snowyee11, I am not young anymore, don't think I want no. 2. Unless confirm is a gal, yes, I will consider. :) So Janiemin is thinking of No. 2, true, need to think of childcare arrangement, very headache..

Re: My First Skool
I am pleased to 'report' that my bb adapts well to this new IFC, and he put on weight!! Also, every night when we fetch him back home, he is very happy & active, unlike last time, very moody and wants us to carry all the time. Currently only 4 babies there and 3 caregivers, so is like 1 to 1 care, haha! Of course, when more babies, no such luxury but at least the caregivers will be familiar with the babies' pattern & personality.

Sherine, I think ioroios baby is in My First Skool at JP.

snowyee11/lina
i very "mao tun" duno to have 2nd child or not.of cos its confirm gal,i dun mind.hehe.all of us have boy boy.cos im the oni child,i knw very lonely to be the oni one although i get most of the things i wan as a kid..the energy + money if going to have 2nd one is stressing rite.

i have not been on any waiting list except for jur point my first skool, that one is IFC.cos its my first choice, so i called up to ask about PG and they told me to call in year 2011 for bb born in 2009 (but my bb turning to 18mths tis oct).u see the waiting list so long, counting into factor that IFC bb needs to go up to PG lah.so i asked them hw is my queue in IFC, they said im the 3rd on waiting list, most likely in May i can get a place.so now i have to decide by mid march to place bb into jur.point IFC then proceed to PG (higher chances of getting PG/or can say confirm) but i know bb confirm not used to new environment,transfer faster better oso lah..so i must find a place got IFc & PG just in case i got 2nd bb loh.

the bb yoghurt can oni be found in bigger supermkt.i bght mine in vivo cold storage.

Sherine,
there's one mummy's bb in jur point, my first skool but i tink she din log into this thread anymore.u register ur bb meaning u confirm got a place liao lah? im on waiting list.

pastries,
tinking of no.2 lah oni lah.i see the joy of them laughing i heart melt..when i think of the endless nite & crying & sick put me off.so if i really wan no2, i have to plan carefully loh.i oso not young to give birth any later,u get more, less energy.

my current IFC is good but the location too far for me liao,my time is wasted in travelling.

Pastries, ur bb in clementi rite?so good to hear ur bb is doing well..

ya, i got the place already, had been on waiting list since sept. Very headache now cos my mil volunteer to take care for me and kept saying that how bad Infant care is, trying to scare us not to put my gal in.
But hor, we very worried cos she got knee cap problem unable to take care.

How????

Sherine,
good for u,im oni been on waiting list duno when,I oso forgot.Our bb maybe infant mates if i decide to out mine in when my turn comes. Hw old is ur gal? are u west side mummy as well?
My very own advice is no..just my own opinion lah..initially im looking for IFC as well, then last min my mil wants to take care bb & even quited her job but after almost 4-5 months,i really cant tahan and decide to put infant care.Im much happier putting bb in IFC as they learn things faster but low immune system lah.if u let ur mil take care then after tat decide not suitable, u have to requeue for the waiting list. im lucky i found one immediate IFC but the location is quite far for me.So its really depends on u lah.if ur mil has taken care of grandchild before n then u tink its ok when u see her take care, then should be ok.mine was first grandchild,so a bit prob oso lah..

janiemin,

OIC u are the only child, no wonder u thinkin of 2nd baby to keep ur boy company..I think it is a wise choice if you switch over to ifc in may at my 1st skool where better chances you have place in cc in oct.

As for me, I reali headache as my boi very naughty compared to my friends kids..and he often had nite terror and wakes up at nite..tats why I abit probia to hv a 2nd 1 now..afraid me and my hubby cannot take it..plus we are reali on our own with no help..my mil oni juz talk but dun volunteer to help take care when my boi falls sick. As for my mother, already occupied by my sis children which is out of the qns.

Sherine,

Since ur mil has knee cap problem , it's better to put ur bb in ifc unless you are hiring a maid to help her out. JP my 1st skool ifc should be not bad cos' so far no complaints and good coments from the mummies who placed their bb at my 1st skool.

ya, i staying in jurong west. indeed i also got the offer from blk671A IFC but i rejected cos far for me.

my gal is abt 3mths ++

just nw, my hubby told my mil our decision to put my gal in IFC, can tell that she is very upset.
indeed, i dont like the way she teach my nephew. nw my nephew is spolit. Everytime, my hubby want to beat him. He will cry then my mil n hubby will argue.

hi sherine
ur hubby & u made the right decision, i think.
already got sample for u 2c mah, ie. ur spoilt nephew. i feel the last thing we want is to hv someone spoil our bbs lor, then it'll b tough to take them in hand when they get older

seriously, i always feel it's better 2 get an outsider to take care of bb, rather than relatives. easier to voice out issues ...

snowyee11,
i think its better to switch over to IFC rather than hanging here n there..but lately one of the teachers in IFC resigned and new teacher came, my bb cried liao crazy..so cant imagine if he switch to new IFC.but i guess its a matter of time getting used to it.

I agree having 2nd one is really phobia.

Sherine,
yes i agree with lina,outsider better to voice out.hw can u say ur mil when she done the wrg thing right.own mother no porb lah.
where is blk 671A?is it whispering heart?cos i know oni few IFC in jur west area.

janiemin,
blk 671A is ntuc ifc.
ya, easier to voice out to outsider. dunno how to voice out to mil w/o making her or hb upset. she took care 1 day, i got so many comments but hv to keep inside my heart...

snowyee11,
i switched my gal's ifc when she was 8 mths old. she cried every morning for the 1st week. by the time she started her 2nd week, she was ok le. jus nid to get used to the new faces ard her only

ur boy can do it!

juju78,

same here. Before I got a place in infant care. I bring my gal to my mil hse for trial. Then, I told her i wanna to go back home to do some ironing while my gal left at her hse.
She sounded unhappy thought that I will be there to help her out.

Regarding IFC
I know 671A has one. The environment is good, i also got a place there but I give up cos too far out. Jurong SAFRA also got one but I think the fee is higher than other IFC.
I know that there is one more at JW St 42, called little wings if i dont rmb wrongly.
My hubby colleague did comment sthg abt whispering heart. So, end up we did not choose there. Else its the cheapest compare to the rest of IFC.

sherine,
ard thr bah... i heard frm fren's bro whose daughter is thr. he got safra member, so further subsidy (but only 1st yr)

blk 671A ist jurong west st 65?
juju78, yes, i agree with u that when mil takes care, cant complain to much to hubby, so all keep inside..tat kind of feeling..haiz..

yes, safra very expensive unless u r member.
actually these IFC, they got lotsa of names, little wings actually is my first skool.if u go search the web,same website..they are all under NTUC.

Sherine,
so when u placing ur bb in? ur bb inside IFC or starting in Mar?

janiemin,
ya lor... so glad i dun hv a son. he will be sandwiched btw me & my future dil. whahahaha!
ya, realised ntuc bought over/started many diff brands of ifc & ccs

Ya agreed with the mummies here. MIL do wrong things want to voice out also cannot. My mil jiat lat..let her take care a few hrs dun know how to change my boi papmer when it was so wet..and alot more..haiz reali cannot depend on her.

juju78, thks. Yeah hope my boi boi can get use to it soon. Today is his last day at whispering Hearts.

juju78,
haha..i understand the conflict btwn dil & mil.but i have boi boi wor, so next time i will understand his situation.of cos,i hope i will be a better mil.whahha..as we all mummies have been through.

Snowyee11,
Its the generation gap,they still live in those olden days way of taking care of bb which i feel tat some things we can follow but not all lah.
quote e.g I let bb sit in the bumbo seat ard 5 months to let them practice their sitting skills right.my sil bought and my mil & dil kept nagging saying so young let them sit, their spine havnt develop, not good for the spine..im unsure whether im sensitive or wat, but these are all those things tat we parents dun agree with out in laws.
hope ur bb will be fine with PG.u taking leave to be with him? u used all childcare leave liao rite?

Sherine,
so are u taking any leave to stay with her? since she so young, she still cant recognise ppl so still ok. update me hw the teacher & the environment ok? most likely, i will be transferring over if i can get a place there.

Oh just to share, the new teacher at my IFC resigned after wroking for 3 days.cos those older bb cried when saw her cos unfamiliar.3 muskeeters and one culprit is my bb.i think he got separation anxiety.I feel as teacher, u should know tat bb will cry if see unfamiliar face, just have to get used to it 1-2 weeks will be okie.my bb is actually very approachable, maybe the teacjer doesnt look friendly.

janiemin,
hee... im a bad dil mah. and the way i treat my bro's gf, all say i will be bad mil next time. so lucky i dun hv a son. hmm... when my sis get bf, then i will noe whether u can be gd mil to sil

My gals has been in IFC for abt 1 month, they had been fallen sick.. one after the other.

Can you advise how do we build up their immunity system?? Heartache to see them fallen sick.

Yuan xiao jie kuai le!

It has been a long while that i hv not posted in here liao.

my gal is 5mths now and soon i am gg to start her wif semi solid liao, but i am quite clueless on wat to start on. My PD said start wif some instant cereal, any mummies have any recommendations?

Hi rorqual,

how old is ur baby? for me i am lucky dat my baby has been in ifc for 1mth plus liao, everything is gg smoothly and she nv fall sick (touch wood).

for me i changed my gal's mattress cover n blanket everyday lor. Then she comes back hm, i will bath her clean clean, dat's all i do.

Faintz..i typed long long then something wrg with the thread.hiaz.have to retype again.

juju78,
i also not a good dil, but my milk worse.keke.

rorqual,
guess all bb in IFC will fall sick sickly as they pass to each other.yes, very sad they have to be on meds like very frequent.my bb just recovered fm runny nose. snowyee11 bght vit c drop from gnc, i bought liao but havnt try.maybe u can give a try but no gurantee wun fall sick lah.its just a prevention i guess.

snowyee11,
wana ask u did u keep the vit c in the fridge? cos it stated to be refridgerated but i keep in fridge then always forgot to give cos its not in the table.u add inside milk or water?

blucorner,
some PD will give out instant cereal (small sachet) when ur bb is close to 6mths.yes, start with instant rice cereal, then follow by brown & oats..add water to make it watery watery, then later can be thicker paste..

hi bluzcorner
welcome back =)
u can ask ur pd for samples. usually, will start with brown rice cereals (u can try organic brands like healthy times, earth's best or happy belly). if u prefer white rice cereals, then there r brands like nestle or frisocreme (not sure if this is the right spelling).

do note though tt the bowel pattern & texture (even colour!) change when bbs start eating solid food, so do not be alarmed.

Hi rorqual
if ur bbs r >6 months' old, u can give supplements like vitamin c, colustrum, probiotics, etc. i would suggest that u check with pd/doc first b4 giving though.

I'm back from IFC. I'm overwhelming by the bb crying today.
I reach IFC abt 9am today notice that there are 2-3 teachers around. Was told that the rest will come at 930am.
I feel so sad that bb are crying and no one attend to them immediately cos there is a shortage of manpower in the morning.

sherine,
it's my first skool, rite?
i notice they have this issue. but i guess once the bbs are settled in, they will be alrite. i usu drop off my gal btw 7am - 8.30am, though they are short-handed, they manage well. those crying are usually jus cranky.

janiemin,
lol...

just to share, my bb has mild diarrhoea after taking colustrum ... & i heard similac gives bbs watery stools. any feedback mummies?

hi sherine
early in the morning is like that de, once the bbs r more settled, they'll b fine. i dun think the teachers at ifc will attend to crying bbs immediately, unlike us at home. looking at the situation from a more +ve angle, perhaps is a chance for the bbs to learn to calm themselves down.

u gal ok after the 1st day? how was she when you dropped her off this morning?

Morning mommies. Yesterday was my twins first day at IFC. My girl was quite fussy and had to be carried before settling down. My boy was ever the talkative one and was cooing at everyone.
So far ok. The teachers were attentive and gave me lots of feedback when I popped in a few times as I am still on leave.
When can infants start taking supplements like vitamins and cod liver oil? I would like to give them to boost their immune system. Any advice?