(2013/05) May 2013

Hi Mommies!~

Im a Jan mommy and I am lettng go of my pram as my son seldom use it nowadays.

It is in excellent condition

It's a Combi Miracle Turn Premier (Green Leaf color)
Bought it at S$729, selling it at $580 (Negotiable for serious buyers)

For more information, please sms me at 90660284.

The most advanced stroller ever made.

The Miracle Turn is the most advanced stroller ever made and the top of the Combi stroller range. It’s a brilliant automatic wheel switching system that locks the back wheels and unlocks the front wheels whenever you reverse the handle. Suitable from Newborn to 20 kgs.

Lightweight (6.3 kgs)
Easy open/fold
Double fold makes it super compact
Multiple seat recline
Reversible handle
Constant front steering
Orthopaedic seat cushion
Four-wheel suspension
Huge sunshade
Seat ventilation system
Size (Folded):100H x 47W x 32D

8314611.jpg

Azel, thanks for clarifying. I also got the US set and it's 9V so dunno if this can be used in SG? Sorry for asking an idiot question cos I have no idea about these and my hubby as idiot as me :p

Meow Meow: I am not very good with all this electrical thingy too. I dun wan to give the wrong advice, you can ask for advice from "megababystore".

weileegoh: you can consider buying second-hand if you want. Because you may need to pump out the extra milk after breastfeeding.

I got the Avent sterilizer... No particular reason just because it was sold as a bundle n it seems attractive...

For the pump, I got the medela PISA. For this I did some research n feedbacks from friends n most of them recommend this cos it is strong n can pump both at the same time. I reckoned that I don't want to spend too much time pumping as I intend to continue pumping when I return to work. But I heard Ameadine is quite good too n less costly than medela.

Just a thought to share, I regretted getting the sterilizer set first without thinking which pump I will get though. Cos the sterilizer set comes with several bottles n I realized after that that avert bottles cannot fit with medela pumps. So it would be more trouble to transfer the milk from one to the other. If I knew I was going to get the medela pump, I would get the medela bottles instead n buy the sterilizer separately..... If it makes sense....

Dear mummies, I have delivered my baby Jayden on 18/4/13. He chose to come out earlier than planned. 37w5d. Birth weight 2.825kg.

Good Friday Morn!!

I am not in this forum yday due to work and just finished reading the thread

Congrat to Meiliew, RC for the smooth delivery!

Warmer/Steriliser/Milk Bottle: I bought Avent because of the good deal of bundle.

Breast Pump: I have not bought yet. Intend to use handme down Avent Manual Pump and see the overall situation before buying an electrical pump. If buying, I am shortlisting Avent Duo Electric Pump (because of the convenience) or Medala Freestyle (because of high recommendation). Personally, I prefer Avent, don't know why..

Xevious
If it was me, I really wouldn't allow any reason to make me decide to induce my baby out. Babies will come out when they need to come out. You're right, I think there's a higher chance of getting into C-sect if you induce before the cervix is ripe, or before you experience any signs of labour. You're the one having to deal with the pain & all, not your hubby. The exams, as important as they may be, worse come to worse your hubby can take it another time. But I can't imagine what could be more important than a natural time for baby to be out. Even husbands on reservist training can still go out to hospital if their wives are in labour.

Meiliew, RC
Welcome to motherhood!

Miracle_bing
Avent manual pump is a good pump. I survived 16 months on that for my #1. For #2, I bought an avent single electric pump and that served me very well too. But I notice the newer model looks different - it comes with a tube & all. Avent Duo Electric pump is a very powerful pump - it's definitely more powerful than the single one that's why it cost close to $800. I bought an Ameda double coz I read many good reviews on it.

Dreambig
Don't worry about that lah, it's actually quite a small problem. Just pour lor. hehe. After all sometimes I also pump using avent bottles then still must pour into NUK bottles to feed baby or, pump then pour into a milkbag for later storage.

COngrats Meiliew & RC.

Mummies are beginning to pop.. so exciting.

Dreambig, i use pigeon steriliser. though it dont fit medela bottles. personally, i dont like to feed baby directly wf medela bottles. always leak. still prefer avent /pigeon. the traditional ones.

Miracle: u may want to consider electrical pump. i started wf manual too for #1. after i start using electrical one..e flow difference is very significant.

meow meow,
for PISA, u need to get a converter.. cause baby mega store sell 3 types of converter/adapter.. so was wondering which is better to get..
(pls bear in mind that you cannot jus plug into singapore plug without the adapter/converter. it will spoilt your pump)
unless you are using the freestyle.
Freestyle is very convenient. light and portable no need for converter/adapter even for US set. (had that for #1, wanna try freestyle for #2 cause heard its suction is better.)

sterlizer,
can consider pigeon de. (get the big round de)
can dump a lot of stuff in and best dun have to line them up.. hahahaha

Maybe it was discussed previously before - is anyone planning to do new born photography sessions? Which studio will you do it with if you are? I did not plan to do it initially but some friends encourage me to do it for momento... Now thinking whether to do it or not.

Congrats meiliew!

Azel & blurdopey: thanks for advise. I asked around also and was told I could get a converter from the DIY stores or Ntuc. Will look around and if not will have to get from megababystore... Thanks thanks...

Waiting my turn to see gynae now.... Wait so long...sianZ...

I am expecting my No. 2 somewhere end June but will like to join this forum as the thread is pretty active and having been a silent reader all this while, I learnt alot from mummies sharing here.

Congrats to mummies who just popped!

Sterilizer:
I like pigeon (the fatter version one) as I can dump into alot of bottles as well as pumping pal breast flank inside to sterilise. The space is generous enough!

Breast pump:
I used Ameda initially and it is good I must say as the noise level is not as loud as Medela freestyle. But I still prefer freestyle for its convenience to pump outside home. I always pump in the car and its really very light and compact IMO

Any idea, towards end of 3rd trimester, other than coconut water, can we still take tonics? If yes, what type of tonics are good at this stage.
Thanks in advance

Oh, I will also like to share my experience on buying Medela freestyle pump.

I bought from a forum seller (not convenient to quote name) and end up the pump motor broke down just after 3 months of usage.

I blame it on my luck! Though I also suspect that mine could be a Reconstructed set which some mummies warned me about.

The worst part is I sent it for repair and as the warranty is a US one, it cannot be used in SG. End up, to change the motor, I paid another $600!

Lesson learnt: I should have just bought the pump from a reputable retailer or from Expo sale which is ard the same price or even cheaper with bundle promo that comes with some goodies.

adelyn: not advisable to take tonics now. cos bb cant absorb already. best time to take tonics is during 2nd trimester.

actually freestyle motor is not as good as PISA. so their breakdown is faster in my opinion.

Hi Adelyn
Congrats & welcome! I'm due end May.

Wow you have 2 double pumps? I thought for a long time before I purchased my Avent single electric pump at $299 3 yrs ago.

For me also I'd rather get it from a local shop. Not worth the stress when there's no warranty. Plus difference in voltage and all.

Hi Meiliew, congrats to delivering your bb smoothly. Have a good rest n happy confinement.

Mine is Avent manual and medala electric pump. Manauel too tiring whereas the electric pump is faster n more flow. But must drink more warm/hot water n let bb to latch.

Hi Adelyn, welcome to join us here. Aftr what u have said, sometimes it is a matter of luck. For me, I prefer to get a new set as I believe in breastfeed bb and do it diligently.

I didnt take tonic for 3rd trimester only consume bird nest weekly for good bb skin. Coconut drink, I will drink it like 35 weeks onlwards, weekly as it is too cooling.

Me too... Now taking only bird nest (yummy...
N my mum made me red bean soup too. Supposed to be good for the blood...
N she told me if in labor, take 2 bottles of chicken essence before going to hospital so that I have stamina to push :D

Still have not taken coconut juice cos don't want baby to come early... Hee... Maybe next week I will start.
N last night I finally succumbed to my durian craving........ Took a few seeds......

Sorry to disturb but I have a Preloved Ameda Lactaline dual pump under local warranty end Jun 2013

Very good condition as used as spare pump and only used for less than 6 months. Comes with standard items (pump, charger, 2 breastshields, 2 diaphragms, 2 valves, 2 bottles, 2 BN bottle covers) and will include 2 additional breastshields, 2 additional diaphragms, 2 additional valves and 2 additional bottles (spare 2nd set).

Self collect at east coast. Can PM or email [email protected] if interested. Tks.

8316960.jpg

Welcome Adelyn.. I've not started on coconut drink yet because worry about early delivery. Ya, only drink bird nest now. Heehee..

I bought my breastpump locally too, cos dun wan the warranty to b in US n have problemif I need help after that..

Dreambig: Ya my colleagues aso ask me to drink chicken essence b4 going to hospital so I'll have the energy to push n push. I aso wan to eat durian, durian, durian.. :s Haha

Katie,
The set I bought @350 is a US set, bought from a bulk purchase seller. Its supposed to be a new set but some said maybe its a reconstructed one which is quite common. Anyway, after paying another $600 for new motor, my frestyle pump cost me $950! But lucky its really a great pump though not as strong as PISA cos I cannot tahan the highest suction for freestyle also

I am also taking bird nest now (once a week) double boil type but just wondering can we consume all the way til deliver. I read somewhere there is this concern of baby having phlegm. My no. 1 I took til deliver and my boy has quite alot of phlegm that time.

I am taking 1 bottle of chicken essense too once a week, due to fatigue. Hope thats okay for consumption now.

Coconut:
Probably will start in week 35/36

Durians:
I love it but last time I took quite alot and my baby came out 3.4 KG and I need to have a 3cm epitosomy so this time round I try not to take in case baby too big, hard to deliver naturally. I read that usually subsequent borns their birth weight will be higher than the previous. Wonder if it is really true.

Congrats Meiliew!!!!

I just got a US freestyle set from a seller online. I hope mine doesnt break down
it is sealed. I was contemplating between pisa and freestyle but my friends advised me to go for freestyle mainly cos it has a timer which is very useful to track how long we are going to pump for and also they mentioned that they dont use the full "strength" in freestyle so they figured out that even though pisa might be stronger but they dont need it.
Not too sure. Hope mummies will share their experience once they use it!

littlebabysmurf: Yup, I do not use the full strength for freestyle as well. I feel that the suction is enough already for me. I take about 15-20 mins to empty both sides

meiliew, i have similar symptoms as yours but my contractions are false ones. Hopefully my baby will be "guai guai" to stay until next week.

Rest well

Thanks for sharing on breast pump selection. I will definately get an electric one if I got milk haha.. temp will start with manual first..

Avent Duo cost $800 in spore?? Wow very ex.. I thought around same rpice as Medala Freestyle..

I agree with pinktulip abt induced labour. My #1 was induced as he was getting too big for me to deliver naturally AND I have dilated 2.5cm so Gynae offered it to me. I think if our cervix is not ready and there is no compelling reason to induce baby, we better not tamper with nature as its true that when our body is not ready, it could end up a super long dreadful process and risking emergency c-section.

About breast pumps, I bought medela freestyle without much research last time as I just followed my friends and bought 'the most exp and portable model' thinking its the best. Well, it has served me well, suction ok but I started to consider the Pisa this time as I thought if can reduce pumping time isn't it good. But after seeing the model itself, it is really heavy like a rock and I have no regrets getting the freestyle since i need to bring the pump to work daily to pump after my ML.
So I would say it depends on your usage of the pump. Choose freestyle if u need to lug your pump to work. The suction is good enough.

Dreambig: ya I think a few seeds are fine, but my husband dun like durian n he is always with me. So not chance to eat. Haha.. :p

Thanks for the link 2Ks..

Thanks ladies and hang on there . soon your turn will come faster than u expect . i know week 36 onwards is such a pain. it be over soon . Congrats Meiliew

I am feeling glad my no 1 loves her sister a lot and is alrdy doting on her . She kept emphasizing its her sister not theirs in front of her cousins .

Hi Mummies.. Wa.. A few mummies have already popped.. So exciting..can't wait for my turn too but I am now still in week 34+4,Congrats to Mei liew and R C and wish all of us a smooth delivery..

Mummies..is there anyone of u who experience swollen and numb fingers at night? The fingers become so swollen and numb and difficult to bend..but for mine, numbness and swollen are gone after I bathe in the morning. But wonder if there is anyone else experiencing it?

This is my first pregnancy and I am so inexperience..may I know how contraction feels like..for a few times I felt like my stomach harden and its a little uncomfortable but not sure if that is contraction??? Hope that more experienced mummies can share their experience..

Hi Devi, my right hand is swollen and painful. Difficult to hold pen and toothbrush even drops when I brush teeth haha. Can't completely clench fingers and it's like that 24/7 since I can't remember when. I was advised to get a splint or guard and managed to get a futuro wrist guard specially for women with carpel tunnel symptom. There is a metal piece that rests nicely on the palm so that helps. U may want to chk that out and see if its good for u.

My left hand not pain but swollen and numb so usually I just try to shake the 'needles' away loh....

Devi, Meow Meow: My fingers are also numb and can't bend in the morning. However, some simple exercises can easily help me relieve the pain. Juz rotate/wave your wrist for a while. Do it before and after sleep, the pain will go off....my 2 cents lah..

Dreambig: I told him e bb r craving for it, but he simply ignore this craving cos he dun believe it. Haha. :p

Devi: I'm aso starting to experience swollen fingers these few days. I just opened n closed my hands when I am free. I'm having false contractions (hardening n uncomfortable) on n off aso. I told my gynae and she gave me some medicine to reduce the frequency.

Thanks for your previous support in helping me to clear some of my kids stuff. I m back again to seek your interest in the following items :

1) Combi Stroller without the overhead cover ($10)
2) Baby Playpen can b use for sleeping too.($50)
3) Automated with timer sleeping rocker aka yaolan ($90)comes with the net too.

4) Nuk Nuk milk powder dispenser 3 pcs for $5.
5) XXL rectangle plastic translucent multipurpose storage box($40)

Should u have interest in any of them ,pls let me know via email: [email protected]

No worries on the condition n cleanliness. They are in super good form.

Hope to hear from u soon ;-p