(2013/09) September 2013

Fel I understand how u feel.. When I had my ms, taking pills was a dread! Sometimes I really couldn't eat at all. But multivitamins will make u better, so do persist in taking them
slowly u will get better. Jiayou!

I'm going to Bangkok next week! So excited! My friends who are mummies tell me that there's lots to buy for babies there, looks like I made the right choice of destination
any mommies here can share with me where to buy stuff and what to buy?

Have you all also thought of names for bb? My hubby and I are already talking to our bb girl with her name now.. Hehe

Charmayne, yeah... Not always true.. We just cal for fun... The final truth will be the D day

Clarise, many things to buy. Stock up on pigeon breast pad. Damn cheap cheap there.
Go to boots, get those milk bags for storage if u planning to BF. good n cheap
Buy nursing bra, also cheap cheap cheap.
Baby clothing. No need to say... U surely buy.
There's lots of good baby products there not selling in Singapore ... Like washing powder, shower foam, powder. Usually I got it in refill pack.
But remember import goods, to Thailand is expensive . So not worth to buy. Brand like Nike, crocs. But one funny thing is that kiehs's is cheap. I always get my moisturizer there. After conversion is abt $48 plus compare to $68 locally.
Oh ya boots, got many good products n moisturizer.

Fel, me had the same problem when having # 1. Can' t clear system for 4 to 5 days. So I drink prune juice more often till I wanna puke n more fluid. Cut down on those solid food for a while n take semi solid for a while to clear the system. It did helps a bit. But all this happen during my last late trimester which left 1 month plus or so to due date.

U already having this issue at such early stage n the problem might be worse when u go later stage. So to prevent. Eat more fibre fruits. Cos it really help.

for my no.# 2 I started this fruits, Yakut thing too late in early trimester n I got constipation for almost 5 days. I afraid of re occurrence n quickly takes lots of fruits like oranges, papaya, plums, prunes , passion fruits... Just fruits n increase yakult to 2 bottles per day after lunch n dinner. N it helps.

My face was showing signs of WC congestion very badly when acnes n pimple start showing at my lower chin. But now all cleared .

Eino, you've got really good recommendations on what to buy from Bangkok! I was there last week and clueless on what to get, so only bought some newborn baby clothing (unisex colours from Enfant and Absorba) and loads of stretch mark cream and body lotions from Boots.

Hey mummies, how is the weight gain so far? I put on around 1kg very early on, around week 8 or so but now at week 14, seems that I'm back to my pre-pregnancy weight! And I didn't even have morning sickness and was basically eating a lot since early on so I wondered where the weight went to? Typically I will have breakfast, mid-morning snack, lunch at 12, mid-afternoon snack, dinner and then fruits at night. Snacks are usually fruits, yogurt or Meiji plain crackers. I refrain from cakes/desserts which are my favourites previously as gynae advised to reduce sugar intake. Is my lack of weight gain something to be concerned about? Though my colleagues commented I look slightly plumper now but no change weight-wise. Anyone experience the same thing?

Feeling so emo now ...

I've been having bad ms since wk 6 n now at wk 17 im finally feeling slightly ... been craving for durian n crab for the longest but now allowed to eat cuz I've been coughing for 2 wks+ but the craving is really getting stonger ... =(

And I feel so deprived cuz mil n hb dun let me eat n im feeling so Damn emo now ... I know it sounds stupid but I can't control .. sigh

Hi gerly26, I will be joining a new company in May when I am 17 weeks but ms blur is right about companies having to worry whenu go on maternity leave.

In any case, just for your info, accordingly to employment act, you must have worked 90 days with the company before you are entitled to maternity benefits so you may like to check everything out first.

All, I am taking the concentrated bird nest from Fu Hua. Cant find Lao Hang Jia ...

Wenz, u can find Lao hang Kia at 3 location
Star vista at bona vista mrt ( B1 )
Takashimaya
Thomson plaza

I brought mine yesterday, they having 2 promotion

Buy 3 get 10% off ($170 each bottle , so after discount is $153 each) one bottle last for 3 weeks

Buy 5 get 1 free ( $142.60 each after divide $850 by 6 bottles)

Either one get a 3 year membership. At 10% off products.

I got the 5+1. Cos based on my #1 record. I consumed abt 5 bottles plus.

U can choose either no sugar or low sugar. Or u can share the purchase with any of the mothers to be who are keen.

U can go to any department store like robinson, central.. or supermarket like Tesco or big C.

They have it.

Morning mummies! Hope all of you have a good long weekend!

I haven got time to log in during the weekends, as i spent the whole sat in Legoland. The kids really enjoyed alot lah, but we adults were all shagged out! Haha..

Clarise, you are going Bangkok this week right? Enjoy ya!

Mirai, maybe wait till your cough gets better than eat? I just started to eat durian too last wk, as for crab i have not eaten it ever since im preggie.

Happy_Sheep, u can try Big C. Its one of the place i have to go whenever i go Bangkok coz' things are cheap there.

Msblur and Ann, thanks! You girls remember I'm going Babymoon this weekend, so sweet!

I'm so excited I have no mood for anything else like work haha.

These few days my bloating has reduced, even after eating I feel comfortable.. So happy! But sometimes still feel giddy and a bit nausea but no vomiting for a few days already. Thank God!

I have a question about babies sleeping inside sarong. Any mummies let their babies sleep in sarong? My MIL kinda hinting me that I must let mine use a sarong, she used my sister in law as example and say her way is wrong... My own mum say better don't let baby use sarong, even though myself and my two brothers used sarong last time.

Oo.. I also want my bb to sleep in sarong. My sis says let bb sleep in sarong after 6mths. Coz new born bb bone still very soft, no good for spine. So let bb sleep in cot for 1st 6mths, then after that if want can sleep in sarong then bb head will be round round and nice.

Clarise, my 2 elder gals nv slp in sarong, and i wont be letting my bb slp in sarong too.
Coz i've seen my frens' & relatives' babies, when they have no sarong, the parents hav so much difficulties putting them to slp. My fren even has to bring along the sarong to the chalet when we booked it for a function that time.

Me too. Not going to let my kid sleep in sarong. Like what Ms blur mentioned. The best thing is to train ur bb to sleep anywhere. Any time. Any conditions. I also never introduce any security items such as toys, pillows, etc.
When u intend to travel overseas when they are young or having a long day outside. It will be easier

yes...for my 2 gals they slept in their bb cot. Then afternoon i will bring them out to the living room and they will lie on the mattress or net rocker, and i can watch tv & watch over them at the same time. When they go my sis's or mum's hse, they will slp on the bed. So practically they can slp any place, regardless my sis's or mum's hse. Some babies they will cry & cry when they go to a new plc, then cant slp or drink.

hi ladies, im a first time mum and edd is around end of sep. i think im in week 14 now, cant really rem exactly.

nice to meet u ladies and hope to learn more from all.

sarong is no good for spine. and when baby grows older and reliant on it, accidents will happen (fall from sarong).

having said that, mine sleeps in sarong. i gave in when he was crying every night non stop from 2nd month. the horrible night time colic. starts at 5pm and ends at 9pm. non stop. everyone in the house have to take turn to carry him. so i gave in. the moment we put him inside the sarong he stopped crying.

now he either naps in sarong, or naps in car seat when on the road.

if want to nap on bed, not impossible, but takes a long time, and result is a shorter nap. so i still let him nap once in sarong everyday.

and yes his head very round. haha.

I didn't let my #1 sleep in the sarong either, in case she developed an attachment to it.
I've got a friend who put her children into the sarongs for day naps and night time in cot. According to her, the sarong is cooler (like a hammock) and gives more security. Her kids turned out able to sleep anywhere with absolutely no problems. My #1 could only sleep in the car seat reliably at 2yrs old, needed me to stay with her til asleep despite tons of sleep training! I came to the conclusion that sleep is a temperament thing and is a development milestone.

Anyone having heartburn? I'm feeling awful these few days. First MS, then when appetite comes back, heartburn, regardless of how small the meal is...

I don't really want to take meds lor... at the end of the day, try as much to avoid meds as possible. I had heartburn with #1 too but not so early, only in 3rd trimester when I had a big nasi lemak meal or something.

Weiwei, I also dun like to take med when preggie. But if its precribed by ur gynae should be safe. Just take the med when u hav very bad heartburn & really cant tolerate. If still managable, maybe try drink more water see if it helps?

By the way, i just googled and found these info;

To reduce heartburn during pregnancy without hurting your baby, you should try the following:

*Eat several small meals each day instead of three large ones.

*Eat slowly.

*Avoid fried, spicy, or rich foods, or any foods that seem to cause relaxation of the lower esophageal sphincter and increase the risk of heartburn.

*Drink less while eating. Drinking large amounts while eating may increase the risk of acid reflux and heartburn.

*Don't lie down directly after eating.

*Keep the head of your bed higher than the foot of your bed. Or place pillows under your shoulders to help prevent stomach acids from rising into your chest.

*Ask your doctor about using over-the-counter medications which are generally safe to use during pregnancy. You may find that liquid heartburn relievers are more effective in treating heartburn, because they coat the esophagus.

*Wear loose-fitting clothing. Tight-fitting clothes can increase the pressure on your stomach and abdomen.

*Avoid constipation.

Hi, my elder son likes to sleep in sarong. I initially thought he wouldn't be able to sleep anywhere else without the sarong. I quarrelled with my hubby a lot of times over this. However, as he is with my MIL during the weekend, she placed him in sarong. So I bought an extra set at home for him during the weekend.

However, it turned out that kids are very adaptable. They can sleep anywhere

Now I landed with two sets of sarong frame and four sets of sarongs. My son is now two and he is in childcare. At night, he sleeps on bed now.

If anyone interested to buy the sarong frame or cloth. please PM me.

msblur,

yah, thinking will just standby the gavisconn.. really cannot tahan will take lah. If the heartburn affect my appetite also not good.

weiwei, hope you will recover from the heartburn soon! Ya take small meals loh, if you got no appetite to eat, bb still has to eat.

The weather is so unbearably hot recently, I had a bad headache and took Panadol last night. Feel guilty but cannot help it as the headache still there at 10pm and started since lunchtime!

I also start to gulp cups of cold water and my mum has been nagging saying it is very bad and will cause baby to have weak lungs/cough if I drink too much cold stuff. Is it true?!

viiv,

I personally don't think cold water will give the baby weak lungs. Asthmatic conditions are inherited and generally linked to allergies. I think it would be worse if you get overheated. I have a friend with craving for ice-cold milk when she is pregnant. I don't hear about her kids having weak lungs and she's got 7 of them!

viiv, i still drink cold drinks, but totally quit gassy drinks though at times i will crave for it. No choice, gassy drinks are really bad for bb. Actually cold drinks too, but then in this kind of weather really cant be helped. And yes...when we had lotsa cold drinks during pregnancy, bb will tend to be prone to cough easily. I can tell between my 2 gals loh. When i had my elder gal, i totally nv drink cold water & gassy drinks. When i had my younger gal, i kinda bo chap alrdy. Which is why my younger gal when she drinks cold drinks, she will cough very easily. Its like when she had cold drinks during the daytime, at night the coughing will start liao.
My elder gal has a much stronger immune system than all of us in the family. Nt sure if you gals believe or nt, but its my experience on my 2 gals.

yup ladies getting hot these days.. anyway im same as msblur, no gassy drinks.. but did took 100plus when i was having bad MS. too much dehydration.

Anyone experiencing teeth pains and backaches like me?

Oh ya heard there is a fair in May, anyone knows?

twentyseven, im having backaches lately too. But still bearable. What fair is that in May? My sis went to the Isetan Pte Sale last wk, but said nothing much.

i think back pain is normal as you go further into the pregnancy.
but for teeth pain, is it more to gum pain?
i read that pregnant ladies are more prone to getting gum problems during pregnancy as gums are more sensitive. So better to see Dentist soon if you have pain for the gum....to prevent gum infection, because gum infection and gum disease is bad for the pregnancy & the bb...

Singapore motherhood expo fair is on 31st may. Is that the one you are referring to, 27?

Going to that one, if I'm not feeling too tired. Seems to be really tired lately.. Going to drink chicken essence....

S Huang,

Yes it is recommended highly that once you are in 2nd trimester to go for checkup. Just no x-rays. My dentist tells me to get teeth cleaned again nearer to delivery as well cos, in her own words, " 3rd trimester very tam chia, plus you won't have time to come clean your teeth when baby is born." LOL.

weiwei, oh the motherhood fair! yes its either end May or Jun. Most likely im gg, coz' by the time should know gender alrdy, so can start buying clothes! Hee...

Am gg to start on my chicken essence too. My nephew bought 2 boxes for me, till nw haven touch yet. Very jialat, lazy to even open it.

Anyone of you signed up for Cordlife alrdy??

S Huang,

It's not safe only for 1st trimester. after that beause of the prone-ness to gum disease, they say better go check the teeth.

msblur, not planning to sign up for cordlife :p didn't sign up for #1 either :p

Weiwei, it's ok to take meds if gynae approves
it's worth it to take meds sometimes cos it makes u feel better and eat better, which means benefit the baby!
I used to have heartburn and indigestion too, asked doc about gaviscon and he smiled and said that's one of the safest things we can take. He even advised me to take over a course of 3 days to ensure everything is ok. That day, I just took one packet of gaviscon and after that no more such heartburn anymore... Coincidence maybe?

I'm really not sure if I should go for sarong or just baby cot.. Still have a lot of time to consider though... I'm just afraid baby needs sarong to sleep all the time then it will be very tough on me.

Motherhood fair is coming up! Exciting! Issit worthwhile to go? As in do they really have a lot of stuff at the fair?