(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Babysmurf: maybe u can try pumping every 3 hrs. Slowly supply may build up. Drink more warm drinks bef pumping and massage too

Hello ladies, how's everyone doing? Haven't been here for a few days cos I'm dealing with a bad case of engorgement. Massage and the pain didn't go away. Developed fever again. Went to see doctor and now diligently pumping but very little milk came out. Yesterday pumped out blood. I think for sanity's sake, I am going to stop bf. I have pressed on hard and done my best. It's time I look out for myself I think... :S

Seem like most LC at TMC cannot make it kind.. I really learn through the hard way.. Initially don't really know what is a good latch and let my boys just anyhow latch and was so painful and they weren't drinking much..

Koirc, ya.. How come can have blood? Hope you are feeling better now.. Don't worry about giving up bf.. I'm sure you have tried your very best.. I am still trying very hard too.. Anyway there is no wrong with fm. My gynea even encourage me to give fm and not stress over bm coz he worried I will go into depression. Haha

Saralyn, i din depend on the LC. Most of my knowledge came from the readings i had when i was preg. Actuali if baby can be on fm and bm, easier for us. Eg for me, when im out at shopping mall, i normally gv fm cos to warm up bm takes very long, if i wanna latch, got to make sure theres nursing room. Even if there is, it must be big to accomodate more than 1mummy. Like the one at vivo is bad. I like the one at IMM. In a nursing rm theres 4 changing table and 4 rooms inside for nursing or pumping. So if baby is trained to accept bottles and latch, fm and bm, our life wll be easier and less stressful when we bring bb out.

Koirc, you've done your best. For sanity sake, yes..i agree that you shld just give fm. It is not tat bad. I told dh i will supplement bb with 1 fm a day so at least i know he gets the adequate nutrients if my bm lacks of it frm my diet. Im just kiasu to playsafe. Also if on fm your baby drinks more and put on weight, why not?
at the end of the day happy mummy will then have happy baby.

Reiki, I feel the same as you! Haiz really not easy taking care alone and maintaining the BM supply lei. Do u feed 1 FM per day? Wow your bb v good lei sleep so long! Mine feed & sleep at 9 plus wake up at 4 for feed I already very happy haha! And then after that feed again at 9.... I hope she maintains like that hee.

Koirc, please take care yah! Yah stop bf if its really too painful after all FM is also ok one lah. Must take care of yourself... Happy mummy equals to happy baby!

Koirc: at least u r able to feed your baby for so long. Me now only can supply my girl 1 feed bm the rest is fm. As long as she got take bm got protection, I am happy Liao. I taking ginger n wine so my timing btwn pump will be long.

Dian tang & Saralyn, this is not the first time I pump out blood! I pumped out blood during my first month too. That was the toughest period. Just when things got better and now it happens again. I have hoped to press on for another month before I go back to work but looks like it's about time I stop.

Reikibaby & Hope, thanks. Yes, I think I will spend my remaining one month ML to be a happy mummy and not be obsessed with bf! Both your babies so guai can sleep so long! My bb last night feed at 9pm but will wake up at 2am, then 5 am for feed again! This week it shifted an hour so he wakes up at 3am and 6am.

Babysmurf, jiayou! Just do your best... As long as you know you've done whatever you can for your girl, there's no guilt.

Babysmurf, the ginger and wine will still be in your next pump no matter how long you stretch. To be safe you just have to freeze that milk and gv it to baby when her jaundice is gone.

Hope, wow yours after 4am can tahan till 9am? Mine after 4am will drink at 3h interval liao.

Btw Babysmurf, did you take any supplement? Maybe you can try taking. For me, my milk supply increased when my doctor prescribed me medicine.

Hi Koirc, how terrible pumping out blood! I hope you feel better today. There is nothing wrong stopping Bfeeding after 3 months of giving your baby breastmilk. You are to be saluted for your efforts! My doctor at KKH prescribed me with Fenugeek b4 I was discharged - is that the medicine you are referring to?
It's only 2 weeks for me and my nipples are so large and sore. Ugh. Look like cows udders and I have to force myself up to pump at 3am then 630am. Head spinning.

Hi Babysmurf, how come leh? The LC came every day to teach me how to massage my breasts to open the ducts and she even massaged each breasts for me to clear the lumps and ducts. Her name is Shakira - wonderful lady. If you need help, call KK LC hotline and request for an appointment with her.

Koirc, I'm glad you are being cool about bf. I got so stressed about it the first few weeks, cried so much, that I forgot to enjoy my bb boy. You've managed to bf bb till now, that's an achievement already! Sounds like you kena mastitis, I got it recently also and it's horrible. Never want to go through it again. If you are engorged but pump out little milk, I think you may have alot of blocked ducts. I went to see this massage lady at Joo Chiat who specialises in massaging out the blocked ducts, after seeing her my mastitis cleared and milk flow improved.

MofMM, the meds doctor gave me is called motilium.

Bb, I have been through that. The first month was both frustrating and stressful because of breastfeeding. Had to deal with sore/cracked nipples, low supply and then engorgement and mastits. This is the 2nd time I kenna already. I had the massage lady come to massage for me but it was SO painful. Not Madam Rokiah cos I think for her service must go Joo Chiat which is too far for me. BB is turning 3 months this week. So I think time to just give him fm and be a happy mum.

bb can kindly give me the address? cos I kena mastitis before n now there is still a lump. I had been fully bf my girl sin birth for 4months plus. thought of trying the massage lady before seeing a doc.

reikibaby yes the vivo city diaper room sucks. great world city nursing room is good too.

koirc good that u had preserved few months alrdy despite all ur pro.

Hi Babysmurf, that's so strange! Both A and B1 are private rates leh, can't be such a big diff. Hmmm. I also got those pills.

Gosh, just came back from Expo - dropped DH off to buy more Tollyjoy laundry detergent. Parking was close to impossible. Then went Guardian to buy pampers - think I can open diaper store already. Tons of Huggies n Pampers at home. I bought 12 pkts NB Huggies at Feb fare at 3 for $10 which was a great deal IMHO and I only left 5 packets now after 10 days home with the twins. Lucky got 4 packets of NB size Goon and 2 packets NB size Pampers.

Sade, maybe we should start tabulating which mall has good big nusing room. I probably wont bring baby there if theres none. Oh changi airport dun have nursing room. To change bb diapers have to use the drop down diaper changing station tats installed on the wall near the sink.
Plaza singapura has nursing room?

Mofmm: I also not too sure. Maybe I semi feed my girl fm n bm that y the dr didn't give too me. Now no matter how I pump I can only manage to get 40ml. I am getting bored n tired at home. Another 2wkends to end my confinment. I can go out for a short break.

Btwn tollyjoy liquid detergent for milk bottles not so gd very soapy compare to pigeon one very watery. Try to minize the chemicAl used.

Sade: Her name is mdm rokiah, address is 180 joo Chiat road, #02-02. You hv to call for an appt first, number is 9271 6091.

I saw her twice for massage before mastitis cleared. But am glad I saw her, managed to avoid seeing doc n taking antibiotics.

Thanks Babysmurf, will not buy Tollyjoy after I finish the two refill packets. I have two Pigeon refills waiting to be used.

reikibaby haha. changi airport t3 has nursing room at basement 2. near the popoye restaurant. yes plaza sing has nursing room but so so only. mostly I will latch in car n sometimes in restaurant. I dont mind but my hb dont like.

bb ok thanks. its been 2 months sin I kena mastitis n the lump is still there. jia let..

Hi Ladies, I was thinking about buying hospitalization insurance plans for the babies - do you all have any recommendations, esp for baby girls? I am leaning towards GE as I heard that their plans are geared towards females...

Mofmm, personally i prefers tollyjoy to pigeon. Maybe you just have to use both and decide on your preference. I still have lots of pigeon refill pack. Now just have to finish using and decide whats next.

Sade, oh...i was at t2 that day.

Whiteclover, thanks for the website.

Anyone use puréen liquid detergent? My friend said is not bad.

Feel so down abt my bm. Pump every 4hrs but only got 20ml arrgh. Then have to keep washing n sterilize my pump. Don't pump see the bm just leak by itself so wasted. Which dr do we go to for medicine to increase bm. Hopefully can supply my girl at least for 3mths before going back to work.

Need to spread some quality time with my dh. Busy with my girl n my mum nagging. Any stayvaction to suggest. Maybe consider bring my girl along.

Babysmurf, initiallym my bm supply also low in the first month. Same like you, the bm keep leaking. I used the medela disposable breast pad twice and it irritates my skin. I still got a box. Haiz...

Anyway, you can buy the breast pad at mother care. It works very good for me. Cant rem the name, near the clothes section in a black box.

To increase bm, I bought fenugreek and ate 2 cap each time 3 times a day. Started eat green papaya fish soup. Asked gynae for med. But beware, the med make u drowsy. So i really struggled in morning to care for bb alone when hubby at work and my mum only comes near noon. Also pump at 3 hr interval. It will help.

Babysmurf, I'm using pureen liquid detergent. No complain so far. Smell pleasant.. Doesn't have those waxy feeling but I find abit more forms..

My bm supply is also very low.. It went up and now went down again.. Just Continue pumping and I'm sure it will go up again.. I read after latching go and pump. Even if you don't see any milk still continue to pump so the body will know there is still a demand. And, any increase in bm can only be seem 2-3 days later..

As mentioned by the mummies here, think last week my right breast is engorged.. I keep massaging the lump there and I think my breast become blue black for the area! Haha! After afew days the lump is gone but I realised my supply from right side is seriously pathetic as compared to my left.. Can I ask is this a blocked duct issue?

Talking about breast pad, any good recommendation? I tried pigeon, avent and medela.. My breasts get very itchy from all these pads.. Any good recommendation which is breathable one?

Usagi: u mean taking fenugreek will become drowsy? My mum doing Confinement for me. She don't know how to cook papaya fish soup. I try to order the milk biscuit. But she stop production hai. Not my day.

Saralyn: sometimes not enough rest will give lesser milk. Stress also. I also facing lesser milk when I felt both .

Mofmm: I getting prushield . I have compared ge and prushield . Overall is the differ in premium.

Saralyn,
Try mothercare. It is cloth material. It covers my whole breast like a cup so it feels much better. Per box about 30, in a black box near the clothes at harbourfront store.

I tried medela pads both washable n disposable but both sucks. I also tried pigeon disposable but still the mothercare one best

Very troubled. Stupid dengue. My mum neighborhood is now yellow alert, hubby dun want bb to stay there this week but he having exam. No time help me care for bb. Today he nvr study much coz my mum sick so the both of us had a tiring day

koirc yup din see doc. just saw a lactation consultant only. she advised me to see doc if my fever is still high aft 24hrs. ya its painful n also feeling cold n then fever n also v tired. but I kept on latching my bb so that can help to clear it. n also pump if she cant finish both breasts.

White clover thanks for the link.

reikibaby I wen to t1 nursing room before too. as for t2 dont know whr is it. have to find it. sure have but dont know whr it is.

saralyn I used lanisoh breast pad n find that its good. as for blocked ducts, I cant advise u much. but dont have blue black. maybe u massage too hard.

babysmurf I m using the pureen liquid cleanser. not bad.

Babysmurf, the meds needs to be prescribed by doctor. You can get it from your gynae.

Sade, so the pain is gone now? My pain and swell only got better after antibiotics.

MofMM, I bought the AIA ones. The one that is an upgrade from medishield. Also bought Star Shield as it has protection against HFMD which is very common for kids I think.

koirc yes the pain is gone but the lump is still there.

mofmm I bought great eastern hospitalisation plan for my bb girl. my emergency c sec was fully covered by my great eastern insurance hence I bought great eastern again. I was glad that I dont hv to pay for my hospitalisation bill at all. just only to pay for my girl's bill.

Good morning ladies! Doing my last pump now before heading to the doctor for the meds. To those who are still trying, do your best!

Mofmm: Is this very common? Really stress up over the CL issue. Oh dear, how did you manage your twins w/o ur CL. Did your maid and hb help while she is back to JB? Who is taking care of your twins after your CL leave on the 3rd month?

Lil: How are you coping with your prince? So you having 2 CLs, each of them helping 2 weeks? Your case sounds very complicated.

Dian_tang: I prefer bb to come out early so that I can have her in my arms mah.. ha ha.. but at my current CL’s issue, I think is better to have full term bb…

Koirc: Have you seen a doctor? Are you feeling better? Did you try the cabbage on your breasts? What is the name of the policies for the Star Shield and AIA? I thought of getting one too.

Sade: That was a good buy, maybe I can consider the hospitalization plan for my bb girl too.

Ladies, do you bath during the stay in the hospital after birth?

Alison PSP, yes I've seen doctor twice. So going back today to ask for meds to stop milk already... Star Shield is from AIA. That's the product name. It's more like an accident plan. The hospitalization one is Health Shield, an upgrade from medishield which most insurance companies offer.

As for bathing during hospital stay, yes I did that. And I shower and wash my hair every day during confinement. But some people wash hair on alternate days or once a week. If you're planning to do that, maybe you can try using dry shampoo on days that you're not having a hair wash. I just can't imagine not washing hair in this hot weather!

koirc which doc did u see for breast issue? i m worried that my case might be breast abscess.

psp I din bath in hospital as I m weak then but did wipe body daily. I did bath n wash hair on 6th day aft that. cant stand it anymore. haha.
yes I din even know that it can cover pregnancy complications n e c sec is one of it. hehe.

Hi ladies, baby and I were discharged yesterday after staying 1 extra day due to his jaundice. Wah, that extra day was really 'shiong'. Lol! Baby was put under phototherapy for 24 hours. It's quite cute because he was given this little baby 'sunglasses' when he is tanning. The therapy is dehydrating so he must feed every 3 hours and he is so ravenous that he usually feeds for 45mins each time and that just leaves me a little over 2 hours to rest my nipples before the next feed. On the bright side my supply could keep up with his demand. On the painful side my nipples were sore, slightly cracked and one nipple even has a scab. All in all, baby's jaundice reduced and we are now home

It feels really good to be home. As wonderful as the hospital was, it was closely to impossible to get a good sleep/rest due to all kinds of interruptions like blood pressure check, doctors visit, housekeeping, visitors, etc. Last night, I slept for the first time in 5 days.

Mofmm, thanks for the offer of your CL's contact. Luckily, my replacement CL is very good. She is so experienced and she just took over everything (and my kitchen) from the moment she arrived. She could only work for 2 weeks as she wants to go back to Msia for her father's big birthday. After discussing with her, she agreed to work 1 month but she will be away for 4 days for the birthday. She will cook/prepare extra food to I just need to heat up or steam while she is away. I'm happy with this arrangement because I can avoid getting another replacement for 2 weeks. My original CL will come in July. So now I will have 2 instead of 3 CL.

Psp, well it's only been a day at home but things are going well. Not sure if this is the norm, but I don't have much to do. So far, i just nap or watch tv. During the day, CL brings baby to me when it's feeding time for baby to latch. In between feeding I try to pump 2-3 bottles for her night time feed. So far, both boobs yield in total 50ml. Oh and don't kan cheong, the longer baby stay in you the better. Baby will be more full term and sturdier
my boy is sooo tiny so I've made it my mission to fatten him up this month. Lol!! Don't stress over your CL issue, I was stressed too but the replacement turns out to be good so all that stressing was unnecessary. I'm sure your CL will recommend a good replacement for you
I also bath while in hospital. The c sec dressing is waterproof to encourage bathing and good hygiene.

Babysmurf, try not to stress. Its a vicious cycle as it will affect milk production which makes you stress even more. Maybe you've already tried it but my lactation consultant suggest that I put warm compress on boobs before pump to open up the ducts. And also to do regular gentle massage on boobs to stimulate milk ducts so I do it almost every hour.

Mofmm, we got the AIA insurance for baby because it was on offer at the hospital. I'm afraid we did really do much research and compare with others.

Koirc, it is commendable that you persevere to bf for so long given the challenges. Pumping blood sounds really horrible. You are absolutely right that your well-being is important. I would say it is equally important as babies. Sometimes people focus so much on baby that they neglect the mum. Healthy and happy mum is very important because only then we can provide the best for our baby
enjoy your final month of ml!

Saralyn, the lactation consultant who saw you was so rude! Good that you overcame that and doing well

Have not heard from Girl Girl, wonder how she is?