(2012/04) Apr 2012

Haru
after u pump still got blocked duct? when u pump u should feel the let down feeling then it will help u clear those blocked.
Bcoz after pump and u latch, ur body will think not enough milk so it keep on increasing the amt. Once latch on, delay an hour more in between the next pump or feed.

Desperatemum - try cabbage method, my fren also told me it work. Everyday she is like an alarm, asking for milk every 3h. Even throughout the night. Aftr drinking, thought I can go back to sleep, she cries again. Hope she can sleep through the night.

I try to increase the milk from 3 to 4oz but she will still asked for milk every 3h. So now I keep to 3oz just in case I don't have enough supply for her. How to let her sleep through the night and lengthen the duration per feed?

Reborn
Thanks so much for ur advice, I will try it then. Btw when you give your boy ebm during day time you give on demand or have a feeding schedule? Cos my girl ask for milk every hour but latch on the most 10 mins, shld I lengthen to 2 hr interval? Also every time she latch for more than 10 mins she will vomit out whole thing, thru mouth and nose, look vet ke lian. I only fed her Ridwind, haven't fed Grip water since not 1 month yet.

Currently I drank 2 L of red dates water daily, you mean I should cut to 1.5 like that?

Baby dragon
Thanks for your advice. I did use cabbage on the breast and nipples. Does help with the pain but not the flow. My supply still the same after 2 hours of putting them on for twice a day.

Now dare not sleep. Up to pump faithfully to prevent further blocked ducts. So even my girl sleep thru I still hv to wake up. Sian...dont know when can skip the night pumps.

Lotusmum- I had the same problems when using the Medela shields with my #1.. Then I switched to using pumpin' pals flanges.. Works wonders.. Free up my hands to play with phone while expressing.... And it's really comfy.. Maybe you wanna try it..

I'm new here. Though not new to motherhood.. Just had my second one 3 weeks ago...:)
. Just joined the forum... Need to ask a really silly question..
Those mummies expressing milk, do you all religiously wash and sterilize your pump parts every single time you pump? I have been doing that for my first girl, and now for the second one I get really really lazy, especially the middle of the night pumps.. So in the night I will just rinse and use back again... Any advice on this?? :D

desperatemum, i think you should continue feeding on demand. Take the cue from baby. On some days i latch on every hour too. Have you tried burping baby in between feeds? Or feed her while she is half seated on your lap? The nurse taught me that. It prevents reflux as the milk will ease down her stomach easily. But sounds like you girl has lots of wind.

I am planning to breastfeed till 6 months old or max 1 year. I am not for long term breastfeeding cos i find it stressful to watch my diet and abstain from this and that. When i am really busy, i don't eat well at all or even skip meals. So i want baby to learn to use bottle and drink formula. If i don't start early, it will be tough to intro later on. I am trying to feed once a day.

reborn, i guess i forgot every baby is different. My girl is not fussy type and feeds very well. But my boy is totally opposite. Haha

Lee xuefen, i am like you too! Lol!! For #1 i would soap, scrub, wash and sterilise everything after every feed or pumping session. But for #2 i just wash with baby bottle detergent and rinse with boiling water..once a day. Haha.. I guess it's ok.

Lovexuan- haha!! Guess we all get a little lazy at times... Especially the night.. Super sleepy.. Just going through the motions washing the bottles man.. Sianz.. Thanks!! How old are your two precious? :)

desperatemum
can try reduce to 1.5litre or lesser.
at bith my boy need to burp him every 10ml he drink, now every 50ml. When feeding bottle, hold ur bb at least 30 degree prevents reflux. I dunno if ur bb same as mine anot. Some bb need to keep on burp when feeding. My bb also just started on the gripwater last week, help him fart alot esp when he wants to poo...
Pls feed on demand, never control bb diet now. Is not good for their foundation grow!

Lee xuefen patricia
This my #4, i still do all the sterilize according. The nurse told me once, child before 1 years old must sterilize every thing coz they easy to fall sick or get those nasty illness.

nursing dress
anyone know where can get nice local nursing dress? Need it asap, got wedding dinner to attend,, haiz

morning mommies!
can i ask how do i bring out sterilized pump parts and bottle? hubby is going back to work next week and I will need to bring #1 to her classes/ activities. thinking of leaving baby at mom's place so its more manageable for me so i think i will need to pump while outside.

i keep forgetting to get e gripe water! but i found laying baby on his tummy (lay him on me) helps him fart a lot too!

i also sterilize until i stopped expressing which is more than a year! it is very lei chey, i even bot a microwave sterilizer to keep in office. easier, morning reach office just pop the stuff in the microwave.

Hi reborn, have you tried Mothers en vogue @ centre point? They also have the online shop but some designs not available online.. Found their clothes the most presentable so far..

Haru- ya I know it's important to sterilize... In fact most of the time I do.. Just the night when I'm really sleepy. Haha.. The washing and sterilizing is more exhausting than the pumping and feeding.. Lol..

Patsie
Thanks for the advice, yes, I'm using the medela shields, I have bought all sizes to try and now using the size xxl to prevent further injury to the nipples. What size did you get for the pumping pal flannel? Don't know if the xl is of the same size as medela..

Reborn
Try modern maternity in harbourfront, they have mother and child sets.. Very pretty.. I bought 3 sets during chinese new year..

Sterilizing milk bottles
Hi mummies, when u sterilize the milk bottles, they will be v hot right? Do u use the milk bottles immediately or wait for them to cool down first? Generally I ll sterilize 30min b4 use and wait for them to cool down first. However, sometimes during night time, its really tiring to wake up 30min b4 use n wait for the process to be complete.

If we sterilize say 1-2h b4 use, will the bacteria get to the bottles while waiting for it to cool down?

Thanks reborn and lovexuan.
I thought after no 1 i got lots of experience in breastfeeding alrdy but this time 2 episode of fever makes me lose all confidence. Also my no 1 is 5 yo, i realize i forget mny things.

Reborn,
If after i latch bb for abt 10 mins, its time for me to pump ie 4 hours from the last pump but i find my breasts not so hard after she latch, no engorged, should i still cntinue to pump to empty the breast or wait for another 4 hr then pump, since bb has sort of taking the milk out and i dun want to send signal to body to produce more?

Lovexuan, i agree. Last time i bf till 2 yo. Go holiday also need to bring pump, troublesome. Last time i nv try to adjust the flow, everytime pump out 300 ml until 1 yr, so tiring yet bb nv drink finish and i become so thin. So thought of adjusting the flow this round but guess try too early and kenna fever twice...Still need to learn more from experienced mummies. I found the nursing hotline not very helpful.

Blessmum,
I thought can just sterilise one time and use for whole day?
I even sterilise the nite before and only use in the morning ok le. Bateria got in so fast within few hrs meh ;)
I think our mother times just use boiling water to clean also no prob, no need to stress ourselve too much, just my thought...

any mommies have a rash on ur boobs when u use breast pads? i hate wearing breast pads coz it makes my boobs itchy so i have resorted to going w/o it when gg out and just tuck a handkerchief in other bra cup when feeding. can't even be bothered when nipples show through my clothes now . so much more comfy w/o it! thank God hubby doesn't mind my nipples showing!! haha..(and I have really big nipples).

Haru
Me too.. I hate to wear breast pad.. Very hot.. So I wear bra with very thin padding from mark and spencer..so far, leaking is only at night co's not wearing bra.. heee..

are all mummies having problem of over supply of milk now? mine still under leh.

any foods that can naturally increase milk supply? other than fish? and other than fenugrek etc kind of herbs.

I read the manual of my steriliser. After u sterilised, so long u dun open the lid, it will still stay clean for 6hrs.
For me, i will srerilised beforehand n after cool dwn i removed bottles from it n assembled everything together. I dun leave outside to dry as bacteria will invade

Lotusmum, I'm using the L for the flanges, but they have te size chart.. You should go check it out first.. Too small will injure the nipples but too big will also not form a proper seal aroud the breast when pumping..:)

desperatemum
after baby latch on and if is the 4hr reach to pump, delay at least an hour.
If everytime u pump about 20min, try cut down to 15min. I remember there is one veggi they call "ku chye" in hokkien, will decease the milk supply naturelly also. can try...

Blessmum
Normally after sterilise, I will keep it inside the fridge. bacteric grow at room or hot temperature but not inside the fridge that's why we keep meat and veggi inside.. haha!
I got 2 fridge, one for drinks only so i keep there.

haru
maybe try other brand of breast pad? once wet change new one. Me too at home using handerchief, somemore is more easy to get... haha. sometime so forgetful still ask my kids where is my handerchief? did u see it? But is actually on my breast...

hi mummies, im from the july thread. any of u mummies on confinement tingkat? can share the food portion? photos? i need reviews b4 i confirm mine in july. TIA! can pm me=) btw ive gt a BP running, those wan get bb stuffs can go see see also.

Reborn : mothersenvogue has nice selection. Le blooming chic @ marina sq not bad for maternity but not so sure about nursing wear selection cos last time went there when pregnant. Maternalove quite nice design but all jersey material so may be more casual

C&C's mummy, yes! I hardly even have the time to eat, bathe or go toilet let alone sterilise after each use! Imo not too good to be too clean too. But i have stopped pumping and my baby rejected bottle. So i just latch on, nothing to sterilse anymore! Yay! But planning to try giving bottle again...it's a battle! I have a 5 years old girl and a 6 weeks old boy! How about you?

desperatemum, jiayou! Breastfeeding journey is never easy. It's tougher for me this time round and i am still trying to get the hang of it. No moral support though.
My mum is urging me to stop..

haru, i hate breast pads too! Stopped using since 2nd week of confinement. It gave me super itchy rashes that left scars! Had to go braless at home for almost a month before the rash finally went away. Now i use avent or mothercare washable breast pads when i go out and use baby cotton(not terry) hankies at home. I love avent washable breast pads! So pretty and comfy.

Lovexuan- I had the same problem with my first girl who's 2 now.. Initial weeks we tried bottle and latching and she rejected the bottle, so I thoight it's ok to just latch.. Then when it came to her third month and I was about to go back to work, she had problems weaning. I had to literally leave the house so that she wouldn't see me.. She went on a "strike" and didn't drink for 24 whole hours. My hubby had to force feed her.
This time round we're scared already. Start bottle since return from hospital. Lol.. And anyway my boy bites, su it's very painful. Haha.. My boy is coming 4 weeks soon,.. I still can't believe how tiring it is.. Second time round it seems even worse, with a toddler in tow... Sigh...

Love xuan- really? The avent pads are good ah? Have never tried anything other than pigeon.. Hmm.. And using hankies at home seems a good idea.. Should try that tomorrow.. But what happens if there's a letdown halfway between the pumps? It will wet the clothes...

lovexuan,
we have very similar problem haha. i'm too have no moral support, hubby, MIL all dont provide support cos SIL kid grow up on fomula all fine. they also dont understand the oversupply pain cos nv experience it, say i fever cos i too weak
btw, my no 1 is 5 yo this year too. my MIL always say she is skinny since birth bcos on total BF and my milk no nutritions and try to feed her all sort of weird medication without me knowing, very scary...but when i give in and give fomula when she was 7 months, also didn't gain much weight hehe

breast pads i'm using pigeon and tollyjoy, have occasionally rash sometimes but i would apply rash cream immediately, i not so patient. i can't go braless cos milk will leak out all the time will be super sticky le, also from my no 1 experience if dont wear bra the breasts will have no support and out of shape so i trying to minimize further damage (although already very much damaged the first round haha). so now i wear bra day and nite, must admit not comfy at all. i tried medela washable pads but found it not comfy somemore got to wash all the times le. i dun have help so imagine got to wash breast pads or hankies daily then my limited time to sleep will be even shorter...

lovexuan,
avent washable pads good?

C&C mummy, i also feel it's so tough this second time round. My girl is very neglected and i feel so bad. My boy did not learn how to latch on until 3 weeks plus. It was soooooo painful cos i was very engorged and he was sucking on the nipple only so could not empty the breasts. Sore, cracked, bleeding and excruciating pain during latch on. Almost gave up. Even now i am still having soreness. He also bites! And pulls, clamps, scratches and pinches me too. Arghh.. Jiayou! We will soon get used to all these "torture". Haha

Yup, the avent washable breast pads with lace. It's non-slip and very absorbent. Haha.. I can anticipate my let downs. Cos they are painful. So i will quickly reach for the hankies. If not just change clothes. I don't care! Comfy and cooling more inportant! Even when i wear bra, i still got to change bra and clothes and wipe myself at least 3 times a day cos my boy will latch and unlatch all the time. Milk spills everywhere! Even on his face and clothes. Omg. Getting used to the stickiness... :p

desperatemum, we are really on the same boat. Haha.. Nobody knows what's oversupply and the pain that comes with it and trying to say it's my fault cos i chose to breastfeed. Then must endure lor! And it's not true that not eating fish means i have poor quality milk! Our bodies will make milk making top priority and draw from our reserves when we did not eat well. So no such thing as lousy milk! Hur! We eat better food to enhance the milk only.. You know my hubby is like quite scared to help out cos my boy doesn't like him now. So he everyday out at 6am and back at 1am. I am super lonely... Very stressed!

Ya, now i started to wear bra during the day for support. Cos i already have saggy breasts after i stopped breastfeeding #1. i bought quite a lot of washable pads and dump it into the net and just wash using washing machine cos no time!! Waste electricity. But i need it everyday, no choice! Yup, my favourite is the avent breast pads. Mothercare is thinner but it's waterproof! Yesterday i saw moomookow brand. Think i's also not bad. Going to buy to try. Hope there are lots of sales this GSS!

But medela soooo ex yet not nice to wear?!!

I also bought medela disposable breast milk storage containers and i find it so lousy. I used the pump for my #1 but it didn't work cos a bit small for me. Maybe only the lanolin cream is good for me. Lol!

C&C mummy,
i like event washable pads too, very soft. only thing is that if your breasts leaks a lot it will soak thru..its def more comfy!

lovexuan,
even tho my engorgement seems to stop, i still smell like milk all over all day. like u said, baby pulls away etc coz milk to spray everywhere.. so weird, now my breasts dun feel engorged so much i have mixed feelings coz no need to pump so often but at the same time scared ss dip drastically so i actually woke up at 4am to pump last night even tho breasts didn't feel full.

i also feel bad towards my #1.. now i try to send her to the school bus, pick her up and i still send her to all her activities to spend as much time with her possible. feel like we are not as close, sob sob...

does the washable one drop out easily when you use it for gg out? so far my fav nursing bra is medela, damn comfy except that its a clip rather than a clasp for e cup, so can be tricky to put back after nursing.

haru, yes i agree. If there's a bad engorgement with leaky breasts, avent will not be advisable cos got to change every hour. If not it's super comfy for normal days. So far it's good, never drop out or go out of place before. And my favourite nursing bra is mothercare's! Where to get medela's? Nevet seen before yet.

Hahaha! I think that's also the reason why our babies stick to us? We smell like milk. My girl used to smell me and say hmmm...smells like my mummy. But now she goes hmmm...smells like didi's milk. Lol! I have also lost that engorged feeling as long as i am latching on regularly and i did what you did, pump out! But i realised the supply is the same. Our bodies adjusted to breastfeeding i guess.

How i wish i can split myself into two or grow more arms! I don't eat my meals with my girl anymore and she doesn't tell me as much stuff as in the past. She is just occupied with her own work. She even looks for daddy! Something she never did before during the past 4 years plus of her life! So i bought an ergo carrier to nurse and carry baby around the house so i can still do things with her like read books or play lego. So sad. Sometimes i even feel like i lost that feeling for her as i feel my bond with the baby seems stronger now. The moment he goes eh, no need to even cry, my milk flows out and i will leave my girl to tend to him. Is it normal?

Hi mummies, thank u so much for ur valuable advice on sterilizing of milk bottles. Since my no 1, with b4 every pump, I ll either sterilize or use hot water to kill all germs n bacteria. Now I know only need to sterilize 1 - 2 x a day, its such a relief for me!

Lovexuan:

I experience the same situation with my 4 yo boy too! He used to be my 1 n only love and if possible, I will bring him out once a week on weekdays to enjoy himself i.e. high tea, shopping etc. However, all these benefits have been taken away since bb bro is borned. I ll also leave him to attend to bb whenever bb cries or needs attn. As a result, he tends to b v jealous n do very silly or notti actions which he nv did b4. I guess its a passing phase. At times, I have to resort to scoldin or caning cos its too rude or harmful. i.e. he ll pinch bb legs and recently, during my massage session, he said he 12 stay with me n promised to b gd. The massage lady at first is quite happy to have him, but after a while, he started to use pencils n pens to poke her! So embarrassing! My hubby say its a phase they need to adjust n grow up to be mature elder siblings. Heartpain too! He can be v sweet at times i,e. yest nite, he told me, "if u need to wake up in middle of nite to pump milk, wake me up n i ll accompany u."
I think when bb grows up n things have more or less stabilized, muz make up to the elder child.

Lovexuan
Hug hug. Your hubby back so late? Mine back at 8pm but will watch tv or continue working w his pc, and left me struggle w bb so I feel lonely even w his presence. If I have a boy like u I am sure he will be much more attentive.

Btw can I know how much is the mother care nursing bra?

Haru,
I also felt quite guilty to my elder girl. She dotted on the bb but no matter how many times I repeat, sometimes she will pull bb hand n leg or touch bb when her hands dirty. Sometimes I lose patience and scold her for that I think she quite upset but I can't control myself cos alrdy tired. Then sometimes she will seek my attn by not eating well or rEfuse to brush teeth which normally I will do w her b4 bb came. I think I neglected her a lot n daddy don't know what to do w her just turn on tv for her to watch also. Haiz, ya wish we could split into few bodies ...that's why I admired mummies w 2 kids and more. Reborn, you are our hero

blessed, hugs to you! Totally understand how tough it is. My girl is totally opposite though. She is now more well behaved and always helps me around the house. Yet i still scold her over things like forgetting to wash hands after school before touching baby or brushing her teeth too quickly. She is trying so hard to please me so that i will still love her now that i have #2. sometimes i caught her crying softly to herself and she will ask me if i still love her. The teacher told be she may be bottling up her feelings so we must remember to shower her with extra attention. I miss those times whereby the two of us will go out together and queue up to watch barney shows, play at indoor playgrounds, rest and relax with a cup of hot chocolate at restaurants etc.. Just like you. Sometimes i even cry at night when i watch her sleep. Cos i can forget to cut her nails and no time to tie pretty plaits for her when she requests. We no longer hug to sleep at night! She will also tell me in the morning that i forgot to give goodnight kiss. Her health also suffered as i no longer have time to whip up healthy dishes or bring her outdoors to play. Instead i gave in to requests for ice cream and chocolates which she seldom ate in the past. My life is all about baby now! Yup, i hope when she grows up she will understand and be a good big sister. Hope this baby phase quickly pass...

desperatemum, my hubby is in service line. Sometimes even no off days. Only off once every 2 weeks. But he still helps me with all the housechores. If not i think i want to run away from home already. Haha.. Most guys just don't kbow what to do with kids. Instead my hubby dotes more on my girl. He doesn't even want to carry my boy.
Jiayou together!!! Everyday i tell myself today will be a better day! Instead of cooping up at home. I bring the kids out almost everyday.

I bought it for $49 i think. They call it sleep bra. It's like a padded t-shirt bra. Very comfy.

lovexuan,
everything you mentioned sounds just like my situation!!! my girl is super sticky to her papa now..altho i can tell she is pretty happy when i let grandma look after didi for a while so that i can send her to the school bus. i used to eat, and do so much w her. and like you the moment baby cries or i know he's going to cry my milk starts to leak!! hubby says its sooo weird!

anyway, hubby and i plan to bring her out w/o baby even if its just for an hour or so during her school holidays. but she is so sweet, she says she wants didi to come along..aww...she really has a tender heart...i also hate it when i have to scold her..sigh..like u said, hope this phase will pass soon so that we can spend as much time with both kids! but then we will complain that we miss e baby phase!hahah..

mommies,
do you have a hard time making baby sleep now? this week i find that it can take a long time to make bb sleep. even tho he has yawned so many times, no matter how long i carry, pat, etc he just refuses to sleep and keeps "struggling"..aiyo...but good thing is that he can sleep for quite a long time at night and in the afternoon. now he is awake for at least 2-3 hours in the morning.

Lovexuan, haru
Same same, felt very bad after scolding my no.1..at times I'm thinking if I'm having too high expectation for her.. She is 2yr old and when I'm expressing, she will always ask if I'm done, and she will quietly walk out of her room and bring me the lanolin..I know that with didi around, she is often neglected, have been trying to give her as much attention as possible.. Hate to use the tv to babysit her but at times really can't help it..

Oh dear.. Everyone seems to have a lot of problems with the elder one.. Just like all of you, my elder girl who's two now is not all out for my attention.. And I guess that makes it even more heart wrenching. She used to be so sticky to me that I sometimes wished she would just go stick to someone else.. Now she doesn't stick as much to me, and instead I wished she would be more dependent on me..

There is no lack of people helping me to take care of her.. And it kills me to see that she is now more comfortable with these people (I know.. I'm contradicting myself..) sob!!!
She is so sensible at times, but other times can drive me up the wall with her weir requests... Sigh..
Anyway, took your advice and used hanky after shower in place of breast pads today.. Definitely comfortable..:)

Kirsten- my boy is only 23 days old.. Not 5 weeks yet.. But each feed he's drinking about 120-140... Hope it helps.. How much is yours drinking?

haru and Lotusmum, your girls are so sweet! And they are only 2 years old? That's so cute! I am also guilty of using the tv to babysit my girl. She was only allowed tv once a week in the past, now she spends at least 3 hours watching nick jr on starhub everyday ever since i got preggy and was down with severe MS. Same channel everyday!! Just scolded her again today over minor things. Sigh. She was using a foil balloon to entertain didi while i cooked but i was afraid the stick might poke baby. But she did not even cry or het angry, she sat next to didi and pat him instead. Why do i keep scolding her!!

Looks like I am not the only one who feels guilt towards the elder child. There r things I used to do with her on a regular basis eg massages, watching her play with her toys etc which I no longer do. It was particularly bad in week I cos there was HFMD outbreak in her childcare and we did not know if she was infected. So I barely touched her for days. And whenever she came into my room, she got 'escorted' out very promptly. Behaved like she was a leper. This made my change in behavior towards her very drastic and she displays attention seeking behavior which we had never seen before. On my part, I still feel a lot of guilt and yes, sometimes cry when I watch her sleep. In the esrly days after the HFMD scare, she used to sob when i hugged her and i feel it is cos she was releasing her pent up anger and frustration at being neglected by me.Now that I am beginning to have more energy and am less sleep deprived, I am beginning to try to do more activities with her though it can never go back to what we used to do and I feel sad knowing that.

Kristen
My girl 4 weeks old when give ebm Only finish about 60 to 70ml

Lovexuan,
Totally understand, I kept scolding my girl over smallest thing also. But every nite she still kissed bb and said bb I love u. Guess we are too tired and stressed up...

Haru,
Same I have hard time putting bb to sleep. She dozes off while latching but tends to wake up a few times before falling asleep and when woke up her eyes wide open, hands legs all up like scared of sth.