A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

hi!

thks for ur concern & blessing!!

wen do i hav to go and see gynae?

I have been taking BBT for 4 mths. But i have been down with fever, cough, sorethroat and flu. Such a torture! Since I am having fever, guess this mth cannot detect ovulation liao.
Today is my CD 19.

Hi Lynn,

Congrats!!!

I think I am not ovulating this month. Had mucus last weekend but OPK n BBT did not indicate ovulation.

This month is a bummer for me...no more piglet. SOB

Hi TTC babes,

Anyone taking folic acid from Guardian House brand? I just realised the one from Guardian is 5mg which is 5000mcg!!! And the recommended dosage is only 0.4mg (400mcg)!!!
I am stopping!

hi jlow,

u might want to seek for a 2nd opinion... my 1st gynae diagnosed me with PCOS & juz instruct me to take clomid pills too. he was so frendly to me at 1st, but when i started to qn him more abt the diagnosis of PCOS (cos my AF is super zun & regular one, so i doubted dat i hv PCOS), he turned quite nasty. so i decided to change gynae as i wasn't comfortable with the way he evaded my qns on the side effects of clomid pills everytime & how he seem to "suka suka" told me to increase the dosage somemore everytime. furthermore, he didn't do any blood test for me too.

i'm verie comfortable with my current gynae. she is not only patient, but took time to expl to me wat's PCOS. & guess wat, she said i dun even hv PCOS at all... she did some more tests for me & my hubby, & realised dat the prb lies with my hubby's army (instead of me). so she referred my hubby to another doc who prescribed him with some medication. & i conceived naturally last dec... i'm in my 2nd trimester now...

so juz imagine, shld i have stick to my 1st gynae, i might still be taking the clomid pills now...

Hi Strawberry,

From what I know from pharmacist and doctors, they say if u take access folic acid, ur body is capable of flushing out the excess. so not to worry.

hi strawberry,

5mg is normally the dosage given by gynaes to preg ladies leh... before preg like dun need so high dosage?

lynn, babyling,

Hi Strawberry
Oh.. that high?? I got mine from KKH last time. Its only $3 plus for 2 months supplies like that.. Perhaps can buy from hospital?? Cheers!

jowinbaby
can't PM you le..

She's Dr T*N. At least she bothers to explain what PCOS was to me though but there was no further monitoring other than blood test for the 1st cycle.

Chessycake,
Me been having tummy cramp lately, wonder is it AF coming or such. And since clearblue says can test 4 days b4 AF, decide to give it a try lor...and was hoping it's good news on my B'day.

Joy's mum
are the HCG and LH strip same cost? I make payment liao. but I don't know how much is the HCG strip.pls confirm so that I can revert to the supplier. Thank you! **Muackx2**

hi strawberry,

i oso bought folic acid from guidian pharmacy leh, same as the one my gyne prescrib. is it the small little yellow tablet u talking? 1 set 10 tablets, 5sets in a pack cost $3.00.

Jlow: same here having cramps yesterday and today. do u experience any yellowish brown discharge? mine is on and off... dont no if its AF coming... i got clearblue testkit too, urs izzit digital one with wordings? i got 2 free with ovulation kit... very tempted to test tonite
but scare -ve
Happy birthday in advance... and do update us here...

Strawberry,
I am currently consuming 10mg of folic acid lei..I bought it from pharmacy, is very cheap n can last for very long..
Cheesycake,
I think so lei...
Lynn,
Gong xi gong xi! U are just in time to give birth to piggie...=) May u have a smooth 9mths ahead..

Cheesycake,
me no discharge but feeling cold. they say if preg will feel warm. But I don't le...
I bought the OPK and it comes with 2 free preg tester (the plus and minus sign type)

Jlow: oic, maybe diff people react diff ways? i tot of going guardian to grab a cheap testkit rather then using clearblue. but scare those cheap ones may not be accurate. unlike clearblue can test on the day i've missed my AF...

ya lor...as for OPK , read from the rest Joy's mum's supplier is selling the cheaper strip and quite accurate. so i intend to buy and try too. You keen?

Cheesycake,
Yup...Im TTC-ing...=) Hmm, serious TTC start from Mar only, so this is my third month..I really hope by this yr i can get preggie, hopefully before my hb's birthday, wanna to give him as bday present..heehee...

Cheesycake,
okok we shall jia you together n give each other support..=) Babydust to u!! So how many mths to your hb's bday? Mine is 4mths...

hi!
thks everybody.. is it in time for e piggy baby? i dun kw wen e baby will due??!!

I started ttc in Mar 2007 and my preggy frz ask mi to start taking e folic acid.. i bought
1 bottle fr GNC 800mcg 100tablets in e bottle cost mi $11.95.

i went to GP to test dis morning and he told mi is positive and given mi some 5mg of folic acid and told mi to start seekin gynae.

i will start takin e GP folic acid tomoro onwards.. wat abt my GNC? wat shld i do?

Good luck everybody!!
i oso didnt managed to catch e O, always tested neg.. read fr e web dat we muz place a pillow under ur butt for 15mins aft e soldiers come out so datz wat we hav done.. hahaa!

Hi Lynn,

really? folic acid can help to get preggy faster? anyone can take without doc advice? im keen

Melody: ya loh... AF pls go on long holidays... hehe...

Lynn,
U are very lucky. same as babyling...u only TTC-ing for 3 mths, n bingo liao.....=) Do take care of yourself..

Cheesycake,
folic acid can be taken without doc advice de..Im currently consuming lei, i aso know from this thread de. I went to Unity pharmacy to buy, is very cheap n can last u very long aso. Is good for bb in future..

wow the thread is moving fast. heeee

Melody,
thanks for the baby dust.

volf20,
i agree with u. must be careful taking Clomid, my TCM said in fact a woman can only take 6 cycles of clomid in her whole life, no more then that... donno how true lei

Lynn,
so happy for u, take good care hor, move slowly stay happy.....so a piglet will be here soon.... ;p
if u got no spotting, can see gynea on your 5th week. before 5th week your sac will too small to be seen.

Cheesycake,
yup and that's me, i don ovulate every month, menses very irregular. haizzz.
Gd luck on your ttc

PIGakamie: oic... tat means every mth my menses report meaning that i ovulate every mth? i heard frm one of my fren she did have menses every mth but doc says she cant ovulate at all... im abit confuse...

hmm... i tink folic acid not help u to ttc faster but helps if u get preggy... and advice fr my frz dat muz start takin while ttc.. no harm takin it as someone mentioned dat it will b pass out if excess..

i'll get my AF to go on holiday wif both of ur AF..

Pigakamie,
i aso heard that clomid got side effects, actually the first gynae who checked me prescribed me clomid..I didnt take it , i go to see TCM after tt, so i took the chinese medicine...Sometimes, it might overstimulate...

Cheesycake,
from some article i read says by right ovulation will follow by menses if u r not preggy la. But if u r PCOS case then this theory will not be that true.

this is the explanation of folic acid.

Folic acid is a B vitamin. It helps the body make healthy new cells. Everyone needs folic acid. For women who may get pregnant, it is really important. When a woman has enough folic acid in her body before and during pregnancy, it can prevent major birth defects of her baby's brain or spine.

Foods with folic acid in them include leafy green vegetables, fruits, dried beans, peas and nuts. Enriched breads, cereals and other grain products also contain folic acid. If you don't get enough folic acid from the foods you eat, you can also take it as a dietary supplement.