(2012/12) Dec 2012

I'm totally new to this feeling.
Feeling like I'm constantly having PMS for the past 3 weeks. Nausea, no appetite, no craving, and very bloated (gassy) =S

I am going for my gynae appt this evening... Excited

Btw, mummies expecting #2 and more, have u / when do u intend to break the preggy news to your elder kid?

For mummies who have MS or feeling queasy, you can consider drinking some grapefruit juice. I read that it helps. I have also been snacking on cranberries and ginger slices. Helps a great deal too.

Good morning all!

Kidomum, enjoy your gynae check up later! Can hear heartbeat le! I still have to wait till next sat for my 2nd check up.

For me, my #1 just turned 1 yr old, so he doesn't really understand what is pregnant and being a kor kor. But I did tell him baby is in mummy's tummy (pointing to my tummy) and when I asked "where is bb?" He will look and touch my tummy (at times when his mood is good). LOL...

sasayeo, why you bought the oil instead of cream?

I haven't start my SM cream. So lazy now. I also feel numb on my legs easily now. Cramps no. Only hungry and tired. Everyday go hm also feel like rotting on sofa and sleep early. I can't wait for July to come! Don't like first trimester.

sasayeo, I'm also only in Week 5, and I've gained close to 2KG too. But it seems that the weight comes mostly from the bloating, I think I may float away one day coz I feel like a balloon already...

Hi all, juz got my positive yesterday at docs. It's our #2 & we r very excited. Hope to meet more mummy friends here & hope all of us will hv smooth pregancies.

sasayeo, why control hunger? I nv control my hungry. If I hungry I just eat whatever I feel like eating. Going against craving during pregnancy is a very worst feeling, so don't try lah. Now, we have the "license" to be fat, so what for we worry?
Maybe I know I am those who will slim down when I bf, so I not worry about weight and fat. I just worry I cannot bf long later. As long as I can bf long, I know I will be back to figure one day. hehehe... I think I gained 1-2kg also le.

My EDD is 6 Dec. not sure whether will change anot...

Catherine & sasayeo, im oso in my week 5. But feels like stomach is showing oredi. Wonder if im eating too much.

Halo jaj, thx for the warm welcome
wow, ur #1 is 1 yr old only. Must be tiring for u. My #1 is turning 3 end this yr, in his terrible 2 nw...

mifmif, i think cos we 2nd time mum so tummy shows quicker? I also find my tummy bloated look. My boy not yet 2 yrs old already showing sign of terrible 2 le. Very bad temper. I prefer to tired all at once and close shop early. Then I can concentrate on working on my figure. wahahaa...

Hey mifmif, my son is also turning 3 end of this year. Also very naughty now. We are in the same plight. Is your #1 a boy or girl?

Mifmif: I read too fast - just saw the "his" in your post

Among my circle of friends whose #1 are born in 2009 and #2 born this year, they either have 2 boys or 2 girls. Wonder whether this is a trend.

Hi jaj, i thk 1 yr gap is good, your babies will b very close to each other when they grow up. But when my boy was 1, i still can't manage my time well so wait till now.

Hi mama ling, ur boy is dec 09? Nw ur #2 also dec, so qiao! U plan for that?
i like year end bb, i thk they're very chill... Haha... Ur boy attend n1? Must be smallest in class.
Ya, also got alot of frens with #2 this yr, all almost due. And yes, all same gender with #1. Im mentally prepared for another boy liao.

Actually what matters more is that our children are all healthy, although deep down in our hearts, a boy and a girl will be ideal

Mifmif: Yes my #1 was born just 2 days before Christmas. Supposed to be a 1 Jan 10 baby. So I think I might deliver in Nov this year even though EDD is early Dec. We didn't plan this one so late. It came as a surprise.

My #1 is in pre-N now. I also like year end babies, always find that they are so cute.

agreed with mama ling! As long as bb healthy, boy or girl doesn't matter.

mifmif, I also heard gap close will be closer to each other, but also heard the first few yrs will be tough coz beside the insufficient sleep, finacially, etc, the elder might be jealous over didi/meimei. Must have patience to teach them so as to overcome this problem.

Why you all like year end bb? Many told me yr end bb lose out alot as compare to their peers who born in the first half of the year leh. The only good thing I see is we can have longer christmas, longer CNY holidays coz we'll be having maternity leaves then. haha... I also scare i give birth early and becomes a end nov bb

I thk year end babies are tough. They gotta catch up with their peers eventually, not easy. Maybe becz dec is festive season, that's y i thk they r extra cute.

Yah ultimately healthy is the most impt thg. Hv u gals set appt wif ur gynae?

I am crossing fingers if i will hit 12/12/12... as 12/12 is my wedding anniversary!

But my last menses was on 1st week of March so.... tough luck!

I went for first appt le. next sat is my 2nd appt to hear bb heartbeat.

xta, unless ur bb be overdue bb then u might have chance to hit 12/12?

sasayeo, dun be silly, you won't de! Coz afterall it's still your child, so you will love them no matter what!

Most people say that the catching up is only for the first few years. After that it will be fine. I am more selfish, prefer year-end babies because I don't like to be perspiring when I do my confinement. It is so enjoyable to do confinement at home during the year-end season. For my #1, I even got to listen to listen to Christmas carols while I was pushing my baby out.

My 2nd appt with gynae is 21 Apr, 3 weeks from the 1st app.

sasayeo: Don't worry, they will be so cute and irrestible that you wouldn't mind whether this is a boy or girl. After hearing many stories about babies with health problems or couples who are unable to conceive, I think it is really a blessing to give birth to a healthy baby. God made the babies cute so that we can tolerate all their nonsense. Haha.

Couldn't agree with you more, mamaling! BB are so cute, and I did wonder before why bb always look cute? Maybe you're right for that reason. haha...

you kinda console me that having a Dec bb is good coz not so hot confinement. but then again, we have to stay at hm for christmas n new yr!!

And I also agree with you that to conceive is a blessing already. Many couples want also don't have. Thank God for my Dec bb!

For my #1, I was discharged on Christmas Day and it really felt quite depressing. But thinking about it on the positive side, it means that our hubby will get to spend Xmas and NY holidays with mummy and baby, no need to take leave

sasayeo, not true for my case. My #1 came out exactly near 40 weeks (1 day earlier than EDD), so considered a full term bb. #2 they say will come out early, we shall see.

Your hb can go your mother's place stay for that period ma.

Their paternal instincts will kick in when they witness the birth of the baby and see how much we "suffer" and how cute the baby is. Hopefully

Yes mamalling, i remember my hubby also accumulate all his lvl & extend xmas & ny hols to help tk care of bb. I thk he accumulated abt 3 weeks! Definitely a great help. I was quite depressed for 1st 2 weeks... So this time will definitely go out during confinement :p
My #1 overdue then gotta induce. I hope this time can be earlier...best can naturally water bag burst.

mifmif, i find water bag if burst at wrong place can be very embarrassing! Nearing my edd, I very scare that my water bag burst at work! lol... Anyway, it never burst naturally. Gynae had to burst for me.

Hahaha... True lah! Juz that i waited very long for my 1st labour, that's y hope that my #2 can hv the normal process. Fingers crossed!

Lola83, hi5, I also managed to see the waterbag and heartbeat today
now baby is at 6 weeks, EDD 4/12/12 .
next appt in 3 weeks time.

Lola and kidomum, I had my scan today too! It's only 3mm and although I can't hear the heartbeat yet, the machine could pick up the heartbeat... EDD 7/12/12.. Next appt in 2 weeks..

Been feeling low cos of feeling giddy, hope second trimester comes quickly...

Congrats to lola83/kidomum/chubbyfingers for detecting bb heartbeat! I can't wait for next sat to come! Still got 8 days more. -.- I love 2nd trimester where we can start to feel bb movement everyday.

Does anyone has recommendation for places where they do facial for pregnant ladies? Preferably around town area.
My facial lady used to come to my place but now I don't really prefer her to use those sharp tools when I lie on my bed...

Called one place that day but they dun wanna do for preggy ladies.

Today's MS is quite bad for me.
On top of having insomnia for the past 3 weeks, this morning I had cramps then almost fainted in the toilet. Crawled myself out and hugged the sink till my husband came to my rescue.

Kidomum: I do facials even when I am preggy. How come the place you called don't do facials for pregnant ladies? Don't understand.

Catherine: Did you check with the gynae on your cramps? Sounds quite serious.

Kidomum, I haven't really been trying out facials at other salons. Have been with Leonard Drake (now renamed to Aster Spring) for many years. They have many outlets islandwide. I think if you tell them you are pregnant, they will not use any electricity-operated machines on your face.

Morning all.... enjoy your leave, kidomum! Maybe you would like to try "Angel Sky"? try google it.

Catherine, are u okay? Today I also started to feel nausea and cramp. I think MS coming liao. Sigh... But I won't insomnia, I can sleep like a pig, very tired. Then I feel I'm having heavy discharge, keep feeling wet wet de. Don't know why.

mama_ling, nikiko, thanks for your concern. I'm feeling much better now. No bleeding/spotting so far. I read that cramps are common, so I'm not sure if I should see the gynae regarding this.

Week 6 starts tomorrow, fingers crossed!
Hope your MS is mild and manageable

Im keeping my fingers cross for all the ms... so far so gd for me... just that I get hungry at the wrong time...during lunch im not hungry then a while later then hungry.... cham....

cath: i think u should check with ur gynae. cramps are common but if the cramps are too serious, u might wanna be safe than sorry and check with the doc.. so far, im only feeling mild cramps

Agree with chubbyfingers. My gynae told me to go back to him if there is any bleeding or cramps. At least he can prescribe some an tai yao to stabilise the pregnancy if necessary.