(2013/01) Jan 2013

Morning mummies!!

Onli no come in fm yest afternoon than sooooo many post already!!

Canopy: if u adding in other pple details than sun bian add mine, #4, natural, bb name Joelle. The rest updated already. Thanks!!

Cheese: u LS? I constipation for last 2days wor.. Finally cleared my bowels this morning.. Super shiok.. Mayb nt enuff fruits.. Bt LS reli xianzzz oso.. Coz i rem 2/3wks ago i oso LS for 1wk.. Super shag.. Keep needing to go toilet..

I c the list very little pple delivering at KKH.. Bt those who are, u know if there's be hosp gown provided? Coz realized i onli gt 1 open-front pyjamas.. Will be bringing tat, bt if they don provide than gotta wear tat for 3days!! Yucks..

Wasabe,syy,aspialle: i considered half tampines mummy.. Coz my mum place at tamp.. Goes back every wkend n will be doin confinement there..

Screaming during delivery: u all still can scream? I rem b4 taking epidural, i pain till cannot open eye cannot open mouth.. Cant even tok, how to scream? Haha!! Bt after epidural super shiok.. Bt when totally dilated could feel contractions, so still know when to push.. Bt the part on nurse scold the mummy.. I oso kena scold when delivering #1.. I dono its nurse or midwife.. Bt i was juz pushed into delivery ward, gynae havent come yet, the nurse say practise pushing 1st b4 gynae come.. Than i push push she kept scolding me say 'u know how to push or not? Wrong liao la!!' Wanted scold her back, bt i so pain liao so oso don wanna care her. Wanted scold her say i oso nt say give birth 100times liao.. How i know rite?!! N i tot u had to be patient n caring to patients, nt scolding them n making them feel worse when they're having so much pain!! Tat's 1 of the reason y i didnt wanna go back TMC for #2..

Gynae appt later.. Muz remind myself to ask doc if deliver on the days he nt in hosp how?!! Coz for appts he onli ard on mon n wed!! Cannot b i tell bb onli can come out on mon n wed? Haha!!

Canopyhaze, maybe just update on a weekly basis or something? Otherwise, very tedious for you.

Cheese, try to rest well.

Want to go cut hair short short later. Easier to maintain esp during confinement month.

Hey ladies, I just notice Jan 13 thread is the most active thread. Kapo go see Dec 12 thread, expecting to see some baby pics. Realised it is like not moving.... Becoming adver thread.... Whole day no posting kind. Maybe they move to FB? Sill like the anonymous status here... Can chat more freely.

Julie : updated, will post later to see if still got anyone adding in.

Piyoz : it's ok, i kinda free in the office since i have handed over my stuffs, just in office for some meetings & clients lunches.
Thought can update the list as much as possible before i go on leave.

Me #16
Baby name: Janelle Lena Cheng
Live: Sembawang.

Thanks mummies..
Ya, today no appetite.. good also la. i eat too much, I think i gain 20+ kg.. almost the same as #1 haha.. im a fat mama...so short also.

Julie > I also got scolded by the midwife during my #1 delivery at TMC. My experience was worse. I got gastric pain cos' didn't eat the whole night. So I didn't want to practice pushing as it was too painful, wanted to wait for my gynae. But she started scolding me "don't wait for gynae, i also can deliver you", "now you know, you think it is so easy to become a mother".."you gained too much weight, that's why cannot push. Next pregnany, don't eat so much". I was so pissed. Already in so much pain at 10 cm dilation, she still talk so much crap. Haha, in the end, I chased her out of the room and told her to come in only when my gynae arrives.

Wah Canopy, u steady lah.. got to travel after ur confinement. i cant even bear to go back to work after 3.5mths at home with baby lor. lol. cos i still like to spend the time to bond with baby.

Piyoz, i think most threads all move to FB. cos easier to keep track of posts.

Julie, take care wor.. u seems to be prone to LS? drink lots of water to keep hydrated..

Take care Cheese!

I remember my #1 i still can joke while waiting for more dilate and contraction...
till 7cm, cannot joke with nurses liao and I keep moaning.. the so call laughing gas cannot anyhow inhale one.. if not u will get giddy.

When contraction in high peak then inhale....
haha. im so proud of my hubby this time as he instructed me what to do while waiting for my gynae to come.. two men support and i just PUSH as hard as I can! Few pushes, JL is out

Hee...

thinking back.. omg.. so scary.. wonder how #2 birth story is how...

Ya.. piyoz.. at least we still chat here.. hehe.

L3, i think usually is nurse will ask the mum to push first (practise) once fully dilated, while they call gynae to go labour ward. Some gynae has to travel a distance as from different hospital/clinic so may not reach so soon.

mummies : please furnish any missing details for the spreadsheet, aiming to finish it and leave ONLY the actual birthday blank before i go on leave.

Canopy, I on the other hand think it's nice to travel soon in late feb, as u have good support to care for bb. Just that the bm will be abit wasted lor, as hard to keep.

The spreadsheets like so long list, good to trim. If fb side has, I will rather choose to add details there instead..

Haiza, the midwives at Mt A I met were all very kind & don't say such things. As I kept pushing wrongly also. Hope that this time I will meet kind midwife again.

Canopy: thanks!! U gained 11kg onli? Wah.. I so far 13kg liaozz.. Bt this last stretch seems nt putting much weight.. Few hundred grams every 1-2wks onli.. Mayb appetite nt as gd as b4?

Haiza: ya!! So irritating rite!!! I oso wanted to chase her away bt i oso no strength tok liao.. Tink she scold till i so stress than tears kept rolling. Onli when gynae arrived than she kept quiet.. Felt she so rude!! Mummies trying so hard, esp 1st child sure blur blur mah.. Shd provide some comfort instead of scolding mah.. Bt luckily my pushing didnt take very long, tink less than an hr in delivery ward bb out liao.. Didnt wanna c her face.. I guess if gynae was there earlier she'd have kept her mouth shut.. Bt no choice la, coz i deliver middle of the night, gynae came back to hosp quite fast already.. Which i'm thankful for tat. Coz she checked on me b4 she left hosp at 8pm+.. And when i dilate finish at bout 11+, she came back, bout 12midnight.. Nt bad..

Julie: Yah, surprised that there are only a few of us delivering in KKH.. I have no idea what to expect for the room.. but I remember the counter nurse telling me to bring my own pads cos they don't provide, even for A1 ward! So I'll bring that, some diapers and a front button pyjamas. Maybe I'll go ask my friend who delivered earlier this year about more details then share with you.

Labour stories
Oh gosh! Scary to hear these stories, like watching Home and Health haha.. I have no idea how contractions feel like, so I'm in an anticipation mode. Guess all that I learnt from the pre-natal class will be forgotten by the time the pain sets in!

I'm having slight flu and sore throat AGAIN. Trying to self cure cos there is so much to hand over, this Fri supposed to be my 'last day' but I think I will have to come back in Jan to continue some work before I go!

Take care everyone, last lap!

canopy > Sigh.. sadly, this is the kind of lifestyle in SG.. everything is about $$ and more $$$..
like nickole, I just want more time to bond with bb.. even cried on my first few days back to work after 3 months... >.<

julie > i wasnt screaming.. more like moaning and kicking away lor..

Elp mum, TMC also don't provide maternity pads. It's BYO too. Diapers they provide one pack. Usually more than enough will have some extra to bring back on day of discharge.

Talk abt discovery Home and Health - that I didn't know I was pregnant is so unbelievable. How to be pregnant and not know abt it?

Canopy, agree 11kg is fine. I stop weighing myself this pregnancy.... But seems to outgrow my clothes quite quickly.... Must BM more after delivery to rid of the fats...

Canopy,
Envy the strong support you have! It's so important!

Julie,
When I delivered #1 at KKH, they did provide hospital gown daily - the pink one that you can see the ladies wearing when walking around the hospital. It has an opening for bb to nurse. Thus I do not intend to even bring any pjs haha.

Appointment at 36 weeks:
Just saw my gynae yesterday. Bb about 2.5kg at 36 weeks. Gynae say good, smaller / average size bb is better for me coz I am opting for VBAC. In fact he says once complete 37 weeks, considered full term and better for bb to come out earlier coz easier for me to deliver. He will want to induce on EDD date and not wait for beyond 40 weeks since my case is VBAC. Haha, showed him the GD monitoring chart he says everything ok, but I bo chap la, now just monitoring my diet but refuse to do finger prick anymore - otherwise gotta buy 1 whole pack of testing strips so ex! Finally booked my hospital bed and paid deposit - decided to premier at the advice of my gynae coz the cost is only about $150 more but gynae will be there for all doctors visits from the moment warded into delivery suite instead of relying on the doctors on duty (so info to be lost in translation etc) and gynae coming in only at the end when ready to actual labour.

Jia you and take care all mummies!

<font color="119911">TMC got provide maternity pads ah... (we have to pay la) I got 1 pack of it but it's those hook type, not sticker type</font>

omg sound so painful.. really stress if the pushing and breathing tactics are all wrong then how? my gf who gave birth to her 1st child,gal, in KKH, was also scolded by the midwife for screaming and the midwife was so rude to her saying thing like i don't think you scream so much when having sex with ur hb.

canopy: good that ur boss is so flexible.. at least there is work life balance..

elp_mum > contraction is something like the cramps which ladies experience during menses.. just that the pain is maybe 10 times more..
ya ya.. what was being taught in pre-natal class was all forgotten the moment the pain sets in..
erm, if i remember correctly, i was told to go through the labour and delivery with an open mind. Anyway, no worries.. as u might be too overwhelm by everything.. so just play by ear?

for me, what i am hoping is
- smooth and safe delivery
- baby normal and healthy
- to meet with kind midwives and kind nurses..

that's all. as i felt, they can make or break our stay there (even though is just a short stay).

Update:
I'm 23 on the list.
Natural delivery
Name: TBC
Area: woodlands

Fatigue,
I'm only 36weeks plus but I feel so heavy and tired all the time. Even shortly after waking up. Dunno how it'll be two weeks from now.

Plus the other night I had a slight crampy feeling. Scared myself that maybe going into labour already! But it went away after a while. So I went to research signs of labour, and every little thing after that also I was wondering if its a sign. Haha

Elp_mum, Aspialle,
If you are early and I am on EDD, we may meet at KKH!

Elp_mum,
Last time for #1 (2.5 yrs ago) KKH did provide Kotex loop maternity pads which they will just charge accordingly per pack into the hospital bill. I did purchase 1 pack on my own this time to bring to hospital tho just in case. Otherwise will just buy from the Pureen shop on 1st Floor - was told that has cotton layer on top which is quite good especially if 1st few days when down under more sensitive.

Hospital bag:
Finally packed it yesterday night! haha did not manage to meet my initial target to do it over the last weekend

Moonchip,
Ya, I echo your comments. Altho #1 was c-sec, but I had very bad contractions before I my op! looking to epidural to be the magic for #2 haha. Just praying that labour will not hv complications and bb is born healthy and safe.

My gynae did not evenr recommend to attend the prenatal classes (which I have not attended even for #1) coz he says will forget everything once in labout ward. Anyway the nurses will teach/guide while in the labout ward.

Siewz, my dd1 was only 38wks, there's blood after gynae do internal check (that's why i changed gynae for dd2) &amp; told me to admit immediately. Bb was so small at 2.7kg, harder to handle. I had to "tong" few days bed rest at home &amp; choose a date to induce. Haaha...

For dd2, is pass 40wks &amp; already 3.5kg, that's why induce.

Midwives,
Scary that so many of them are so fierce and unsympathetic. Maybe they hear too many screaming mummies day in day out until they lost all sense of compassion already.
The midwife who helped me at TMC was really nice. She saw that I was not successful in pushing when fully dilated and my gynae was here but nothing happened. So when he suggested a break, she coached me on what to do and how to push, and the next round of pushing was finally successful. Super thankful she was so nice and helpful. A few days later we saw that she was featured in the newspaper as a star midwife at TMC. She had like 30yrs of experience! No wonder I only needed 10 mins of coaching from her!

Elp_mum: they dont provide pads? Tot it's the most impt thing since there'd be bleeding after delivery. Cannot b after deliver i still gotta grab my bag n take the pad pass the nurse call her wear for me rite? Ok! Thanks for helping me ask!! As for things learnt during pre-natal class, confirm u'll forget when the time comes. Haha!! I forgot everything, onli rem don look up, bt look down when u push.. Guess i'll bring pad n 1pyjamas in case then.. Thou my hosp bag onli half packed, bt like so empty.. Nothing inside. Haha!! Oo can help me ask bout toiletries too? Like soap shampoo towel..

Moonchip: u still can kick ah? Haha!! I rem i was shivering very badly due to the epidural.. Hubby very bad, coz he say never c i shiver till like tat b4.. Took video somemore.. Haha!! Bt moaning yes.. I heard a mummy kept moaning n complaining to her hubby at another bed.. The waiting area b4 push to delivery ward.. She was moaning when i reach.. When dilate finish, gonna b pushed to delivery ward she still moaning..

Piyoz: gt leh.. I delivered at TMC for #1 they gt provide maternity pad.. I brought back the remaining ones somemore, bt didnt use when at hm coz sooooo huge!! End up rotted in cupboard till recently when i packing the rm than saw it than threw it away. Haha!!

Julie
There is hospital gown given at Kkh so I did not even wear my own the last round, only brought a dress for wearing home. My no 1 I was admitted at 6 am to induce bb, but I only give birth next day 3 am plus, then straightaway discharged in aftn..

Bdmummy
Hope to see u there!

Bdmummy: so if elp_mum n aspialle are early than u on edd than i late than we'll all gather at KKh!! Haha!! Since there's so little of us delivering there.. U better than me on hosp bag. I oso set deadline to pack last wkend, bt so far onli bb clothes in there.. Maybe will throw a few things in later or tmr.. Haha!! The prenatal class we attended when we had #1, nt on any recommendation fm gynae.. Juz tat we wanna attend it to find out more.. Bt reli forget everything.. Bt learnt other stuff la, like how to wrap bb, bath bb.. I rem gt those pelvic exercises bt i forgot all bout it once hm so onli do them when in class. Haha!! So to me i felt we waste $$ 1 leh.. Bt i rem i gt a free nail clipper fm the class la. Which i'm still using now for my ger. haha!!

LM: wah, u very lucky gt a gd midwife. Hopefully this time i'll get a nice n patient 1 too.. Coz if ask me rem how to push or not, i oso dono leh.. Tink like shitting rite? Haha!!

Me long time didnt login to read the thread...so busy trying to handover my work.

Anyway, my c-section taking place on 28 Dec....counting down now..

Hope all of us have a safe delivery

Wow so many posts this AM .. Trying to catch up hehe

I'm also praying for smooth delivery .. My #1 took v long to dilate though I had contractions 1 minute apart.. Cos her face was looking upwards. I remember doing squats at 1-2am in the hospital corridor to try to dilate faster ..haha.. And cos the labour process was too long I needed vacuum assistance..

My hospital is mount e .. They provide maternity pads but it's the loop kind which I think quite hard to use.. But they provide gowns which is v convenient for nursing .. Got 2 holes that. An open in front kind hehe

Weight gain: I think I'm the abnormal one..2nd tri put on 2kg every month quite average.. But the last checkup at 37th wk, I put on 3kg in 2 weeks .. Really freak me out.. Donno why the sudden weight gain! I can't imagine 1.5kg every week till I give birth!

Julie,
Yes indeed! Saw your EDD is 4 Jan, that will be the date of my 38.5 week appointment at KKH. I could be early you know and may just meet you at KKH!

Aspialle,
Wow you very fast discharge, I have no plans to go home earlier wor haha... for #1 coz of c-sec and bb was premature, so I actually opt to stay 1 extra day in KKH. This time will just go with the standard 3D2N if VBAC or 4D3N if eventually need to c-sec. My confinement will be 2 weeks at mum's place and 2 weeks at MIL place, did not engage confinement lady. So think better to just stay in hospital for the standard period

Julie, bd mummy, no choice I admitted earlier and whole day no action, after deliver next day, they say I can discharge so just follow, signed up package one.. How I wish can stay one more day too..

TMC got provide the maternity pad when I delivered two years back. But it's not free hor. I got the Pureen stick on from TMC. Heng not the loop with string type, else, i won't know how to use. The midwives I got were very nice and patient. Overall a good experience delivering at TMC

Maternity pads -
Straight after delivery, remember the nurses did put in the loop ones for me. But only provide one pack. And they use two pieces at one go. So like kiap-ing a pillow between your legs. Very fast finish, so still need to bring own pads.

My #1, I scream like siao za bor at Mt E, the midwives didn't scold me. They just try to tell me in my ear, don't scream, don't scream... But really at that point in time, pain till crazy, cannot listen at all.

Canopy think you omitted my update..

I'm wasabe #10, trying for natural and Tampines area
no name yet... Thanks thanks for helping with the tedious list !!

bdmummy: Won't your gynae want to see the GD chart for monitoring? My gynae always request to see my chart during check-up. Agree with you that the test strip is expensive (mine cost $70+ for 50 strips)

@ val, glad to hear from u. Btw, both of your 2 kids were c-sect too?

My appt with Dr Lim is on 27/12/12. Initially want 28/12 but it is my wedding anniversary ... hehehe

Bdmummy: yeah yeah!! Juz hoping i wont be early.. As long as pass dec can liao.. Hehe!!

Hmmm.. Tink i better bring my own pads then.. Can save some $, don use the ones hosp give.. Hehe!!

Ok, leaving office soon.. Going for my gynae appt.. Cya guys!!

bdmummy >
Hi^5. My gynae also didnt recommend nor mention anything about the prenatal class. Just that my mom pestered us to attend. when in labour, i forgot everything..

Julie > heehee.. that was what my hubs told me.. err.. i wasnt on epidural but high on laughing gas.. after delivery, i was drowsy and sleepy..

on maternity loop pads, if i remembered, like what piyoz mentioned, after delivery, they put on 2 for us. thereafter, is up to us on how often we want to change.