A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

Sunnie> know it's you ..
Now you know how to calculate your OD and CD already ?? since Melody has briefed you on that ? hee

Melody> my BD hor, have to extend till the CD21 then will have OD leh.... very late one...

What is HSG by the way??

Thanks Melody for the explanation... i understand now. Sorry ... one more question. How many times a day do we test using the OPK and what is the best timing?

Ant1712, like they used to say, AF dun come, still got chance. Test again and maybe good news is here already ;-)

melody- i reali prayin hard! i also nt sure abt the preg kit but hear tat clearblue is pretty gd, the one tat shows results in words. ur af is late also ah?

sunnie- wil test this wkend. hope it's gd news!

Wannababy,
HSG is a test done to know if our fallopian tubes are blocked a not...Anyone know what is pelvic ultrasound? Is it just normal scanning or gynae will use something to insert into vagina to check????

Melody> Oh ic .... is the HSG test expensive anot ah ???

By the way, the Pelvic ultrasound hor... the gynae will insert a small scope into your virginal area and do a scan to check through the ultrasound screen to see.

Sunnie,
welcome..I think is once a day bah...OPK nt cheap lei..keke...As for the best time to test, im not very sure lei...Sorry..IM aso considered new in this thread keke, know a little bit only..
Ant,
Yup today is already my CD50 liao, but my CD has always been so long, but this mth im on TCM, i tot it will help my AF to come faster...Now stilll waiting for my AF to come, i dun think is preggie..If is ah, i think MUST be miracles!!!!!!

Ant, actualli its suppose to report latest by today. My AF very guai one..never late for the past years (except for last month)and usually reports on Wed. TODAY suay suay is WED!!!!

Normally my AF will come 2days earlier than the previous month, which means 23th Apr, it should report.
Going by this mathematics, am i considered late by 2days???haha

So hope this month they go on strike!!! and dun come for the next 9mths.

but will wait a few more days before i test if AF realli boh report.

What is BFN btw ??

Strawberry,
yah lor, hate that feeling right. Wet Wet. and tummy cramp. Lets pray together.
Eager to learn of yours and Ant's good news as well wor.

Melody, yup. have done it before. Cos that time, I had urine infection frequently.... So was referred to a TTSH ultrasound specialist... and was to do this test...

If the Gynae is able to see what they want to see clearly on the screen, then will not be painful one... But if the gynae needs to press your lower abdomen there to see clearer, abit of pain loh.

wannababy- thks!
i like ur nick. i wana a baby too! hehe

melody- hard to say leh. maybe u strike liao! heheh.. this is reali a waitin game.. if my af reali cm these few days, reali can bang head, late for sooo long! cycle gone bonkers

ceraine- yalor, hope af goes on hol for nxt 9 mths! BFN = big fat negative, sth which i hate to see!!

Thanks Wannababy!! Hmm, this one im not too sure..Have to ask , think neighbourhood womens' clinic dun have this kind of test bah, maybe have to go Gleneagles, Mt A or TMC???
Ant,
I aso hope..But i think here think there, cant be lei...Though i got BD, but i dunno if i ovulate a not...Coz my main prob is i dont ovulate properly..But im on TCM, so i tot got chance...Arghhh, dun want to think too much liao..Just relax n see how lor..Coz last week i just go see sinseh, i told her my menses havent come, after she took my pulse, she still give me pregnancy kit check lei...At tt moment i tot got chance...=(

Wannababy,
"chim" ques lei..At what circumstances i aso dunno lei keke...Is good to have a check though, coz if fallopian tubes are blocked, we wont be able to ovulate properly....

For HSG, it is to see if your tubes are blocked or not. normal u/s can't see clearly. if you are ovulating well (based on opk and maybe scanning at clinic), but still never concieve within 6 months, then you may consider doing HSG and your hubby do SA at the same time.

Melody, actually i'm thinking whether the TMC would know anot .... Cos when I went to my TMC, she also tot I may be pregnant for my last cycle. Then asked me to test again. If the TMC are to give the medicine for us to conceive, wouldnt they know whether our fallopian tubes blocked anot leh. .. I abit blur also ... Else, the TCM keeps giving us pills to eat for what ... Like must have some help, then give mah hor ??

HI Gals

i have done the HSG thingy you gals are talking about. Its a fast and painless procedure. Dun worry. And you can usually get results on same day with the xray films.

Usually, your gynae will write you a referral to a radiologist or you can find one yourself. You will be asked to lie down with an xray machine hanging just above your womb area. Then the radiologist inject the dye and as it flows into your womb and tubes, you will see the image in the xray machine too. If the dye flows out thru both tubes, then its fine, no blockage. Then the radiologist will freeze the xray screen and print out for you together with a letter for your gynae.

There may be slight crampy feeling as pressure is still exerted. But after that, can go on daily activities as normal. Very important, dont get tense during the procedure cos being tense can spasm of the tubes leading to non accurate results.

To confirm whether tubes blocked or not, can only do HSG or laprascopy to find out. TMC and eyeball diagnosis can never tell.

If tubes are not blocked, then can continue trying as per normal. Can even stimulate ovulation or do IUI etc.

But if tubes blocked, meaning egg will never meet sperm, then sometimes IVF is the option cos no matter how we take TMC etc ... no use, cos even can produce egg but cannot get egg to meet sperm.

Hi Wannababy,

Whether you want to do the test is up to you. Personally feels that if you have ttc for quite sometime and your doc suggest to start on clomid or some pills to induce ovulation, it is best to go through the HSG 1st. If tubes are blocked, how can the sperms meet egg?

My doc want to put me on clomid and I told him that it is useless if my tubes are block. He agreed and schedule me for HSG. I was clear for the test and put on clomid, but I still haven't start coz still worried about the side effect.

Go for the test if you feels that you are tired of guessing what's wrong with your body. I took the test at Gleneagles which cost about $180

Wannababy,
hmm..yah lor keke..i think they know la..Urs aso take pulse one right? She didnt mention anything abt my fallopian tubes, maybe those kind of tests are a more assured way to know our reproductive system...On my first consultation, i remembered i got ask wat are the medicine for, she said to cure all my prob..kekee..

Ceraine...quick order from Help to ttc and test...i got a feeling you strike ler :D so excited for you!!

Ant, mabbe can test too? hopefully will b a BFP :D

I think i will most prolly get a HSG done if i don't get a BFP by june. Like what u gers say, whats the use of doing it if the tube is stuck. esp if we are oredi using the OPK to help us, the chances of striking shld b pretty high.

I don't think the TCM can acutally tell if our tubes is block or not. mabbe they can tell if we hv PCOS or endo by certain analyse. but for the tube, i think only via scan.

I have a gf (who is not TTC-ing). she goes to tcm for COnstipation. THe sinseh told her, she has a cyst in her womb. he was even able to tell her the size of the cyst. true enuf, the gynea found a cyst when she went for a scan. amazing right.

oh strawberry, dun make my heartbeat faster..i can't take it..hahah

very shag from work, now having headache, and feeling heaty, tight chested(all AF symptom) liao...very tired.

Practically can hear my heart thumping when i see your post for me.,.keke..thanks for the well wishes. suddenly i see hope!!!

i have the kit, but dun dare to test now.afraid AF might come anytime...

Hi Sunnie & Ceraine!

thks for ur ans on e OPK...

hmm.. wat color muz i see for ovulation??
let mi try e OPK tonitz...

Melody, yupz... my TCM took my pulse also.... I remembered the 1st 2 times i went to see her, she gave me medicine to clear my clogged blood around the womb which causes my AF to be so painful and the flow was lumpy somemore. And will help to soothe the flow of my menses so that it will not get clog again... This will help to ease the painful AF that I encountered almost every month. Then the 3rd visit was that she gave me the pills and herb ingredients for soup to drink. The pills was for conceive and the the herb is to make my body be condusive for TTC'ing also...

I also do not know whether it will help.. but i do know that some chinese herbs will take some time to take effect and so called adjust your body condition loh...

ceraine, we have the exact same symptoms kaka...having hot flushes too!! *fingers double cross for u & me*

hmm mabbe u wait till 7days aft ur AF date is due? since it will be more accurate. jus a few more days...

for me, is very jinx de. everytime aft i test, AF sure report.

Lynn,
the opk kit, u will see two very obvious lines. if the test line (nearer the pee part) is as dark or even darker then the control line, then its a positive. u will understand what we mean when u see it :D GOOD LUCK!!!

Maplebabies and Apple Lee,

Thanks for your advice... But I just seriously started TTC'ing about 2 months.. So not sure whether I should go ahead to do the HSG or should continue to TTC first... in a dilema ... ;(

Hi ladies, i went to a gynae once to check if i am ok to conceive and all he did was the Pelvic ultrasound - i think. He did not do any other tests lei and then did not say anything either. So i thought i should be ok right? I also went to TCM and given some medication to take but did not mentioned anything else. Shld i go to see a gynae again to test the HSG test?

Lynn, you are welcome ;-). According to what i read, if ovulate, you will see two lines instead of one. If one line, no ovulation. If no line means you OPK is not working.

wannababy, maybe try another 3cycles? like you i have just started ttc for 2mths. i hv decided to get a hsg done if i still dun strike in another 3mths. for me, its for the sake of a peace of mind.

sunnie, i did the scan too. but its only to scan for abnormalities such as signs of endo and PCOS. if u hv the signs, the gynea will advise u to do further checks. if he did nt say anything, everything shld be for u.

sTrawBerry,

Um.... seems like to play safe, better to do it if ttc for another 3 months or so loh...

Since I still have an open date which is valid till Jan 2008 at TTSH for my urine infection last time and they put me on pelvis ultrasound test..., not sure whether they have this HSG test to let me do leh....

Hi Ant- u r back from korea? How's the trip?
My AF reported last nite... so sad.... i tink there must be something wrong with either me or hubby... can't be every mth also fail meh....

Is it normal not to test positive for OPK? I've been testing every month and it's always regular around CD16 or so...and usually the day before the lines are the same colour, the test line will be visible but lighter than control line...

Now CD 19 already, and have been seeing test line lighter than control line for 3 days already, but still no O...hmmm

Vivian,

yah loh... like me also .... Will also got to continue to try again.....

We will go through these together.....
So dont lose hope loh.

Hi wannababy,
good morning....Haiz my AF still havent report...I duno how lei, u mentioned after ur first TCM consumption, your first menses is painful huh?

Coz i will be gg for check up this friday...Dunno is it okie to go before my menses a not...I thk the gynae will sure very shccked how come my menses havent report then tot i preggie (can imagine) hahaa....Tests are better to test after menses de right? I duno what tests i will take, coz i called n said i want to have pre-conception check up, she said must go there, gynae consult first n see if u need to check up a not.....

Hi Melody,

good morning! your AF not report, it is good news mah... dont worry too much first...
The more you worry hor, it may delay your CD too leh....

I mean before I go visit TCM, my menses was very painful on certain months one ... And after I went to see TCM, the pain seems to disappear somebit loh....

Melody,

you just see what the gynae advise u on this friday loh... Really dont worry too much first lah....

What is pre-conception checkup?

Wannababy,
ooh...okok i misread your post then...heez I try not to think too much liao, but u know i can cant help it....Pre-conception check up is aso pre-pregnancy check up, i done once but not detailed enough, i done a pap smear, blood test n normal ultrasound scanning...

morning everyone

vivian- hvnt ah, me only gg in jun. reali lookin fwd! dun lose hope ya... u hv gone for chk up rite? doc says everything ok?
i intend to test tmw nite cos sat mornin i supposed to go for a foc medical chk up. in case reali preg, dun tink i can go liao.

Ant,
your AF has been very "zun" one ah? Then u have high possiblity of preggie liao lah..Go n test lah..My CD has always been very long, so on one hand im waiting for my AF to come so i can start on a new cycle, on the other hand i hope im preggie..Very contradicting lor...Somemore tml im gg for check up....

Melody,

um...I understand how u are going through... I'm like tat last month too ....

Oh ic ... sounds like normal checkup leh...