(2013/09) September 2013

are most of your tummies hard or soft ah? mine i find its quite hard or maybe its firm.. just touched my colleague one.. hers is soft lehh.. like can press all the way in kind.. haha..

Mine is hard too. But think it's due to bloatedness coz my skin feels really tight esp at the end of the day. Will ask my gynae in the next visit but it's 2 weeks away.

thanx gals~

I'm in my wk 15 now ... n I'm having a boy~
still having a lil bit of ms n vomiting now ... n the funny thing is thou its my 2nd one ... my tummy is smaller as compared to my 1st but Bb is growing well thou I nv gain anything ... I'm moving my fingers crossed that he's nt going to be so big like her sister

dunno how true. but i hear those folks saying if its boy tummy will be smaller, and bigger if its girl.. dunno where the logic.. =D

Hi msblur, I think it depends on your clinic's practice? For mine, they will call regardless of whether good or bad result. Whereas for my friend's clinic, they will only call if there is a problem, else no news means good news. Think yours should be fine if you haven't heard anything!

Congrats Wei Wei on knowing your bb gender. I still need to wait till next mth to find out coz bb not cooperative during last scan

Angelic soul, my tummy feels hard.

Mirai and Wei Wei, high five. me in wk 15 too. Ever since last week, I started feeling bb movement. From small little movements, to now, big movements. Think bb too active, love to move a lot. Can from left to right. Last week when I put my hand on tummy, bb will stop. Now I put my hand on tummy, bb dun care, continue moving. Haha.

Viiv, pls start looking for CL now. Think alot of CL got booked. My CL called last week and say she might need her friend to do for me if her July customer deliver late or I deliver early.
was panicking later she got backup. So do faster start looking.

I just book my post natal massage for 5 days. Think this is also quite in demand and need to book in advance too.

Ms blur, yup heavenly health contacted me tdy. Gonna pay the deposit and pay the remaining upon delivery. Thanks! Your Facebook page so popular, can't add u as friend. Do let us know if you have good stuff which might be good for us.

Ann chua,

Oh yes... talking abt the post natal massage i hav not look ard yet. Saw a few recommended malay massages but have nt call to check yet. Hw much was yours for 5 days?

Regards to my facebook page, think i reached the max limit of friends so they do nt let me add anymore friends. I hav another page, you can click like too. Will try to post more pics there as well.

Ms blur, my message lady is an Indian, recommended by my sis who have used her service twice. $200 for 5days.

Ok, I have liked your Facebook page. Will look out for great stuff from you!

Ann chua,

Oh 5 sessions for $200 is quite reasonable.
thks for the add!

Hui,

Just search for kidscloset (mine is a beige logo) & click like my page.

ladies, do u all know where can we attend lessons on breastfeeding only? i hope to learn about correct latching, etc, what to look out for, what should not be eaten while breastfeeding..

also, will booking of massage lady after detailed scan be too late? i intend to get my detail scan and 4D scan done first, then book...

btw i intend to enrol my baby in infant care when he is 4-6months old... may i know anyone did the same for their babies? hwo about cost and recommendatino?

hope to have ur advice.. becos i do not want to tire my mum out..

twentyseven,

I just know that after we gave birth, while we are still in the hospital, the nurses will inform us when they are having lessons & will ask if we are keen to attend. This include breastfeeding lesson. Or maybe u would like to check with the hospital you are giving at. Which hospital are you going?

what i heard frm gynae is.. all hospital will have those lactation consultant which we can engage after giving birth.. they will teach u proper breastfeed during ur hospital stay.

twentyseven: i already registered for infant care for my bb le! haha.. coz like u, dun wanna trouble my mum and also not comfy for in law to tk care =P but then waiting list very long! so if u really have plans, gd to go register now le..

cost wise, for working mum $600 subsidy, without subsidy is $1,200 full day.. but think garment came up with additional subsidy based on ur income tier.. u can check it out..

Thanks ladies!!

msblur, i be delivering at gleneagles so i have to check with them on this then..

thanks weiwei for the links!

Angelic, so early?? omg.. how come so long list
do we have to pay upfront first? u have any recommendations?

twentyseven,

I'm also looking at infantcare, cos MIL is 75 years old and we don't want to hire a maid.

I'm actually looking at one at my area downstairs, planning to spot check it regularly during my maternity leave to see if the teachers treat the babies well.

Cost wise there is a huge variation. After the $600 subsidy for working mums, pay around the same or more compared to nanny.

twentyseven, when i register the lady told me got 200+ on waiting list.. but not all is infant lah.. some is q-ing for childcare.. no need to pay upfront.. just register.. its FREE! =)

i registered for 'my first skool' at punggol just opposite my hse.. easier to drop and fetch

twentyseven,

Regards to the infant care, better to register now. Think u will need to put a deposit first or maybe just drop ur name there. Check with them too how many caregivers take care of how many babies & also if free do some spot checks as well. Thats what my fren did after she shortlisted 2 infant care near her hse. One is juz downstairs so every morning on the way to work, she will pass by & take a peep. One is much further a few blks away. Actually she preferred the one just downstairs since so much more convenient, but one day she juz happened to walk pass & peep in, she saw many babies there crying but nobody tended to them, just let them cry & cry. So poor thing....in the end she has to choose the one further.

27- my first son attended IFC after my maternity leave ended, which was around 3.5 months old...

He adapted very well...

He is with my first skool at Punggol at well, now two years old n attending full day child care

The fees is 1200++ for full day IFC... For full time working mom there is 600 subsidy... From next month onwards if your total household income is less than 7500$. Total subsidy is $800..

I also register my # 2 for IFC the moment I found out I'm pregnant.... Punggol area very scary....

Angelic soul- which outlet u register for? Mine is 183 edgefield plains

Weiwei... Actually IFC is cheaper than nanny... Cos can use cda account to p,ay... Say if it's $600 after subsidy.. U put $300 into cda n govt top up another $300 for u... Tadah... U get $600 in The cda account nnuse to pay IFC fees..

fel: mine is the one at punggol place.. think newly opened this Feb de.. i will also try for couple more around punggol.. also dunno wait till when then will have vacancy.. hopefully b4 my maternity ends..

Angelic.. 200+ (my mouth and eyes opened wide wide).. sigh.. so scary now..

fel..what is full day? u mean those like 7am to 7pm sort?

i be at SK, how do you all look for IFC? google?
cos my mum wont be so tiring..

do u all put all the way from IFC until childcare with the same place? so costly liao..

Angelic^Soul,

You can try the newly opened one near ur plc. Sometimes they might hav more disc on the sch fees like a kind of early bird promotion. My collick enrolled her gal that time at a new infant care juz at her hse downstairs, think she has disc of $200.

For me, my bb will be taken care of by my helper once my maternity ends. Luckily i work nearby, anything crops up at hm, i can rush back at the shortest time.

aiya Ann im scared to look at the giving birth process video.. so i only wan to look for breastfeeding cos i think changing diapers, bathing all these i should be fine.. thats why i never register for the class.. hehe..

27- google the word " child care centre"

It will lead u to a website by MCYS... Then put in your criteria like IFC full days n location...

It will tell u all IFC at particular area...

Full day 7-7pm lo

twentyseven,

Im looking for the breastfeeding class too. Got this number in the website. Got to call & enquire. Tel no. 62514090.

Twenty seven, I put my no.1 at my first skool too when he was 3 months. Per month is $1350 including gst. After subsidies is $750. If u want. U must register now. And It does not warrant a guarantee a place. Because priority will be given to those infant who have older siblings in the same center and is the same across all child care in Singapore.

I suggest u register across many centers to be kiasu another.

27, I am also giving birth at glene. Who is your gynae and when is your EDD? At my next check up on 26 I intend to ask them re the Pre natal classes offered at gleneagles.

I headache bout CL now, seems my mum who is 70 was a bit reluctant when I mentioned bout her coming to stay with me to help me out! She's very used to the Indo lifestyle where there is a maid at her beck and call... And the only baby she helped care for since infant is my eldest sister's son which is 17 years ago.

Anyone of you ever engaged a day time CL? I found one contact CL that lives nearby, now contemplating whether to ask her to come during daytime only cause not sure I would like to have a stranger at home with us 24/7 for a month.

I'm engaging a daytime CL this time round. Main reason is that I don't have space at home, and I realise with #1 that I get a bit stressed when a stranger comes to live in and space is tight.
I plan to breastfeed directly so going to be waking up at night anyway. Also would rather not have to readjust routines when CL leaves after a month. So sleep during the day when CL is in and toddler in school!

Whether day time or stay-in, you need to know your needs and consider the family dynamics. Peace in the household is important ;) Having someone to help you out at night is nice, cos babies tends to poo after feed, so you would need to be up changing nappy after you feed at least twice a night in the beginning.

By daytime CL is generally more ex hor.. compared to the malaysian CLs who stay in...

COngrats to those who found out the gender. I will have to wait for another 4 weeks for that. Im in 12th week and going for Oscar on thurs at TMC. Anyone going?

As for careplan: we have not decided. Some options:To place in infant care at Kinderland as my No 1 attends full day CC at Kinderland SK. Considering him to change to other CC. Or the other option is to send No2 to in law plc in the morning and pick baby in the evening. That can be taxing cos we did that for No1, for the first 18 months we were transporting him to my mums plc which is near my work plc, now she will be looking after my sister's baby who will just turn 1 yr in Jan. Or hire a maid and my no 1 goes to half day nursery next yr.So really confused.

Thanks Fel and msblur!

Minnie i am with Tanny Chan, EDD now is 13 Sep.. keep adjusting earlier lol.. how about u?
my next appt is 30 Mar. usually i see her on Sat appts as i couldnt take leave as often as i like.

i have a question.. $1200 is for 1 month for IFC?

actually its better to have someone close to do confinement if we have a choice.. my mil confirmed that she will not be doing for me and my mum will be with me for one month. She has to juggle between my sister's one year old son and my baby i think. So im getting 4 months maternity all at once and after that put my baby in IFC bah..

27- yes

My IFC is $1271 per month. This is before any subsidy..

Full time Working mom gets $600 subsidy. So it's $671 for me.

We use CDA account to pay... So it's $671/2

So it's only $335 every month... Quite worth it I feel... I like my first skool...

weiwei,

Thats what im telling hubby too during the wkend. Told him nw maternity leave 4 mths, by the time im afraid i wont wana go back to work alrdy. Hee...

twentyseven,

After last wk's appt, my gynae also brought forward my EDD from 25th sept to 19th Sept.

As for my confinement, hubby is helping me with it & my SIL also offered her help. My mum cant help during the weekdays as she is helping to take care of my sis's 3 kids. But she will be back during the weekends to somehow help out.

Different out let charge differently. Like angelic soul the one at Punggol place.. I went to the website it's $1300a month...

Maybe it's newer outlet n they got more cost to cover...

Different school charge differently also..

My elder son attended another one called bright kids at 192 edgefield plains... Their charges is around $1100, I can't remember the exact amount... He was only there for Six weeks...

Our first choice was my first skool but there was no vacancy when I need to go back to work so no choice but to settle for bright kids... For the three days orientation that I accompanied my son there... I was horrified to see how the teacher "hit" the head of young infants to make them sleep..

How teachers strap babies down on bouncer all day long... Don't let them down to do other activities.. No tummy time... Nothing at all...

They also confine other older ones like 8-9 months old in the exersaucer for hours... As the older one would disturb the younger babies... Really atrocious....

Thank god my first skool called me one week later and say there's a slot for my son the following month... Off we go to my first skool... Love their homely environment... It's fully Aircon and babies sleep in cot... Not in bouncer...

Never look back... The teachers also always wa to keep me updated on my son's condition, send cute n funny photos n videos....