A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

yfuang
yaya 唐装

Wah you mummies really onz about their phonics n stuff...I'm still relaxing :p Only daddy is letting her reach Peter & Jane too.

Cheri, yf
cartwheels! :p

cheri
I'll probably teach him much later. Maybe next year?
But he's learning letter sounds n he is quite good at it.
However, I also hope it's contextualised instead of making him memorize them.
Anyway, just a lil' thought- ning came back m told me she is reading books that's labelled blue as she is 'high progress' in her reading.
I hope she doesn't get carried away as she told me there are some medium n low progress...
I wished the sch had not labelled them thus....

read Peter & Jane is v good oredi leh...those r 'teaching' kinda books..N's not keen to read any books on her own at all hahah..only wants us to read to her :p

N's chinese words recognition is much better at this stage.

cat
ya, a bit early to label the kids yah? esp since just barely a mth into sch.

aishite
Reading Peter & Jane very advanced ler!
I haven't started anything on self-reading for F1 (he's not there yet), except reading aloud to him. I'm glad that he's asking for MORE stories nowadays. But poor my throat!

As for phonics, I started to explore it myself when F1 was taught in the china school. Basically just practised what he learnt in school. Parents were provided with an exercise book and a CD.

Cheri
Ah, my memory's still working afterall! There are two N2 classes.
Oh ya, do you know why any chance the coverage for their maths?
A fren told me that in some cc, for N2 level, they only teach 1-10.
Parents have not been given the curriculum yet right? Or I missed it?

cheri
Don't think S can recognise any chinese charater yet...

Cat
Ning reads alot right? I mean u read alot to her...it's as good as her reading

Readin
are you jokin???????? You kiddies are reading Liao???????? Sigh I hope cy won't end up in lsp buahahaha

our family down with terrible gastric flu last week. First ch then cy then me then maid then my mom who is staying with us now... Same symptoms for all. Lethargy for entire day then go to bed early waking up in the middle of the night to puke big big time... All of us including poor skinny boy N small girl... So yes cy gone down quite a bit now at 10.8 kg and ch too,,,at 7.4...

Juz recovered,,,

chinatown
o yes wanted to do it with kids one of these days

I'm holding your possessions ransom!!! Until until... Until I can think of a reasonable payment for luggin it across customs!!!!!!!!

Mahbuay!!!!

Elmo
these days she reads on her own most of the time and she loves to read those lil passages her teacher gives her to bring home to read to mummy.
I'll grade it and write a short comment and she'll read out the comment and feel all so proud of her achievement.

Yf
I only improvised and bought some phonics material for ning when I decided to teach her then.
I think it helps in her spelling, so I don't have to hound her for that.
Anyway, she learnt the wrong list this morning. But she came back boasting to me and get a rap a tap tap from me.
Told her she is what she is today because of the hard work she put in long ago and if she is complacent and not trying to decipher words on her own then...

Cy
siao! If u can warehouse them, go ahead.
Remember, books are only thrash if being stashed away somewhere. Their value is not how much we paid for them but how much they are being enjoyed.
Just to remind you, those are unpaid loot! M.U.A.Y.H.A.H.A!!!

Cy
I paid with that bite on Kai's face. Emotional scar, not so much for him but for old folks at home! Plus the hug cy forced upon Kai and the incessant chasing ard at velocity... I log them in...

yf
nt 2 N2 classes per se lah just that they r split into 2 gps so that the trs can give the kids more attn. But for bf, lunch, outdoor play etc, they still do it tog as one big group.

curriculum ah? the sch is not v strong on informing parents on such stuff...but if u talk to the teachers, they will b happy to share wif u more. During the parent-teacher mtg, u'll get the SOW, see the kid's work etc but if u want them earlier, u can ask them for it. I din really bother. They will email us photos of the kids at work regularly.

for maths, their montessori lessons do cover some aspects. N has been reciting her numbers till 30 & since i hv not done it wif her b4, it's definitely taught in sch. I'm not sure if she can identify the numbers though cos i've not tested her...i only know her 1-10 is v good cos she has no problem dialling any telephone number or helping me press the numbers to sms my frens hahah

her b4/after/between concept for numbers has also been taught, i believe. Discovered it incidentally when i was using the cards to play games wif her yest. Thot i was v clever to ask her questions like 'which card comes after 4? which is between 5 & 7 etc' she could give the answers & after a while,showed me bored face; told me too simple :p

elmo
actually i find the recognition of chinese characters much easier than Eng phonics etc...i'm sure S will pick them up v soon.

Cheri
Nikki has good concept of numbers! Kai can recognize simple 1 to 10 n been calling ts. But when I told him 9xx6xx6x he'll say just now 6 already!!! Wahaha! Ya I'll write down for him soon...

She'll help u SMS? Ning will READ my SMS! She'll go from Darling, papi right? Papa says... I'm on my way home now!
Each time the phone peeps or rings, she'll try to read the caller or the SMS preview...

Oh ya kai's sch has a curriculum each month but I don't really bother cos... I think ultimate he must be happy n all those are just paper work, which is quite easy to appear impressive...

Cheri
Sha can only recognise very simple chinese characters etc: 大,小,人,囗,手
She is not keen in flashing flashcards.
So I do it like a game to her (etc: matching game), then she enjoys and learns faster.

She used to be able to recognise words 爸,妈,姐,哥,弟,妹. Then I did not practise with her on regular basis, and she forgot about it. Now having to refresh her memory :)

Cat
She can't remember our mobile numbers too.
When I ask her to dial numbers, then she is ok. I am surprised that she can recognise our home address.

cat
phone numbers, i wrote down lah. Rem her personal phone book wif grandparents, frens' pics etc...i rem she was not able to identify numbers at all then until we prepared this phone book. Then she started to track the numbers digit by digit to call J or I.

hehe so now no more 'secret' sms since Ning reads...must be tough when we sms wif so many abbreviations etc. when N smses for me, it's more like i just tell her the numbers to press...she's most happy when i tell her to press the Green button to Send...does it wif much relish keke

yes, N's sch principal told me b4 they dun use communication books but prefer parents & teachers to interact wif each other face to face. the kids' nap hours r the best for us to make appts to meet the teachers if we wanna talk at length wif them. Since N is on half day prog, i hv more time to talk to whichever teacher who sends her out daily. The full day kids will b dismissed more en masse so i think it's tougher.

cg
N is oso not as keen for me to flash the cards anymore. But i 'll use the cards to play games wif her. Just that i hv to think of more & diff games whenever she's bored hahaha...so far, i've tried out hide & seek, beating of drum, jumping on cards wif her.

btw, i just read in the 4-5 series that after they rem some single characters, it's impt to let them progress to reading 2-character 词语 then later short phrases then sentence. Or else they will lose interest after a while & it doesn't encourage them to read.

recognise home address as in recog the street name etc on an envelope addressed to ur residence?

Cheri
If I ask her where we stay, she tells us the address (but of course in very simple form, etc: <font color="ff6000">no. 36, followed by location, floor and unit no....</font>)

Maybe you can consider this set (Level 1) Suitable for 2-4yrs old. Since you have the flashcards.
Pelangi, popular bookstore sell the readers.
I bought them from Thomson Plaza.

3569676.jpg
3569677.jpg
3569678.jpg
3569679.jpg
3569680.jpg
3569681.jpg

CG
Nice recommendation !

Cheri
The Pelangi books that CG recommended, these r good. I bought them late last yr and S the "banana", now loves to chat in mandarin and will flip the series daily. In fact, CG was the one that recommended me the seller, mulberry (she always does BP), or some similar nick

Cheri
the books are the red dragonfly series. It's the cards that u bot. I use the books n cards w ning. We stop at level 3. Kai used to recog the words...

Cg
That's the thing with chinese characters. Alot of memorisation. Personally, I find that once I know how to write the words, I can remember them more easily.
Thanks for showing us the books! I'll go check them out too!

Yf
Same here, i must write then i can remember

joyfulmum
how to find out the child is under which category? some are mixed too, right?

joyfulmum

well, if not for FB, this thread is even more boomz!

I think the teacher used a passage to test the children and it's progressive.

It's the same method which MOE use to assess reading age.
For that, there is no time limit for the session.
Meaning, the child can start in the morning and read the passage and also to interact with the facilitator. Then it goes on until the child is unable to carry on.

I know of someone who went for the assessment and he was so good... he was 7 and he went all the way till the reading age of 16 and he was still at it but he was so so tired that they called it a day!

Joyfulmum
Sounds like the Montessori method.
They make use of the 5 senses to teach the little ones, then identify which child is able to learn/absorb faster from which methods.

hehe sorry nothing much to contribute cos cay's reading skills r non existent

but cat's boomz did catch my attention

CY
hey hope u guys r better now! poor thing..

CY
Ohmy, that sounded really jialat! Hope all of you are well now!!!

Cat
Ning is a very bright girl

Cheri
S is able to read Peter &amp; Jane...think 1A,1B &amp; 2A nia...
Honestly I didn't really put much effort in chinese for S...since she is already attendin an additional chinese lesson so I will just put my faith on the teachers :p

CG
Thanks for sharing

Joyfulmum
Ya, used to more BOOMZ though :p

cat
those cards that i bot? u mean those in the small clear box ah? ok ok...couldn't locate the books today in Prologue..their Pelangi section is pathetically small.

kai 'used to' recog the words? as in he forgot them now cos din revise wif him? that happened to N too...mummy has been slacking hahhaa...read that for the words to be imprinted as permanent memory, we need to revise wif them at least 8 consecutive days b4 these words can safely b in them.

wen
N's rash is much better oredi...took abt 48 hours for the antibiotic cream to take effect. Can only give her med to ease the itch while waitng for the med to work. Pd told me a stronger antibiotic cream would work faster but it would thin her skin &amp; may even leave white patches. scary!

did u do chinese cards wif her? i find it's harder for us to 'teach' &amp; they to 'recog' if the words r in the book.

N a visual (picture) learner? nt sure leh...cos i've always observed that she's nt too good wif details in pictures..i rem she could nvr identify the correct pic out of 2 that was flashed by the teacher during the bishan class hahaha

elmo
that got me curious &amp; thinking...if we leave it to just the sch teachers to teach them, at what age will our kids generally learn to read?

Elmo
I bought Peter &amp; Jane sometimes ago.
And occassionally I still bring out, to see if she does enjoy.
Unfortunately she does not.
Maybe stories too boring for her?
I feel she is absorbing the story line, because when I accidentally skip one page, she knows about it.

Cheri
yes those cards in clear boxes.
I think pop has since discontinued this range.
The first set was purchase by granny but this ning wasn't enjoying them.
So it was stashed aside till I decided to teach her chinese, and that was quite recently...

Kai... Ya la I slacked la... But I hope to pace it out too... I'm more into his conversational skills right now.
Found that he's frequently caught in 词穷situation...

Cg
Peter n Jane is very good for testing high frequency words. Think it was developed w testing the child's development in recog n reproducing the words in mind, thus the A, B and C series.
Personally, I feel that it depends on the child's character(and mummy's)... So if a child finds confidence in recog those words, then it's good.
There are many who swears by it.
For ning, I set out with the aim of teaching her basic sounds, then blends n consonants. So when I looked for resources, I used that as the guide.
Interesting, as we went through the various books, she picked up those high frequency words along the way. So in a way, we bypass P&amp;J.
Actually, I sort of steered clear of P&amp;J for some reasons... My nephew's cc used that series... And he had an overzealous teacher who wld test them so religiously and forced them to memorized the words. It really killed off his interest in learning. He's in late teens now n I always always always wonder...

CG
D is the one teaching her the P&amp;J. And occassionally I will go inside the room n she will read them to me. She is very thrilled that she could read all those words...not so much of the story line I guess...hahaha! She keeps telling me that next time she will read me stories instead of me reading to her :p

cat
N was into 词穷 situation too when she was younger. it's like she's willing to converse in Mand but always finds herself tongue-tied cos not enuff vocab to express herself. After i started speaking wif her more Mand at home, it improved a lot. I would just provide her wif the word/s whenever she's slowing down to think. She's kinda happy that mummy can read her mind; knows what she wanna say...after that,she progressed to asking me what is the chinese word for saying this this this...

elmo
i oso hv no luck wif N in P&amp;J...she doesn't even wan me to take those books out after the first few times hahah..since Summer is keen on them, why not? diff strokes for diff folks

Cat
You are up at 4 in the morning, wow !

P&amp;J ... i started S on it last Jun and was quite diligent about it and stopped after 4 mths, by which she hit series 4B. We are now into any story books or bible story she want and I notice she's fine when it comes to recognising high frequency words whilst reading. She will also read my Financial Times or Straits Times, those words that she can recognise la....and she is thrilled when she can recognise. Aiya, I think it's all a game to her at this juncture, whatever makes her happy :)

cheri
Ya I am also curious if leave the teaching to just teacher...but right now I really have not much time for her to practise at home as the moment she comes home from school, she is either got to shower &amp; prepare to nap or we will be out for classes. Wait till she is totally nap-free &amp; some lessons has been dropped.

aishite,cheri
How old is S now? Actually D didn't really do the P&amp;J everyday...infact very little...that is why I'm so surprised that she could recognise quite a few words now...

Elmo
S is end Jun 06.
Little kids are awesome la, they r so observant that anything that comes across their way, they just pick up...no need to actually do a lot of formal teaching.

And there are many diverse ways of learning. During her N1 days, the teachers were showing her books with no words from the Oxford series, which I thought was a fantastic idea, because it makes her look at the pictures v intently, without having to be distracted by the words. I notice she becomes v v v observant to the tiny details in the piccies and can weave a story by herself, which is another great form of exposure....it's kinda similar to silent mimes

***anyone selling their baby carrier?***

hi girls
how's are u all doing?
I am looking for a baby carrier, anyone has theirs to sell? my ryan boy doesn't like to sit in the ergo!

Cy is interested in any kind of books. Even pj haha but I haven't done any with him yet...

Cy is very much illiterate, cl or el. O he doesn't draw, can't paint unless you consider smears drawing...

He can't swim, doesn't play sport, bounces up and down when we ask him to dance, can't sing much and is erhmm practically juz apt at running wild....he doesn't talk sensibly anymore after turning three...communicating with him is largely me shouting and he whining away....

And o he doesn't even go to school !!!

Phew!!! What a load of cants!! But well soneones gotta be last... Buahahahahs.... Okok he flus goin to my brain