(2013/09) September 2013

Tangerine - thank you so much actually i have many friends TTC for years after their weddings but no good news at all thus I was getting worried and decided to try last month. My friends told me to try before my wedding cos after wedding will need to try very hard.

But Oops!! This baby came a bit too early, my wedding is actually planned this sept. Hahaha we are very happy about it.

So we will move our plans forward. House reno next month as planned but I guess I cannot be involved and cannot be around when the contractors are at work. But now I can safely conclude 1 room goes to play room!! Was telling my ID to keep 2 rooms empty in preparation for my future kids.

Thanks for sharing so much on the diet part. I guess I better dont eat too much durian Cos I am the type that puts on weight easily.

Can you please share with me the chicken essence recipe? I havent disclose to my fmil yet thus dare not cook either. Dare not buy chicken essence as I do not know if I can drink or not. Been taking Brands Berry Essence with Grape Seed Extracts for 1 week. Should be okie right?? Thanks for telling me we can take chicken essence. I will go and buy tonight. Drink in the morning better or every night?

I will go and learn the longan and red dates recipe. Just bought a the pregnancy diet for 280 days recipe book yesterday.

Angelic - I just bought new clothes last week, didnt know I was pregnant, seems like these clothes wont be able to wear much soon. I am also trying to hide my tummy in office and everywhere.

tang, can u also pm me the recipe? i dont really dare to drink chicken essence cos i dont like the taste. but if its good for the baby, i guess i have no choice.

kakumi, yes can drink chicken essence. BUT make sure without any herbs. just plain chicken essence.

personally i find it gives me that needed energy boost.

from my knowledge in another thread where mummies are trying to conceive, several TCM (traditional chinese medicine) doctors told the mummies to drink home brewed chicken essence to support the pregnancy (for those whose body is weak and prone to miscarriage)

i think its to strengthen the womb

mummies, here is the link again. actually just google can find instructions. the recipe is just chicken hahahaaha but it's the preparation that is complicated.
and dun add alcohol. adding alcohol is for confinement. for pregnancy, skip the alcohol.
http://mysugarnspice.net/?p=474

candy, fer, home made chicken essence taste very different from brands. home made one tastes like very concentrated chicken soup. very very yummy!

again, if drink bottled ones make sure no herbs added (cos some herbs 1st trimester cannot take)

candy, me same same as you. before wedding i join this forum then i read abt mummies taking so long to conceive. me and hubby wanted dragon baby. i was worried will take at least 6 months so immediately after wedding we tried.

1st try we missed the ovulation date. 2nd try pregnant! hubby got a shock. so fast 'lost' his freedom haha...

Thanks Tangerine for sharing!!

tang, thanks for sharing the link. wah one chicken can only make such little essence ah. and got to steam for 3 hours. hmmm.. need to ask my hubby if he is willing to do it for me.. hahahaa..

i wonder if the chicken can still be eaten.. if not its such a waste.

LOL Tangerine, for us I think we tried too soon. Jia lat a bit worried now actually.. everything rush together but I am very happy I have a little bean inside me!!

Last month I already pre-emp my mum to let her know I am trying. So that she can be prepared. So fast this month I tell her I am expecting liao. She ask me renovation how? Thats the first question. Haha

ladies, its fine to take salmon sashimi.go to reputable japanese restaurants n do not take sashimi off the belt. salmon has lotsa dha. i took alot in my last trimester and while breastfeeding so my milk was super oily n fatty (good oils). ;)

actually no need to use one whole chicken also can. i think for my confinement my helper uses shredded chicken. can experiment with maybe one chicken thigh and see if it's enough?

hahaha fer - that means jia lat lor!!!! my best wedding gift!!! havent tell anyone yet... any ladies here got similar experience?? any advice?

ur EDD is 19 sep.. when is ur wedding? if ur wedding is before u give birth, then ur stomach will be very big. if ur wedding is after, then u will be in confinment. hmmm... really a headache....

can push forward ur wedding? maybe can speak to your banquet manager. urs is a special case. maybe they will allow u to change ur date?

if not, then u ROM first... wedding dinner can be later... maybe 1yr later?

we are pushing forward but feb is reno month, so also cannot move in... earliest also finish reno by march. By then also just nice to announce 12 weeks. I am thinking how to fit into my gown. Heng my banquet venue has been booked last year, house keys also collected liao.

Alternatively also thinking of ROM first, wedding later

Thanks babe, I think I need to join that forum liao.. hehe

by the way just to check confinement lady rate roughly how much ah? My friend got hers from agency around $1.5k

Hi Tangerinez,
tks for sharing in the archived thread about the fainting/nauseous episode. I don't check in so often... and was shock to see we are on the 3 page already!

Nice recipe... I might try it this weekend. Is this your own blog?

yeah.. TGIF!!!! its finally 6pm.. cant wait to leave office.. dont know why.. very tired and restless today... abit of dizziness too when i see the comp for too long...

take care gals.. have a great weekend!!!

Mummies, it's not my blog hahahha. I merely googled. Cannot claim credit.
I can't cook to save my life. Can only cool baby porridge hahaha.
Have a good weekend everyone!

Candy,same as u..i balloon v fast too..i alrdy cant wear 1 of my jeans le..sounds scary..cant imagine hw rounded i will look like in mths to cm..

My mum also brew the chicken essence for my sis after 3mths..then she made tat for her every mth..
Red dates water r gd if u hv menses cramp..i drink tat too..nw gota continue drinking too..is gd for blood..

A bit hard to keep track of the comments... I have been eating a lot too, keep munching and munching. Right now NTUC selling Cherries at $6.50 for 2 boxes, can go buy.. It's good for health, promote blood. I have munch 1.5 box these two days. I'm going to stock up more tomorrow.

Wow... All the talk abt these nutrutious food... Wonder if preggy can drink herbal chicken soup? Esp the black chicken one seems yummy.
Cecelia, my tummy expands after every meal... And best thing is I already bought a cheong sam for CNY at christmas! Preggy wear cheongsam = ugly :-|

And already gain 0.5kg *cry* Must wave goodbye to good figure already.

Candy, if your folks dun mind, can have banquet when preggy. My hubby said I looked best at 5-6 months. Pregnant ladies always have glowing skin and hair, and if not too much weight gain can have sexy bump to show off.

Ops sorry I meant to ***not superwoman... Instead of Tangerinez. :p

Every morning now I am awoken by my thirst... Then pee... Followed by tummy ache.
any mummies having that?

Tummy for #1 never showed till Ard 3mths. But now #2... Already have baby bump at 6 weeks. Still trying to conceal it from the world... ;)

dear mummies

congratulations to all of you beautiful mummies here...

i hope i can join u guys soon.... i have not tested but i think i will just wait to see if AF is late.... dun want to feel the disappointment after testing...

but i am just here to congratulate all of u

have a healthy & sweet 9 months ahead.... !!

Candy, I am also bloated all the time. My morning sickness has kicked in, making me feel nauseous. I have to sip ginger tea before getting out of bed every morning. The empty stomach makes the nausea even worse...

Mummmies, do you know if Vitamin B6, helps in reliefing morning sickness?

tangerinez - thanks for the chicken essense recipe. It's very useful.

Confused first-timer, Just realised we share the same gynae: Dr Henry Cheng.

Have you had your 1st scan with him yet? I will be seeing him next Mon for the 2nd scan.

Priscilla - Dr Henry Cheng? the one at bishan?? i heard alot of good reviews on him.. even my boss recommend him! But i'm going to Lawrence Ang instead this coming fri. Many friends recommend him to me.. hope i can hear bb's heart beat!

Not superwoman, try not to take herbal chicken soup unless u know the herbs are safe. I know ginseng is a no no no for pregnancy.

Priscilla, yes B6 helps with morning sickness

Still no symptoms today. I feel so normal I'm actually very afraid. When I go back to in laws place on Sunday night I'm going to take HPT again hahaha...

Hi kakumi, I was with Dr Ang, and he is very good at what he does! Very affordable and always puts your worries at ease. He came to see me at least 5 times in hospital when I was delivering, just to check on progress/recovery. In middle of night he wears pyjamas to check on patients... But then his wait time is at least 1hr and then during consult will talk super fast... Finish in 5 mins. This time not with him coz my husband no longer works in sembawang. But he is v good and well respected gynae.

Tangerinz, ooooh.. Thanks for the info. Omg, really don't know much about the chinese medicine part...

You know, many of my friends had easier 2nd pregnancy than first. Less MS, and less pains in general.

Dear mummy, I have few thing would like to let go as below,
1. Medela purela 100 nipple cream 37g -- $15
2. Avent Disposable Breast Pad (2x more absorbent) 30 day pads with free 2 night pads (2 boxes) -- $5
3. Tommee tippee 50 Disposable breast pads --$7
4. Lansinoh 25 Breast Milk Storage Bags -- $8
Pick up point at Yew Tee MRT, Somerset MRT, Woodland MRT and Choa Chu Kang MRT. Pls pm me if interested.

Thank you and enjoy motherhood!

Kakumi- yes, Dr Henry Cheng who is based in Bishan.
Tangerinez - My sister-in-law also did not have morning sickness symptoms when expecting. Just fatigue. So, she will drink chicken essence, plain, every morning.

Cecilia - ya lor I cannot imagine how to fit into my current clothes as I keep on ballooning. It's really hard to imagine the baby is only a pea size but yet we grow so much!

Not superwoman - was thinking 12 weeks stabilize first then hold the banquet too. So maybe 3 month plus? Really hope I can fit into a nice gown. Quite limited to designs I guess.

Hui - welcome n hope you join us soon! What is AF?

Pris - you put hot ginger tea in a flask next to you when you sleep? Is it just ginger n water n sugar? Does it help rid the MS n bloatedness? Your sil sips chicken essence on empty stomach? Wow the taste not easy to take first thing in the morning hor?

Tangerine - don't worry so much! Keep us updated after you test again! Everything will be fine. I had light spotting on Friday n Saturday. Googled n found it to be safe. Hope to scan next week n see the little sesame seed! Hehe

Fel - I always have a little tummy but was able to suck it in if I had to. Somehow now cannot anymore. Haha it's getting more obvious! Especially I drink so much water, anyone has good remedy to get rid of water retentation? Curious all the fluid I drink must be going to form the amniotic water? Hehe

Hi all! Happy Sunday Morning!

My cycles are usually 25 to 29 days long, and I just tested this morning on Day 29, and it was a VERY faint positive using Guardian pregnancy test. Will buy a Clearblue Digital Test today and test again tomorrow, so hope to join you mummies-to-be in this thread very soon. Meanwhile, wish all of you a safe pregnancy!

Candy- I will sip ginger tea. Bought the instant type- gold kili. Half a packet is enough for half a cup. If not, it's quite "hot". For me, the empty stomach in the morning really makes me feel queasy. I will also have a rice cracker, before getting up.
I also started spotting yesterday. I got a bit worried n called my gynae. He ordered bed rest. I m already on utrogestan anyhow. Just hope that everything is ok. I will be seeing him
on Mon. Waiting to hear the baby's heartbeat!!

Viiiv, hope to hear good news from u soon!
Pris, I bought ginger ytd but haven't started brewing my own yet, I burp all day, and woken up by hunger these few days. It's those "I'm hungry, then starving n I need to eat NOW type of hunger!!!" Hahaha

Breast swelling n more tender too

not_superwoman - thanks for the reveiw.. many ppl comments he talks very fast and will tell u the info u need to know & not talk more cos he need to see other patients.. friends told me he's affordable that's y i chose to visit him..

Pris-we can drink those instant ginger tea?? hmmm.. i'm like super bloated after meals! very xin ku ar!
vivi- hope to hear ur good news! =)

Hi Candy and Kakumi, thanks for your well wishes. Hope I can report to this thread very soon!

Just wondering do any of you visit doctor to do HCG test before your first prenatal at week 6? I mean track HCG level from the positive pregnancy test till your first gynae check at week 6? Is that necessary?

The reason why I'm asking is cos my HPT is kinda a surprise to me cos my hub actually has sperm morphology issues, so TTC is supposedly difficult, hence I want to do everything to ensure that hopefully nothing goes wrong in early stage of this conception. Any advice from experienced mummies here? Thank you!

Also, I just noticed increased amount of vaginal discharge starting just today (29 days since last menstrual period). The discharge is whitish and slightly thicker than the usual fertile EWCM. Is it normal to get increased discharge so early on?

Hello all, finally decided to start my first post. EDD 1st Sep. Have been feeling bloated since Xmas period and family doc suspected that I was pregnant. Did urine test 3times, only 3rd time then it shows positive. Was only after my gynae visit last week then I finally believe I'm pregnant.
Still confused and don't know when I should inform my boss of my pregnancy.

viiv- HCG? HPT? TTC? all these terms are new to me.. erm.. i dun think i went to check any of these.. only self test usin clearblue, showing positive next day went to the gynae to further check it.. ;) i got abit of white discharge.. dunno y.. but as long as i dun see alot of blood i think shd be fine.. hmm.. u check w the gynae yet??

Ann Chua - i told my boss the day after.. worried tat she might think y my efficiency suddenly become so low n y i keep running to the loo.. lolz. later she thought i eat snake~ hehee

My edd is on 05sep13. Juz went to see gynae on wed. Though is 7wks preg but my bb is only around 6wks as my menses is around 38d cycle. Thus can only see the sac but can't hear the heartbeat yet..

This will be my #2 & #1 is 19m soon.

Hi Kakumi
Apologies for using short form, here is what they mean:
HCG: human chorionic gonadotropin is a hormone produced during pregnancy that is made by the developing placenta after conception. Pregnancy tests work by detecting the presence of HCG in urine.

HPT: Home Pregnancy test

TTC: Trying to conceive

Nope, I've not been to gynae yet, as I only tested very faint positive today which is Sunday morning. Probably call my gynae's clinic tomorrow to book an appointment.

Is this your first pregnancy? Who's your gynae and how many weeks were you when you went for first appt?

May I know what dosage of folic acid do u take? Was prescribed 5mg of folic acid by my gynae but read from the Internet that 400mcg is enough for first trimester. So I'm not sure why the gynae prescribed such a high dosage.