A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

linda,
still havent decide who to see. if next month my menses still din come then i guess hv to continue to c the private one (thomson women clinic) cos the clinic is a nite clinic. i can arrange for appt after work. and its near my home too!!

Hi Dew,
Exact benefits I am not too sure also. But lack of folate will actually cos miscarriages in some case. It is also needed during VERY early pregnancy to prevent spinal defects. Cos normally a woman won't know if she is pregnant till she misses her menses. And that short period of time, folate is needed to ensure higher success of stable pregnancy. So best to start taking when u are trying.

Hi Mao,
OIC.... U mean ur menses not regular? Which gynae are u seeing? TMC is not exactly convienient for me..but I suppose with the night clinic, it helps...

linda,
i'm seeing dr adrian b.woodworth. he is not ang moh instead he is a chinese.
i'm staying CCK and he has nite clinic there so quite convenient oso after from work.
u r staying in woodlands rite?
because of irregular menses, i went to see gynae at NUH at CCK polyclinic. there he diagnosed that i hv PCOS lor..then my hubby quite worried cos PCOS will have long term sickness and also will hv difficulty TTC.
after taking med, quite okie. last time i used to hv menses for every half year, now every 2-3 mths. but still no gd if i wants to TTC.

Hi Mao,
Morning... Wow..U post late too huh? Did u do some read up on PCOS? I know in www.babymed.com they have some articles on this. If every 2-3 months then you have menses does it mean u ovulate once every 2-3 months? Can u judge by your cervical mucus?
How do u find Dr Adrian? Is his charges ex?

hi linda,
cos cant sleep last nite so do some postings. actually i din not read up on PCOS i only know what the gynae told me. i do know babymed have some articles, have yet to c.
me oso not too sure how is my ovulation period like. and cant really catch up with u gals when all of u were discussing abt cervical mucus. till now, not very sure wat is cervical mucus.

as i went to c dr adrian jus for irregular menses so din not charge high i suppose? first time consultation was ard $70+ including pills. subsequent visits between $25 - $50.
is tat expensive?
i went NUH gynae (CCK polyclinic, they also charge ard the same.
alot of pregnant women c him maybe becos convenient oso. n he oso has a clinic at thomson medical hospital.
but won't it be better if u stick to one gynae cos the gynae knows abt yr situation?

is being able to conceive so difficult? seems like there are many who are not able to conceive! i am worried man!

linda,
Thx for the explanation

okeanosmao,
hey, u'r seeing Dr Adrian?!! i thought of going to him to do a checkup as well. a fren recommended (cos her SIL is using him) when i asked her abt it n mentioned that i wish to find a gynae near CCK & who delivers in TMC or Mt A
very KS hor..
actually my thinking is to hope to stick to 1 gynae, all the way till pregnancy+delivery

can u tell me more abt Dr Adrian's clinical hours? is it always very crowded? do we need to make an appt if i were to visit him? is he a friendly guy?

oh, I'm staying at Yew Tee, u staying at CCK? there's another gynae (Dr Mary Yang) who delivers at Gleneagles, if i remember correctly at 1 of the clinics at Yew Tee MRT. but think will definitely need to make appt for this one cos there's no timings indicated, only "By Appointment Only"
for government gynae, think appt times will mostly be office hours.

WorriedGer,
dun worry, & dun get disheartened. hv u started to try? well, to boost ur morale, maybe u shld go to Mum-To-Be thread n take a look.. there're so many who're pregnant too

MORNING! new week again, but me looking forward to my angsana trip over this coming weekend.

Monkey,
gynae analysed my chart and said that i'm responding very well to the clomid and we are catching the egg all at the right time. sooner or later will conceive.he said 40% couples will conceive the 1st 4 mths of trying, and 90% will conceive within 12 mths.

he decided to test my hubby after all. this few days is my fertile period, can see the follicle in the ultrasound, sat was 1.9cm and it will "burst" when it's abt 2.1cm. so ask us continue to bb dance lor and after the fertile period, hubby must abstain for 3 days and ejaculate into the sterile container provided and bring to the lab within half an hour.

assuming that my hubby results come back ok, and by my next appt (sep), still not preggie, then he said must bring me for checking liao..oops! they will insert two tubes (day surgery) onto my stomach and check for block tubes.

we can consume clomid for max of 6 cycles, so he said continue for another 2 cycles of clomid and continue to try lor.

Micky,

oic....btw,can i check how much is ur clomid dosage...Last time, mine was 50mg, so how abt urs? i oso intending to see my gynae tis Saturday... i was given 2 cycle of clomid & then i gave up liao..can see my follicle during the ultrascan oso... how many cycles are u on now?

Btw, did ur gynae mentioned abt any side effects after 6 mths of clomid har? Where is ur gynae...

Well, update on something more encouraging today. I've got a ex-colleague who is now 42yrs old, is pregnant with twins...Well, she did seek medical help though..She had a boy when she was 35, then now she hv twins at 42...Wow, u see, never to give up hope...So i tink i better see my gynae again to help me conceive....Since try for 5 cycles no news, & then now period go haywire liao...Sianzzzz.....

Hi Mao,
I dun mind my current gynae, but location a bit off. So I am looking at something nearer or more convienent....

Hi Micky,
Wow, that sounds like a lot of work to be done... Why not wait till u tried for 12 cycles first? Even magazines says that couples should seek medical advise after 12 cycles of non-pregnancy. By the way, did your gynae explain why you are put on clomid? I read somewhere that it might not be neccessary in some cases but gynae just prescribe it as "patients expected it".

Hi Monkey,
Dun give up hope yet! For my first pregnancy, I tried for 6 months too! The last month, I lost hope and gave up ALL the testing, measuring and concentrate on being happy and relax...and VOILA! I was pregnant!
So I think that being comfortable and relax (both u and hubby) are more impt than anything else.

monkey,

my dosage is also 50mg. already took 3 cycles, first 2 cycles no news, this cycle dun know yet, pray hard..

gynae did not say what will happen if continue for more than 6 mths, anyway, we are not suppose to take for so long also. he will also not prescribe. my gynae is at gleneagles, DR Tham Kok Fun.

we two same same, tried for 5 cycle also no news..sigh.this is my 6th liao.

Linda,

as the mths passed, i get more and more worried if there's is anything wrong. i would rather check and make sure that nothing is wrong, and after that take my own sweet time to bb dance till i succeed. if all test come back +ve, then i will be less worried. i certainly do not wan to waste time dancing for 12 mths, after that go checking then realize there is a problem. maybe me paranoid lor. but just wan to make sure everything is ok..

Linda,

ya, i oso realised tat its very impt to relax. But at least, if u know tat ur body is functioning ok, then u will be more relax rite...I mean no harm seeking medical help as long as u know tat all these help actually helps in maximising ur chance of conceiving oso.... At least there r some ppl tat succeeded after seeking medical help...

As i dun regular period, i guess i need to seek medical help for enhancing my chances of conceiving..So u how, tis mth got chance?

Can i join u'll? I am also trying to have a baby and this is my 2nd month. ACcording to the fertility calendar that i use from baby med, it shows that my fertile period is last weekend. But the thing is i don produce those egg white mucus. So does that mean i am not ovaluting?

I have regular mens and is 32 days cycle but i don notice that i don not have those egg whilte mucus every month. So what should i do?

pooh

pooh,

not everyone has the eggwhite mucus..SO dun worry too much. Juz dance as long as u know its ur fertile wk...

Btw, how long u hv been married? How old r u? I kay-poh lah!!! Aniway, juz enjoy love-making since u juz started TTC...

Pooh,

yes, just enjoy your love making, maybe you will succeed this mth?

Linda,
how? you got chance this mth? me got high confidence in you leh, that you will succeed within this one to two mths, coz of your surging hormones.

Hi monkey & mickey,

I am married for 4 months and 27 yrs old.
I am feeling stressed when my in-laws and parents are giving me the pressure that i am not pregnant after marriage. Really very stressed up by all their comments.:-(

Like rasins, i initially don intend to have a bb so soon but after reading from this forum i realise that is not that easy to get pregnant even if yr mens is regular so decided to start early. But so far, no luck!

monkey, but i do notice that i have the EWCM on certain months but not for these few months when i start to try to have a baby. Just wondering, could it be stress, that's why i am not ovaluting.

Actually, i am quite worry cos i read from an article from the news paper that woman that are underweight will not be able to have baby though they have regular mens. I am really scared cos i am on the skinny side. I keep telling myself not to be so stressed up but eally cannot control! i didn't know that is so difficult to get pregnant.....

Hi micky,
Dun worry too much... It makes you tense up leh... Stay happy and postive okie?
Maybe before ur hubby goes for the test, you already pregnant liao??? kekekekek..actually clomid also not advised to be taken over long periods right??

Hi monkey,
Hm...yah,maybe it is diff lor... For I feel baby dancing with a 'known' motive, have to abstain on certain days, do it everyday on certain days, it takes the spontaneousity of baby dancing...and this itself is a form of stress liao. More often than not, during then when I was charting, I made love for the sake of him ejeculating inside me....not cos of anything else... It makes me feel kind of empty and clinical after that....

But if your menses nt accurate, then you have to see someone to help you on this. I read that there is this hormone to help u regulate ur menses. Will the doc be able to know in advance when your egg will be released??? If yes, maybe u can plan a short trip!!! The hotels locally also quite cheap these days.

For me, no chances this month. No intention to anyway.

Hi Pooh
Hi, like what monkey said, not everyone have very distinctive discharge during ovulation. Maybe u can based on charting first... But I personally thinks that with charting, i tend to "follow blindly" the chart, forgetting that sometimes, human bodies dun work like clocks.... So I could have missed out on a lot of early or late ovulation.... An average of 3-4 times a week of baby dancing is well-sufficient for baby making.
For a 32 day cycle, ovulation normally takes place on the 18th day....

Poor Pooh,
Ignore your PILs and parents.... Somehow, I feel that olden times, women more easily get pregnant... Now a bit more diff...maybe cos of diff diets and lifestyle... Relax and you will get pregnant sooner.

Hi Micky
me not trying actively.... A bit scare to be honest..so will not be very into baby making...So dun think will have good news soon.....

Pooh,

u still young lah, not yet rch 30 mah!!! Well, actually PIL oso say how come no gd news yet???!!! Well, i oso quite fed-up wif them..But lickily my hubby oso dun care them... Well, me tried for 5 cycles liao, oso no gd news leh...

Well, dun care abt them..Aniway, dun they hv any grandchildren? Luckily, i've got a BIL who have 2 boys liao, if my hubby oni son, i lagi stressed ah!!! At least, they got 2 grandsons liao, dun depend on me...HEE!HEE!HEE! If not, i oso dun noe how long they need to wait liao!!!

Linda,
thanks for the encouragement. hopefully i will strike this mth lor. you are right, a max of 6 cycles of clomid is the general rule of thumb.

Pooh,
dun be stress. like me, so many mths also no news, kind of sian liao. just continue to bbdance and hope that it will be my turn soon lor. I always tell myself my baby now in 'queue' in heaven, so need to wait lor. i heard also that some hormones pill regulate menses, perhaps you can check with gynae.

Monkey,
we shall continue to work hard,like what my gynae said "work hard, sooner or later will get it". but me did not ask gynae what he will do if my hubby results come back -ve. heard from him that Vit E can improve sperm count only, so if sperm cannot swim, not swimming forward, abnormal shape, dun think vit E can help.

Everyone, JIA YOU!

Pooh / Monkey,
guess i am the lucky one, PIL did not mention anything since we got married half a yeart back, they did not put any stress on me. they have yet to have any grandchildren though. it's me that wanted to give them granchild, so that they will not be so bored at home...

hi linda

my discharge seems to go away so i guess no chance this month lor. anyway did not really try hard, only trying luck.

how abt you? when is your menses due?

Thanks for yr encouragement!I am really touched.
I just can't help every month when i see the disapointed look of my MIL when she knows that my mens is here! Cos i got every serious cramp on my first day and every time she sees me taking pain killer she will knows that i did not strike this month again.

So far, my hubby is the first one who gets married and hence the pressure is on us.
To make things worst, we are very physically tired due to our work. So, we don baby dancing every frequently as we r dead tired by the time we lie on our bed. There are times when we don baby dance for two to three weeks.

I think there is really nothing i can do also, just keep my finger crossed and see how this month.

Hi Micky,
After clomid, what else would the doc give you to help? Vit E and folic acid is good for your hubby leh... Why not take daily? Good for general health also. Yourself?? Did you take any vitamins? Some women swear by Evening Primrose Oil....

Hi Soft,
I also dunno when AF is coming leh... First bleeding after D&C is 3 weeks on the 22/5. So if count 3 weeks should be 12/6 last thurs... But nothing till now...so maybe a bit conk off liao....

Pooh,
you staying with MIL huh? next time, keep the painkillers in your room! but then hor, if you wan bb, you must dance frequently leh. 2 to 3 weekks dun dance, cannot lar. i know by the time reach home dead tired liao, but still must try lor. by the way, why is your cramp so serious? did you get your doc to check?

Linda
me taking folic acid. hubby not taking anything at the moment. he will only start taking if doc ask him to take. me ask him take, he will hv lots of excuse not to take...
me actually thinking of buying vit E for him, but think will see what's his results first. both of us quite worried abt the test results although not done yet....

hi linda

think you have to count from 4 weeks, CD28, CD30, CD32....., depends on how many cycle days you used to have. that should be more accurate. you cannot use the period from the m/c to your first mense as the m/c is not considered your normal mense if you know what i mean. so think your menses should be due this weekend if based on CD30.

or shall we take a more cheerful and positive thinking that you might be pregnant!!! anyway, do you still take your morning temperature?

Hi angelia,
Yes... In s'pore, folic acid is sold without the need for doc's prescription. Can get at any pharmacies....

Hi Soft,
My old cycle prior to pregnancy is abt 30 days too...So i shld expect my AF to arrive on this weekend? Hmm..Okay...
The funny part is tt my mc (I bleeded heavily B4 i see my gynae) happens around the time where I shld get my menses...Wonder if it is co-incident or what.
I dun think I am pregnant...No symptoms and think we didn't baby dance during the so-called fertile period....
I didn't take my morning temp for LONG time liao lor... I gave up after my thermometer died on me and 2 months later was preggie...

How abt you? Trying hard?

hi linda

you and me sama sama. my mense is supposed to due end of this week. now got kaki to go hand in hand and remind each other when it's our fertile period and when to start baby dancing.

me actually also not trying hard, don't know why also, not as active as the previous. maybe we "see open". hahaha....

linda,
thx.. maybe later i'll go get from Guardian liao
is it on the shelf or we need to ask the pharmacist?

what brand is good?

forgetmenot, me initially also feel quite good not having to work.... daily find frens for lunch, go shopping, surf,....... but after months, savings almost gone liao.... panic comes in..... also, it gets quite boring lor.... after a while,... u have to plan what to do in the day,.... somemore hubby workaholic type. sigh. so now looking for a job, preferably IT, contract or perm doesn't matter. but if admin or other general jobs can pay, don't mind too. u in which line?

me also one of the TTC gang..
But i got PCOS, so now still on medication of Diane35. not yet complete even one cycle of medication.
intially i thot Diane35 is to help make ovulation but having read the instruction than realised that its a contraceptive medicine. (gyne also didn't tell me much just say it would make menses come)
My mum has been nagging at me to set up family since the day i got married(more than 6mths ago).. and i find it such a nuisance everyday hear her nag..
But dunno why lately my thinking has changed.. Maybe being influenced by reading the forum and also advises from colleagues that its better to start family while young.. And most imptly after knowing that i got PCOS.. it makes me even feel like TTC asap. And i always thought that for ladies with regular menses it should be very easy to conceive but after reading this forum really change my belief.. Think Singapore life is too stress man!

okeanosmao, no doubt you haven't go thru your customery wedding but i also think its a good idea to start trying.. I believe the tummy would start to get obvious only during the 3-4th month..
How old are you now?.. We chatted in the PCOS forum before you recall?..
I also wanna change gyne.. Is the adrian at CCk good?..Me thinking of going to another Thomson clinic branch located at Sun Plaza.. Wonder whether their gyne is equally good..

Ob-rider,

ya lor, not working sian hor? At least, ur hubby can support u. Me ah, must work, dun tink hubby can support me!!! Well, if i were u, i lagi sian ah...Will keep on tinking of bb, got work, at least can keep me occupied!!!

Where is Forgetmenot, missing liao..Dun know whether did she succeed anot?

no la,... Monkey!!! hubby very stressed with our financial state now.... think we can only 'tong' for a few months more with single income..... i was mainly using my savings till now.... now much depleted liao..... moreover, i enjoy financial freedom, don't like to ask him for money one. if i preggie now i think we will both get nervous breakdown. we agree to TTC only if i find a job. and i need to TTC soon bcos not young liao.... :-(

so now i can only monitor my cycle and learn from you gals. :p

Micky,

Yap, my PIL are staying with me. Yes, i got very serious cramp.Every month, i need to take pain killer to subside the cramp. For months that are bad, the pain killer will not work and i need to go hosiptal to take a jab to ease the cramp.

Months when my cramp are really bad, i will vomit and had difficulty in breathing. There i sonce that the cramp is so bad that i fainted.

I went to SCG to check before and my pap smear and vaginal ultra sound is ok. The doctor say some women will experience such bad cramps like me. There is no way to cure it unless i take conception pills which i don't want.
So, every month i need to go thru this.

I also know must dance more often but is either i want but my hubby is tired or vice versa...No choice la, cos both of us are not office bound...we need to go to site and supervise our workers. we are both in the civil engineering line.. We are trying to make an effort to dance everyday during my fertile period but we both find it very xiong!

hi angelia,
if u wan to c dr adrian, u hv to book 1 day in advance cos he is v hot..alot of preggies c him. he is gentle and nice guy.whenever i got appt with him, i will see alot of preggies waiting to c him. his night clinic is from mon-fri, 7pm to 9pm. but he got 1 weekday he is not seeing any patients..but not too sure which day. maybe u wld like to call him n ask?

hi elle,
yup, i remember you. we are toking abt PCOS before rite? tat's wat my hubby think so too..TTC early since i got PCOS, difficult to time bb dance..i'm coming to 25.
believe dr adrian is gd cos alot of preggies c him..for me, i think he is still okie but i still wish to find one tat can really c PCOS and somemore hubby wants bb to deliver at KK so wants to find one till delivery time.

Mao,

theres difference stages of PCOS leh, wat PCOS are u suffering from. I was oso diagnosed wif it, & then gynae prescribed me wif clomid when i told him tat i m trying...2 cycles & both oso got good follicles...But did not succeed as i tink luck not wif us yet...Me oredi 26. So dun worry lah..PCOS cannot be treated but can take in fertility pills if trying for bb lor...

Or-bride,
How old r u? U keep saying u getting old?

Pooh,
i dun stay wif PIL, but they oso keep pushing me...FED-UP!!! Oni see them once a week, every wk oso ask me, until i fed-up. Sometimes, dun even feel like going there...

Hi soft,
Oh!!! that's nice to know that someone is same timing as me... Then we can time oursleves and remind each other.

Hi angelia,
eh..think no particular brand, I just ask the counter sales staff for folic acid...the one I got was 5mg, same with the ones my gynae gave me...

Hi Elle,
Welcome to the trying group! Your gynae never tell you that Diane35 is a contraceptive pill? Then can u get pregnant while on this pill? Is there something else that can replace it? I also heard of the gynae in Sun plaza...u stay sembawang??

Hi Pooh,
me also get BAD BAD cramps...
sometimes get so fed up that every month must suffer.... I also rely heavily on Ponstan and sometimes that also dunwork, I will go GP for jabs too... Hurts like mad too... I fainted twice cos of cramps and that's how a lot of people conclude my womb is weak...
Now I eat pain-killers at the first sight of blood... too late to eat when it starts to hurt.... Did you ever see a gynae? I heard it is advisable to for people like us.....

Yah...where's forgetmenot?

did i keep saying i not young, die die, me getting old and can't even remember what i writing :p but sreiously,... i really old liao leh,.... 31 this year :-( and i wanted 3 kids b4 35!! hehe..... think can get 1 i should be happy liao.... assuming it takes 6 months to succeeed, that means i may only succeed after mar - june next year..... by the time baby born i 33 liao..... sighzzzzzzz

how old r u gals if u don't mind?

Linda,
tat sounds quite bad hor. Have u went to gynae for checkup on ur cramps? I guess its gd to go for thoroughly checkup first...

hi monkey,
din know PCOS got many stages?
the gynae who diagnosed me din not tell me wat state i'm in..so i really not sure..

Hi Ob-rider,
It is impt to keep your spirits and mental health young...
With the current trend of marrying later in life, most women are forced to start family later too. You have to jia you okie?

Hi Monkey,
I didn't lor... But I reckon that since I have been pregnant before and did ultrasounds before, the doc shld have told me IF there is any thing of imptance...
I will have to remember not to drink too much cooling stuff....

pooh,
maybe u shld try to find time to do exercise. it'll help.

linda,
thx

okeanosmao,
thx for the info. will make an appt wif him for next Mon probably, after my hubby is back from biz trip

monkey,

then u r much more fortunate than me liao...cos i see them every day...and weekend when i go bk to my parent's place, my mum and sis will nag at me to have a baby soon...sometimes, i get so piss off that i just tell them in front of my hubby that i cannot give birth and stop telling me that.

BTW, what does PCOS stands for?

linda,

So u suffer the same fate as me! I also reply heavily on Ponstan...once i see blood ...immediately i need to take the pain killer if not later sure go hosiptal to take jab one...None of my sisters have such cramp like me. My mum brought me to see Chinese doctor and they also say i got very weak womb and ask me to take Bai Feng Huan... i took two bottle and decided to stop cos it don seem to improve plus i got lots of pimple after eating Bai Feng Huan.....

I have not seen a gynae before...just went once to SGH to check and results were normal. My mum and MIL told me that we will not have such bad cramp after giving birth. But not sure how true is their saying.

Ya lor, everytime the mens come...my morale becomes very low...and no mood to work...just want to lie down on the bed to sleep....What to do, we woman have to go thru all these suffering.

Pooh,

PCOS stands for Polycystics Ovary Sydrome. Well, PCOS is juz a general term for not functionally well ovary, which means egg is not well developed or no egg production. Well, for me hor, i have got tiny eggs tat is not mature but oredi want to come out eggs. But when i took clomid, good & mature follicle is seen, & ready to pop out.

Well, i guess diff gynae operate in diff way... Juz hope tat we will succeed soon...

HULLO....

I'm here! I'm here...hehehe..just came to work,so got some things to clear..

Micky n Linda,
i no strike lah..n dunno when will strike cos my menses quite irregular..so now i just let it be...

Ob-rider,
i oso hve to work..my hubby said,if i dun work,then both of us will hve to go n sell "backside" liao...
mi ah??i'm now doing stuff more on event management but overall think i'm doing odd-jobs lah...

monkey,

ic....i am sure u will suceed soon so long as u don give up .....u have all my support and blessing!

I am sure all girls here trying will be rewarded soon with a baby...

Thanx pooh!!!

Aniway, me going to my gynae tis Saturday to access me...So hopefully everything ok for me lor...