(2012/06) Jun 2012

<font color="aa00aa">cachia85,
That time, I had staining (quite a bit) at ~5 weeks with abdominal pain for 1st 3 days. The staining became red bleeding on 4th day but turns to brown spotting on 5th day. Luckily, it stopped on the 6th day. My baby was fine. Hope yours is not serious.

reef1976,
Welcome to this thread. Glad that you've conceived so soon after your MS. Stay positive ya.

coco_pops,
We're all sorry for your loss. Please have a really good rest (I didn't when I MS in 2009 and now health is not very good).

sunniegal,
It's a Chinese book entitled "怀孕前后吃什么". There are recipes for the different months, advice on food / supplements to take and food to avoid.

venetia_yap
Yes, these fish contain 汞残留物 (mercury residues) and 氯农药 (pesticides).</font>

Coco Pops sorry for ur lost. Please take care n rest well.

Mummies, I always have problem deciding what to eat for breakfast n lunch. Everyday eat bread also sian, n my place here no coffeeshop or whatever. Want to cook also lazy to cook for oneself only.

peapea: water creates a lot of acid in my stomach. I am not drinking enough water and not peeing enough. I used to drink at least 1 litre of water and at least 1 cup of milo a day, but now, my 500ml bottle is still half full after a long day.

I don't know what food to stock up because they really taste bad now. Biscuits that I had liked taste gross. I have oatmeals every day, just to fill a bit full. I am in the 'avoid-processed-food' mood at the moment. I shudder at the idea of instant noodles. Hate hotdog. I can't just open a tin now.

petrina: regarding peanut butter, I was reading about Kate Middleton avoiding peanut at one occasion and the media suspected she was pregnant and they mentioned that pregnant women in Britain avoid peanut when they are pregnant to prevent risk of peanut allergy. Ever heard of this? I eat peanut butter regularly, and I got a little worried about this. Think need to check it up.

Chin: I also really don't know what to eat! I still can stomach bread at the moment, but I get super hungry within an hour. I had a craving for fried beehoon recently, but suddenly I reject the idea of oily stuff. The oil seems to be quite stale by the time I eat such food, so I don't know what else to eat. I can't eat Macs every day, as they are deep fried too.

Even steamed food don't appeal to me. Boo hoo hoo. I'm really very hungry right now, but no idea what I can eat. Chin, are you a SAHM? I get bad nausea when I stay at home as I don't get enough food!

Glass: I also reject oily food. Used to love fried chicken wing but now... Haiz. I can only swollow more mummy cook food, also force myself to drink more soup. Every morning will just drink more water, from plain water, ribena, milk, yakult etc.

I think I just need variety of bread. Heehee. But everyday bread also sian. I ate cup noodles with an egg just now.

Yup I'm a SAHM. But still hope to look for a job. I Totally feel useless staying at home. But never work before so don't think can find a job so fast. Is a contradicting feel to work or not.

glass: really?? wow.. I'll google it.. hehe
i also can't eat Macs. A colly told me that cause we r carrying Dragons.. and they r chinese high n mighty creatures. So like emperor lah.. only eat certain stuffs and cannot eat it constantly to keep taste fresh.. lol

I can't stomach water. unless it's very hot water.. even other drinks also muz drink hot. cooled abit i can't stomach le. only iced gong cha or ribena is ok. all others can't.

Chin: i also seem to be able to eat my MIL cooking niah. outside food i also can't stomach.. So i try to find *chai beng* stalls to mimic MIL homecooked food.

petrina, hahaha ya lor.. Carrying a Dragon baby! I also dunno right now I'm always craving for Chinese food!! Never does that when preggy with #1..

Until last Sunday asked hubby to bring me to Crystal Jade eat a good Chinese food and feel lots better..

The problem is my maid dunno how to cook Chinese food and I have no Chinese food recipe cookbook (Indonesian one).
I think next time when go back to Indo need to buy one for sure!

yes Groovy! only chinese foods stay in my tummy since 4wks. haha
I found out abt it only after a buffet dinner @ Peony Jade Restaurant. ate so much then no merlion.. then i worry. cause the day b4 i fell so my hb scared i not vomiting isn't a good sign. so next day fixed appt to see gynae. lol

baby is ok but ever since then i've been eating in Crystal Jade. my hb tell my baby tat both also Jade. so just make do.

Think I'm quite lucky at the food dept side. So far I've been able to eat most any kind of food and my MS is more controlled now.

Just wanna check if any of you have this feeling at your stomach area like your stomach is not expanding fast enough. I always have this super tight feeling around my stomach area and I don't know if its because I'm bloated or what.

Need to check with Dr Kek next Tue

wow, sounds like it is the same for me lei! i only like chinese food now... just had yong tau foo... nt so bad cuz it is soupy... i have been avoiding all sorts of drinks. only drinking plain water. my mom wants me to take soya milk but i find it very gross now

petrina and glass, after reading the link, im even more confuse shld i eat food with peanut!! just had ferrero rocher for breakfast (i know it is weird, but i couldnt stomach other food)

old folks tales and my gynae asked me not to have peanut. It make get the baby to have airway allgery like asthma next time.

Moi, where can we "怀孕前后吃什么". book? it is in chinese?

Venetia, I also have this tight feeling and sometimes it just stretch by its own. I aksed my gyane last week and Dr Yeap-TMC said it is fine. Ask me not to worry.
Mummies, But these few d
ays, I do have a tingling pain for a few sec around my lower tummy and a bearing down sensation. Anyone have this?

i have this bland taste of my mouth hours after meals.. never had this before.

peapea: soft drinks will make tummy more bloated. For me, orange juice help to ease off my bloatness. I like Sunkist less sugar orange juice.

peapea: i guess if once or twice it shld be fine. but to be on the safe side better to avoid.. my #1 is allergy free. i dun recall avoiding anything in particular. but neither did i indulge in peanut butter.. so i think nut related products r fine as long as u dun gobble the PB down daily...

glad that my MS didn't report for duty today. i'll see if it reports back to me tmr. sometimes i do feel that if MS comes, it's a way of telling us our baby is fine.. so i do worry if it suddenly disappear.. LOL
very ironic me :p

Re Chinese food
Haha I also prefer Chinese food now. The dragon baby theory is quite interesting. I used to love cheese and western food in my first pregnancy. Now I can't stand the cheese smell. Looking for nice economical rice stalls but still quite hard. Crystal jade was mixed for me as some of the food had strong smells. Found one stall that was nice yesterday but today I went back and it was not nice today. So far I can eat my mum's cooking but I don't go to her place often.

sounds similar for me leh! but i crave more for sweet chinese desserts like red bean soup, tang yuan... haha

have u all booked confinement ladies? I called 3 recommended by my frens &amp; all r booked! I wonder how come some pple can book so early... think it's the popular dragon baby

dreamy: do u need confinement lady? i didn't have for #1 as i didn't think it was necessary.
for me, i TBF my #1 and he slept on the same bed as me. my mil took 1 mth leave to cook for me.
laundry was done via washing machine.
ironing was sent downstairs by hb.

all in all i think the overall cost and emotional burden was cheaper than having an outsider in my house

Dreamy Gal, I didn't know have to book so early! Well I think I better act fast now!

I decide to have a confinement lady because nobody help me in my confinement. My mum is busy with my sister 2 kids n I have i no mil. So die die hv to get

Morning Ladies.

Im 8weeks pregnant.

Will pop up to see forum once in awhile.

But im going honeymoon next 2weeks.

Hope everything will be fine , since my morning sickness is haywire.. can be vomit anytime of the day.

take care all mummies to be.

dreamy gal, I have booked my confinement lady the next day I tested +ve, that time the lady has been booked till april oredi.

petrina, I dun have cl too for my no.1 cos my mil insisted want to do for me. End up hb n I respect her as 1st time grandma so we gave up the idea of cl. end up the relationship among the family members turn sour. My mil dun really know what to cook for confinement food and she can't handle new born too. She simply cooked for me. I found sth not right so I called my mum to check if I can consume those food. The worse part was my hb was on frequent B-trip. End up my hb and I decided to get my mum who is experience to help. Then sil not happy and talked bad thing about my mum in front of my mil and made mil not happy too. End up mil left and moved back to her hse w/o anybody knowledge. till now, mil still ok with me but I hardly talk to sil anymore. If possible I do not wish to talk to her at all.

loshita: oh.. for me my mil didn't know how to handle NB as well. food menu - i just told her what I want to eat at whatever time i want to eat.
i handled my #1 all by myself as it was very easy.

just TBF then zzz. bath once or twice a day. we slept in aircon room most of the time. so not warm to bath so often.
change diaper also easy. so usually i bf baby on my bed with pillows under the baby for support. then i watch tv n feed at same time. then baby drink till zzz then i put him beside me and i lie down to zzz too.

when baby is active n awake, i'll put on rocker in living room while i shower. so mil can see he's ok.

menu wise i always have steam fish *threadfin/promfret* , stir fry *broccoli/leafy* veg , any type of soup like lotus root with pork ribs or carrot potato soup etc..

i gave her the forbidden food list like cabbage, liver, seafood, chicken. i also told her to relax on ginger as i didn't like to be too warm. sesame oil was omitted too because i had rashes after epidural.

drinks - i made sure i have red dates water constantly from the hot flask. mil went medical hall and ask the uncle to pack confinement drink.
so he packed longan, red dates, black dates, black fungus. all cook together add sugar can liao.
then towards the end, i drank instant red date tea cause i told her dun need to buy le.

so i think i had a very smooth time though we quarrel often as she find i lock myself with baby in room very often. so she dun have chance to carry or see baby. afterall my #1 is her 1st grandchild.

i m a dominating person. so i already planned what to eat n do. as long as they follow, anyone who can't cook also will be able to cook

oh ya, forgot to mention my mil is a workaholic. nvr did any housechores in her entire life. cooking for me during confinement was her first time

oh ya, ladies.. i have nothing against confinement ladies.. just that a few of my friends have CL that abandon them after 2weeks. end up emotional and haywire..
also some CL r against bfing. so they may advise you to leave baby with them so that u can rest. ultimately if u dun feed on demand, supply will reduce greatly n you'll end up supplementing as you may start to believe you have no milk. then the usual 1 thing leads to another..

Seriously I also don't wish to get a CL. But Nobody can help me.
my sil also SAHM n her kids are all grown up but she will never offer any help to me.
my main concern is confinement food n bathing the baby. I heard that catering confinement food are not that nutritious. Is there any better option??

When my hubby let my mil know that I'm pregnant when I was just wk 6. She already told my hubby to book a CL. In fact, she already has 1 in mind. In the end, I decided to ask my mum to help out- though her last exp with handling babies are over 20 yrs ago. My youngest sis is already 23 &amp; this is going to be her 1st grandchild. Think it's easier than having an 'outsider'- exp with CL really depends on luck. Will prob be getting a recipe book for confinement dishes so that mum can refer to.

petrina, I have a minor operation after delivery of no. 1 therefore i need more rest. my mil is those stubborn type, never want to listen and learn from others. even my hb taught her how to carry nb, she frown and not happy. after so many years she probably forgot how to carry nb. I guess she wished to help but end up gave us even more trouble. after she left, she will only come and visit bb when my hb not around. from then on, i told hb if we have no.2 must get a cl cos my mum is getting old, can't help to cook dy.

Mihoger,
Where r u going for your honeymoon? Have u cleared with ur Dr if it's safe for u to travel cos 1st trimester still not very stable right? Hubby is very strict- says no traveling till baby's born...

Loshita,
Your confinement period must have been very stressful for u. So much conflicts... But fortunately everything okay with your mil. But dunno sil can also give so much trouble.

Sunnie gal: if your hubby doesn't let you travel now, then you can forget about travelling until the baby is old enough. My son is 2 already and I still have not travelled since my honeymoon. That's why I'm grabbing the chance to go for a short work trip next week even though I'm throwing up constantly now. I really want to go overseas! Haven't even crossed the border as well.

re confinement lady
Need to learn to close one eye. Don't get so worked up until it affects you. My friends asked me to go and book this CL of theirs. Maybe I should, as my previous one is overaged already.

It's only noon time, and I already had fillet o fish, and chicken porridge. Now going for 3rd round of meal! Really going to be fatty bom bom.

loshita: u muz had it bad.. of course if u need a CL, go ahead and hire.. but do ensure to check background well. u won't want unnecessary trouble..

sunnie: best to travel ard 7mth preg.. no MS by then.. also not too tired from plane ride or shopping.. hehe
if after delivery then i'll agree with Glass that u can forget abt holidays le...

my first travel during preg was 4mths. still MS but energy lvl was high.
next travel was with hubby, son, mil when son was 2yo. celebrate birthday holiday.
my third travel was with hubby only. this june when son was 3.5yo.

so hb said we'll go travelling w/o son again next apr for the last time. then keep passport till #2 is 3yo liao...

Glass, envy ur good appetite!

I also love traveling but since this BFP not easy tru IVF. So better play safe now. Booked a 2N stay at Sentosa to celebrate our wedding anniversary next mth. In the past, we're always traveling.

Guess it's going be b a few yrs before can get a real hol already...

I also won't hire confinement lady at all. I think they are just waste of money.. But if you don't have anyone to help, then you should really consider. Because confinement food is not cheap too!

I will have maid to help out.
Btw first time mummies beware! It's not easy to take care of baby by yourself. Last time I don't have a maid, only hubby's relatives who cooks and help doing laundry and clean the house. But she can't handle newborn at all since she's too old already (more than 70 years old)
In the end it's still very very though.. My in law comes 1 week only, and at the same time my parents also come for almost 3 weeks only.

And I'm total breastfeeding, my baby doesn't know how to latch until I go to lactation consultant twice! So I starve her in almost 1 week on drinking just what I can massaged out when I put her mouth in my breast. In the end it's very stressful.. As I want her to latch in order to no need to pump as I have no one to help out to feed her etc.

In the end she finally wants to latch and I total latch her until the end of my maternity leave.. That's the "easier period"..
I found though also becoz we straight away wear pants on her, never use diaper. Everytime she pees I need to change, sometimes during breastfeeding she pees on me! haha.. That makes it more tiring.

I thought last time maternity leave is HOLIDAY but it's NOT. IT'S MUCH MORE TIRING THAN WORK.

Believes me. Get a long 2 hours sleep is a luxury during first 2 mths. Usually baby latch for 10 minutes, fall asleep, wakes up 1 hour later, latch again 5 minutes, and it happens so frequent..

sunnie,ya, not a good one but luckily hb n bil are at my side. i too never expect sil can give so much troubles, probably only mine. Even a planned family dinner can be called off just becos of her. My bil secretly plan a trip to treat pil to Taiwan but hide from sil, anyhow mil told sil in the end. haha guess what, she bought a ticket immediately and flew there one day earlier and scolded why she was not invited for family trip, this was not a family tri, hb and I were not invited too... boo...after back from Taiwan, bil refused to met her and got us to tell him back what was the story she told us.

petrina, oredi booked mine

I have been travelling in out Malaysia quite often during pregnancy time. Till I was 7 mths preg then hb refrained me from travelling, he worried I will give birth in Malaysia

groovy: no diapers? wow! truly kudos.. i hate toilet training.. so my boy was child led weaning and child led training. i had a very easy time compared to u.
i nvr get to meet any lactation consultant.. dunno y gleneagles hosp consultant seems to be MIA during my 5days stay there.. haha
bfing was a breeze as i was addicted to cabletv channel 425 during pregnancy. and since i nvr though baby can drink anything other than my milk, i kinda felt it happened naturally. of course there was the mastities n engorgement that i had to deal with. but i loved bfing. i felt it was a compensation to feeling as a real woman since i had a c-sec. though i was induced for more than 72hrs, i never truly felt any pain.

but i agree that ML is more tiring than working. sleep - that's a luxury.. i get more naps than real slp. haha

loshita: wish u all the best
hope u have a better confinement this time.
wahh. ur BIL so stylo! ur SIL is ur hb sister? then ur BIL is ur hb brother?

Groovy,
That sounds like a nightmare :p

My sil told me that she suffered from post natal depression after her 1st baby. Says she cries for no apparent reason. U ladies have post natal blues?

oh ya, groovy: if ur #2 also no diapers, you might consider buying the blue absorbing mat to carry baby with. in case baby pee on you again. then end up so much clothes to wash..
i bought that when my boy was diaperless at night.

Hello mummies! I just got confirmation from my gynae that I'm preggy with my #3..

Came as a pleasant surprise because my #2 is born in Feb 2011.. I'm still breastfeeding and I seriously don't remember having my period completely back either.

#1 is turning 3 next year, while I'm feeling all apprehensive on how I'm gonna handle 3 little ones, I'm all excited to welcome another little bundle of joy!

Read back a few pages, saw a few mummies with young babies too, do u all still continue breastfeeding while preggy? Is it ok?

My gynae advise that it's still fine to BF till about 4-5months but another GP said it's better to stop cos it causes uterine contractions.. I personally would like to continue breastfeeding if it's okie because my girl is very attached to me.. feel really guilty that I have to wean her immediately because of #3..

Fiona: welcome! bfing during pregnancy is fine. unless ur gynae says your health isn't good then u shld stop.
wah.. next time u'll have a breeze when all ur kids grow up together
now suffer abit.. hehe
SAHM or FTWM?

Glass : Hey babe, that's one of the best part of being pregnant.. got 'license' to eat anything we want! Muahahahaha!

Sunnie_gal : Didn't really have post-natal blues but I was aware of the surge of hormones building up.. So I'll look out for signs like myself getting extra upset(than normal) when things go wrong. Or the extra urge to cry out. Then I'll cool down and ask myself if life is really that depressing or issit just the hormones at work. lol.

I also pre-warned my hubby so he can spot the signs for me. There were times I just asked him for a hug and let me cry on his shoulder cos I just needed to let the tears roll.. for nothing. lol.

It's normal I guess.. only that we gotta accept that it's the hormones behind it and deal with it appropriately..

Hi Petrina,

Thanks! I was thinking of slowly weaning her off than going cold turkey.. and I seriously am trying to look on the bright side of things, starting now! lol.

Guess I'm considered half a SAHM because my work allows me to work from home.

yourself?

petrina, yes bil=hb's bro, sil=hb's sil

Fiano, congrats to you!! my bro has 2 gals with 1 year gap, my sil is so relax now as the 2 gals, 1 going to p1 and the younger will be k2 next year. suffer at the early stage, but it is fun to see them grow up together.

Wow Fiona, your first two babies sound very young too. I already stop breastfeeding just b4 I got pregnant. Unless, you are really eating very healthily, your nutrition may not be sufficient for both ur gal n bb in tummy. N your pregnancy all back to back one. I think u should speak to your gynae again.

Petrina: No choice i have no help at all! My mum is not ard and my MIL has her own business to run... sigh

Chin: Mine is $1800 for 4 weeks...

Hello everyone!

I'm starting the 9th week with my #2. Think my EDD is tentatively 17 Jun. Gynae isn't too sure as she said the babe was very curled up at the 8th week scan.

MS isn't too bad for me. I just feel a bit of nausea, especially when hungry. So I try not to get hungry, but eat &amp; eat &amp; eat. Gosh! And I prefer strong, savoury food than bland stuff like white rice, soup &amp; yong tau fu. I hope I don't put on too much weight! But I get lower back ache, breathlessness, sore boobs &amp; I'm very tired!

Groovy, you hv remind me of the sleepless night, n the stressfulness of breastfeeding in the first few months. Sometime really feel scare scare. N this pregnancy seems more difficult. last week was spotting, this week down with fever n flu. Still have another 32 weeks to go.