(2013/11) November 2013

LOL ankh!!!! your uncle is so funny lar. haha. i think it's true to a certain extent. hahah #1 is always like so precious and bao bei to us. but after a while, you know that babies are not so fragile, so with #2 and then #3, you are less and less worried / paranoid liao. hehe.

snake bb, how old is your #1? It is easier for younger kids to adapt to going to school than older kids. you will be surprised that after you have left, he will stop crying and start playing with his classmates. most importantly, you mustn't show him that you are sad as well, if he senses that you are sad, he will think school is a terrible place. instead, try to be excited about school so that he will think school is actually a fun place to go. thinking back 1 year ago when my son first started at IFC, I felt so terrible to leave him there and he screamed so loudly. now, he can even hug his teachers and wave goodbye to us. You will survive this.

SN: yes only ibanking~~

what brand of FM are your older kids taking?
Mine is taking Gain IQ Kid. I buy from provision shop at $59 for 1.8kg tin. Somemore my gal needs about 4 feeds a day of 270ml, so finishes quite fast!!!

Hi Hi,
Check with you who had delivered 1-2 years ago. Do hospital still distribute those netted panties after delivery? I remembered during my time (8 years back) I was given those netted undy which i love them so much! It's airy and it holds up our maternity pads so firmly without any splils...

Ankh,I can't go sch w him.If I go he will cry more.Yest was ok.Yest he cried after 30mins.Then helper went in he stopped.Today cannot go in so by then he cried too hard,he vomited.By then helper can go in,teacher just finished changing his clothes.My boy likes to social w adult more than kids.A few time witness kid wanted to play w him but he swayed off his hand.Cos he is the only child in the family.Have been w adults since born.So I guess he prefer to be w adults more.Teachers not good in pacifying the kids.Just told them stop crying or canno cry.

hi all, came back from my detailed scan and everything is good except i also have slightly low placenta. But me and hubs are open to c sec so we will let nature takes its course.

We are having a princess! Bad news is i've put on 9 kg since pre pregnancy and baby is only 300g.

Argh gonna have a hard time losing those extra pounds after.

Bless>did you delivered in Mt Alvernia 8 years ago?I remembered nurse gave me or put on a netted very tight type of disposable underwear after delivery.

angie>congrats on having a princess , I am also having a girl. Is this your #1? If you are not overweight or even underweight, I think you can afford to put on more than people like me, who's already overweight

Congrats Angie for having a healty baby princess! I put on quite alot during my #1, really have to work extra hard to shed off those extra pounds. Breasfeeding do helps too. Anyway, just dont worry too much and enjoy your pregnancy!

third3timemum: yes it's my no 1. i am eating a lot of junk food. find them more appealing and tasty. :p But i am definitely gonna stop my fm and switch to hl milk instead. hai. we are all eating more for the sake of our baby. mummy are the greatest of all! But now i gotta share my hubby with another woman. :p

Is our FAV day! FRIDAY!

angie, u gain 9 kg over 5mths? Did ur gyne ask u to stop eating so much? If no, then shld b safe. Cos my fren's gyne told her dont eat so much. Think her bb v heavy compared to average. Dont worry e losing weight part, after delivery den jiayou BF & exercise!

snake_bb, oh dear. Ur boy not getting used to e change of enviroment.. Think will take awhile for e kids to adapt to it. Super heartpain to see e kid cry until so bad. How old is ur boy?

ankh, open tent ard my sleep ard? Maybe i cover myself w blanket over my head. Haiz.. no idea whther really is hormones causing it or wat. I hope i can survive thru. Always get depressed when i coughing so badly. Yst night, after my cough, my bb kept kicking me for 1 min or so and my hubby FINALLY managed to feel it cos e kicking was quite long. Tink my bb is protesting tt mummy is too noisy wake him up. keke

fuzzybear, oh gosh! u r allergy to many things! How do u find out? U went for a special test? I feel like finding out wat m i allergy to.

Ya, warm water did help to calm my cough down. so i kept drinking den keep peeing thru out e night. There goes my sleep. I tink is a training for me before e bb is out for feeding next time.

Chris, i cut down chicken oso! And those junk food, fried food, cold drinks. Dunno is it good or bad. I rather dont b sick n eat my fav food which is e unhealthy food. haha!

Re: sleep on e left
I read that is good to sleep on e left side. I have been sleeping on my right side since young. Very hard to change. How does it affect e preg? Anyone noes? Is this e reason why my tummy not growing bigger cos i slept on e right side?

Morning! busy day ahead... Yawn.. weather so nice to slp in..

Snake_bb, hang in there.. like what Ankh said u gotta be positive.. nv nv show that u are anxious for him to go to sch. make it fun etc.. but hor the teachers there do sound a bit clueless abt soothing kids. This is a rite of passage, i m sure u can overcome this.

Ankh, ya haha.. the correct phrase is allergenic person. :p ya boy FM is super ex! SN and I were comparing FM yesterday.. sometimes i wonder they add in so many additives, our bbs can absorb or not?

Kayliz, both my boys are on Gain IQ step 3 and 4 respectively. ya lor super ex.. haha.. ur gal drinks a lot of FM leh.. is she eating a lot of solids?

Bless, i rem the netted panties too when i delivered my #1 in Mt A 5 yrs ago.. not sure if they still use it though.

Angie, congrats on ur princess! 9kg is a lot.. ur gynae got ask u to cut? if u continue to gain so much, ur doc might ask u to do the gestational diabetes test. Ask Febie how gross it is to take the glucose syrup!

Pinky, eh it was done as a research volunteer when i was an undergrad and later again when i was a post grad. sounds like ur throat is pretty dry at night. hang in there. another 4 mth to popping!

As for slping on ur left, it doesn't mean slping on ur right means bb is not growing.. haha we already say a lot of time that small tummies do not mean small babies! u already said u felt more heavy recently.. don't be paranoid. slp left or right is ok. if u can tahan slping flat on ur back, that's also ok!

Tips for working mommies who have to pump when gg back to work. do read the part on using 2nd hand pumps. http://singaporemotherhood.com/articles/2013/07/pumping-tips-for-working-mothers/

morning mummies... been busy thru the week..working 11hours everyday for the past few days... only manage to log in now..congrads to all mummies who have done their detailed scans n know baby gender!
i wanted to ask whats the difference between playpen n babycot? which one will be better for the children n adults? i m still thinking of getting a cot but i can't justify the benefits vs playpen other than looking nice..

morning mommies!

kayliz, my son is drinking enfagrow stage 3 and if i buy from ntuc, it's $73 per 1.8kg tin. He drinks 4 feeds a day of 240ml, so in 2 weeks, it's all gone!

Angie, wah 9kg is alot leh. One thing to remember is that we do eat more during pregnancy but the old saying of "eating for 2" is not true. we don't need to eat for 2 lar, cos baby is so small only. i think my gynae will nag till my ears go deaf if i put on 9kg in 5 months. haha. he is very particular about weight gain.

This morning i was queueing to buy subway sandwich then got this north asian foreigner...dunno PRC or taiwanese, came in from the front of the queue and "excuse-me" all the way till the end of the queue. wah lao, then i have to step aside cos she will squeeze against my tummy. after that she just happily stood in front of me without letting me go back to my original place in the queue. super buay zi dong. so i "excuse-me" her in a pissed off tone. she obviously didnt know how to order cos she was looking at the various meat in the display and just pointing out what she wanted.

morning everyone!

Pinky: my fav day is Saturday not friday. haha.. in fact sometimes i also feel fri blues cos sat is so near yet so far! lol..

RE: slping on the left
dun think it's true that slping on the left is good. i read online that it depends on individual.. some slp on the left, some on the right, some just slp on their back. all of the above still works for me so far. just that when i turn from left to right i must do in slow mo already.. hahaha...

fuzzybear: thanks for sharing the pumping tips. i'll go read up now! =)

Arissa: i think playpen vs cot usually is personal preference? i like playpen cos when baby is older cos just leave her inside to play so it's like the playpen has multiple usage for me. but some parents dun like playpen cos they dun feel that it's very stable. i have friends telling me that cot can "last longer" though, as in babies can slp in it till older compared to playpen. but i've also heard abt babies trying to climb out of the cot when they reached a certain age, so gotta be careful abt that also. maybe other experienced mummies can share more abt the pros n cons of both the cot and playpen.

Arissa> in regards to babycot or playpen:
I had a babycot for #1, but didn't really used it, because I exclusively breastfeed , so find it more convenient to have him in my bed. Then I moved house, and left the cot at my mil's place, and before I delivered my #2, went to mil's place to look for the cot, brought it back, and found missing parts, which I think its not safe for the baby anymore, so I bought a playpen in the end. I am happy with the playpen, this is adjustable, so when baby is younger, I put it higher, and lowered it, when he could pull himself up with the help of something.But in the night, he still sleeps with us.

These are my personal experiences, not sure about others, for #3, I will use back the playpen I used for #2, although its navy blue, and I am having a girl, I think , now saving $ is more important. Like I had both my children in 1 bedder, and this time, its not school holiday, so none of them will stay in with me, so no point wasting $, I asked clinic to book 2 bedder for me. Anyone who stayed in 2 bedder, any bad experiences to share? I was just praying hard that our babies' cries will not affect the other mummies, as sleep is important after delivery.

SN>don't need to get upset or angry over other people's mistakes, cheers, it's Friday!

Morning!!! yes, TGIF and i will be on leave Monday and Tuesday. Monday will be for youth day, planning to bring my #1 out for some mummy and daughter time. and Tuesday will be my detail scan for my bb boy. feel so blessed.

SN, cool dont let anyone spoilt ur Friday morning. Sg got too many foreign who dont know local way of life.

Arissa, i will prefer cot over playpen. as the name suggust, playpen is really meant for serious sleeping. it dont provide enough base support when bb get heavier. plus once bb learned to stand u will have to move it to the bottom, which make it difficult for the caregiver to pick up bb, alot of bending which can be very bad for your back. and the whole thing is netted so it can be quite hot sleeping in it, esp with the afternoon heat.

angie, maybe it will be good to cut down on the junk food. 9kg in 5months is alot. although you could bf or exercise to slim down post natal but it will be easier if you gain less now. plus gaining too much too early will put a strain on ur body when you enter 3rd trimester. but congrats on a good detail scan.

bless, mt a still provides the netted panties when i deliver my #1 3yrs ago. love that panties, wonder if we could get more from them.

SN, just now when i was transferring train from Jurong east to east line, there was an indian man who swung his laptop and hit my tummy. During peak period, those train takers really don't have eyes to look around, needless to say my tummy...

Luckily I step back slightly so the impact wasn't that great...Really have to be watchful and use my hands to protect my tummy whenever i take train.

gd morning.

Fuzzybear, with 78 allergies, please be careful with what you consume.

Angie, I think you took the Mum's FM thus putting on a lot of weight. Actually it's not necessary to take those... it really put on weight super fast.

Snake_bb, I agree with ankh's words. Guess you rely on teacher helpers more to calm your kids. are the teachers young? so far for my boy when he first went CC, he was crying so badly too... he will vomit too... but I tell myself that cant be soft hearted and pull out else all of us suffer more.

Arissa>I also put my hand on my tummy at crowded places.

Anyone knows if Vpost or Comgateway's charges are higher in terms of shipping from US to SG?

morning mummies!! so happy that it's Friday! cos next week i think some of us will be going for details scans, e.g. fuzzybear on 10th?
mine's on the 11th. super excited and eager to see the little one.

my friend just told me that borderlinx is having 20% off shipping promo and so it's a good opportunity to buy stuff from US! interested mummies can check out and buy your stuff by this weekend

arissa, oh dear, hope your tummy is ok. better use your bag to cover your tummy whenever you have to fight for the mrt.

cot or playpen is an interesting question. I had two hand-me-down cots for #1's time. one was placed at in-laws place. I find the ikea cot really too small, at around 6months, my son kept hitting his head whenever he turns in his sleep. His hand was also dangling out of the cot. The other cot i had in my parents' place can be converted to a toddler bed and was passed down by my sister. my son had very bad insect bites on his back and we suspected it was bedbugs. we threw the cot away and have since been sleeping on mattress on the floor. The bites stopped. my poor son. those marks took months to lighten. thank God they are gone by now. so i strongly advised against taking hand-me-down cots.

wondering whether to buy playpen for #2 now since play pen has wheels and you can roll it to whichever part of the house? plus play pen designs seem nicer. hahaha. see how.

Arissa: next time must put your hand on your tummy when you about to board the train and in the train.. That's wat I do now after the saga in mrt... So that when people walk out (hopefully) they will notice and when in train, people will give up your seat.. I tried twice n it works.. But of cos there are still people who close their eyes IMMEDIATELY when I board the train.. That one no choice..

RE: sleeping on left side
I did discuss with my mummy friends before.. Got one she also though sleeping on the left is good so she slept on her left thru out her pregnancy.. End up her spine shifted to left n even her girl's spine also more towards on the left.. She went to check and found out one... So she tell me try to sleep on both left n right instead of just one side.. For me I can't sleep on left cos I think when I sleep on the left I feel it difficult to sleep when my heart like cant pump properly.. So now I will toss left right but normally wake up is facing upright.. Hahahahhaa

the N95 masks i ordered on gmarket didnt arrive after two weeks. wah lao. do you think there's anything that i can do? gmarket isn't regulated by anyone right? I emailed the seller and he didnt reply me. previously he did reply to say that it's on the way. but when i emailed him again to ask why hasnt it arrived, he ignored my email. think it's likely a china seller.

third3timemum, tks for informing abt Vpost! will calculate my purchases with both and see which is cheaper
happy shopping online!

Re: purchases at amazon.com
any mummies tried buying items? heard that selected stores ship to singapore for free, just browsed through the site not sure which are the stores that sells to singapore for free but the pricing look super attractive though, it's in pounds though.

anyone has got experience buying from amazon?

silver>fyi, I just compared prices for Avent products on drugstore.com & amazon.com,and find that prices are cheaper on drugstore.com. perhaps you want to compare first?

SN, gmarket not regulated if im not wrong. Hm, maybe can post comments at his page tt goods nt delivered yet? I tink can only pester e seller...

xiaober, i love sleeping on my right and i woke up on my right side oso. Rarely sleep on e left or back. Oops... i tink mus change side w my hubby else later bb spine become more to e right. Cos i dun like to face my hubby when sleeping tt y i nv sleep on my left. haha..

Mawanab,my detailed scan in on 8th July! This coming Monday!! Looking forward as well. And will b a loong weekend for me!

Arissa, oh dear! People jus dun see e ppl around. So irritating! Nowadays, i v careful walking. Like my office, ppl jus dash out or walk v fast. V dangerous lo. Eg, i came out from e ladies, ppl walk v fast to dash in e ladies door. Almost knock against me lo... Just have to b very careful. Hope ur tummy is safe n sound!

fuzzybear, dunno y i became so paranoid. #1 time mummy is like tt i guess?keke... Yup i hope to ren another 4 mths! Cant wait to see e little one to be out in Nov! I still smiling at myself whenever i tot of the long continous bb kick yst night. Issn't bb so cute! Omg.... =DD

Thanks for sharing e tips for working mummy on pumping!

Morning! Yay, Friday!

Playpen vs cot: think also boils down to bb. I had convertible cot for #1 but she ended sleeping on mattress on floor from 7 months onwards. When she was 2, we converted the cot to bed for her to sleep. She kept rolling out of the bed. Gave up and went back to mattress on floor. Then she decided the bed was fantastic to jump on so i quickly gave the bed away.
I never got a playpen because of its diaper changing station. Didnt want to tempt myself into using it. My cousin-in-law's kid fell off it once as a baby, and now the kid faces developmental issues.

Kayliz, my gal taking Pediasure. She's been lactose intolerant since 2 yrs old.. Phew, luckily when started FM, no need so many feeds. Nowadays if she cannot finish, use up FM to make pancakes. Yummy!

Pinky, can u believe, I actually got the tent idea off the net last week when trying to find ways to relieve congested nose. The suggestion really was to create a tent over the head with a blanket or something. Er....... Like that how to get fresh oxygen?

Linxiaober, sleeping too much on one side can be so bad? I've been trying to sleep more on the left but half the time still end up on the right ;p. no wonder my Gynae only advised me to sleep on either side now to support weight of growing tummy.

SN, my old cot had wheels. But it was so big I found it troublesome to move it out of bedroom.

Snake_bb, how's ur #1 today? As wat fuzzybear said, be positive (er fuzzybear, another mummy ws the one to advise snake_bb to be positive hee). Kids really do take their emotional cues from us. No matter how much your heart aches, always smile when saying goodbye to him, and remind him you'll get to see each other later in the day. Then quickly siam! Once he catches daily routine, that going to play group is a must, but he'll get to go home later, he'll settle down. Even if he still cries, it won't be as bad as initial days.
FYI, my gal was a on/off crying kid throughout N1. Just as she settled down she'd get sick. Then cry again when back to school. Teacher usually had to carry her in.
N2 changed school, again cry, but usually stopped when I disappear from view
K1 changed school again, cry again! Thankfully only first week. But took a few min to say goodbye everyday.
K2 same school so no more crying!! Can shoo parents away. Big girl liao.
Throughout I realised she's not as clingy if it's someone else dropping her off. Also brought up in environment with no kids, all adults cos only grandchild. I had to find other kids for her to play with.

Hi mummies, it's friday! Happy!

I have done my detailed scan on Monday. Bb is fine and I'm having a princess ^_^. Gynae told me bb is towards plump size opps...bb's weight is 415g while I have gained a total of 5.8kg until now, my 22 wks. But bad news is I have tested positive for glucose twice when I went for my 2 check up. So gynae advised to take the blood test fir gestational diabetes
. Now I am controlling my diet, cannot eat carbo and sweets stuffs. Really don't know what food I can eat!

Currently pumpkin patch is having 30% sales and if you have UOB card, another 10% discount. So mummies may want to shop for bb clothes there

SY
gestational diabetes is usually done week 28-30 I think. your testing positive was from urine test or blood test? my fren has the same thing but her gynae just suspect she has GD bec baby is on larger side so has also been advised to do somesort of test

just now the aunties in my office was talking about this poor 5-year old boy who had pain in his p***** and couldn't pee. they went to see doctor and later found out from the boy that each time the maid bathes him, she will repeatedly rub on that part i.e. molest. wah lao. hear liao damn disgusted. another reason for not having a maid.

SY>I doubt baby is on the plump side, my baby weighs 465grams but gynae said the measurements looks like week 20+, when I was 22 weeks on the day of the detail scan. I also put on 5.8kg from pre-pregnancy weight.I also need to control my myself, as I put on 3.1kg in just about 1.5 months, still got 4 months to go, and will usually pile up in the 3rd trimester.

Banquez> I tested with the urine strip cos every time go for check up needs to do urine test. So this sat will do the GD test to see if I have gestational diabetes. Yeah normally it is done at 28 wks but because my father has diabetes so gynae advised me to test earlier.

Poor 5 yr old boy got molested. Really dangerous to hire maid sometimes.

wah sey i had back to back meetings from 9am onwards until 1pm! brain a bit fried liao.

Arissa, as explained before, i prefer a cot because of a better spinal support than the playpen. playpen is also lighter than cot. with proper protection such as bumpers, u can minimise their hands and legs getting trap btw the panels and preventing their heads from bumping the side.

Hope u are alright... my #2 hit my tummy that day and i was paranoid that i was gonna bleed again!

Febie, so long as the food is really cooked, i m ok with eating them.. that's why i avoid raw food a lot. cos i tend to develop runny nose and phlegm immed aft consuming raw/ semi raw food.

Silver, Amazon is American. Unless u are looking at Amazon UK? only goods sold by Amazon itself and not third party sellers qualify for free shipping.

Manawab, yup my detailed scan is one day before u.. can't wait for it so that i can start shopping!

SY, u have to cut down on food rich in simple carbo.. need to eat more food with low GI and have more complex carbo like brown rice, multi grains. etc. no ice-cream, white bread, white rice, even some fruits high in glucose. ur doc will schedule gestational diabetes test if u keep failing. it involves u drinking a horrible fanta grape syrup and testing ur blood (i think) after a certain time interval. Again ask Febie, she has already done hers.

Re: slping on the left
There's a scientific basis to slp on ur left but i dun think u guys shd over read into it. as it is, it is harder for pregnant women to find a comfortable position to fall aslp. just slp at a position where u are comfy in ba.
As for the spine thing, that's again not true. If slping on one side for 9 mths can change the curvature of ur spine, doctors will be making ppl with spinal issues to slp a certain way to help them straighten their spine!
As for bb getting a crooked spine, that's even lagi not true. Because ur bb changes position all the time in ur belly! today she might be facing up, tmr facing down.. how u slp can't affect their spine lah.. don't be paranoid.. haha..

SN, why do u think i insist on bathing my son? or have my maid bathe my son in front of me?

fuzzybear, haha. if i ever have a maid, i will also bathe my own son & daughter! can't trust any maid at all! oh, i forgot to mention that that maid is indonesian (again). Seems that all the horror stories are Indonesian maids. what's with them man.

Hi, I have a question.

I did my detailed scan last week and according to the sonographer, my baby head circumference is big and "off the chart". According to her calculation, my due date should be at least 10 days earlier.

When I went to see my doctor with the report, he said my baby head is big and round so most probably I might need to go for c-sec. Even my baby's leg and abdominal measurement is on the high side. So doctor say I will be expecting a big baby. However, he did not mention about the change in my EDD.

I am worried about the head size because I heard it's not so good for baby to have a big head. Anyone heard of this before?

Pinky,
Oh. Hope its just preg related that makes u more sensitive and coughing. May it be gone soon!

SN,
Thanks! Younger then so still got stamina.
Ya! I have a friend whom i call supermum! She also mother of 3, ftwm and best of all no maid!! She handles everything herself including housewk. I really salute her!!

Snake_bb,
Yes. There are kids who over cried and ended up vomitting. some kids take a longer time to adapt to cc. Fyi, my boy took 6mths...he dun cry till vomit tho. 

Xuan,
Thanks for the link. Will call taka later to confirm the date. U r right - its newbaby but so far none or my friends tried.

Xiaober,
Xuan is right - its newbaby but no feedbacks on my side.

Fuzzybear,
U went for allergy tests? 78 things is a lot!!
Gd u can still tahan the itch else even worst with all the breathlessness and stuffs. Jia you!!
So far my boy v prompt in waking up then so nt so bad. Plus i wake up 3hourly to pump so even if he wakes up late somehow will still be when i am awake.

Ankh,
I think by 2nd or 3rd kid we more relax liao. Haha. But still i dun think i will nt sterilise before giving back to them. So far nv intro pacifier to both my kids. Hope dun nd to do so for #3 too!
Think they keep upgrading n increasing the amt of nutrients in the fm thus price keep increasing.

Bless,
Netted panties? Mine was cotton panties. And i got bad rashes during #1 time tat my rashes even form on the outline of the panties! I have to use looped pads then =(

Angie,
Congras on a healthy baby gal =) is ur gynae concern abt ur weight gain?

Re: protecting tummy
I ever had a cheena woman push me on my tummy when i was expecting #2 just so she can get pass us!! At underwater world! Will nv forget it! Nw i will just use my arms to form a shield around my tummy.

Third3timemum> Gynae was saying bb on plump side based on the head, hands/legs and abdominal measurements. She said bb's abdominal measurement is higher.

Fuzzybear> Thks for the food info. Gynae said cannot eat noodles too. I wonder if bee hoon, kuey tiao and mian fen kway can eat?

Btw during the scan, we saw bb yawning a few times. Hehe so cute! Too bad cannot video it down.

Pinky, detailed scan on Monday! hv fun looking at the little one
its so nice that you can feel bb kicking. up till now (19 wks), i hardly feel a thing. praying that he is ok.

Val, gosh! did you or hb confront that cheena woman after she pushed your tummy? so rude!

Neogarden didnt deliver my tingkat yesterday. they made a mistake by indicating Thursday as non delivery day when my email black and white confirmation was clearly Tuesday. Wrote them an email to complain. grrr.

ankh, haha. so your daughter also migrated to sleeping on the floor. yah lor. my son too. that's why if i buy a cot again, it will be for only less than a year usage. but newborn cant be sleeping on the floor leh, wait accidentally step on her. hmmm. Not all playpens have changing station right? i googled First Few Years and only the high end models come with changing station.

Harlow mummies.

I really enjoy the community here. You guys are so supportive and encouraging.

I did my detailed scan and sonographer says 1 confirm boy but the 2nd one very shy, keep covering when she was looking. She did catch a glimpse of a birdie so 90% boy too. Hubby is over the moon! Haha. I wanted to dress up a princess leh, oh well maybe next time.

Re Sleeping Position:
I sleep left one baby kick, I sleep right another baby kick, sleep on my back lagi worse... Only comfortable position is standing up. And still got 4 more months to go!

SN can you help me update
SBmummy
#1 & 2
Edd: 21 Nov
FTWM
Dr June Tan, KKH
Mountbatten

Hi ladies, just came back from a wonderful trip to Maldives. I wish I did not have to come back. This week, I have been catching with all your past postings. So many details! Wow.

Can something pls send me the detailed checklist? Saw it somewhere above. [email protected]

I have no idea on where to start. And the prices I see are quite scary. The last time someone had a baby in the family was more than a decade ago.

Some off hand qns:
How impt is a breast pump?
How many sets will NB wear a day?
How to gauge and buy the clothes from online.. I always buy my owns from online sprees and am excited that now I can buy for baby. But I dunno how is too much or too little.
What kinda gifts can I request from immediate family to buy rather than spending on the regular ones.

Sorry for the many qns but I guess I need to get started soon before the day arrives.

Thanks so much ladies.

Dear mummies, for those of you who are interested in the Avent Comfort Double Electric Breast pump which I bought recently from this lady on Gumtree.com, I emailed Philips Consumer Care, and today got an email reply from them, the content of the email as follows:-

Thank you for contacting Philips Consumer Care. I understand that you would like to confirm the international warranty of your Philips Breast Pump SCF334.

For international warranty, you may need to produce the world wide guarantee card which is included on the package and the sales invoice. It has 2 years international warranty. Registration online is not necessary. The warranty starts from the date of purchase.

The seller told me she may have time to go down to Philips Singapore to check on this matter and update me.

Plush>if you are a full time working mum, and would like to exclusively breastfeed your baby until she's older, then you will definitely need a breastpump. Or if you would like to breastfeed, but do not want to latch directly instead, then you would need a breastpump to express it out.

For my #2, I was working from home, so I can latch the baby anytime and do not really need a breastpump, unless I need to be out of the house for long hours, so I need to express milk to keep in advance. I did have a manual avent, from my #1's time which serves me just well, other than tired hands.

NB may change up to 5-6 sets every day, sometimes, they will poo when they are latching, and breastfed babies stools are usually watery, and may soil their clothes.

I personally will buy like 3-6months, as babies grow too quickly. I think do not but too many of the same age group, maybe a few different sizes, you never know how big is your baby. I do not really like those with strings to tie, as it is too cumbersome, I prefer rompers.

I think gifts depends on what you need , and do not have, each person has different needs, and also depends on their budget.

Hi all, my gynae says she is not too concerned abt my weight gain but I will still watch it anyway, for health and beauty sake, hahhaha.

I think the problem is with the formulae milk. A lot of pple told me its really fattening.

Silver: I bought my dermalogica from amazon and shipping is done through vpost. No issues so far. I am thinking of getting my baby pram from there too as the brand we want is not available for sale in sg.

Mimmies,I don know if allowing my maid to stay in class w him for time being to let him familiar w the teachers and children help me to cry lesser.Since he entered PG,he will have nightmare every night.Cry for helper to carry him and sleep.I fed him EYS Jin feng San but not always work.Sigh.Wonder wat is the best approach to help him pull thru.We can't tell him we leaving the class.The moment he knows we leaving,he will cry.