(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Faithfully, my son also suddenly cry when he is sleeping. Sometimes, he is having a bad dream so I just pat him telling him " mommy is here, dun worry it's alright"
But there r times when he cry & move both of his legs towards his tummy.. I brought him to pd & was prescribed wif colic medicine.

Hi mommies who hve went back to work, how do u extend bb's feeding time at night?? My boy still feeds every 2hrs.. I couldn't sleep at night. My maternity leave ends in a mths time.

Faithfully, normally colicky babies might cry at a certain time in a day, usually around the same time, otherwise, could be crying non stop, for no reason. Also, like miracle happen mentioned, thier legs curl up, or clenched fists, tensed stomach.

Heartbeats, seems like it since today also no signs and still the same. Guess most likely it's thurs nite induce already.

Hi miracle
Hv u consider increase the fm intake? As usually full mth bb already drink 90-120ml and yours already 6th wk.. U only take 3 mth maternity leave?

Miracle, my baby also 6 wks old and she is taking 110-120ml per feed. At night she can slp thru for 4-5 hours. If more than 5 hours, usually I will wake her up for feeding. Daytime, this amount will make her slp for 3 hrs only.

Actually, I prepared 90ml of fm, but he doesn't finish his milk. He hve regurgitation problem too, spits milk easily. Pd recommend takin Enfalac A+ AR which is very thick, I tried feeding for 2 weeks, his feed can drop to only 30ml.

I'm takin 3mths maternity leave & the other 1 mth I will take it flexibly.

Glad to finally get some time to read forum...

Re cleaning bb's v area, yes yes, I agree totally with Hopeful, need to pry open v area and clean. For Heather, each time she poos, sure has poo trapped inside the v folds but have to be very careful not to get poo deep into v causing UTI, just lightly clean to remove poo inside v folds. I didn't know can be painful prying open v, heather is fine with it do far.

Sashamama, first grandchild, good for you
Mine is second grandchild, I can see the diff in treatment already
My folks are very helpful nonetheless but same time quite grouchy leh...I'm sure the day heather and I move home, they pop open the champagn bottle lol...!!

Sashamama, 4-5 hrs pump, you don't get engorged? I tried that, breasts became very hard and quite painful inc nipples. You must have lotsa bm too, how much can you express each time?

Miracles, heather is 4 weeks and we are feeding her 100ml now, since your baby is older, see if can feed her more so can stretch her feed intervals. Does she sleep well? For heather, if she stays awake, will need to feed abt 1.5-2 hrs, if she sleeps well can feed 3+ hrly.

My problem is, she doesn't sleep well daytime, I suspect too much activities in the house, so she will demand bao bao and feed every 2hrly...so tiring...

Faithfully, I have a suggestion for easily startled babies. Many says can give them pearl powder fr Eu Yan Sang. Helps to calm the nerves and cools the body same time. I'm gonna try with Heather see if can bring her slight heat rash down and same time see if can help her sleep better. Maybe you can ask around about this too?

For colic, according to Dr Ong, many babies will get it after 1 month. If the tummy is rounded and hard, good chance it's windy, so can start baby off with colic med, of course confirm with PD first
For heather, we have just started her on Wind Rid, very effective, she'll pass out lotsa gas and poo a lot almost immed after taking it. Less fussy after feeds too as tummy feeling better too.

For reflux, vomitting milk out, can try to hold baby upright for longer after feeds. Heather will regurgitate a little milk out about once a day, so since 2 weeks back, I've been holding her upright for some time after her feed and burp session, it helps cos I can see she doesn't feel as awful lying down afterwards, ie no waving of arms and legs, making sounds, etc.

Hi miracle
I see.. Me too.. Taking 3 mth maternity leave first but due to year end and my son exam coming, i clear all my twenty over days leave to get back my 4th mth maternity leave.. My 4th mth maternity will clear slowly next year since with twins, sure need alot of leave...

I oso hv problem worry they cant finish milk so dun dare increase too much.. Mine at 9th wk and only drink 120ml too.. But my boy wake up every two hourly at night so very xiong for me too.. My gal is gd as she can drag till sometime only once per night..;) sometime i am confuse on shd they be a 5th wk old bb or 9th wk old bb since they r born one mth earlier..any thots gals? That time doc Ong say very happy with their growth n i say but they dun drink alot yet n he oso say dun forget that they r consider only one mth plus since born early.. Hnm...

Btw, tromso n other gals who going for 2nd mth injection or only past 2nd mth, will u all be taking the optional jab or no??

Hi Joanne, just curious, you have started your babies on pacifiers is it? Helping?

My dad has been pestering me to give (I'm very reluctant) cos they are not coping very well with 2 grandkids especially when I need to express bm or take afternoon nap, its very frustrating indeed.... I feel that if caregiver (aka my dad) is not calm, will transfer same energy to baby, hence he kept saying heather is fussy but can't blame my dad cos at times he need to oversee crying heather and super active niece when I'm expressing and mum doing housework. But when I take over fr dad, I can calm heather down in less than 10 mins and get her to sleep again, so I keep thinking no need for pacifier...am I right?

Recently I realised heather has been staying awake until late at nights waiting for her daddy. Sometimes he doesn't come visiting, so that day I told her about daddy's visitation routine and coax her to sleep, she zzzz in minutes, before that no one could get her to sleep for quite a while. Same thing happened on another occasion too. Geez...babies really do know what's happening around...

Hi tromso
What wind rid? U mean the fei zai water?? How much u put in water n how much water in it? Finish all?how frequent she drink each day? Last time my boy drink too but forget start fr when??

Regarding abt bbies burp, my gal sometime drink halfway, alot milk flow out fr her nose n mouth.. Very scary.. So we think need to burp at least once during her middle of feed but if they fall asleep,diffcult to burp.. Do u all still burp her if she or he sleeps?

Hi pierced
Enjoy ur last two days freedom n bb kicking.. For me, when bbies in me,i hope to carry them soon.. Now they r out, i miss their kick in my tumny...;)

Sadly, my tummy still quite big.. How huh? I already slim down alot take care them but not tummy.. Going back work soon but tummy so big n ugly.. Any tips on how to flatten it? Thk u..

Miracles, belle vomits milk too. But not a bit but can be alot until I need to mop the floor m I need to change her & myself. We didn't change her fm to Enfalac AR. Still the normal. Coz she put on weight still. In fact she is at 75 percentile. She vomits milk daily. 1-2x a day. Now 7+ mths old, a bit better. Drinking 60ml at night is too little. Belle drinks 150-170ml at 9pm now n on 2 semi solid food 2x a day.. But she still wakes up at 3/4am for milk. On days we r luckily, 5+am

Jo3, do u feed ur gal continuously or allow her to stop and rest for a while? Babies can't keep drinking continously for too long. They need to rest and catch their breath before continuing. You might wanna try that. I'd still burp baby even if he/she's asleep.

With premature babies, usually we look at their corrected age (i.e. assuming they were born full-term, how old wld they be?) for tracking developmental milestones.

Tromso, i didn't giv my boy pacifier too and he is perfectly fine without it...later part, for my curiousity, i tried giving him and he will spit it out.. from the early childhood books, pacifer may hinder child development on exploration and speech later on..How can they explore with something stuck inside their Mouth all the time..

but of cos, it take much more effort to take care of child without a pacifier..

babyjourney...i felt chuan too these few days...especially at night...now so early already like that..jialat sia..

cos 顶到肺了...lol...now i no need walk also chuan...i think my tummy is actually quite high leh..the curve starts jus below my breast...maybe that's the reason...

the chuan also made me more tired...

MC, I agree with you too.

Joanne, I prefer burping baby when she's in sleeping mode, struggles less
I do the WBB style, put her on my laps and hold her chin with 1 hand. Then raise my other leg a bit to support her lower back.

For the wind medicine, I heard Fei Zai Shui is not good, something about the ingredients. I'm using Ridwind Baby Drops, I feed 3 times a day using spoon, no need to dilute with water, then after, use syringe shoot a bit of water into her mouth to cleanse fr the med taste. Dr Ong's clinic uses another brand, it is minty, I heard some babies don't like it, so didn't get fr his clinic.

Babyjourney, soon breathelessness will be thing of the past

Actually I'm starting to reconsider Dr Ong...his style is like Dr Loh in KKH, running between 2 consultation rooms, very chop chop diagnosis, makes us feel very kanchiong, don't feel have been given enough explanations/ advice. Though waiting time is short.

My mum says her experience with the many PDs in Sengkang and Hougang, although the waiting time is loooong, some of the PDs are very detailed, check very throughout and takes time to explain. She feels that Dr Ong is too brief.

For example, for our 1 mth review, Dr Ong didn't even go through the Health Booklet guild lines, I have to refer him to it then he quickly fills in the relevant info but some items he didn't test, also didn't explain why...headache...why so kanchiong all the time...

Anyone has similar experience?

Bbjourney n MC, jiayou!! The finishing line is almost in sight!

Tromso, oh, now u're making me rethink whether i shld opt for Dr Ong too, lol.

Tromso, guess your parents find it more difficult to cope with 2. Hope my mum don't feel that way soon. And plus next time with my sil having another baby. Already she having thoughts of getting a maid, but I told her since I'm on NPL for next yr and maybe even longer, we see how we can cope with pout having one first since Megan is also going to school.
So will u be shifting back soon to your own place?
Very fast heather is 4 weeks, so u have celebrated her first month? Which caterer did u use in the end?

Bbjourney, Mc, hee, soon your turns to be relieved of the chuan.

I'm still like in a 'off' mode, everyone else is feeling more excited than I am, come to think of it, baby will be out on Fri!

I used rid wind too previously when Megan had colic, plus gripe water. I think some people think that gripe water still contains alcohol so they are reluctant to use coz in the past, grip water used to have Alcohol. Anyway,ridwind is good enough to ease the colic.once baby develop further, the colic will be gone in no time. But It was super trying when u get her crying non stop for an hour or so. I pitied my mum neighbours at that time.

Tromso, belle's pd is in children Pre suite at KKH. We nv waited longer than 30mins. Pd will spend time to go thru the qns in health booklet and will always check belle

My boy sleeps well in the day without much tummy discomfort. But at night around 3am onwards, he got tummy discomfort & start making noise, pulling his legs towards his tummy to pass out gas. I'm tryin to increase his feeds today.. Gotta ask mil to observe his day feeds.
He vomits a lot of milk too, hve to change his clothes a couple of times.

Where can I get the Ridwind??

Hmm I will also probably go back to KK for Pd and jabs package like for #1. So far no issues and even my colleague who went to same pd used it for her other kids too.

Miracle happens,I believe ridwind can be found in most pharmacies, maybe even guardian. It's a blue box under ICM company brand.

Mc, yes! Still around. Even planning to bring my gal to gardens by the bay tomorrow since got free tic. Hehe, hope her Meimei guai guai and be good to stay inside.

pierced, wah, u very brave leh... Still going out to jalan jalan now! Hats off to you!

Which PD do u see in KK? Mind sharing?

Heee...Luv, can choose Dr Ong as PD for delivery, but you don't live near to Novena right, why not choose a PD closer to home? If I don't live nearby I wouldn't have chosen the clinic too cos Thomson rd is very jam. Maybe others have better experience. Just sharing so that we can manage our expectations of the clinic too

Pierced, I thought you are going in to induce today? Hope smooth and relatively pain free. If need epidural, remember to do it before it's too late at night. Dr Loh broke my water bag without epidural, I suspect cos it was already midnight then and he may not wish to wait lol...breaking water bag tops the pain threshold for me, worse than VE, so better play safe. Hope your water bag bursts on it's own

I think should be ok for your mum with baby and Megan cos you are experienced mummy and Megan is quite sensible now
But will be quite a challenge plus your bro's baby... My niece is a nice kid but rebellious stage now, kicks up big fuss at times and climbs everywhere, other day, she fell from 1m height at home, sigh...crying and shivering for hours. Think my parents almost threw in the towel then. Dunno why kids these days so much harder to care of, back in those days, we were better right?

Tromso, yeah, i'll prob have a doc near TMC for newborn checks then will go to another PD nearer my place thereafter. So Dr Ong's still good for newborn checks (as in right after delivery n the week after)? Think usually gotta see the doc at least once after discharge right?

jonjonbear, how many dpt is it today? Maybe still early?

Hazel, thanks, ok will also consider Dr Yong
He has night clinics?

Pierced, it's Friday, I see
Whoa, you are heroine, still going Gardens by the Bay tmr, but can understand your thots going out to Megan. My mum was saying if heather and my niece are fr same mummy, she wonders if the older 1 will act up more. Now my niece, seeing heather being carried, also wants to be carried, very naughty but very cute still. Makes me reconsider trying for no.2 too early....

Luv, I used to see Dr tan, he's a very old experienced doctor coz my mum says he used to be in Alexandra hosp too when She was working there. Old school but good.
Anyway, i can see the pd at birth first then switch over to Kk for normal developmental checks and jabs.

Tromso, nope only tomorrow nite induce out if she doesn't want to come out by then.
Yup will be prepared to ask don't want to ask too early too but then again... Inducing makes the contractions sometimes more intense rite? Will relax to try to dilate faster. Hehe...I kind of forgotten all my breathing techniques etc anyway.

pierced, not sure abt induction making contractions more intense leh. My mum said her labour with me (induced) was not as painful as her one with my brother (natural). I have no basis for comparison with natural non-induced labour yet, but to me induction wasn't too scary a process. The contractions were still manageable even after gynae broke my waterbag, but still a world of difference after epi was introduced! What relief after epi! Heheh...

I kind of still walk around and go anywhere leh. Thinking of being stuck at home very soon, hehe... Ya and since Megan went to school this past 3 days for her band practice, so hopefully can accompany her for tomorrow before Meimei comes out.

Tromso,, actually will be good too to have #2 closer to #1 age. Pros and cons I guess. If younger, they are not so attention seeking sometimes from what I hear from friends with kids closer, and they are also very close. Just that probably will need moreenergy to look after the 2 kids as they will be closer in age. Can be quite tiring.

I keep thinking if megan and Meimei now have about 5 yrs gap in between, not very big but also a bit different as when Meimei bigger, she will already be in Pri sch and different age gap. Hee...

Avente teat - when do u change teat for ur baby? Or we punch bigger hole? My mom has the puncher from her old days.

Hi Tromso, read your post about giving your gal pearl powder. I was given pearl powder in my childhood days for various reasons too but recently, I heard from my colleague that taking pearl powder, esp for gals, will cos menstrual disorders later in life. Her mother used to give her sister and herself pearl powder.

I don't know how true this is but both this colleague and her sister have irregular and painful menstrual cycles. As for me, it is not easy for me to conceive, I used to have in between period staining and had polyps removed 2x in the last couple of years.

Wonder should I attribute it to pearl powder?

Luv, ya boy, hopefully like u said induction may not be that intense. Probably also depends on each indiv body,
I was reading the sep thread FB and many of the mummies delivered naturally without epi. Wow!
One even said dilate 9 cm then ask for epi which. Is too late. I can imagine her pain threshold must be very high.

Hi Jam Jam, thanks for informing
Alright, I'll read up more about it and ask around too.

Luv, 1st week's review, I actually didn't know what to expect, it's done quite quickly, check diaper area, check breathing, check jaundice level, etc. Dr Ong says everything is ok, no other elaboration. We went back 2 more times subsequently for her rashes, that's when my mum reviewed that she felt Dr Ong isn't thorough enough, will only check those area/ issues we identify, nothing more. For eg mum said with my niece, during her first visit, PD undressed her to examine everywhere but Dr Ong didn't, etc. Mum says Dr Ong like 'ta bway kee' (in hokkien) meaning 'catching the plane' lol... but giss is, she felt he is too brief.

Personally, I also feel I don't get enough info outta him, I don't know what to ask, he is also quiet mostly (but friendly), always ready to shoot outta the door, almost, lol.... But I don't like this 'if you don't ask, you won't know' feeling cos I'm quite clueless too, prefer to be guilded. He recommended fai zai shou, which my sis was very surprised due to the alcohol content, so that raise another alarm in me. The appointment is quite weird too, day is given, time not given, so I hv to call and check. Last I went, they didn't even set the nxt appointment which is the 6-in-1 jab and hubby blur blur didn't ask, so I'll hv to call up again. Honestly I don't like extra admin of this sorta nature. We also don't feel comfortable sitting down during the consultation cos he looks like in a real rush, so mum, hubby and I all stood up throughout consultation haaa...so weird.

One good thing is the med he gave helped but continues to bother me that I don't learn much fr the consultations.

My hubby didn't feel anything amiss though (haaa...reminded me of Joanne's hubby's take on maid issue, men can be quite clueless or 'take it easy' sometimes) but I've decided to take my mum's input on board and make a change cos once start on first jab, likely harder to change clinic for subsequent jabs.

Alright, above is just my personal take, I'm sure there are other mummies with wonderful experiences. Perhaps we are just not fated

Tromso, thanks for sharing! Indeed very odd to spend the consultation standing!
Hahah... yeah, men can be so oblivious at times! Tsk tsk... ;p

Hazel, Dr Yong doesn't have night clinics and Sat, sigh...

Pierced, I think I'm more unlucky, my contractions were very painful after being induced. That's why I asked for VE few times hoping have enough dilation so can take epidural. I think if baby not engaged, VE more painful too cos dr/ nurse has to reach inside deeper, happened to me too. Not to worry, this too shall pass, just don't allow dr Loh to break waterbag without epi ok
Also good idea to request for painkiller eg laughing gas/ epi a bit earlier as does take a while for dr Loh to revert and confirm if suitable. I requested for painkiller at 9pm but dr Loh only came by 11pm plus.

I'mI also feeling closer gap better but I'm thinking 2+ may be better than 1+....heh...not that can strike so easily. Hope we don't get put off after 1 child.