(2012/05) May 2012

Wow, i thk for both days of meetup most mummies cant make it.. i tk we postpone le..

We wait for more mummies to make it den organise again ba.. =D

fifi, hope u r alright le..

crystalline, ya i agree with u.. maybe tat day he jus bad mood.. but overall he is ok la.. haa.. he going overseas from 9-22dec leh.. haa... SO SHIOK LA!!!

I dun reject plain water leh.. maybe u can add abit of ribena taste lo.. but dun too sweet la.. or u an drink fresh juice lo... good ma..

star, aiya.. sure got preference for boy or gal de la... they will say both oso dote but surely they have their own prefernce de.. even ourselves oso have prefernece sometimes liao lo... =D

Hi tan, how long have u been ttc-ing? bb dust to u.. =D

Vanila, godlbless yr kindness... Thank u!   
My pregnancy had not been stable since I came back with positive result. Had been having bed rest n bad mood till now... I am really envy all mummies here...
Hope my bb can give me at least a good day to enjoy...

hi tan, when is ur EDD? I thk if u listen to doc everything wil be ok... =D Dun thk too much... I dun thk it will do any good to bb and urself.. thk positive ya... =D

Claire, usually is at 16 weeks.. but some as early as 12 weeks cna tell le... When is ur EDD? =)

Vanilla, my EDD is end May. I really hope to know my bb gender then can start preparing. My 1st bb so I dun have anything to start with. Need to start buying.

micteo,
McD double cheeseburger only $2 compared to Big Mac burger $4.50, value for $$ ...
have been craving for beef burger these days.

Claire, same here.. alot of us oso 1st time mummy.. haa.. mine is only 70% confimr boy.. so oso need to wiat till 20 weeks detail scan den can confirm.. haa..

No worries la.. All the wait is worth it de... =D

Tan, don think too much... Come in here see see post post.. If physically allow, it's good to do some workouts like prenatal yoga or go for a swim.. It helps you to relax..

Claire, Vanilla, it helps if u do up a shopping list... Somethings can even wait till BB is out den buy.. Hee! I din start buying for my #1 until I was much bigger.. Now #2 I never even go think wat I need to buy... :p

Joeey, I've got craving for beef noodle and steamboat lor! Heee! But I don dare to take too muh.. Like very fattening...

hi all..
joeey: my fav is also the double cheeseburger! super love! but need to control, else my gynae will nag at me again..

re oscar: tink my test went ok, i dun have the numbers yet, but i called up the clinic and the nurse told me that my results are ok.. YAY!!!
mommies gg for further test... i pray for the best for you and your bb...

tan: take care.. bb dust to u!!

re buying stuff: i've started buying!! haha... thou my friends say dun buy so much, take old stuffs from friends.. bb will be more good (guai1) and grow up fast.. so nw, i'm trying to ask my friends to pass me their old newborn clothes... daddy also couldnt stop buying stuffs for his princess.. haha..

re: cheeseburger....
My fav food since preggy... i m going to have this for dinner... so happy...

re: buying stuff...
I m also first time mom... dun know gender yet... but i already bought a playpen and car seat!! hahaha damn bo liao rite... got scolded by my colleagues cos i always thot in order for mi to bring my bb home from hospital i need a car seat!! but now ppl tell mi can carry bb in arms ...Fainted!! stupid rite?

Now i already lost dun know wat to buy next... but i m stopping myself from buying clothes cos bb grow up fast... so will ask around see any1 got second hand stuff to pass to mi.. hahah
Spend alot on doc fees liao.. so need to save save ... ahah

Sigh I'm still in office..

Re:cravings
I so feel like eating frog leg porridge now but my hubby forbids me too coz duno if toxic not...hmm can we eat frog legs now?

tute

Thanks for the info...I hope to have a VBAC this time and hopefully the bill will be cheaper for natural...I gave birth #1 at Glen E under c-sect due to breech

Crystalline
oh izit?? then I got to find out about the PV thing...

Sunflower,
IS it Dr Ananda at Camden Medical??? I have seen him for #1 and he really talks alot of unrelated stuff during the scan...

Cheeseburger.. Making me drool.. I love macs! But control, cannot eat too much unhealthy food! Maybe I'll buy cheeseburger meal for dinner later. Yummy!!

Today my colleague said my tummy quite small for 19weeks. I thought my tummy size looks pretty big. Didn't know it's considered small.. Oh well, as long as bb is growing well it's fine ba.. Maybe I smaller size so tummy not as big as others.

Piggywiggy: I dunno leh. My gynae says wanna see me so I just see lor. Anyway he'll be going holiday so better see him before he leaves. I gotta wait till January next year for my next gynae visit after my detailed scan next week.

Hiya all!
Today hving vry bad heartburn, just resorted to eno ginger flavour... Yuck! Hope all the gas will be released before I sleep tonight...
Been hving cramps ard the region along belly button n below, is it braxton hicks?
Still not sleeping well, tossing n turning uncomfortably cos feel heavy ard chest whichever way I turn. Not sure it's due to heartburn or breast getting heavier...?
I've been finding out more n more pple ard me r hving a bb next year too, n theres a handful still trying by ivf or otherwise. I really wish them alot of luck cos they r frens who hv been married for a long time now.
Yes, when shld I sign up for antenatal classes?

Hello mommies.. i really envy u guys who can eat double cheeseburger! i can't! i ate something wrong for lunch and felt really bad for the rest of the day. very nauseated and have a weird taste in my mouth.. now even water tastes funny to me!! won't ever go back there to eat again.

Micteo, Chocteddy, nopes Braxton Hicks are not painful, well at least not at this stage. ur tummy hardens when u have BH.. for me, becos of my lax ligaments, when uterus contracts, it stretches or contracts my ligaments hence i feel sore. that's just me. if u dun find ur tummy hardening, then that's not BH.. more likely to be round ligament pain.

Esther, i m still coughing badly.. woke up last night again.. sigh.. pretty exhausted.. every morning i overslp! luckily traffic on the road is so much lighter during the hols so i get to work on time or even earlier.

Dolcevita, gd luck! hope everything is ok!

Sunflower, u haven't gone for ur amnio?

Lyn, u should put ur baby in the carseat ALL the time.. helps u in the long run if u practise consistency. i put my 3 days old infant in the carseat when i brought my son home..
though ur hb might be driving carefully, there are always idiots on the road that put our lives at risk.

Re: antenatal class
i would recommend u guys to start abt 25 - 27 wks at the earliest.. only 6 lessons so most of us won't pop during the course. TMC one is the best, esp Mrs Wong's class. u guys shd call up and check cos her classes are ALWAYS full. i think the late Jan intake is opened already. so call and book! think only 20 couples per class.

Went for checkup earlier today and gynae said 90% bb girl ! Initially baby was not cooperating and crossed her legs but gynae disturbed her and push2 a bit, finally she opened up her legs, can't see any birdie so should be a girl - but off course final confirmation next month during detail scan... I'm quite happy knowing the gender - and also relief it's a girl coz my son wanted to have a mei2
For us did not really matter much between boy or girl but now need to do more shopping since we cannot reuse my #1 clothings :p

piggywiggy/crystalline,
no choice i think yeah, preg recovery longer... me also waking up at night.. today much better though coz i can talk - yesterday lost my voice till i had to cancel all my conference calls.

Re:antenatal class,
Agreed with what the mummies here say... go for TMC one, and must specify to go for Mrs. Wong class... when i went for this it was still in TMC, but i think now change to AMK.

Dolcevita/Sunflower,
Good luck with amnio test! Hope all is ok...

re:shopping list,
if you go to any shopping center/baby store, they will usually have a list for you to refer to... that helps quite a bit for you to narrow down what you need to buy...

re:gathering,
maybe we can have one early/mid feb - once the festive season is out of the way

DolceVita,
Where will u be doing ur amnio? Mine's at KK.. All the best to ur amnio test

Piggy, nope they schedule me on 13 Dec wor... So i patiently wait while deciding to go for it anot haha. Eventually decided to go for it lah, to have a peace of mind..

Merydith, ya Dr Ananda is at Camden... Agree he really talks alot of rubbish! Keep saying why must go do ivf, its agst nature.. Hes also agst doing amnio test coz its introducing foreign body into the placenta... Then talk abt how men should keep their mouths shut when their wives nag etc... Piangz cant tahan... I'm scheduled to go for another scan at his clinic but doubt i will go lor....

Fifi, hope u're feeling better nw. Why suddenly diarrhoea and vomit? I had that last fri... Up til now still having LS... if still like that by sat, i'm going to see doc liao.... Not good for bb...

Went to gynae today. Is a boy again. Good thing is I dun need to buy anything since I already have a boy. Bad thing is I wanted a gal! But never mind. I've decided to stop at 2.

Oscar> dun worry too much if u result turned out bad. For my #1, my result turned out 1:150. Did amnio and everything was fine. Had a false alarm n no sleep for 3 days. Opted for fast results too to get my peace of mind earlier

Good morning.... all MTBs

Haiz... still having spotting at this stage.. quite worrying....
the weather didn't make my mood earlier...

Heard of depression even before you deliver???? I'm suspecting i'm getting it..

Morning mommies

wa so many talking abt cheeseburger, i think i wanna eat, but step into MacD's and i will be running out, the SMELL!!!

Michelle:eek:n the hindsight, dun need to buy much new clothes for #2
and #1 will have someone to rough and tumble.the $$ can be used for other things...like yourself?hehehe, did u have any 6th sense whether it was boy or girl?my #1's a boy, my 6th sense tells me #2 is boy too,hoho, can only tell on detailed scan

piggy:HUGS!!!usually sick preggies take longer to recover, make sure u drink fluids, if water taste funny, try warm water +honey + lemon?so when is your detailed scan and where? u wann boy or girl? ;)Anyway your #1 does spifty craftwork!

Sunflower,

Im doing it at my gynae clinic itself.
Really hoping and praying everything will be fine.
If they have express service to know the results, i want that too, cos its really worrying and stressful period now waiting....

Good luck to us =)

Morning ladies!!!! Have mia for a long time. Plain lazy & tired to on my pc after work.
Hope that all of you are doing fine! Have you booked your cl???? Cl is going to be in huge demand next year. Better to her booked if you havent done so.

Sunflower, DolceVita> Im doing my amnio next friday. Currently do you have sufficient fluid? 2 weeks ago when I was at my gyne, the fluid was kinda low. Yesterday, I had to come up with excuses to go see my gyne cos I want her to scan to see if I have enough fluid aldy. Still kinda on the low side but should not be a problem. Hopefully by next Friday, there are sufficent fluis. But one thing my gyne was concern about was the position of the placenta. It seems to be on the top so I dont know how is the doc going to poke that thick needle thru. *scared!*

DolceVita> You can ask your clinic on the express service. You will know of the result within 3 days of the test & the detailed report will be out after 2 weeks. Got to top up for that express result. I think it is called as FISH. I opt for that too! Pay abit more for lesser sleepless nights.

Esther> I tot would be a gal. But at 12 wks dr say likely a boy. Yesterday she confirmed it again. Haha so I guess fated to be a boy. Ya can spend more money on myself sine practically don't have much things I need to buy :p

Esther, just rem: u going to NUH for ur detailed scan on 28th? Me too!!! What time is ur appt? May be can meet up! Mine is at 11.15am.

I wanna post more but using my phone plus super busy. Talk to u gals later!

Hb brought my iPad out yesterday and felt so handicapped, didn't even surf the forum!

Fifi,
Hope you are better now. Yeah I agree second baby will normally come faster, this time round I think I will admit slightly earlier cos if I give birth in my hb's car, he will kill me lol!

merydith,
Yeah P1 registration is THAT stressful. During balloting, when we see those parents who have gone through the 40hours PV work but yet balloted out, really feel sad for them but that's life... But those top pri schs, registration for PV should be done when your kid is 3 years old. For popular schools, around 4 years old. Anything later than that, hardly any chance to be a PV cos each school only take in a few dozens of PV every year. Hope this helps.

Star,
I realize most mummies will end up with 2 kids of the same gender, different genders usually more rare. While hb and I feel happy about haing another girl, I do feel a little bad towards my MIL. She has 2 sons and wanted a daughter for #2, and was so desperate that she dressed my hb in girl's clothing when he was young haha! I think older generation has the 传宗接代 mentality so die die want a boy. But she did say we should just stop at two and she sayang my girl like crazy. I think in current society girls will be more loving towards parents so boy or girl is the same. Moreover I have the same surname as my hubby so all our family members have the same surname, except my MiL haha...

piggywiggy, thanks for the advice on antenatal classes. Any particular reason why you would recommend to take the class between the 25th and 27th week?

I've checked Mrs Wong's class schedule and it seems there isn't a class scheduled around my 25-27th week. The closest would be during my 23rd week or the next class would start in my 30th week. Would that be a little too late for me?

yumii,
I would suggest you go during your 23rd week, I started around that time for my #1 too. Cos if you start in 30th week, and there are any disruptions, like you miss a class and going for makeup, then can drag into 36-37th week. Some mummies give birth as early as 37th week so don't think you wanna risk right? Anyway I remember during my last few weeks of pregnancy, didn't feel like going out cos having finding it tiring to walk around so think its better to have more rest at home ya.

piggy:GREAT!!! we can meet!!
mine is at 11.40@NUH!YAYYY!see u then
i'll know also whether m/f then cos so far, baby v secretive.

taling about P1 registration, even kindergartens and daycare also must queue. i queued up for 1 yr at Pat's schoolhouse@Lim ah pin road, still no space,gave me place at their new location at kovan, but i decided to switch to Cambridge @boundary rd.my #1 born in yr of tiger queue 1 yr. so those born in yr of dragon must queue 1.5-2 yrs?!!siao

sunflower/ dolcevita/chloe: keep us posted about your amnio test,hugs!whatever your religion is, just pray for yourself and baby.cos it's indeed a very stressful waiting time!

Afternoon mummies,

Finally, i booked my tickets to HONG KONG!! haa... But i'll be going over to Macau and stay at my friend's place.. I'll be going on the 28 Feb - 06 Mar.. haa.. SONG lA!! guess this is will be the last trip with just the 2 of us.. haa.. after may it will be 3 of us.. haa.. =P

So excited!! haa...

Re: Future Dragons babies schooling,
wah lao... so jia lat la.. Next time wanna go normal school oos muz wait liao la.. faint la...

esther,
my son goes to Pats@LAP Road. I did not have to queue up because he had join their Sat programme "d'Story Book Club" for a year prior to that. They will give priority to the students in the Sat classes - I got that tip from my friends :p

tute: oic!aiya, too late.but nvm, i enrolled him @ cambridge adey cos like the reviews and the lady supervisor

what is the age range for their sat story book club?

Hi ladies, with so many sale happening now, are you planning on buying stuff for baby? Or issit a bit too early?

Esp for first time mummies, those milk bottles, sterlizer, breast pumps etc.. when are you planning to buy them?

Ayana, haa.. i have the smae doubts la.. haa., i oso 1st time dunno when need to buy and wat are the nessesary stuffs to buy.. I dun wan spent so much and then when bb arrive some things nv get to us...

But i thk breast pump i'll get jus 2 months before edd.. haa.. Same goes for stroller and car seats..

Haa.. I dream tat i gave birth liao la.. this monring.. haa.. The feeling is like so amazing and i was bf my bb.. haa... made me really looking forward to carry and hug him in my arms.. =D

Anyway, mummies is ur bb active? Able to feel him or her moving and kicking? I seldom felt my bb moving leh.. =( Which made me worried if he is ok...

tute:eek:oo, is it good?encourage reading in kids?

Ayana:for #1 i bought the essentials like steriliser and milk bottles from Philips sale quite early.the rest i bought as and when i see have sale.

VaniLLa: yeah i can feel bb quicking and moving , especially at lying down position, but different baby is different
don't worry

esther_I

i went back again to see my gynea after noticing spotting again this am. awaiting result.. haiz...

Really no mood to buy anything yet.

But will take note of good bargains....mummies shared here.

maybe should planned for a holiday like vanilla?
I'm also talking about vacation but HK$ exchange rate is so low now...

<font color="ff0000">First time mummies can wait for 20% or more storewide discount at John Little, OG or Metro and stock up on baby supplies. The most worth it I find is the Metro yearly 30% storewide in March, one day only and you either must have the member'/s card or the cut out coupon from the mail booklet to enter. But the crowd and cashier Qs are really crazy hehe.
If not John Little members sales with additional cash off coupons and 20% storewide also worth going.
If you have Takashimaya cards, go during the baby fair in March next year, a lot of good buys too, especially car seats and strollers. Otherwise can also check out those baby fairs, sometimes can get good buys.
Just dont buy at the normal listed prices will do. ;)</font>

Hi ladies, i very long never post liao, although been religously following the thread. very therapeutic.

it's beginning of week 19 for me and next sat i'll be going for my detailed scan. very excited. probably will confirm gender then. i'm kinda hoping my gynae's "maybe girl?" will turn into a boy! although it's my first baby and either gender shouldnt matter, but if boy, then pressure from in-laws will be greatly reduced! see how la.

regarding pre-natal classes, i've already signed up for Wong Boi Boi's Sunday late morning classes starting from Jan 29. anyone going to be in the same class?

Thanks Esther &amp; Vanilla for yr feedback =)

I can feel some movement, not very very often but now and then, can feel something popping.

As for holiday, I am different leh. I dun feel like gg anywhere at all! lol.. Even shopping, I will make it a quick one and then hop on the train to go home. Like the other day, I went to the Robinsons sale, got my bedsheets, paid and off I go. Didn't even shop around.

Tan, hope your spotting stops...