A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

Thanks Alien. So best to confrim O by using the tests and then have EWCM to be fertile, then chances will be higher hopefully.
Of cos, still have to couple with strong army of spermies and baby luck to have BFP. Sounds so tough.....

Eve, me also have. But actually, not sure if its still the leftover EWCM or the leftover spermies leh.

Saw the Ob/Gyn in the afternoon. He said if the test says positive then it's positive, no need to test somemore. He did a scan and could see only the sag but very small. Got to go back in 2 weeks time to check baby's heart beat.

poissons,
Looks like you are more than 6 wks preggy. Go see a ob/gyn soon so you can check on the baby's heart beat.

Eve and Melody,
I think the sperms are discharged with a thick liquid but this becomes very watery through time so that why we discharge them after BD. I noticed it the next day after BD.

Hi Hazy_nut,
Gong xi gong xi!! Hmm, in this case, does that mean it does not go in, n this might decrease our chances of pregnancy?

hi hazy nut

so actually we wont be able to fully determine the discharge is due to the sperm/ the normal discharge indicating O or not if we BD very near O right?

Do any of you know if exercising will affect the implantation if assuming there's fertilisation that took place?

hi hazy nut,

congrats to u, u mentioned that not to BD after that incase MC, why? so after O,during the 2ww,we should not BD??
But sometimes,if O late,how?

Hi Poissons & Hazy nut,

Congrats to both of u too!

Hi Babyhope,

Do u feel your body getting stronger after taking TCM? Dono if I'm unsuitable for TCM or because I'm taking wrong food? I'm currently stopping TCM and let my body recuperate first from my abdominal pains.

By the way, you can check out the list of some TTC terms here.. You may find them useful = )

TTC Abbreviations

AF ... Aunt Flo (menstruation)
BBT ... Basal Body Temperature
BD...Baby Dancing (Love Making)
BCP ... Birth Control Pills
BFN...Big Fat Negative (Pregnancy Test Negative)
BFP...Big Fat Positive (Pregnancy Test Positive)
BOB...Baby on the Brain
B/W, b/w ... Blood Work
CB ... Cycle Buddy
CD ... Cycle Day
CL...Community Leader
CM ... Cervical Mucus
D&C ... Dilation & Curettage
DH... Dear (or whatever other D word seems appropriate at the time) Husband
DI ... Donor Insemination
DPO ... Days Past Ovulation
DPIUI ... Days Past IUI
DTD ... Do The Deed or Did The Deed
ET ... Embryo Transfer
EW...Egg White Consistency (related to CM)
EWCM ... Egg White Cervical Mucous
FET ... Frozen Embryo Transfer
FSH ... Follicle Stimulating Hormone
GP ... General Practitioner
HPT ... Home Pregnancy Test
HSG ... Hysterosalpingogram
ICI ... Intra-cervical Insemination
IF ... Infertility
IUI ... Intra-uterine Insemination
IVF ... In Vitro Fertilization
KWIM...Know What I Mean
LAP ... Laparoscopy
LH ... Luteinizing Hormone
LMP ... Last Menstrual Period (start date)
LOL ... Laughing Out Loud or Lots Of Love
LPD ... Luteal Phase Defect
MC, m/c, misc. ... Miscarriage
NP ... Nurse Practitioner
O ... Ovulation
OB/GYN ... Obstetrician/Gynecologist
OMG ... Oh My Goodness!
OPK ... Ovulation Predictor Kit
OT or O/T...Off Topic
PCO, PCOD ... Polycystic Ovary Disease
PCOS ... Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome
PG ... Pregnant
PID ... Pelvic Inflammatory Disease
PMS ... Pre-menstrual Syndrome
POAS ... Pee On A Stick
RE ... Reproductive Endocrinologist
RI ... Reproductive Immunologist
ROTFLMAO ... Rolling on the floor laughing my a$$ off
SA ... Semen or Sperm Analysis
STD ... Sexually Transmitted Disease
TTC ... Trying to Conceive
US, u/s ... Ultrasound

Melody,
Hope this answers your question (found it at http://www.ingfertility.com):
Sperm Leaking Out After Intercourse- Lessons in Sperm Transport Through the Cervix
Q: Why does sperm leak out sometimes and not others? Does it mean the cervix is closed? Or there is more sperm sometimes than other times? If a lot leaks out, does that mean there was a lot of sperm? Is there any way to prevent it from leaking?

A: In a 5 yr study of 11 women (Baker & Bellis, 93), sperm loss after intercourse ("flow back") was observed- Flow back occurred 94% of the time, with an average loss of 35% of the sperm. It is totally normal and is not a sign that there is anything wrong. It is more pronounced the larger the ejaculate volume, and remember ejaculate quantity is impacted by "how turned on" your husband is. So if you have a great session, or it has been awhile seeing doing the deed, there will be more.

The sperm that penetrate into the cervical mucus begin to do so within 1.5 min, and they are pretty much done by 30 minutes, with no gain in sperm numbers in the cervical mucus or Fallopian tubes after 45 min from intercourse. Only thousands of the millions of sperm ejaculated in the vagina make it to the cervix and only hundreds of these make it to the Fallopian tube!

The very best of the best get there, the rest get washed out- it is OK!

Good_gal,
"u mentioned that not to BD after that incase MC, why?"
I actually read it on this forum so just decide to try it out.

"so after O,during the 2ww,we should not BD??
But sometimes,if O late,how?"
That's why need to use the ovulation strips to determine when you ovulate.

Eve,

it's true that we don't know if the discharge is due to the sperm/ the normal discharge indicating O or not if we BD very near O. But usually the discharge indicating O is sticky while the sperm discharge is very liquid. At least it's like that in my case.

Poissons - congrats!

Alien - i also 2ww, except i felt my cycle this mth is bit weird, i dunno exactly when i O cos i test on CD 12,13, 14 already faint line so might have O earlier. Anyway shld be 2ww now.

nice to meet all of you.
i just registered, but have been reading the forums here for quite sometime.
the doc diagnosed that i've got pcos last year and i've been ttcing since then.

recently, tested positive for pregnancy.
keeping my fingers crossed and praying hard that the results are true and that i can have healthy piglet in 10months time.

I just got 2 boxes of 50 ovulation strips from the aussie website end of last yr. i hope that i do not have to use it from now onwards, and would like to sell it off.

pls let me know if u r interested, the expiry date is oct-2008.

hi maplebabies, out of the 3 gynaes, which one u think is better? im going for more tests to check if i have block fallopian tube and maybe get hubby to go for sperm count test. anymore other tests? roughly how much it will cost for each and every one? these test can done around which CD? this cycle i din ovulate coz was quite sick and ate alot of medicine and antibiotics so quite expected

Hi joline,

I just checked with a gynae on the tests which needed to be done and the price for it.. not sure if its reasonable.

Maybe you would like to take it for reference.

'a pelvic ultrasound scan ($58), a PAP smear ($30), and HSG (radiological check for fallopian tube blockage - abt $170). Hubby will need a sperm check (abt $60) too'

Hi Babycupid,
Seems like very cheap..Coz mine costs me $300 plus...But with blood test, first time consultation fees, scanning n pap smear..I dunno is it calculate wrongly or what, i didnt ask much coz the clinic is closing soon liao...

Anyone have lobang for ovulation strips?
Very disappointed...was trying this month and bought the clearblue digital ovulation kit to test.
Don't even have the chance to try out with hubby cos I did not ovulate at all this month.
The test kit couldnt detect any LH at all.
Almost finish all the strips and there goes the test kit and the $$$.

Melody, hmm.. i calculate the charges also ard 300 liao wor.. den add consultation den is 300++ i tink same as ur pricing lor.. tinking of goin to check...

Sheryl, I think my body is operating better with TCM. Not sure if its a psych effect. My body does react differently to different dose of TCM but I always feedback weekly to the doc the symptons so that she can change the dosage of different herbs accordingly. For abdominal pains, I also suffer this abt a week before menses when I exercise too. Doc jus told me not to do strenuous exercising. Could it be one of the cause of your abdominal pains too?
Thanks for the TTC Abbreviations, they are so..o.o helpful.

Hi Joline, i am still more comfy with Dr Fong Yang. He is less rushed in consultation. Plus i already more or less know what i want to do already which Dr Fong can do effectively.

But for first time consultation, i recommed Dr FCW as he is very thorough in scanning. His machines better too. SA and HSG quite standard, can do anywhere with any gynae.

Hi BabyCupid,

I'm not sure abt the rest, but the sperm check seems to be expensive. my gynae charge $43 for sperm check. pelvic ultrasound scan ($58) and a PAP smear ($30), sounds reasonable.

this thread is moving too fast for me to catch up, i on off read this thread..but since serioulsy TTCing now, will be more active here.

yupz, the stripe is available. i am expecting mine to be availble next few days ".)so excited, its my first trial with the stripe, it has to be accurate, haha..coz i hope to have a piglet for our wedding anniversay (oct), but guess wont fall on oct if i manage to conceive next month

wishing all good luck in TTCing...

Hi Babycupid,
I think is better to go for check up early..For my case, coz i know that im not ovulating properly so i decided to for check-up..Or else if i start TTC-ing for a few mths then realised that there is something wrong, then will be a waste of few mth liao mah....But i reli have weak ovulation, will go down for a detailed consultation this weekend...

So nice to find out about this forum. I'm been TTC for about 3 months already but everytime my AF still reports promptly. So disappointed everytime.

Thinking of gg to see a gyne but my friends says that i'm overly anxious. Any advise on this? Should I see a gyne or should I try for a few more months?

i see.. but i wanted to have a gynae to start with and continue to stick with him or her for fertility treatment. Sorry, can i have Dr FCW contact?

Jasmine- it depends on how you treat the ttc journey. this is my 4th mth of trying but i hv gone for check up and test... if you are still young, then maybe you can afford for another few mths..

Hi alien, thanks
im in the midst of recovering. u have went for HSG? what is the procedure like? is it done in the clinic or? what do we need to prepare for this test?

hi elaine, if preg the O kit wil show 2 lines. but best to cfm w preg kit

jasmine- it's up to individual. u can see gynae to ensure all's fine thn continue to ttc. thn hv peace of mind tat everything's ok too

joline- i did not go for hsg. my doc said no need since i can conceived naturally. i dun think i will go for this test..

Hi melody, ant,

im also very curious, because i ran out of HPT.. i tried using OPK this morning first urine, for the first 3 mins.. nothing happened... BUt after another 5 mins.. see 2 very faint line but i really doubt its positive because today is my DPO8, my temp drop a little. I really wonder..

hi alien,
u visited private gynae or hospital? Which are the testing you have done?

i am into my 3rd mth of trying as well,and targetted if by the 6mths, not success, will seek help. Though Ma Guang did mention my body a bit weak, so might take a while to conceive.

whats the general process like? i needed gynae consultation/delivery by NUH (for blood disorder).but prioir to that, do i just follow up with private gynae (as in neighbourhood) or should i just start wiht NUH right from the start?

Totally no experience here...haha

I m also curious so i ask my sis to try, since she is preg and the result show that if positive the test line of the opk shd be as dark as the control line. if not it will be 'neg'...

ceraine- i am currently with thomson fertility centre. i do visit private gynea at tanglin shopping ctr too. actually not much test to do, just hv u/s very frequent when near to O. my hb went for his SA test too. dun forget every IUI cycle, hb went for sperms wash too. so its kinda like another test to him. hehe

its good t start with NUH right fr the beginning since you hv decided delivery in NUH..

Hi Ceraine,
U went to see chinese physician ah? Hmm..Im considering...coz i want to see my gynae first, see what he said...If he cf i have weak ovulation, maybe i might consider gg chinese physician...Is it true that weak body take longer time to conceive?? I have weak body, having frequent headaches....

alien - i have no choice
okie.will have a talk with my existing docs and see how they would like to proceed from here.

heard Dr Mary Rauff is quite popular, but her queue time is real unbearable (for non-preggy mums)
has any of you MTBs/TTC been seen by other Gynae in NUH?? care to share some feedback..

thank you wor

melody,

im into my 14months of ttc, im consulting chinese sinseh now, i find her quite good but abit ex. My body is towards the 'cold' part, thats why clomid is not suitable for me, i have many side effects, i had 2 roounds of clomid, i had very bad O pain when i took clomid, too painful for me to BD also.

I suspected that i have PCOS because i have irregular menese, overweight but according to my sinseh im not, she took my pluse, and check everything. My sinseh is from Eu yan sang specialist clinic, if you are interested to know more, im more happy to share with you.