(2013/06) June 2013

Mummies, for CLs, if they are from Malaysia, do we need to get them work permits?

Jasmine, my MS also on and off. Some smells still turn me off and make me nausea.

coming to 11 weeks soon but MS still here. Puking at least once daily.... and to add on, somehow I managed to pull a muscle on my upper back. Now finding it difficult to stretch out my hand to take something. Btw, for those still puking, how do u cope with the aftertaste of the puke? I also feel that my throat is burning after the puking and there's this bitter aftertaste.

My mum will probably help with confinement as in she will cook but I will care for baby. Better also. Hopefully this baby will be easy to care for and that breastfeeding will be established early in the first few days.

Missing for a few days as we went for a short holiday at Melaka. Didnt really enjoy as the morning sickness is worse.

I realized as the weeks progresses I had my morning sickness worse. One day can puke many times. Last pregnancy I only puke once a day or twice.

Lilac
I also have the bitter or sometimes sour burning taste after puking. I either drink some honey water or eat mint. After a while it disappear.

Kome
I also thinking of getting confinement catering and take care the baby myself. Not considering to get a CL because house no space and I intend to make breasfeeding a successful one so I will need to wake up to latch or pump so no point with a CL. But my hubby is very keen to get a CL I think he just dont really want to help

Hmm my next appointment is on next Monday just hope that everything is ok

Vivi, my next appointment is also next Monday! By then, will be 11 wks. Your MS still bad hor? Me too leh.... But today seems slightly better i.e. No puking. But then again, i didn't puke for 2 days last week and it came back with a vengeance on the 3rd day. I am hoping and praying very hard that the MS will taper off towards 12th week.

Jasmine - im at week 13 and ms totally gone. But indigestion is starting and i have yet experience a surge in appetite.

Kome - I secured my CL at week5. Those good ones are usually booked very early. I called 2 and both were booked but fortunately managed to book the 3rd lady i called.

Any mummies have bought or are thinking of buying fetal dopplers? I'm very tempted
Heard the good ones can detect heartbeats from week10 onwards!!!

Lilac
This Friday I will be at my 10th week it seems more like getting from bad to worse sob sob....

Sometimes no puking feel but got something like stuck in the throat that I rather vomit out then not up and down.... so I end up in the toilet and stare at the toilet bowl for the longest time.

<table border=1><tr><td>No.</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>baby #</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Location</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Shan991</TD><TD>1-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Zoers</TD><TD>1-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr KK Ho</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>North/ West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Angel Ho</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Irene Chua</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Erica Tan</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>sf8</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Girl^Girl</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Khoo CK</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>North</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>KIS</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>PL (babybp)</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>yveyve18</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>ica</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>wy_june</TD><TD>4-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Geraldine Tan</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Jessica Tham</TD><TD>5-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr June Tan</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>pinkberries84</TD><TD>5-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Ang</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>My-Angel-Is-Back</TD><TD>6-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Choo Wanling</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>GlenE/ Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Estherlss</TD><TD>6-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Zaraa</TD><TD>9-Jun-13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Blurdopey</TD><TD>9-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>may</TD><TD>10-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>June</TD><TD>11-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Phua Soo Mear</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>valerie chen</TD><TD>11-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Han</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>FL</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Yeoh</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>North</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>mschia_mrslim</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>KL84</TD><TD>14-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>rosellecz</TD><TD>14-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Kome</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Jen SW</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>missy</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>grace82</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Windyrain</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>North</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>mummy_relle</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Vincent Lee</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>happy_gal</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Cynthia Kew</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Layn</TD><TD>17-Jun-13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>jasmine</TD><TD>17-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr TM Chua</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>xp</TD><TD>18-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>mummync</TD><TD>19-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>absentmama</TD><TD>21-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Janiz</TD><TD>23-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>chloe_ng</TD><TD>25-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>dolliepollie</TD><TD>25-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Chevelle</TD><TD>27-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Koh Cheng Huat</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>gymie</TD><TD>27-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Chan KH</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>BearBaby</TD><TD>27-Jun-13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Vivi</TD><TD>28-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Geraldine Tan</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>North</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>wendy (w_w)</TD><TD>29-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD># 2 &amp; # 3</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Ann C</TD><TD>29-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr John Yam</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>West</TD><TD></td></tr></table>

Done my OSCAR scan ytd night. Took less than 5mins. According to gynae bb looks fine. NT 1.61 n length of bb 4.8cm. Took my blood test n take up package, so my chek up will be monthly.

Vivi
Actually I looking for day time CL, coz hubby don't really like stranger in the hse. In the end, my mum just asked 1 relative to help me do confinement.

Ica
Wahh......u are fast. I wanted to wait to be stable before finding one.

Hi mummync and Ica.... I also confirmed my CL some weeks back, so i'm also super KS! Do u mind sharing what much your CL charging for 4 weeks? Hubby is hiring mine for 8 weeks for me because he say i'm very 'useless' so need CL's help longer so i can rest more. lol.

Good Morning Ladies..
I am new joiner. Just did my test n found out I am positive..
Didnt expect this at all.. Based on my last Mensa in sept. my bb should due in June.

I have already make appt with Dr Eunice Chua in TMC on Monday to check. Been eating lots of rubbish recently so kind of worry..

A little background of myself. We have been trying for bb for almost 2yrs even went 1st round of IVF,it was successful but got mc on 6wks. So we decided to took a yr break and try next year.. So this bb giving us a surprise.

Now I start to eat folic acid and eat lots of healthy stuffs.. Hope for the best on Monday

Baby Moo> welcome to the group.

Having a BB is always a surprise, ya?

I conceived after 1st cycle of IVF at KKIVF.
also married for close to 3 years, and trying for 2+ years....

pls do take folic acid, and keep a healthy lifestyle...most importantly, stay safe...

U can try to 'aga aga' your EDD based on LMP calculator on webs/mobile apps...

morning mummies!! just to share my thoughts after reading some posts on CL..

as a #2 nummy, i strongly recommend that first time mummies should consider a CL if there are alternatives. (esp if you have deliver thru c sect) being first time and inexperienced in handling infant, is always good to have someone around to help you out.

i have a few friends who did not want a CL around, ended up suffering from mild depression for the first month. As it was tough handling the crying infant, chores like washing bb clothes, sterilizing bottles, food. To make things worse, they are confined within their house with no help, cannot go out etc..

I had CL for my first.. and i was lucky i went ahead to get one. As mine was c sect, the first 2 weeks for me then was quite jia lat.. i could not do a lot of things on my own and i was feeling lousy. on top of that, i had low milk supply and it was enough to frustrate me.. i could not even bathe myself, and i need my hubby to be at home to help.. taking care of myself is already a problem, not to mention having to take care an infant, who requires constant attention.

now #2, will still consider having a CL.. as i wish that to recover from the whole childbirth process and also spend more time with #1 to get her accept #2. After that first month, i shall be on my own again and i fear that i may go crazy..

with all these.. i would rather be a FTWM sometimes.. =)

hi mummies, a question to ask. When can we start taking essence of chicken and bird nests? I am feeling quite lethargic and feels that my body needs some boost. Or are there any vitamins that gynae can prescribe to help increase my level of energy?

For my 1st two pregnancy, mum was the one who did the confinement for me. I moved in to stay with her so that she can cook for me after which she will go to work. So in a sense, I am thankful cos' I am taking care of baby the whole time. A little tiring but I guess since I am total breastfeeding, baby is basically stuck to me 24/7. I did try expressing milk but somehow was difficult so latched all the way till baby was 18 mths. I think it is wonderful to have a CL if you don't mind a stranger in your house. I have a few friends who engaged CL and their CL were all very good. Plus husbands are quite hands-on so it helped a lot.

Morning all...

Baby MoO > Congrats! Yes, it's always a surprise.

mummy_relle > Thanks for sharing! I am still thinking if I should get a CL or part-time domestic helper to do the household chores since my mum will be helping during my confinement.

All thanks to the pool transport I took in the morning, I am feeling so horrible now. The bumpy and jerky ride is making me so sick and nauseas. Now I seriously regret paying for the transport next month...

wy_june> yeah...my mum will be helping me with confinement. She last did confinement for my SIL (her 4th baby) in July. All the grandchildren love her...hahaha

hubby shd be taking ard 2 weeks leave to help out ba...

What kind of pool transport...bus/mini-bus???

lilac > Not sure about essence but the lady at the chinese medicine hall i patronize ask me to start taking bird nest from 4th mth onwards.

Girl^Girl > Yeah sorta like mini bus that a group of my office ppl take to office. A kind soul coordinated for bus pool to office (@ YCK) since we are staying at Tamp / Bedok. In this case we no need to change so many buses / train rides!

preganncy is really expensive.. all the essence of chicken and bird nest is enough to drain the pockets..

i recall the last time, i bought those big bottle of bird nest and eat 1 sponnful every night before i sleep.. but i din take essence of chicken though.. maybe i should.. we need all the energy to last till June..

mummy_relle> ya man...i think i should take chic essence soon....hehe...now 13w, so 14w can take??

bird nest i tink i drink those dragon brand de...i scared the rest leh....

I think after trimester is the time to bu Le because third trimester the tonics won't reach baby Le....

Can drink pao sheng chicken soup ... This time I am going to load up on chicken essence... I think all the energy to take care of 2 . One toddler and one new born . I wonder should I drink Dom after giving birth ? Is it good?

Kome
Very hard to find only daytime cl
if not I would want to consider this too

lilac
Depends on individual for taking chk of essence bah.....My mum told me to drink since 3 weeks ago as i have not been sleeping very well. She said the chk essence is to bu me and not the bb.

Vivi
Ya.....very hard to find. Maybe you can try the agency at TMC to look for 1?

Chloe, my CL charging me 2.4k n I also gettin for 2mths so that she can help train my maid in the 2nd month..

I agree w mummy relle..it's not so much abt household chores coz her job is to care for u n baby n initially we didn't like a stranger in our house too but I tink it js necessary cozu need n will appreciate all the rest u can get..hahaha want to garang n take care of baby yourself u got all the time to do it.first mth jus rest n let her deal...
I regret not slping more in my first preg n confinement lol

Thanks Kome. Think I need something to nourish me first cos have been feeling lethargic n puking... Really need the energy to take care of the 2 older ones, myself and the household. Thank God hubby is able to help out during this period. Am really praying hard that the end of 1st trimester will see MS going away.

mummync : yeah.. when i see what some of my friends go through.. i feel that CL is somehow necessary.. my colleague also did not hire CL, as he said his wife is not used to having around to tell her what to do.. they both ended up suffering.. his wife cares for the bb in the day and seems to be emotionally wrecked.. and he takes over when he goes home in the evening and his wife sleeps.. can see that he cannot tahan as well... cause he do night duty and works the next day.. concentration level is low...he even told me that there was once, his wife just shuts herself in the room leaving him and bb outside.. i guess she could not take the pressure... on the other hand, i have another closer friend who delivered in Sep and had a CL (who was also my CL the other time).. she super eng.. everyday entertaining visitors, latch, eat, sleep and massage.. when CL left, she panick.. bb had colic and cries badly at night..

am so sleepy today @ work.. cannot seem to concentrate and focus.. my mind is thinking of having tiramisu now~ *yum yum*

Lilac
We 2 same. Taking care of 2 older kids n do household. My house totally in a mess coz I totally no energy to do.

Your hubby still able to help but my hubby totally nt able to help lor. Coz he himself is tired from work also.

Last time I used to mop everyday now sometimes I skip and some part of the house dusty I feel bad leh but I really
Too tired

may : like what vivi says.. i also think cannot ba, cause of the raw eggs and liquor..

but sometimes the more we cannot eat, the more we want to eat right?

Mummy_relle: yea very true indeed!
Mummync &amp; vivi: my hubby can help in the mopping but this week I must really wash the toilets already. Skipped them last week cos I was too tired. Now i Beh tahan them

Mummy relle, my boy also had colic when cl left but we hafta learn sometime hahaha but at least first mth can ease into it..if not I agree can go into depression..even w help I was crying etc coz of th hormonal changes..lucky my hubby v aware n supportive so I didn't go into depression...but can b tough..more help better than less?

Market rate next yr I heard can b as high as 2.6k

Kome, do u have a helper to help u? After I found out that I was pregnant with no.3, immediately went to find a part-time helper who comes in every forthnight to help clean the house. That helped alot. Of course, in between need to do some light cleaning but still alright. I also ordered tingkat to cut down on the cooking time but the food was quite horrible. Not sure is it due to my ms or what but I stopped after 10 days. So sometimes I cook one-dish meal, sometimes tabao and sometimes MIL will help cook. I'm just trying to tide over this bad ms period. Sigh... Puked twice yesterday.... Coming to 11th wk liao, don't know why still feel so bad. Will have to ask gynae for meds to stop the puking.

May, maybe u ask ur hubby to wash the toilet too? Try not to do so much squatting and cleaning when preg.

How do I request to get on the FB group? Can advise. Thanks.

Chix Essenes/ dome:
Haha guessed mine can save abit $ coz I can't take both. By the way does dome has expired date? I don't see expiry date printed on those in my house now

米酒:
anyone mummies or relatives make nice 米酒?
Can ask if can make for me, I buy from you.

Chloe/ pinkberries:
Mine( 2.2K x 2 )for 8 wks. Initially she quoted 2.3K. Big jump fr her 1.8K in 2009 for my #1
but we knows each other patterns so decided to stick to her.

Kome:
Din see u for quite sometime. Busy w ur #1&amp;2 ?

Tiramisu cake:
May, If not wrong cannot leh coz have alc content. I don't eat coz I'm allegy to alc so I assume can't ba

Mummync:
I same as u leh don't know y siao siao will tears abit unhappiness tears just like tearing baby haha. Then my boy colic worse , he whined non stop every evening 6+ to 10+ pm I din even know wat happened since my #1 then n gog crazy w his cry.

My angel is back, is ur CL fr Msia? R msians CL better or those fr agency ok?

I oso got a bit depress when I had my #1, n my boy colic cry fr 1am-3/4am... Didn't know till a friend told me that.. Only got better after a mth..

Zoers &amp; Chloe - sorry for late reply. Have been really busy. I shortlisted some CLs a while back thru friends' recommendation. I think thats the best way, otherwise you'll be stuck with someone who is incompetent. The price range was 2.4k-2.8k.

I think CLs are REALLY IMPORTANT. I've seen friends go through confinement without one and its really taxing unless you have a mother or MIL who is very good with newborns and can cook and wash all at the same time. Also, its essential we get enough rest during confinement so we should not be taking care of bb at night. I don't want to pass on the responsibility to my mother or MIL as they are more elderly and its too tiring for them. So hiring a good CL solves all my problems