(2012/05) May 2012

Keiko/Kayla: my frd was diabetic so every 2 weeks for her visit, she will say very stress at work, feel tummy pain and stains when stress. Here pain there pain etc. I'm gonna try this fri for my 32 weeks checkup. Hehe. Btw my hubby was out town most of the time. Maid nt here yet and no other helpers, so Im the maid! Really feel the strain and pain when doing household chores. But bobian someone has to do it...

Cord blood: how to donate to public bank? I don't recall anyone asking me abt it when I deliver my #1. I disnt store for her also...

Kayla: my #1 was due at 38 weeks. I heard that best to take bloom pics at 34-36 weeks. But I also can't decide to take or not to as my hubby always flying and no fixed schedule. Mayb I will take alone with my #1. Would that be weird as its like nt complete??

M_int: let ur clinic or doc know u wld like to donate n I think they will arrange. I think still got paperwork to do. I'll ask my doc when I see him later this week.

Kayla: I bgt at Robinson's but m sure u can get at other dept stores n maternity shops cos I've seen it ard.

Kayla / M_iNt: i also had diabetics... but that time i called him to tell him i got headache and giddiness, he ask me go GP...
i rather go find him since i paid for my package.. can do scan and see my baby some more.. haha..

Kayla: when's ur EDD? sorry i forgot...

M_iNt: ok... hope ur gynae is nice to give you... so you can have a good rest too..

chocolateteddy: thanks! where did you get them from?

my worry now is when shld i go for brazilian wax.. haha.. wana go very near to EDD, but scare baby come out early then didn't get to go... -_-

M_int :
my maid just arrived 2 weeks ago. when is yours coming ? Need to give them time to familarise.

U getting CL ? If u are then u should be ok .... Cos i am not having one this round so I am a bit kiasu want to have her in earlier. Lucky my gal is ok when her. Within few days , can let her bathe and feed. Now only pray maid can handle baby and help with my confinement.

Keiko :

my EDD is 3rd May. U? I also forgot...hahaha. U usually fix appt which day ? Next appt mine is 3rd Apr but yours is 5th Apr right ?

I hope we can all get mc like 2 weeks then we can jio each other go have lunch or tea b4 the big day !

During my #1, the forum mummies organised outings and everyone was staring the big group of preggy women!

Keiko: m planning to do my Brazilian at abt 36 or 37 weeks. In fact I went abt a month ago n seems like hair growth not much still.

Kayla: we shld go for a hi tea buffet on a weekday! Yeah!

Looks like alot of sleepless mummies here! Haha!

Choc teddy,

With #1 around, this is the only time i have for myself after she zzz in Neverland.

I think we will have more sleepless nights soon. Gonna wake up to express so sian. Hope baby will latch well then no need to pump. But i rem my fren told me to try to pump after they latch to "tell" the body to produce more. I hope I can bf longer this round.

High Tea :

When u starting your leave ? I think i will pop 4th week of April. Hope still can tea with u gals.

Kayla: mine was actually my ex maid who went back 9months ago. She was nice enough to come bck when she knows that I needed help. Due to paper work issues, she can only come 4 weeks later!! ;( imagine being a heavily preggy woman chasing after a 3 yo toddler. I think I must be strong lor haha. Yes this time will be getting a CL. Don't want be stubborn like during #1 time. Suffer like mad!!

Keiko/chocoteddy: I did Brazilian wax for #1. But had bad ingrowns. Now don't see to do Liao. Is it better or a must to do? Can't rem...

Hi-tea: yeah let's organize one outing before we pop!

Wa suddenly feel pain down there. Guess its baby sitting on the pelvic bone. Bth. Walking like an old auntie. Like that how to sleep???

M_int: it's not a must, just a preference I guess. But I'd rather be clean there so 1) they dun need to shave me cos hair growing out will b uncomfortable, 2) easier to take care of perineal wound and 3) with all the lochia stuff I feel less gross if I'm not furry. I've been doing b4 preg anyway n feel cleaner during menses so tt's my mindset la. hehe

M_int :

We can hi-5 when we meet le..... Our gals can also be playmates lor... so now u have to send your gal to school yourself ?

btw i think u shd go ahead to take the bloom pix with or without hubby la.... if he happen to be in town then include him. Cos we dont always get pregnant mah. Unless u gg for #3 , which i dun think so for myself....

M_int,

Your maid so kind ! she must be good....

You mentioned #1 no CL, then got maid during then ? Or u so ga-rung all settle on your own ?

Rabbitz: Never had epidural but I believe you can ask for it as soon you are admitted in the delivery suite. Once you are around 6cm (or maybe 7cm) dilated, they might not give it to you. Best to inform them as early as possible.

Good Morning mummies!! Need to do brazillian ah? Gosh i nv do before even i have always been thinking abt it.

I guess the doc and nurse would have see until dun wan to see le bah. Heehee.. I am due 1 May.. Hopefully can go off work by third week April. Need a rest. When do the rest wanna go off from work?

Dont rest now no time to rest le.

Kalya: I start work in the afternoon. So my timing is still nt that bad. I will just send my gal to sch before I work...

I also think I dont want a #3. Lol. I don't like the feeling of being preggy!

During my #1, I don't have maid also. But my grandma and her maid helped with confinement. But she forces me to do everything myself like shower bb, feed bb everything except breast feeding my bb. Lol. Old folks thing lar.

I engaged my ex maid just before I finished my mat leave. She had been taking care of my #1. So I guess her coming back is good for both of us since she has the intention to work again

Monobaby: I vaguely rem that my gynae say Brazilian wax is nt a must. I will check with her again. But guess its a personal choice

Disposable panties:
I like from Sorella brand but printed on the packet is Felancy.
Its cotton de, so stronger, wont tear easily and cost abt $5.05 for a pack of 5pc for maternity and $4+ for a pack of 5pc normal size.
Ive already bought like 8 normal size and 5 maternity size.
Cos if we need to wear 2 in a day for the whole of 30days, its like 60pcs le.

Cord blood :
I didnt do anything for my #1 cord blood, so we were thinking if we should sign up and store for #2.

Brazilian :
I also didnt do anything and the nurse will shave you with disposable when u r in the labour ward. But they just roughly shave so that the hair wont get in the way, thats all.
After that I also didnt go see how was it done and just let it be. Totally forgot abt it till mentioned here again..hahahaha...

rabbitz,
i ask for epidural quite fast... only 2-3cm opening i already cannot tahan the pain (low pain threshold) - partially because i was put on drip to induce more contractions. another girlfriend having #2 - immediately ask for epi once in delivery ward... coz she's afraid of going through the pain again.

candymix,
i think avent only has a wide neck type of bottle so the sealing disc should be able to use in all bottles. For medela, as long as it's not a different type (wide neck vs standard neck) then you should be able to use in all bottles ?

re: shaving,
I never shave before delivery. The nurse will do it for you once you are in waiting room.

Hi mummies...

Have been so long din came into the chats already.. so fast tomorrow my bb will be 35 weeks le.. have to endure for another 5 more weeks.. to see my bb girl.. but.. also afraid I can't handle the 2 boys during night.. cos total will be 3 kids at home..

Abit fear.. btw.. mummies do you all know where to buy those shower gel for maternity use? I will get those herbs too but wondering is there any shower gel for bathing.. not sure those normal one will get rid of our winds anot..

for my last 2 preganacy I did not use it.. only use the herbs..

btw mummies.. I tot of selling off my avent electic pump if my medela still working.. cos after buying the new pump from the avent fair then my fren give me the medela motor which previously mine was spoiled..

If anyone interested can let me know..

Heeheeee good idea to have a high tea before we pop :p

Talking about disposable panties, I need to buy quite a few too. Where do u gals get it? Coz during confinement. CL advise to use disposable instead.

Moment:
I plan to order from Little Dreamers but I dunno if good anot cos m a 1st time mum hee ☺

Shaving/Brazilian - like I mentioned before, it's a personal preference. I ever kena shave by nurse when I did a surgery n I din like tt. And to me less gross n cleaner w the bloody post partum. For mummies who wanna try a Brazilian, I highly recommend cos its a liberating experience, hahaha!

Eunice:
As mentioned yest, I bgt my disposable cotton panties from Robinson's n the brand was "Impression". 5 pcs in a pack, $5.50 per pack. But think many places sell it too cos saw it ard. Try dept stores lingerie dept n maternity shops.

Moment:
Sorry no, I meant the shower gel. They r selling a "warming body wash for confinement". I'm thinking of ordering their "healing bottom spray" as well

Any mummies tried Little Dreamers products before?

the stuff from little dreamers is quite exp right? I actually wanted to buy the shampoo from them, but their delivery also not very flexible. Delivery charges quite high and they dun do singpost normal or registered mail. So in the end, I did not get from them.. You can order from the spree in SMHF, they have the body wash, but no shampoo.

Actually, what is the diff between disposable panties and maternity disposable panties? Are the Maternity ones bigger or what?

Dolly, thanks, I bought the pigeon nappy and liners yesterday from NTUC.. I saw Tollyjoy's but their packaging is bigger and more bulky. lol.. So I got the pigeon one, not so bulky for me to carry home hahaha.

You all are tempting me to do Brazilian... hmmm.. It will be my virgin brazilian if I were to do it. I think I will do it at week 37 when I'm on leave.

Mummies who ever did a brazilian wax, where are you planning on getting it done and at which week will you do it? Can it last us throughout the whole confinement?

The "shock" from the pain wouldn't be an issue right? As in it wouldn't trigger contractions? I have an extremely low threshold for pain. ><"

As for disposable undies, I found Impression ones at Giant in Tampines. Bought one pack to check the quality, it looks good so I will get more.

Kalya: My EDD is 6th may,, wow.. all our EDDs are very near... i usually fix on fridays to have a long weekend... :D but coz the last time i see Dr Tham, he says to fix it 3 weeks later and its Good Friday on the 6th, hence im having it on 5th to have a longer weekend... heehee... yeah... let me know good news if he grant you the MC! If dont have 2 weeks, 1 week i'm also happy... haha! but i was thinking more of last 2 weeks of april.. wonder if he can give in advance.. LOL

chocolateteddy: mine was many months ago coz i wana plan as near to EDD as possible... but inside me i'm scare baby will come out early... then will be OH NO! haven wax! >.<

M_iNt: Its not a must coz nurse will shave for us... but i prefer to go clean.... so that gynae can identify my baby's head better... LOL! (kidding) I think im more secure with the waxing coz i dont know how clean they will shave...

yumii: usually brazillian wax should be able to take like 3 months before it grows back fully to orginal stage... meaning in between abit but OK condition... that's why i wana do it as near to delivery as possible... wan it to last till the stitiching fully recover too... When i did it previously, the girl told me they will let you sit instead of lying down too long as we might have back ach if lye down too long. also, she will say like "1, 2, 3" that kinda thing to prep you so not sudden pain... it will be more painful than if you do before your get pregnant coz our skin is more sensitive now... I'm not sure about the contractions but the girl shared that 1 mummy had her baby kicking virgorously throughout the whole session.. hah! think the baby dont like the feeling of waxing...

high tea sounds good! think its OK to indulge at times la... heh

Ayana:
Ya its true their delivery quite ex, tt's y i read somewhere tt the mummies combine their order. I'll check out the spree u mentioned, thanks!

yumii:
I do my waxing at Strip n m planning for week 36 or 37 before delivery. For me the hair growth since preg is slow. The last one I did was in the beginning of this march n now still seems like still nothing. Just let them know when u make appt tt u r pregnant. Apparently all their waxing therapist r trained to do for pregnant ladies. The pain for some preggers i hrd was worse than usual but for me it seemed abit less painful than b4 preg.
It has been mentioned abt triggering contractions but I din feel anything when i did it last. But anyway will be doing it near delivery so i think its safe.
I asked the therapist who did for me how often pregnant ladies come in to do brazilian n she said, just for herself, almost everyweek hv at least 1. So I guess its pretty common.
As for the pain, I suppose its nothing compared to giving birth so I took it as training my tolerance. Hahaha!

Keiko:
Ya, I oso abit scared will deliver earlier but I think 36/ 37 weeks shld be just nice ba? Yes its funny if hvnt go waxing if u plan to then bb wanna come out liao hahaha!

Springleaf BP
Hey I saw some of u mummies already purchased the bras there. Any feedback if u received? N how did u decide on the size? I measure as 34B now so shld I order 34C or maybe 36B/C? I scared order wrong size wait very uncomfortable n waste $$...

chocolateteddy: I think you can get 34B. I used to be 34B and am still wearing those which i find it OK for me, but when i was at 1 of the expo sale, the sales person measured and ask me to get 34C. I got a few 34C without padding and underwire. However my padding one, the 34C looks too big on my boobs (LOL) hence, i got both sizes... both are as comfy.. but from youhaveababy.com

I haven receive my goods from springleaf (but apparently their brands is the same as youhaveababy.com) springleaf says they are trying to get the things by 1st week of april...

Disposable panty for maternity is of bigger size. But they could be too loose for you if you can slim down pretty fast after birth.
Otherwise with the bulky pad in place, i gauge the 1st 2 weeks will need the maternity size disposable after which we can just use the normal size.

I bought from Springleaf but as I ordered their milk storage bottles too, its too bulky to be delivered in the mailbox. Gotta pick them up from post office this weekend instead.
Will feedback then =)

Keiko:
But how many weeks r u now? M 34 weeks now n was told n observed some mummies they grow bigger at abt 38 weeks till delivery. The bra oso gotta accommodate the nursing pads rite?

everyone seems to be really getting into the mood already! with all the talk about purchasing panties and pads and going for brazilians...good wake up call for me to start doing all these too! i have been procrastinating so far, keep thinking still early lar...then suddenly so fast already week 34 liao!

anyway, just came back from the gynae and $120 poorer. cos i was rather worried about decreased fetal movement. usually baby is active at night before i go to bed and will start kicking again at 6am to wake me up. but yesterday night, not much movement and no kicks at all this morning. so made a call to the gynae clinic around lunch time and the nurse ask me to go down, so i went. in the end, strapped me to a monitor to track fetal heartbeat and movements, turned out everything fine. all the action must have roused the baby, cos she started moving not long after being strapped to the monitor. gua gua.

but anyway, for your information, my gynae says as long as can count 10 movements within 12 hours, should be fine. even if movements are very slight or less vigourous then you are used to, may be because of different positioning of baby.

chocolateteddy: hhmmm... then i think 34C seems more ideal... or perhaps go to the maternity shops and ask them? think they are more pro (thou you dont have to buy from them...)

anyway mummies, where did you all get thermometers from? I wanted to get from a spree but they OOS... heard spree alot cheaper than getting from shops...? is the scan ones better than the ear ones? i feel like the ear one more accurate... my school's scan's always spoilt.. haha!

Confinement body wash: I heard its refreshing as it contains lemongrass, not so much on keeping warm since under our weather, likely to perspire again after bath esp no aircon/ fan blowing.

Anyone tried the bottled no-rinse shampoo before? I forgot the brand, its white bottle with blue fonts. It it good? I see the picture shows the shampoo kinds leather into foam after apply on hair, then wipe off. Wonder will leave reside or not.

people around me keep telling me that my tummy got lower liao... i am 35 weeks now!!

i wonder if i would deliver earlier.. quite excited to be waiting for THe Moment

Keiko &amp; Kayla >> Our appt are juz 1 day apart .. still under Dr Tham .. wonder will we pop together .. my EDD is 9 May .. all so near

hello mummies, wow the thread seems to be moving so fast..i went to sneak read apr forum and some mummies have given birth liao! so let's see who hits the jackpot here first hahaha..

keiko: i got 2 infra red thermometers and am looking to let go of one. 1 is from the medela bundle and the other is from the BP thread. let me know if u interested and i don't mind letting go cheaper..

re: disposable panties
I also bought the cotton impression ones for maternity from robinsons during the last round of sale..maybe can look out around easter sale? when i was in kkh for emergency check, they actually "sell" u too i.e 1 pack billed to me lar cos I didn't have there and then..i only bought 2 packets of disposables leh, need to so many meh?

maternity pads: got pureen from giant during offer. only got 1 pack of 20 pads (enough bah?) but its true, its super long and super thick..i think after first 1 -2 weeks, can use the normal overnight/thick pads bah..

wow, so many dr tham mummies here..if all of u pop, he will be so damn busy hahaha i can imagine all of u side by side in different labour wards and he rush from 1 room to another lol..

anyway, can check with u which is the most reliable EDD ah/ is the one during scan? or the one shown in the first trimester report?

confinement body wash: i bought from newmummy in BP thread. unfortunately the shampoo was sold out too. yeah i feel that little dreamers quite ex leh..i bought dry shampoo from sephora though..

re: nursing bras
I got my loot from springleaf already but am returning/replacing some due to sizing issues..sometimes buying online is trial and error..like i got 2 same models same size but 1 fits nicely, the other one has too big a cup..anyway she advised to get 1 or 2 bras with bigger cup just in case..

so maybe will be good to get 1 or 2 and then it it fits ok, get a couple more later on which will anyway entitle u to 5% more disc..

re: brazilian
i wanna try yeah! so we should go around 36-37 weeks is it? hmm will the area be red, itchy, sore? will be my virgin try but imagine if labour comes on soon then everything around that area is painful..ouch!

Mrs Ho &amp; Keiko,

Shall we fix our next appt to be the same day and around the same time ? Then can say hi to each other too.

I always cheat 1 or 2 days earlier to fix my appt so that I can see my baby.... haha. Next appt is my 8th visit to see Doc Tham since the start of my package.... hmmm my pkg deal very worth it. lol.

How about next appt fix on 16th Apr (Mon) ? Then also long weekend right ?

Keiko,

Ya our EDD very close.... Is this your #1 baby ? I popped at 38 weeks for #1.... but now my gal havent head down. Yours engaged yet ?

Head-Down/Engaged:
Haiz.... I must start talking to my baby to tell her to turn. Else Dr Tham says if 36/37 still havent engaged, then have to discuss C-Sect already. OMG ! I cant imagine being "cut" lor....when natural labour is so short and easy for my #1.....

Request for MC:
If he can give MC from 16th April onwards for 2 weeks that will be nice... then i can save some maternity leave too.

Keiko, I also bought from Manny. Since usu not so urgent urgent, better to buy from Spree. Cheaper too =)

i was KPOing in the April thread and wow! they are slowly popping! hehe. i cant wait to be our turn.