A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

Sorry, i very sua gu.
What is BFP, EWCM, BD, MC means? I gather some of the meaning but curious what it stands for since all of you are using them.

Babyhope,

What I meant was once the Kit detected that I O-ed, we just BD 2 times (alternate days). Then we did not BD at all until today.

poissons,
Don't need to have any symptoms. Sometimes it doesn't appear until week 5 onwards.

To everyone, the thing we did different just BD 2 times this month right when the OPK showed 2 lines. Other than that, we were actually very sick since 1 week from Chinese New Year.

Will be going to see Ob/Gyn later. I called the clinic and the nurse says better come down and check since we have been trying for so long and this baby is very precious.

BabyCupid,
Can try searching from Yahoo auction. They allow internet bank transfer.

Baby dust to everyone.

hi hazy nut & poisons,

CONGRATS! i wld sugg for both of u to go to a GP to do a preg test. in this way, u wld be able to conf yr preg without any doubts. oso, it wld be better for both yrself & baby too if u can conf yr preg earlier as yr doc/gynae will be able to prescribe u with folic acid, some vitamins or "an tai" medication...

hi babyhope,

no prb if u dunno wat BD etc means. when i first came to this thread, i was verie confused by them too!

here's wat they mean...
BFP = Big Fat Positive (wat everyone of us here is trying to achieve)
EWCM = Egg White Cevical Mucus (if u have this, it means dat u're approaching yr O)
BD = Baby Dance (make love)
MC = Miscarriage

Hi Babyhope,
I know some of the terms..BFP - tested positive EWCM - cervical mucus BD - babydance..As for MC, im not too sure aso....=)

Hi Christine,
I thought if have EWCM, is you are O...By the way,is there any link btw ovulating n whether u are fertile a not ah?

Eve- i usually test before AF dues, keke... when are you going to test? which dpo are you in now? i cant test early for this cycle cos i hv hCG trigger last sunday.. the leftover will show a false +ve. so got to wait...

Thanks Christine & Melody. Now it all makes sense to me.

Christine, I usually have EWCM a few days before O, peak during O and subsides a few days after that so think its ok to have it after O.

Melody, my understanding is that if you ovulate, then you are fertile. Having menses does not necessary mean ovulation has taken place though. I use ovulation strips and temp charting to check. I am not good at reading temp cos I feel its all over the place. But my TCM doc can tell very clearly when I show her my temp charting.

Eve, Alien, will testing before AF be accuate? Alien, how do you know you have hCG trigger?

alien

The last round when i test, AF reports the next day after. If not would hv save a strip.. hehe

Actually i dont really know when I O-ed as i did not use the ovulation strip or use BBT... my cycle is only abt 25 days. from some website, it says i shd hv O Day 9/10 which was last thur/fri. But like Claire, i experience some EWCM only yesterday.

what is hCG trigger?

babyhope- i am in IUI cycle. hv hCG trigger shot before the procedure done. keke... my 1st pregnancy i tested +ve on 11dpo (AF dues on 15dpo)... testing few days earlier will show accurate result but it very much depend on which day you implanted.

What is the hCG Trigger?

The hCG trigger injection is a medication known as a human chorionic gonadotropin and is used after other fertility hormones, such as clomiphene citrate or menotropins, to induce ovulation (release of the egg from the ovary) or in women undergoing an assisted reproductive technology (ART), to induce final maturation of the eggs.

poissons- happy for u! u hv graduated! take care n enjoy ur preg!
when wil ur edd be?

weekender- urs is those strip kind? jus dip into urine n wait for few mins to see the result. pretty much the same like preg kit.

thanks gals! I'm still recovering from shock ;)

not sure when exactly the edd but the GP said roughly will be in Nov. Have to go to my gynae for a thorough scan and check then will know.

Spreading my bb dust to all you gals here..hope you gals will graduate soon!

Muack!

Congrats Poissons. Wow, 8 weeks already. u didnt suspect u have good news when u miss your menses for more than 1 week?
Hope we get your baby dust soon. You take good care of yourself.

Alien, hope to hear good news fr u soon.

Kylene- no. hCG trigger shot is only for those women undergoing assisted reproductive technology. eg, IUI, SO-IUI and IVF. Ovulation will be well-timed. whole cycle is monitored closely by gynea/specialist.

thanks everyone!

actually i used to have regular period last yr until this Jan cos' I had to fly twice in a row during the month, so pehaps I was stressed. This month I had to fly again so I reckoned it was my travelling so my period was delayed again.

Somehow i felt that things are not right cos' today's already my CD54, so I whipped out my one and only ClearBlue and tested in the morning and gosh, it was BFP!

I hope you gals will get your turn soon..patience patience..it will come!

Hi Poissons,
Congrats again!!!! Coz this time is confirmed pregnant liao...=)
Hi Babyhope,
Hmm, coz i read from an article that ovulation is not equal to fertile, that y im a bit confused..I read this article from a website which is given earlier in this thread...

Hi Ant,

I haven't buy the ovulation strip yet. any recommendation on brands? Which one is more accurate? And usually how to read the result? Sorry to ask so many question.

poissons- any 'mi jue' to share on ur success? hee

weekender- u can order online or see if anyone here got spare strips to sell u. much cheaper thn those in the mkt. i only use this kind b4. if u see 2 lines, means +ve

Seems like most of ur hb have went for check up n is either under medication or supplements..Hmmm..I duno should i ask my hb to go for check up aso...I dunno how to "kai kou" lei...Just wanna to check is it most of your hb went for check ups liao..

vivian- i duno lidat is my cycle stil 35 days or longer leh. so i jus BD alternate days to avoid missing any chance! anyway i wil be goin to the gynae this fri so hopefully can see i hv O by then!

melody- my hb hasnt gone for any chkup yet but i told him after the scan n everythin's ok for me, he has to go for the chk too! thn he like hesistant lidat n i told him he has to cooperate mah if wan to hv bb!

Melody & babyhope,

"Typical" Cervical Fluid Pattern

While your cervical fluid pattern may vary from cycle to cycle and it may vary from woman to woman, a typical cervical fluid pattern looks like this:

1. Immediately following menstruation there is usually a dry vaginal sensation and there is little or no cervical fluid.
2. After a few days of dryness, there is normally a cervical fluid that is best described as "sticky" or "pasty" but not wet. While this kind of cervical fluid is not conductive to sperm survival these days may be considered as "possibly fertile" if found before ovulation.
3. Following these "sticky" days, most women generally notice a cervical fluid that is best described as "creamy". This fluid may be white, yellow or beige in colour and has the look and feel of lotion or cream. At this point the vaginal may feel wet and this indicated possible increased fertility.
4. The most fertile cervical fluid now follows. This most fertile fluid looks and feels like raw egg white. It is slippery and may be stretched several inches between your fingers. It is usually clear and may be very watery. The vaginal feels wet and lubricated. These days are considered most fertile. This is the fluid that is the most friendly and receptive to sperm. It looks a lot like semen and, like semen, can act as a transport for sperm.
5. After ovulation, fertile fluid dries up very quickly and the vaginal remains more or less dry until the next cycle. Some women may notice small amounts of fertile-looking fluid after ovulation as the corpus luteum produces small amounts of estrogen, but you are not at all fertile after ovulation has been confirmed.

HTH

ant1712 - actually no mi jue to share. i went to see my gynae on my day 12 in feb. he scanned my ovaries and said that my eggs are small at that time, so he calculated and predicted that i shld be ovulating arnd 17 feb or 18 feb. so we bd starting on 17 to 19 feb..thereafter was alternate days until my hubby surrender..haha

Melody - I did get my HB to go for his SA (semen analysis). Actually my gynae suggested it and he was agreeable also..so we went for it. I think it's good to check, at least if there're any probs, can rectify the prob early.

alien, melody
I always equate EWCM=O=Fertile leh. I always think they come hand in hand. There were a few months that I did not detect any EWCM and I similarly could not test any +ve signs on the ovulation kits so I know I am not even close to fertile then.

Poissons, is your HB SA good? Some of us here are having problems with HB spermies.

babyhope- for my understanding, EWCM is most fertile, but not equal to O. BD as much as possible if you see EWCM.

my hb done his SA too. result was above average.

Congrats Possions!!!!!!

When our turn ah... me now waiting for my O le, if I AF on 15 March then based on 29 days cycle shd be ard 28 of this mth is it ah? Blurr.

babyhope - My HB's SA result was satisfactory according to my gynae, he didn't need to take any supplements.

weekender - my gynae is Dr Chan KH from Gleneagles.

berries- u shd O on CD15 based on ur cycle length. so shd be this thu. my O also ard this wk. thn we can countdwn tog! hee

weekender- thks. stil ok thn, tot wil be quite ex =D

berries- ya, let's jia you tog this wk! keke.. my O shd be thu or fri too
i nvr track my discharge, but realised past few days, got bit more thn usual. maybe i alrdy O?!

Hi Eve,

Sometimes i experience discharge the next day after the BD. I am wondering is that defect sperms being discharged?