fuzzybear
Kayliz, but u are not asking for a yr's unpaid leave what.. i think extending ur leave to 6 mths is not really unreasonable. just another 8 wks or so. i dun think u are being influenced by anybody! why would u? if u were influenced by ur SIL, u would have asked for a whole yr off lor.. oh well.. hope u can work something out.. spending time with ur #1 is a valid reason.. not to mention adjusting the whole family to a new baby too.
Min, haha i can assure u having my inlaws taking care of my sons is NOT what i want!! my MIL has always been a housewife.. took care of her sons and also was a nanny for a short period. she told us she wants to take care of our kids when we were getting our flat so we chose to stay near them. She took care of my #1 but we had a lot of conflicts (took a lot of effort on my part not to fight with her). she fed my son with pathetic things, not because she is stingy, but because she doesn't think it is gd for him to eat things like seafood and chicken. so all my son had was pork. her cooking is horrible, no seasoning yet she use A LOT of cheap soy sauce.. no spices like pepper, ginger or garlic! i see what my son eat and felt really really sad for him.. if my son gags a bit, she will stop feeding him even though he barely eaten. she prefers porridge to rice so even though my son is like 3 yrs old, he eats more porridge than rice!! she doesn't buy things like milk or cereal for snack. all he has is plain biscuits (those sor tar biscuits). I couldn't tahan one day after seeing her giving my son a piece of fishcake as one dish for dinner and told her off (that was like half a yr before we moved). best of all she refused to let my maid cook even though my maid cooks better than her! after i moved to my parents, my son gained 4kg in 6 mths.. haizzz..
I do feel guilty that i have to rely on my parents to take care of my kids. that's why even though they are family, i m very prompt in picking them up. i don't go out on dates with my hb (only 1 dinner without kids since the birth of my #1 5 yrs ago), 2 movies a year. all other time that i m free, i will bring my kids back so that my parents have a break too. hb and i don't sneak out for overseas trips alone. if i have to travel, he stays back in SG to take care. i feel that my parents did their share of parenting bring me up. they didn't ask to have grandkids, and though they are happy and love to help out, i won't take advantage of them.
And oh, the reason we moved was because my MIL decided she could not handle 2 kids. she told me to send my #2 to my dad's but leave #1 with her. CRAZY! they live so faraway from each other! and i want my boys to grow up close. that's why even though the property market is red hot, we chose to sell and move.. our current property is super ex and we had to make do by cutting down all other luxuries just to pay our mortage.
but again: i will do anything for my kids lor.
Congrats on ur gal SN!! one gal one boy just nice! should update our table!
Min, haha i can assure u having my inlaws taking care of my sons is NOT what i want!! my MIL has always been a housewife.. took care of her sons and also was a nanny for a short period. she told us she wants to take care of our kids when we were getting our flat so we chose to stay near them. She took care of my #1 but we had a lot of conflicts (took a lot of effort on my part not to fight with her). she fed my son with pathetic things, not because she is stingy, but because she doesn't think it is gd for him to eat things like seafood and chicken. so all my son had was pork. her cooking is horrible, no seasoning yet she use A LOT of cheap soy sauce.. no spices like pepper, ginger or garlic! i see what my son eat and felt really really sad for him.. if my son gags a bit, she will stop feeding him even though he barely eaten. she prefers porridge to rice so even though my son is like 3 yrs old, he eats more porridge than rice!! she doesn't buy things like milk or cereal for snack. all he has is plain biscuits (those sor tar biscuits). I couldn't tahan one day after seeing her giving my son a piece of fishcake as one dish for dinner and told her off (that was like half a yr before we moved). best of all she refused to let my maid cook even though my maid cooks better than her! after i moved to my parents, my son gained 4kg in 6 mths.. haizzz..
I do feel guilty that i have to rely on my parents to take care of my kids. that's why even though they are family, i m very prompt in picking them up. i don't go out on dates with my hb (only 1 dinner without kids since the birth of my #1 5 yrs ago), 2 movies a year. all other time that i m free, i will bring my kids back so that my parents have a break too. hb and i don't sneak out for overseas trips alone. if i have to travel, he stays back in SG to take care. i feel that my parents did their share of parenting bring me up. they didn't ask to have grandkids, and though they are happy and love to help out, i won't take advantage of them.
And oh, the reason we moved was because my MIL decided she could not handle 2 kids. she told me to send my #2 to my dad's but leave #1 with her. CRAZY! they live so faraway from each other! and i want my boys to grow up close. that's why even though the property market is red hot, we chose to sell and move.. our current property is super ex and we had to make do by cutting down all other luxuries just to pay our mortage.

Congrats on ur gal SN!! one gal one boy just nice! should update our table!