(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Hi Sade, I called up my hospital (PEH) and they said they don't usually help delivery patients to submit claims unless was advised to do so...
Initially, one of the officer told me I need to pay a fee to retrieve my file but later on they said since it's emergency C-sect, if my agent said can claim then they'll help me submit form with no extra cost.
Just hope the GE will be able to cover some as I din buy the rider plan...

Hi Ladies, I'm already very envy with you all got BM supply...my bb can latch on v well, just that I don't have enough for her, maybe due to stress as I've to care for her day and night...

Now I'm a bit worried as her total intake of FM per day reduced since last week.she's still on 75mL per 3-hrly... refuse to take in extra.

My aunts scolded me for getting "cheaper" milk powder from store and not fr NTUC. they said maybe the storage wasn't good and affect the quality of milk powder that's why bb refuse to drink but their milk powder not only cheaper than NTUC but also "fresher" (later expiry date)as turnover is faster.
Anyway, got chided for everything I do with bb, can't give Gripe water, must drag the feeding time... very sian...
My bb will cry very loud when hungry and if delay the feeding she won't drink much more too, just faster only.. My friend said this is worst as more wind introduced when she cries.

I get frustrated with my aunts. They said they'll help me or give me advises but when I ask for help either they busy or I get chided for not being a capable good mum

Anyway, if I were to have baby again, I'll hire a CL and do a good confinement and eat nice confinement food. This time I was deprived of that as my aunts strongly disagree with hiring CL and with a lot of other things.

Znatasha: don't be upset. I also taking care of my girl day n nite. Only manage to gather bm enough for her 2 feeding. Give her bm before her sleep. I also kena chided by my mum n dh making her cranky n cry lot. Commented that bm where got enough for her. Fm make her more full to sleep well. Haizzzz

Just do whatever u think is gd for your baby. In long run u will be the care taker not your aunties.

znatasha oic, no wonder yours is not submitted automatically.

reikibaby ur boy has good appetite. u meant the jab? yes will cause fever but not every bb has it.

znatasha my bb also will cry v loudly when hungry. I guess all bb do that. try to feed before bb cries as crying is a late sign of hunger.
guess u care too much abt other opinions. just go one ear in n the other out. u call the shot cos u r the mum now. soon u will get used to it. initially my mum will say this n that n now she no longer say it cos she knew that I m mum n there is Mr. google to help me.

Sade, ok thx. Baby getting the jab next week..

Znatasha, realli wanna hugz you. It is already not easy for us already and your those aunties still wan poke their nose into all trivial matters which as a mummy you knw whats best. I wiuld have blow my top and shut then up. You are so nice to them.

Hi Babysmurf, thanks! Think I will just do my on the day itself. No time to prepare if push forward to the weekend before.

Hi Znatasha, yes, sometimes I feel it is so easy for others to blame us as mothers, when there is something wrong with the baby or whatever we do. And it does hurt because we are just trying our best as first time parents
Babysmurf is right - it will be us as the parents who will bear the consequences of whatever decisions we make for our children/ourselves as parents, not those who stand by and take credit when their "advice" works and find something to pin the blame on us when their "advice" doesn't.

Sade: thanks for letting us know. I call up my insurance agent and was told to purchase only after the baby is born. Does it apply for your AIA Star Shield policy or is a hospitalisation policy for baby?

Thank you ladies for your kind words and encouragement. Yes, I will look forward but when I see milk dripping from my nipples, I have the urge to go and take the pump. Haha...

Reikibaby, haven't dropped hair yet. My mum said usually the fourth month. So anticipating it now.

Dian tang, the meds is to reduce the supply and I am not supposed to pump cos if I pump I am telling my body to produce more.

Sade, can't massage yet. Milk is still dripping from my nipples. This is to drain out the milk according to doctor. Once my boobs shrink then I am back to normal. But there's a price to pay. You get very tired and have bodyache like coming down with a flu or fever.

To those still breastfeeding, jiayou!

Joynpeace, I delivered at Mt. E. Cost me a bomb! I can't remember exact cost now but I feel the service was average. I went there because my gynae delivers there.

Dian tang, ok! Will try it out the next time. I realised my right breast has improved alot over the last few days. Maybe like you ladies say, latch more and massage more before and during pumping..

Znatasha, don't bother about those comments. Ultimately you are the mother of your child. You decide what is best for them. I have been like that too.. Ignoring my mil comments and sometime I even tell her what I want this n that.. Not once but repeatedly..

Koirc, haha! You must jiayou too! Enjoy motherhood!

psp I bought the greast eastern health shield insurance.

koirc oic. not a nice feeling afterall. u will hv more time to play with ur bb.

Shiok!!!! Done my 1st massage. She is very gentle on my wound area n help me see my wound. Said got one side wound didn't heal well.

So busy after CL left yesterday . So busy attending bb though at my mom place. Poor mum have to attend to my bb and niece while I take a short nap.

Koirc: oic.. Is there any side effects taking the medicine? My CL asked me not to take this med as it may make the breast smaller than bef.

Saralyn: just try and error. I also sometimes have lower milk supply when I am unhappy or stress or not enough rest .

Hope, your menses came already? I am anticipating since I have now stopped bf.

Dian tang, no side effects except you feel like you're falling sick lor. Not sure about breasts become smaller than before but I have a friend who stopped bf naturally and said her breasts became smaller.

Znatasha, don't be upset. Just do what you think is right for bb. Just my point of view - I think it's not good to drag feed when bb is hungry especially when she's taking in less now. Prolonged crying can lead to more wind in stomach. My bb's intake also dropped. It's been about 2-3 weeks and he still hasn't up his volume. Bb will be seeing pd next week so I will ask all the qns I have.

Sade, you buy after delivery and they still cover and pays you?

Hope, means you can get preg anytime...

Diantang, my mum said the same abt taking med to stop bf. She also said in future wan bf will have difficulty too. Duno true anot. Haha...most of my gfs stop naturally by prolonging the pump timing.

Ladies, I brought my boys for their first month check and the pd prescribed multi bits n iron for them.... I thought bm has all the necessary vits for them already..

reikibaby I bought for bb the same medical insurance as me. I had bought my insurance for many yrs alrdy.

yes its better to stop bf naturally. have to plan when to stop n do it gradually.

Hi Babysmurf, the right side of my c section cut also hurts more than the left - so strange huh? For shaving, I heard that its too improve hair growth after the shave - hair supposed to grow back thicker OR if baby born with little tufts of hair then shaving might encourage a more uniform look. For me, I'm just trimming a bit of my girls' hair as an Yi si - will keep in a red packet with their umbilical cords which have fallen off.

The breastfeeding thingy is so tiring - just pumped another 200ml after getting up one hour later than planned. Sometimes really wonder if the 45-60mins spent is worth it compared to a good night sleep or time with my girls. And I have nothing left to store or freeze unlike others cos from morning to evening feeds, my girls use all my EBM. So really need to think when I should stop even with nothing to freeze.

Mofmm & Dian tang, you girls pump for so long? I also think the same.. Is it worth it with all the time put in to pump..

Mofmm, for us, having twins, is already very good if we can give them bm.. Doesn't matter we still have frozen or not. Anyway, I read before frozen bm is not as good as fresh bm.. So you girls are fully on ebm for the whole day?

Mummies do u wear nursing tops at home during ML? Where can I find cheap nursing tops to wear at home? I can't get on gmarket cos thoses sizes are too small. Thks in advance!

Mofmm: me too right side of the wound hurts more from the start. Maybe is the end of the stitch. Cos I remember dr tan at my right side during D. Hahaha yesterday my massage lady also said my right haven't heal got a dent.

I still trying very hard to pump more. Now at least can provide my girl 2feed. Thought maybe supply her 2mths then I back to work let her fully on fm.

Small bunny: nursing tops usually u wear if you are bm outside. At home wear what u r comfortable. Normally I wear a t-shirts when want to nurse just carry my girl n close my room door.

Hi Saralyn, yes, I pump 5 minutes each breast starting with left then right then left then right. Then after the first 20mins, massage each breasts (roll the nipples, aerola, using fists then pressing) for another 5 minutes each. That's 10 minutes. Then finally pump left then right again 5 minutes each. So total 40 minutes to pump finish. By the time put in fridge, wash parts, it's almost 1 hour gone. I can't latch because nipples too short.

Yup, my girls start their 8/9am feed with EBM and end at 8/9pm with EBM. After that formula feeds for the 11pm, 2am and 5am feeds. How about for your twins?

WHO encourages 6 months breastfeeding hence I was hoping to have some frozen milk for them to last till 6 months but doesn't seem like it...last night I even missed the 3am pump as I didn't hear my alarm.

Hi Small Bunny, yup, I have 2 nursing bras and 2 nightgowns from Mothercare. It's worth to buy on sale when at least 50% off. In the night I wear my night gowns with the easy openings to pump, in the day I wear my spaghetti strap (bossini those kind) top and my nursing bra so I can just shrug off my spag strap and unclip the bra. Very hassle free to take the boobs out, esp when the babies are fussing while the milk is being warmed up...can take one boob out and put in the mouth to buy some time (until of course mine pushes away cos cannot latch on well)

Ladies who have done C section, when can we do our first bikini wax?

Mofmm, i used to think that my supply is lousy cos i cant even have frozen ebm. But now i rather not gv baby frozen. Not only the nutrition level in it is very low, cos most are 'killed' in the freezing, febm also taste and smells terrible. Although my baby will drink it but seriously the smell is not nice that i cant stand it even. Therefore i rather gv fm if no ebm.

Yesterday dh said something which makes me ponder...
My mum wans a rocker at her place so my son can sleeps in it. Then i happen to chance upon a 2nd hand one online selling cheap and decided get tat since in another 2mths if he flips he may not wan be in the rocker. So no point getting new one. Then dh said...i can pay few hundreds for a concert, a musical play just to watch that one night..yet i wan to save on a rocker that my son gets to sit in for at least 2mths, more than 10times and only cost less than a hundred.
I thought abt it...yah..what he said was true. Sometimes we will calculate hw much a piecs of diaper is n not looking at hw good it is...but when we buy sanitary pad for ourselves, we look at hw good it is even though price per pc is higher than the diaper. We can spend hundreds on skincare and in hairsalon, massage and staycation yet we are looking and trying to save every cents here n there when comes to bb stuff. They are the fragile ones who cant speak for themselves and accept what we gv them...
After dh said that, i rather save the money on new wardrobe, new stylish nursing bras and provide what my son needs.

Mummies, dun tink abt the time spent on pumping and whether worth it anot. Bm is still the best for baby. Remember those nights you sacrifice your sleep for work, movies, clubbing and drinking, then why feel whether hat pumping is worth it anot when we know that at the end of the day our baby benefits from it. Thats hw i keep reminding myself...

Just my 2cents. No offence to anyone...

Reikibaby, I actually agree with you. We have spent money enjoying and yet can't bear to spend that little bit more for the small being who cannot speak for himself. Everytime I let bb sleep on my bed, he's so sound asleep. To the point I think it's the mattress that makes the difference. So I search online for the brand to see if they have cot mattress that I can buy for bb. Hubby thinks I am being too extravagant and spoiling bb! But a good sleep is very important to a human. If we can spend thousands buying the mattress for ourselves, why can't we spend hundreds buying the mattress for bb?!

Dian tang, I asked my friend. She says give yourself about 3 weeks if you want to stop. Then slowly either drag pump time or miss 1-2 pumps a day. Supply will drop and then will stop eventually.

reikibaby - abt the bouncer / rocker - u can also rent it first to try out cos not babies like them.

i got a bouncer for my gal and she didn't like it after using for less than 4 times.. so it's now a white elephant in the house.

Whiteclover, my bb now using fp rocker. So if wan get will get the same. My dh says bb too precious to use 2nd hand...haha...cos he say with poo pee milk stain...he dun like..just like we wont wear others clothings that are stained. Dh makes sense....haha what can i say.

Hi Reikibaby, thanks for advice on frozen EBM. This morning was so hectic - just managed to have time to sit down and pump after 6 hours. Then lunch. Jia lat. keep dragging the time.

So coincidental - was updating my blog and shared the same thoughts. I have stopped spending on myself totally except for the post natal massage. Pampered myself enough all these years and will not spare any expense for the babies benefit. Hiring a CL to take care of twins cost 5 digits but we will do it because that is the best care the babies can receive at home. I'm too busy pumping, recovering, diapering and the twins are still so fragile - below 3kg each. You are lucky you have your husband's full support. For me I always have to tell my husband that he can save on himself but never on the babies - that happened after he bought $2 wipes from Daiso when he know all along I will only use Pigeon brand. Now he don't dare Liao. For pampers, the moment got diaper rash, I stop using Huggies straight away though it is cheapest option and I have tons of it. Rushed to Orchard and buy cloth nappies and baby liners from Pigeon and opened up my Goon diapers to try. We won't continue using a product on our face if we get pimples right, no matter how much we spent on it, same for babies bum.

Hi mummies, thank you for your encouragement on proper latching. I kept correcting baby for past 3 days and I happy to say he has improved! I no longer feel pain and he seems to be getting more milk. Sometimes I can see milk leaking from the corner of his mouth.

Oh yes! And thanks for your reassurance that his crankiness was just getting used to new environment and needing comfort. He also seems better now and we are all very happy about that. Less screaming! Ha ha! Oh and his appetite has improved too!

Sade, his birth weight was 2.77kg. Given the size of my tummy, I was surprised at how small he is. When we left hospital on Day 5, he weighed only 2.58kg. At his Week 1 checkup yesterday (Day 8), he is back to his birth weight of 2.77kg.

Mofmm, I've started waking up twice at night to pump but I'm reluctant to set alarm. Just let my leaking boobs to wake me up. Ha ha. And I'm usually so sleepy that I forgo the massage first and just pump 10min each side. Just anyhow massage as I pump.

My boy's appetite has really increased. Now he is drinking 60-80ml each feed but there isn't set timing. Just on demand. During the day, CL encourages me to latch because she says a baby can stimulate milk supply better than a pump. I'm yielding 100-110ml every 3-4 hrs now and the funny thing is my CL is very proud of herself saying its all thanks to the fish and soup that she prepares! Lol!

Babysmurf, the right side of my wound hurts more too!!

Znatasha, don't heed what your aunts say. Older folks just like talking for the sake of talking. You are so nice and when I read your post I wish I could be there to tell your aunts off for you

Reikibaby, what you said is really true. It is a mind shift now that we have dependent/s. Always good to strike a balance as we also can't give baby everything and neglect ourselves. Some baby purchases are really unnecessary and it's the retailers' strategy to keep coming up with things and promos to earn our $$$
For me, my breastfriend nursing pillow is my white elephant. My own sleeping pillow is more comfortable.

Koirc, try checking out My First Years at Paragon. They have really good baby mattresses with free delivery. We got ours from there.

Mofmm, for diaper rash, my CL recommended Desitin Rapid Relief Cream. It acts like a barrier cream that protects the skin. My baby's rash recovered after 2 uses. Regarding shaving head at full month, I also heart pain because baby has full head of hair. I already told my mum I'm not shaving him.

Psp, our sleeping arrangement is CL with baby. In the 1st few days before I start pumping, CL would knock on our bedroom door when baby needs to feed. After I started pumping, CL just feeds baby with EBM. I get up 1-2 times a night to pump at my own time in the living room so that I dont disturb my DH. If it happens to coincide with baby feeding time, I will let baby latch.

Reiki yah lor so now must use protection haha. I totally agree with what you said. I told my hubby shopping for my gal and I'm like so happy as if I'm shopping for myself haha. I guess this is parenthood yah... We want the best for our babies!

today bb went for pd checkup at kkh. grown 400g since birth and grown tall as well. Cried loudly at the clinic when she want diaper change and milk feed. lolx ...

Lil your milk supply is good n bb is gaining back birth weight, keep it up. So ur bb is totally on bf? U r doing a great job. Jia You!

as for mattress, have to take into considerations that once bb can turn n crawl, it's not so safe to put bb in cot, hence some of my friends told me that it's safer for bb to sleep on seahorse mattress on the floor.

As i will wan to give bb the best but at the same time i hope not to fall into co marketing strategies. N most importantly, we still need to bring bb up till 21 yrs old or more, hence have to be cautious abt not over indugling on myself and also not to buy unneccessary stuffs anymore.
The path is still v long ahead for all of us n being in mid thirties made me panick cos of the huge age gap difference btw bb n me. I can't retire when i am 50yrs old.

Thanks Sade, yes baby is fully on bm. When he latches I have no idea how much he drinks but on bottle it's 60-80ml.. Our cot can be adjusted so its still safe up to certain age though I'm not certain what age. Need to find out. You can always keep the cot and mattress for No. 2!! Lol!

Reikibaby, the brand of mattress I'm using has cot mattresses but only available in US. Can purchase through Amazon though. Btw, my bb also using FP rocker! :p My mum said it's too hot and asked me to buy those mesh bouncer. I cannot find leh...

Lil, thanks. I will check that shop out.

Sade, ya my mum asked me to prepare those mattress to put on floor. But still want to change cot mattress since the cot can convert to bed for bb to sleep till 5yo?!

Hi Usagi, mine is Medela PISA but not sure how to progress to pumping two boobs at a go...tried once but didn't know how to switch or tune motor with both hands cupping shields. Ordered Medela handsfree bustier from the States and waiting for my colleague to bring it back next week.

Hi Girkgirl, how you find the PD and when is the next check? I'm wondering if I should change to a PD nearer my house than KKH...

Thanks Lil - will go Guardian to check it out. When did your baby get diaper rash? What brand of diapers are you using,