(2012/06) Jun 2012

denise, when i scanned was around 4.5 weeks too... sac was about 5.2mm... seeing gynae next week as well so shld be around 6+ weeks?

need to go clinic do weekly injection. the gynae want to play safe because i had spotting

peapea -- how come my sac he say was 2.6mm only?? im seeing him next week too so i shld be 6.5 weeks by then lor.

where do u go?

peapea --- mine is over at Mount A, Dr Ho HonKwok :)

maybe the 5.6mm u were mentioning is the Yolk Sac? cause i think there is difference with the Yolk and Gestational Sac and wats not. HAHAHA

Shanise -- i guess u are one week ahead of me! :) i think if do the V-scan wld be able to hear thou. ehh i do have morning sickness or evening sickness occasionally. it really depends thou. heh :) maybe the next check u can hear heart beat already! :)

Huhuhu... I've started vomiting already. Finally.. 2 days straight at night.

Very similar with when preggy#1. Always feel extremely terrible at night and vomit.

The difference is with #1 in the morning I always feel refreshed. This time around it's still the overly tired me
I've assigned the task of taking care of #1 to my hubby and maid but dunno I still feel very tired. Maybe becoz I'm still pumping milk 3 times a day.

Hux.. I feel like give up pumping already. But my #1 took my EBM better than FM. And feel pity to #1.. She's always in almost total EBM until 1 year old. Hix.. When she's 1 year old I give up 1 pumping session from 4 to 3, the first week supply is OK, but then suddenly supply depleted until becomes 1/3 the usual. No wonder becoz preggy I read if preggy supply will decrease.

Dr. Ang estimate my EDD as 22 June, where if calculated from first mens it's 14 June. Maybe that's why my "NS-night sickness" starts this week. huhu..

I think nausea is caused by lack of food. In the day, I'm eating something almost every 1.5h to 2h to starve off nausea. At night, after dinner i just feel terrible coz don't have much to eat at home. Also, sometimes the timing between last nibble and dinner too long, so i start to feel nauseaus. So I go to bed earlier to sleep it off.

Anyone's children behaving differently recently? My mil Asked my husband whether I was pregnant because my 2 yr old suddenly bit his big toe and became way more stickier to me recently. I was definitely not no. 1 in rank or even no2. But recently he wants me to spend a lot more time with him. My friend told me that children can sense it and if you ate expecting opposite gender, your child will be extremely sticky. Anybody got any experience?
Re oily hair
I'm washing my hair twice a day now, not because it's oily but because smells from food stalls stay in my hair and nose more sensitive now so cannot tahan, must wash.

Venetia: yup mine is dr kek. Also highly recommended by my uncle as my uncle is also a dr from mount e. Also by relatives cox most of them delivered by dr kek. she is a very calm and nice lady! Which week are u in now? Your first child? I heard her charges are not cheap but I don't know other dr charges as well.. Most impt is comfortable I guess

Oh mummies, can eat papaya but eat in moderate. Maybe 1-2times a week. My mum only let me eat one slice max at one time. Everyday an apple is a must and alternate blueberries and kiwi. Sometimes strawberries or raspberries. And not forgetting 2 glasses of fresh milk.

Purplenite: my dr say it's common for us to lose weight up to 5 kg at this stage. But just try to eat when u can! We all need to be healthy!

I have quite alot of maternity and breastfeeding clothings to let go at low price. i'm located in Sengkang. Any mommies interested, can drop by to try out and take your pick. Baby stuffs like accesories, sterilizer, playpen, pram, stroller toys, swing etc... are available too.
Interested, pls cal or sms 91451454 to arrange

Sorry to interrupt. I have the below items to let go.

1. Brand new set of Avent 125ml/ 4oz milk bottles (2 bottles) to let go at $23.

6271749.jpg

2. 2 sets of brand new Avent 260ml/ 9oz milk bottles to let go at $31.

6271750.jpg

Self collection at Tiong Bahru/ Harbourfront MRT. Please email me at [email protected]

glass, mine is different. Suddenly she (#1) started to avoid me.. Last time everytime mummy must do, now it's not the case.. Maybe because she get fed up asking me to carry her but I don't want to carry..

Huhu.. Quite sad.. Becoz she doesn't even want to play together with me alone, she always want to walk away and look for daddy or maid. Hux..

It's good in one way though, now she can sleep with daddy alone. Last time must sleep with me. Otherwise will cry and cry to look for me. Lucky then next time when baby is born she can sleep with daddy while I'm looking after #2..

<font color="aa00aa">My appetite drops drastically but I try to drink a glass of milk everyday.

groovy2009,
Calculation from last menses is not accurate unless you have very regular cycle. It's more accurate to count from the estimated ovulation day, then add 1+ or 2 weeks depending on the Luteal Phase which typically ranges from 10 - 16 days.</font>

There are some good apps on pregnancy, can search " what to expect pregnancy or pregnancy.. Some apps cal ur EDD based on ur LMP or DoC, n updates the details on ur baby weekly growth n development, quite interesting.

<font color="0000ff">Dear all,

We are having a pre Christmas sale from now till 20 November and bra extenders @ 3% discount!

Authentic Edison chopsticks from Korea @ 15% + 8% discount. Price range from $8.50 each.

Pororo toothbrushes @ $5 each or $9 for 2 pieces. A pair of same design @ $8.30 per pair.

Thomas training cup holders @ $9 each or $17.50 for 2 pieces.

Last 2 earphone wallet to clear @ $8.50 (usual $4.90 each)

Bags section clearing @ 30% off and normal postage is dependent on weight of bag.

BStrings normal are clearing @ $23.50 each or $45 for basic set or $65 for complete set.

More discount will be updated this weekend!

View them @ www.allaboutzu.com! </font>

gwyneth> use baby center iPhone apps! It has videos on natural birth and caesarean. Last time it helps me a lot in knowing what are those. hehe..
Mine also around 8.6 kg now! I can't help but to carry her especially if we go to church together. Luckily She can walk already though..

moi> yup I know not accurate, also the EDD is just estimation, it's only useful if your baby decided to stay long after EDD so doctor will want to induce..
Actual fact starting from around week 36 must be prepared already..

I just refrain from carrying #1 if unnecessary.. huehehe.. becoz now she can asked to be carried already. sometimes bring the Sarong to us when she's sleepy.

I ate 3 slices of papaya yesterday. I think I had too much.
but was really sweet. Keke

I can really sleep this 2 days. Slept from 10pm to 10/11am. Usually I wake up at 8am. Maybe because I'm sick also.

So excited for my first appointment next week! Hope everything is fine!

Any of u guys experience bleeding/spotting?Im at my 6th wks now and saw some blood this morning.Awaiting to see doctor..Hope its nothing serious

Cleo> Ya, she's super calm when she speaks to me and she's evry reassuring. Ya, she don't come cheap but than I have no idea how much other gynea charges. Thinking of switching gynea cos my hubby civil servant so if I choose govt hosp its subsidised. I heard from my friend who delivered in Mt E, her delivery plus gynea's fees is about $6-7k.

Coco_Pops> Mild bleeding or spotting is fine because it might be implantation bleeding. But if you suddenly experience heavy (period like) bleeding with cramps to the stomach please seek a doctor's immediate attention. That said, if you're still worried you may ask your gynea to see you earlier. I requested to see mine earlier too because I told them I was experiencing some spotting and I just want to make sure that everything was ok with my baby.

Chin> Same here, I can sleep like a log these days. I usually finish dinner about 7.30 - 8pm. Once I sit on the sofa, I want to sleep. Than I'll sleep at 10 - 10.30 but have to get myself up at 7.15am for work

<font color="aa00aa">venetia_yap,
For OB&amp;G at NUH, other than Dr PC Wong, would your cousin recommend Dr Chua Tsei Meng or A/P Mary Rauff?</font>

Hi is there a mummy by the name of Elim Yong?

I got your email and wanted to reply but the email keep bouncing back. Are there another email which i can sent to? Kindly email me again.. [email protected]

Thanks.. =)

Venetia: ya.. Totally agree!! Def gov hospital would be cheaper. Mount E prices are pretty well known. My grandma stay in mount E in ICU for 3 days the bill is 150k. We got a shock...when your next appt? Hehe! Mine still long end nov lol!

Coco pops: ya it's most prob implantation bleeding. I had it around that week too. Venetia words are right.. Massive bleeding must go doc immediately.

Coco: I also had brown discharge on week 6th, I was gave duphaston for 2 weeks, until now I still have little (3 days already). I'm also a bit worried. Let us know what your gynea says ok?

Groovy: well, guess my friend's old wives' tales can be put to the test when we can determine the gender.

Gywneth: my son is 10kg plus, super light for his age, but I still carry him. I think when I'm bigger I won't, as it would be bad for our back, and also our bones would be a bit loose then (I think), especially pelvic area.

<font color="aa00aa"><u>Food to avoid in 1st Trimester</u>

Extracted from a book borrowed from NLB:

<u>1st month</u>
* Caffeine
* Spicy food (辛辣食物) such as chilli, pepper, 花椒 (Sichuan pepper) - excess causes constipation, affects digestion
* Sugar - excess depletes Calcium
* Low-fat milk
* Canned food - preservative
* Medicine w/o prescription
* 酸性食物 - may cause abnormalities
* Fried bread stick (油条) - contains ingredients that are not good for brain
* Tea - tea leaves contain caffeine &amp; a component which combine with iron that can't be absorbed by body

<u>2nd month</u>
* 甲鱼 &amp; crab - cooling, can cause abortion
* Aloe vera - can cause bleeding, even miscarriage
* Raw fish &amp; seafood - contains bacteria
* Shark, 旗鱼, 青花鱼, 马头鱼 - contains substances that can harm foetus' nervous system

<u>3rd month</u>
* Steamboat - meat contains bacteria that are naked to human eyes which are usually not destroyed as people usually just dipped the meat into the hot pot w/o thoroughly cooking it - serious consequences include miscarriage, foetus' death or affect foetus' brain development
* 桂圆 (dried longan) - can cause dry stools, dry mouth &amp; baby heatiness; may cause spotting, tummyache &amp; other pre-miscarriage symptoms
* Canned food - preservative
* Potatoes that have sprouted - poisonous

Please do not be unduly worried if you've consumed them. Consult your gynae if you've any doubt.</font>

Mummies, I'm having bad ms now, shd be in my 9th week already. Everytime I eat or drink something, there's this sour taste that will linger at my throat, which makes me want to vomit. Anybody has remedy or anything to recommend to remove this bad aftertaste in the mouth?

<font color="aa00aa">cachia85,
I had brown discharge for my first child too and the gynae also mentioned that it's something got to do with implantation. It's usually ok so don't worry too much.</font>

moi,
Thank you for your reassurance. I think implantation bleeding should happen in week 4th, I'm 6w4d now. Last time when you got brown discharge how long did it last? I'm counting everyday toward my 8th week appointment.

Moi, good info on the food to avoid.. I'm 7 wk 3 days now... I'm always worried of food cos i have a miscarriage in Jun '11.

glass, maybe.. Huhu.. I have a feeling this baby is a girl again.. But still crossing finger for a boy. hehehe.

I eat lots of veggie before preggy, now feels like vomiting when eating veggie. dunno why..

Cleo - I have A/Prof John Tee from KKH for my other kid. He is good. .. for tihs time, ihave Dr Yeap from TMC.She is nice and her charge is reasonable. She is very assuring, esp when I have my miscarriage in Jun'11. I'm going to see her on 2 Dec again. Hope everything is fine.

glass: my #1 also like tat. recently started to suck toe. dunno y. i asked him he say he like.
then everynight want me to zzz with him or carry him like old times..

dear ladies: i gave up trying to find remedy on vomiting.. i intend to carry on eating n puking till the period is over. haha
cause i tried almost every damn food in SG. also kenna rejected.

I'm having ultra mood swings recently. i guess it's due to my lack of energy from lack of food.

Moi: i ate everything in the forbidden list on 1st trimester.. the only liquid that stays in is currently Pu Er Tea. so i have 1 cup a day. diluted though..

Mary Rauff is extremely expensive and she doesn't take just any patients. Even NUH staff ain't entitled to see her. She only see the *Sisters in NUH*. So it might be cheaper elsewhere.

Chloe: spotting is fine. i had spotting at 4th week till 5th week. ate duphaston till now. once a day to stable bb. no harm eating.

Hi Venetia: very excited to see u here.
glad i have companion next yr *wink*
I wanted Prof Chong as he is head of dept in natural birthing. If u r keen u can try him. My friend is a doula working with him.
I decided to stick to my old gynae as I'm already very comfy with him. Though I may switch in mid-term to Prof Chong.

Gwyneth: my boy is currently 16.4kg i still carry occasionally. as long as u dun rest his weight on ur tummy shld be ok.

Am glad to have this thread so that we can share experiences &amp; info. Hope that after our 1st trimester, we can meet up

Just a little intro abt myself. I started my 1st IVF treatment at KK under Dr Loh in Aug this yr &amp; was very fortunate to get a BFP. This is my 1st pregnancy. Initial EDD after my 1st scan was 6th June. I've just gone for my 2nd scan with the Dr today and heard bb's hb- very loud &amp; fast! Given a new EDD-10th Oct.
CRL is 30mm at 9.3wks today.

So far, no serious morning sickness. Just feeling of bloatedness and a lot of gas. Need to burp &amp; fart :p lucky I'm at home most of the time

Moi> Not sure about the 2 gyneas you mentioned but I think the reason why we can't take sharks fins is because they are high in mecury so we should avoid fish that contains them.

Cleo> My next appt is 15/11. Counting down to the days I get to see my baby's heartbeat.

Petrina> Ai yo is that you? I was wondering when I see your name plus you put there Ryan's mummy. Haha. Ai yo, not pass my 1st trim yet so pls don't spread the happy news for me yet

Is it normal to keep feeling hungry? I getting fatter. And being hungry often. How to manage the hunger?

Don't like the feeling!!

Joanne> I suppose its normal. I'm hungry like every other 2 hrs now. But I have very bad MS so I've broken down my 3 meals to 5 small meals with small bites in between.

My waist line is also getting thicker, most of my work clothes are feeling abit snug since I always like to buy fitted clothes. Good excuse to the hubby that I need to shop for some loose fitting clothes

I think its normal to gain some weight as long as you managed your weight gain. Don't snack on junk and try to take fruits or some nuts in between meals. As for your lunch and dinner, just cut down the portion if you're already snacking in between to fill the hunger pangs.

Don't feel bad about gaining weight, it could be some water retention or just the weight of your baby. Most importantly is we have to eat the right kind of food to make sure our baby get the right nutrients from us

Hi, i tested positive on sat this will be my #1 going for my 1st appt this friday... hopefully im able to see somthing. i also feel hungry quite frequent.

Re: oily hair

i have it to out of sudden hair become very oily and my face too..

I've the following to let go:

- Avent twin electronic breast pump full set $350
- Lamaze Spin &amp; Explore Garden Gym @ $15
- Lamaze Gardenbug Foot Finder &amp; Wrist Rattle Set @ $10

Kindly PM me if keen, thanks!

Thanks Venetia, yes as long as eat healthily and baby is doing well!

Yes I need to shop for loose clothing but can't see any I like...

Went for check up after i notice the bleeding..I had a miscarriage..Hormones level dropped frm 3300 last wk to 1900 just jow..Choose to let it pass out naturally..was in terrible pain just now but feel better now after the blood clots discharged..

Guess wont be sharing any more stories in this thread.

Take good care dear mummies..

Coco_Pops> Very sorry to hear about it but be strong and rest well. Just make sure that your body gets the rest it needs. My prayers shall go out to your baby tonight.

Coco_Pops: So sorry to hear that. Hope you will recover very soon and your baby will come back to you in better shape.

Coco pops sorry to hear about that. Make sure you do a mini confinement to restore your health. Please take care.

Groovy: I hope it would be a girl for me this time.

Petrina: that's interesting about toe sucking. Must ask more people about it. I remember toe sucking when I was a big kid. Not sure whether my brother was on the way then.

Today was bad. Felt faint in the morning while driving, and ended up on wrong route. Took 1.5h to drive to my destination when usually only take half the time. Then after that wanted to puke, managed to tahan until lunch time but I had gone home early. There's no food at home so I couldn't get my food every 2 hours or less, so ended up puking my dinner and late night snack out. Now super hungry and I'm going to bed just to avoid puking. On top of this, got a parking summon because my mil and fil were saying something about it. Law of attraction. Yikes.

coco, sorry for your loss. pls do take care

petrina, im on duphaston now too (twice a day). i think that is making us nausea all the time... the only thing i can stomach in now strangely is lotus bun. nv liked lotus bun before. like just this morning, i threw up a glass of water immediately after drinking it..

glass, do stock up some stuff at home... though the no appetite for food is affecting me more -_-"

coco: take care.. rest well..

Venetia: ya lah.. i already suspect u at ur first post.. hehe
i also 8wks niah.. so we'll keep hush for now

peapea: same siah! now i'm eating peanut butter n bread from toastbox.. haha.. all other food i can't eat liao.

clothes wise heng i usually wear dresses.. so even tight also nvm.. lol