(2013/05) May 2013

Min: I guess when we r approaching to our delivery, more n more things start to happen.. Like swollen fingers n feet, numbness, false contraction n etc. Initially I was v worry abt e numbness too, because it happens only on my left tight. Last Sunday, it even "went to sleep" totally, my gynae said it is normal.. But if you are still worry, you can check wf ur gynae..
I aso keep telling bb tt as long as they r fine and healthy, I am fine!

Azel: yah I think more and more symptoms6 are going to happen. I trying hard not to walk so much, keep lying on bed. All the best to all of us

Hihi! Finally I am on leave till I deliver!

Azel: did not manage to leave at half day... Finished at 630 but it's ok, at least I m off now!

Littlebabysmurf: maybe we will give birth on the same week! Hang in there!

KaTie: your boy n girl can be your little helpers! Useful!

Min: I was just wondering what happened to you last night. Hope you will feel better soon... I had quite a bit of false contractions too when I had a car accident a few weeks ago (monitored at hospital but did not stay). I m sure everything will be well. Stay positive. N if you are worried, call your gynae. That's what they are there for... To answer our questions n give us advices. Hang in there!

Yeah, I would like to know more about the CL arrangement too... Didn't even know that it's for only 28 days... We never spoke about it n I always assumed that it's for 1 month?? Why only 28 days....?

N also what do we need to provide for the CL? Besides a place to sleep n food? Do we need to get her shampoo, towels etc? Or she will bring it herself? I m lost....

Dreambig: yay!!!! u are finally on leave
hehe... can take a good rest. yup yup.. remember to update us when u give birth ok? Its my first, so i am feeling excited plus scared :|

Ilovebabies: i am not sure about the water level. The gynae mentioned there is still alot of water in the placenta and based on his experience, I wouldnt deliver within one week from my last check up which was yesterday. I didnt engaged any CL but for 3 of my friends, the CL left around noon. After they did the flower bath for the baby and my friends. Not sure if all CL do the same.

Yeah, it's my first too n I feel the same, scared n nervous!
I particularly worry how it will be when my water breaks.... :s

My gynae wants to induce me next mon or tues if I don't go into labor this week... But I prefer natural...

Littlebabysmurf, thanks for your info. I don't have much info about CL practice as well because most of my friends got their mothers or MIL to help during confinement. My last experience was not very good, I think we have to reach mutual agreement on the dates and timing in the first place...otherwise, we will be "rugi".

Dreambig, good for you. finally can rest now. The common practice is 28 days not a month (i also got to know it when my previous told me she's gonna leave the next day
) I don't know the exact reason, probably bcoz they (those from Msia) can only stay here for 30 days?! Not sure.

My bad experience abt CL:
1. She requested yummy breakfast (didn't want to eat bread, rice noodle, etc..) Asked for various fruits as well.
2. Always said that sth need to be replenished but in fact, she wanna go out to buy 4D.
3. Told a lie that she had to go back to attend a court hearing and would like to take 2 days off. In fact, this is the common tricks some CLs will play, they juz want to pass the assignment to some newbies and earn commission from them. Their usual excuses could be xxxx died or seriously sick, they must go back, etc.
4.Fell asleep while feeding my baby at night. Fortunately i found it before dropping my baby.
5.Lazy. Claimed that she would mop and clean kitchen when my parents here but juz did once during the 28 days.
6.Talkative, always on the phone.
7.Rough when handling baby.
8.Many complains, like the herbs i bought is not good enough, my hse is very hot..etc...

Gosh.... That's really scary......

I hope mine turns out fine. Last thing I need is to manage someone else on top of a new born baby...

Dreambig, i hope my second one will turn out fine as well. Let's keep our fingers crossed.
A good CL is a life saver but a bad one can be a nightmare. Juz make everything clear in the first place lor....

Min: dun keep lying on the bed, it is still good to move about but not something too tedious.

Dreambig: even thou u didn't leave after half day.. But u r free now. Yippee! You can start resting at home le
I've to start working tml, can't nua at home le.
Haha..

littlebabysmurf: ur water level refers to amniotic fluid for bb is it?

Dreambig: why doc wan to induce next Mon / Tue.. Why dun wait till May? Just curious.. Heehee.. Keep us updated!

I love babies: OMG! It is horrible, I really hope that mine is ok. I dun expect great but average n able to help me. Think it is a luck thing.

I'm scare that my water break in office aso. Heehee

yeah let's keep our fingers crossed... Hope we all get good CLs!

I am not sure too why doc wants to induce.... I think I will ask him on sat when I see him. Partly I think he doesn't want to have it on 1st May which is a PH? Not sure....

Hi, I m inviting my CL for my son's first birthday this Saturday. PM me if you want to meet up for an interview.
Not getting any commission jus want to share her good service to everyone

Good morn! I was sick over the weekend till now.. down with flu so never log in to SMH forum...

Congrat Dreambig finally u can rest officially.. I am still struggling with the handover to the temp staff.. think can only go to rest in latest mid may...

CL: My first time using too.. afraid might turn out to be nightmare as well but what to do.. just gotta pray hard everything goes smoothly.. if not also no choice..

Meow Meow: 7th May is v fast... u gotta deep breathe and start to plan your things ya... jia you!!

i love babies - Your CL sounds horrible. Did you still need to pay her the full confinement fee when she takes off days? Hopefully your next CL is good and helpful.

Azel, you may ask your gynae to extend the leave if you are unwell. As you are expecting twins, i believe it will be much more tiring than us, juz take extra care of yourself yo.

miracle: hope you are feeling better now. Dont stress yourself, juz take leave if tired. BB is the first priority.

chiro: No, in the end she suddenly said that the hearing postponed when i told her she didn't have to rush, juz take time to settle the 'fortune she's gonna inherit' (she said her hubby died and left sth to her) and i would get a replacement by myself.

I have lowered my expectation abt CL, as long as she takes good care of my BB and me, i will close one eye for other things...

Thanks ladies. I am feeling better though occasionally feel tummy tight, I faster sit down to rest le. Guess what, so much abt worrying yo finish handover list, I did not manage to do any handover due to the unforseen hospitalization. I feel bad but guess can't be help. I cant be stress anymore if not contractions again.

Azel: I feel so lazy now. I only walk to toilet, walk to kitchen for meals. I still got bb stuff not bought yet, but guess has to rely in hubby not I walk too much, tummy tighten again.

Dreambig: enjoy the break before D day comes
It is my first and I am also wondering what is it lije when it is delivery time. Will I be screaming , call a cab, hubby rush back or? Haha thinking of all the drama scene now haha

Morning mummies, only managed to log in once yesterday to SMH and after that was a mad rush to finish as much work as possible to complete my handover. Boss agreed to let me bring forward my ML so I will be working until end of the month only so I still have at least 2 days to prepare baby things but that means it will be a constant mad rush for the next few days to complete my handover haha but I am actually glad to be going off soon!

I love babies: my swelling is now constant even the feet are swollen all the time and after i told her that my face and eye area occasionally swells in the morning then she got worried and asked me to do blood test so this friday I will know loh...

Miracle_bing and Min: hope you are feeling better.

As for CL, the one I engaged is also from M'sia and recommended by a friend so I hope she dun 'chut pattern'. I am only worried that she will complain about the animals in my house haha. I have 6 cats and a dog and then dun have a proper bed for her to sleep. Do you guys think CL will mind sleeping on a mattress either in my room or my mother's room? She sounds nice on the phone when I spoke to her but then.... I hope I don't get a CL from hell *fingers crossed*

Azel: hope your babe cooperate and turn back around, mine is still in the same position and I am resigned to c-sec and am mentally prepared for it already. Hubby has been telling her to turn down every night but I have a feeling I have a cheeky girl in there.... my mum say to beat her backside when she pops haha

Dreambig: Lets Jia you tog! ya i am also afraid my waterbag will burst when I am outside but i heard it usually doesnt happen. Haha.. keep our fingers cross.

Azel: yup yup.. i think its the amniotic fluid still high in volume :p

Anyone not intending to use epidural?

Azel: I think you should definitely have more rest if you are not feeling too well.

My gynae has already given me hospitalization leave. And similarly with rest of mummies, I wanted to do a better handover but just suddenly, I am feeling more effects of the pregnancy - increased fatigued, breathlessness, I think I am also experiencing the BH contractions.

So my last visit with Gynae yesterday, shows that I may going into labour even earlier...

I have to go and get more monitoring in the hospital this Friday to decide if the delivery date should be brought forward.

I feel so unprepared.

Oh - About CL: I also booked one as my friends told me they really help a lot and is a "life saver" for first time moms without help. And that one totally pass it to them to help "lead" the baby caring routines.

But recently I am hearing more and more stories of the opposite. I attended Wong Boi Boi prenatal class, she share scary stories of CL. it seems we have to manage and monitor CL too...
Aiyo...

confinement experience and rules:

My previous confinement experience was pretty good, as I realised that no nanny is perfect.

Good things about nanny:
-can handle my baby very well, especially at times when he cries, she is able to find out what my son is actually crying for.
-can cook very nice confinement meals which my hubby enjoys too.
-not very pro breastfeeding but at least she follows what I want her to do.
-at least my pump parts and bottles are washed and sterilised properly before every pumping/feeding session. (even when I wake up around 3 am and 6 am to pump, the pumps are sterilised and assembled nicely for me in the tray)
-knowledgeable to recommend me good creams for eczema and rashes.

I did not follow strict confinement rules like no bathing or bathing with herbs (Da Feng Cao). I bathe using normal shower gel and wash my hair everyday. Hence, in a way, my nanny quite free as she does not need to prepare / boil bath water for me.

I did not get her to do housework like mopping the floor for me as I have a helper. Nonetheless, she keeps the kitchen really clean after she finishes her cooking.

Overall, the experience was good and I rested well during the 28 days.

Yup, she left at noon at the 28th day. But she came around noon on the 1st day as well. On the day I was discharged, I reached home with a nice warm confinement meal prepared by nanny

This time round I will be getting the same nanny for my confinement as well.

Really looking forward to the confinement meals and tea prepared by her

Thanks Min! Yeah, I m also wondering what drama there will be on D day :p

Littlebabysmurf: yes, Jia you! In fact, I am planning not to use epidural but.... Don't know if I will back out last minute haha....

Dreambig: Me too! I am hoping not to use epidural but I might beg for it later on :p hehe...

I feel like going for foot reflex to remove all the water in my feet!

Adelyn, thanks for sharing. You are very luck to have a good CL! Hope that i can be as lucky as you this time round.

Meow: Wah you keep so many pets huh? Not afraid of allergy problems?

Littlebabysmurf: Same here, i have been considering when to go body massage, medi, pedi, hair cut etc....Really want to pamper myself..hahahah

I'm new to this forum! My edd is 26/6 but gynae said i might be due in may! So I'm hoping to gain valuable experience from all the mummies here!

Oh, and I'm expecting a baby boy!

Hello mummies! Am new to the forum!
My edd is 26/6 but gynae said i might be due in may! Hope to gain valuable experience from all mummies here!

I'm expecting a baby boy!

Just a question, any mummies given birth at mount a single room recently? Im gg for c sec with ga cos of my back prob I'm unable to opt for epidural..

Just want to know roughly after cpf, what are the amount payable?

Based on my calculation and information given by the nurse during the maternity tour, I shld come out with only $2.8k plus! So am trying to see if its correct!

Package-c sec with ga: $4054.23
Gynae fees: $1700
GA: $500
PD: $500
Total: $6754.23
CPF claim: $3950
Payable in cash: $2804.23

Is this calculation correct?

Hi love baby!
That day I went to maternity tour, the staff actually told me that alot of mummies requested to take home their placenta cos they want to cook and eat!

yah! those preggies ladies all went ewwww when the nurse told us that! Lol! my hubby said, u are not one of those right? And I went no!!!

Katherine - Think still need to factor in baby and miscellaneous charges, so the final amount will vary.

i love babies - Heard of placenta consumption before. But cook the whole thing and eat sounds abit ermm... lol

Some mummies tried placenta encapsulation services(processed into pills), that one I think still okay.

Chiro: what I tot baby charges are just pd charges and nursery charges? these are all factored in alr..mind to share what other misc charges? Thanks!

Katherine, I'm not exactly sure also, as seems like every mother's delivery charges are different. But can include miscellaneous such as whether baby need phototherapy, extra stay in ward, whether you rent pump in hospital, stuffs like that. Nursery charges doesn't seem to be included in the package according to what other mummies share. Maybe cash component can buffer up around 1k in addition to your calculation to set aside your budget.

Chiro: I checked with mount a nurse! The letter she gave us got include nursery charges, nurses Chrgs, operation theatre chrg! Maybe I will go back take a pic and upload here and let u all see!

I do not dare to even see my own placenta when the nurse tried to show me mine after delivery.

I know its very nutritious though. When the nurse asked if I wanna keep, I say just throw haa.

Katherine Chong: We have the same EDD
But I hope my baby boy will stay til 39 weeks plus then pop.

Eeee...cooking the placenta sounds to gross to me. During pre natal class, the trainer says unless we are very sure we are eating if not better not to bring home. If not, it need to be disposed properly , I.e. to bring back to the hospital. If not later people see it in the rubbish chute may call the police, thinking there are abandon baby.

Hi Adelyn, but my gynae said my baby boy is coming out like in may!

I hope I can hold him longer! Lol!
Which hospital are u giving birth in?