(2012/04) Apr 2012

pinkbunny: yeah or like some "WARNING" word should start flashing on and off on our foreheads.

Could more discharge and frequent poo be an indication too? I'm only coming 36 weeks next Tues.
Sheesh.. can't wait to deliver, it's getting uncomfortable really.

pinkbunny: yes its me who works at alexandra! oh tiong bahru plaza, so near yet so far leh haha.. you stay near there? how much are they selling for one? weekends got open anot?

hahaha your poor hubby

haha that'd be so odd, imagine in outdoor places, you suddenly have a green nose or something! people would be staring!

at least better than my gynae, i keep telling him i'm worried cos i dont feel the early contraction pain one. but he just tell me to look out for show or water bag break then. faintz.

LittleDd: ya me too. i'm week 36 tmr. although cant wait, but hope bb stays in there at least until 2nd week of Apr. Cos dont want to waste my Gd Friday PH! And my cheeky hubby keeps saying he thinks bb will be out on my bday, which is next week. Think like that he can save on my bday present hahaha

I did widow tooth extraction at 33 weeks during no.1. My is easy case, just extraction, no surgery needed.

Pinkbunny, my HB was during no.1, he'll tell me he is feeling nausea/giddy or craving for whatever food while I got nothing of that sort!!!

MEinMe: was it you who booked Hui Ling for the postnatal massage? When is your edd? I'm tempted to try her. Her rates are affordable.

LittleDd - frequent poo is an indication, never heard of that, yesterday I have poo 4 times, today twice already. Usually maybe once every 2 or 1 day.

Aiyo I popped like thrice today! And I'm still 0.5cm dilated only! Need to book appt to insert tablet at 6pm (earliest slot at Kkh!).. Hope all goes well!! >.<

Do any of u ladies experience more pain after putting in e tablet?

Cayden's mummy: huh insert tablet also need book appt? tot they shld just insert for you, if seeing your dilation is slow?

are you still feeling lots of pain now? or bearable?

lilcactus: next week is OK to pop since it's 37 weeks for you! my birthday is also in april, if i pop on exactly 38.5 weeks, my bb and i will share the same brthday while daddy's bday is a few days away and so is grandpa's. 4 people's birthday together. Hahaha!!!

lilcactus, tempted to try her but after speaking to her, I've changed my mind and I've "booked" a freelaner via my colleague's recommendation. If confirmed ceserean mid Apr, I'll start 1st week May.

LittleDd: wa! very happening month of Apr for your family every year ya hehe

MEinMe: can share why you changed your mind? She dont sound experienced?

LittleDd: my birthday also falls in April :D heehee! hubby n me also thinking don know BB will arrives 2weeks + early than EDD anot..

Aiyo Kkh rule, have to go down to the delivery suite to get the tablet inserted. What a weird rule!! Sum more 6pm is earliest appt lor..

Little_dd: my contractions are once every 2 mins.. Feels like v bad menses cramp and the worst is my backache. Haha!!

Lilcactus: still bearable! But getting slightly more painful. I so scared putting e tablet even worse

Back from my gynae check up and also done the GBS test.. Hope can pass it! .. Next appt 2 weeks time when i am in my 36week plus n Bb is doing well

Cayden's mummy - not sure if the tablet is like the drip given to me to induce. If it is, definitely it is very painful. Unbearable for me. Within minutes after the drip is inserted, I demanded for epidural. If u can endure, best is don't take, if can't then epi is really a good pain relief, give birth without any pain
super relax... Just that there are too many side effects, like vomitting, shivering, headache. They will ask you to sign a form to agree to all these side effects before injecting epi on you. To me, the pain at that moment has already prevented me to think properly, so I just take it. When you mind is still clear now, think carefully.

I did throw up after the entire delivery process when I was in the ward.. I thought it was the laughing gas.. was also induced using drip..my dilation stopped at 4cm after the epidural, hence induced but didn't work so poked water bag..

Lilcactus
Yup I stay around that area. The coconut jelly is very popular so I think got to see heng-sway one. Sometimes have, sometimes don’t have. Hehe ya TB is so near yet so far from Alexandra. But if you drive then maybe can pop by for lunch + coconut jelly :D it’s $2 each. Quite pricey (compared to normal coconut, which they sell only for 90 cents!) but sooooo yummy

littleDD
oh yes, flashing WARNING sign on our foreheads: Good one!!!! Wah so many birthdays in april! Huat ah!

Meinme
Haha what’s with our hubbies and their pseudo pregnancies!

Cayden’s mummy
Any updates after tablet? I got induced using the drip, not tablet, cos contractions were coming so darn slow. No news from you means pushing liao ah?
so exciting!!!

baby dragon
i had the shivering after giving birth. but not everyone gets it la

Pinkbunny: then the jelly coconut can buy n keep in fridge anot? Is it pre cut? Wa depends on heng suay ah. Hmm.. Was thinking to grab a cab there specially to buy it next week!

I m at 37 week. Just had dr appt today. Bb 2.95kg. But he didn't ask me count bb movement, but my friend in NUH, her dr ask her count for bb movement. So m I need to do that?

I am a silent reader and although my EDD is 3rd May, I think i will probably pop on End Apr instead of May, just like my #1.

Can i join in?

Lovexuan

If you gynae did do a scan and say it's fine then should be ok cos they can tell from the scan if there is too little water.

po2yue

My gynae also ask me to count bb movement everyday but I'm also at NUH

All this coconut talk is making me crave for it now :p

Pinkbunny - I had shivering immediately after the epi, it only subsided after birth, whole body shivering like a crazy person. Ya not everyone gets it.

Kayla - this is an open thread, anyone who wish to join to share experience/comments are welcome

Stephanie - my 1st pregnancy's gynae also never told me anything about counting baby's movement, only this time round at NUH. It is better to monitor as my friend (gynae at NUH) felt very few movement of the baby at 34weeks, end up went hospital, they have to deliver the baby otherwise got life danger. If it happens to me, I think baby sure gone, coz I didn know about this method, will be so blur thinking it is normal.

Dragon
Yes! Shivering like crazy! But only after baby came out. I felt sooooooo cold!

Kayla
Sure, welcome. Anyone can join!

Lilcactus
It's precut. Just have to use spoon to jammy it a bit then ahhhhh sweet coconut jelly awaits you

As we approach our last few weekends of preggieness, I'm sure many of you will want to cheong and do lots of stuff that you won't be able to do when baby arrives. But don't forget to REST ok? Cos that's also one thing that will take a backseat when baby comes!
have a nice weekend. And now, back to bed for me! Woohoo! Hub and #1 are out. Yay!

38 weeks and 2 days today! i really wonder when will i pop! haha... i can't wait! #1 arrived at 39 weeks, so will #2 choose to be earlier or later? i am beginning to feel lazy and very sleepy the whole day. i hope i am not sleeping too much! thinking of going out with my #1 for a walk at the mall nearby or something but the pelvic bone hurts so much that i need to sit down after walking for 10 minutes or so. i cannot even sit on sofa at home and laid on my side the whole day to take pressure off the pelvic bone!

gosh! mummies, am i getting too lazy? i should move around more if i want to have an easier labour right? 2 weeks ago i was still so active and going out every single day. even went to mothercare sales at habourfront all by myself while my girl was in school for that short 5 hours! lol

talking about early signs of labour. it was easy to tell when i had #1 cos it was painful regular contractions. but now that pinkbunny mentioned, it could be painless as well? haha..and probably even no contractions! no sure signs! this waiting game is wearing me out... beginning to become envious of friends who opted for elective c-sections. :p

ok, enough of rants. JIAYOU mummies! enjoy your weekends!

Hi Jellio: Can you share how you count BB movement? I try to note down every movement by writing the time but sometimes i forget then my timing is like some with a big gap. I think my gynae say not accurate like that. I am abit lost ley. I tot as long BB everyday got move ok ler..
I also worry lah.. because like today she only active around late noon.. whole morn is like very little movement.

lovexuan: My gynae did mention that sometimes real contraction can be painless... i was like ' huh' .. then how?? :p Because i keep getting Braxton hicks these days n is painless wor..

Ms Tan - what I was told is to count at least 10 moves from 9am to 6pm. If up till 6pm not even 10, call up gynae and ask. If you really can't feel any movement, try drinking some water or eating some food, baby still don't move, its time to be worried and should let gynae knows.

Lovexuan
SAME! Today I took two naps! But I justify it with “I’ve had a very very busy week” and “when #2 comes I so will not have time to nap anymore”. Hehe.

Ya man, when my gynae said “contractions need not be painful”, my jaw dropped. I did not know that! Now I’m worried. It seems like I’m now getting more hardening tummy moments. Gulp.

Week 38 now. Was so busy buying (last minute)baby things, packing, cleanihat over the past few days that I have not logged on to find out what has been happening here.

Lovexuan: My pelvis has been hurting quite badly too. Now waddle when i walk. And my energy level is quite low too- standing or walking for short periods wear me out.

Anyhow, mommies, do enjoy one of your last few free weekends!

Hi Miss Tan
My gynae gave me a table. I have to start counting from 9am to 9pm. Each time baby moves, I make a marking. If I didn't bring the table then I just mark on my phone the time for each counts. If the baby kicks continuously, you can only count as 1 movement. Only movements 30mins apart are counted. The objective is to count to 10 movements within 12 hrs (9am-9pm). You can use any 12hrs period that you are awake to count eg. 8am-8pm or 10am-10pm.

Gynae advise me to head to hospital if I count less than 10 movements or have a span of more than 2 hrs where I don't feel anything in case baby in distress. But she also said sometimes baby might be sleeping so if you don't feel baby move for some time, drink something really cold, usually it works for me.

Hi mummies, am looking for ready to drink bb fm, enfalac or nan ha, those type we get from hospital at discharge to supplement feed while building on bm supply.

Pls pm me if u have any to let go, or if u are willing to help me buy from hospital when u give birth. Many thanks!

GG Lee - where is it convenient for you to pick up? I am giving birth in NUH, is it near to you?

Jellio - ya was told to monitor 10 moves from 9am - 9pm however the nurse told me if by 6pm still got very few movements, call up the delivery suite and ask.

Hi B@by
The nurse didn't tell me that. My baby is quite lethargic sometimes. I went to the delivery suite once at 28 weeks because he didn't move enough by 9pm. But fortunately, he was just really sleepy. Nurse and doctor told me to drink really cold water next time and see if he moves and it works.

Just seen gyne yesterday. Ask her about the pelvic cramp n she said is normal just ligaments getting ready for labor. N tummy hardening is actually BH.
But i forget to ask her about the "leaking water"
Guess it just add'l water after urine cos only experience after urine. N my panty liner not soaked like some of u describe. Will continue to monitor n see how though.

Thanks Jellio!
Wha so good your gynae still provide you with a table. huh then by looking at my records my BB moves more than 10 times ley.. i worry after 10 times movements i stop counting will it be dangerous ? :/ Also thanks for the tips of drinking cold water..hehe i will try next time ..

Going to 37 weeks in another 2 days time.. time flies!!

Thanks for the link on glass bottles. Actually, I just bought over 30 glass bottles few days ago! To be safe, I shall order Medela's for storage during the initial phrase.

had a good weekend, until i found out my washing machine is not working!!!! no!!!!! gotta call e technician tomorrow and hopefully it can be fixed asap! thank God baby's clothes all washed..

Hello mummies, haven been logging here for few days...
aiyo yest'd I kenna one flying kick on my tummy from #1. super painful till my whole tummy in shock n BH for awhile. Hopefully my #2 will b well cushioned with fluid n fats inside
kind of worried that the kick might hurt him coz tats ware his head is from the last scan. Sigh... Back getting painful from bad to worse n can't really walk too long nw.. Keep having painless contraction n super aching n heavy at groin area.

kirsten,
i guess its normal for preggie ladies to have difficulty sleeping. perhaps it is our bodies way of preparing us for many sleepless nights!hahah..just when i get comfortable n fall asleep, need to visit the bathroom again.>.<

re: sterilizer
any mommies used white vinegar to clean ur sterilizer? i don't have any more citric acid and was wondering is there anywhere i can buy that or is it good enough to use white vinegar? gosh, i have not even tested my sterilizer if it still works. forgot that i need that when i use my breast pump!

Hi mummies, I just made a list of things to do b4 my edd this weekend. My number no 1 has been super clingy of late. I suppose it's my last opportunity for any semblance of peace.

Cayden's mum, congratulations! Hope you had a safe delivery!

Help!
Last weekend, I bought out my Medela Freestyle from storeroom to charge, then realised that the re-chargeable battery (for cordless pumping) is spoilt!
Means it is still working when plugged but when unplug it doesnt work anymore!
Does anyone knows where i can purchase the rechargeable battery for the Medela Freestyle pump?

Jesline

Jesline - I saw Ebay selling. If you don need to move around with the pump, can don't buy as I think it is not cheap.

Kristen - ya even seated down or standing or eating will suddenly feel lack of air. Need to stop chewing to grasp some air before continuing.

gosh, my back is really sore today and pelvic area gets this funny crampy feeling once in a while. makes it hard to walk..been lying down as much as I can..

Haru, regarding the cramping feel at pelvis area I checked with my gynae last fri during my appt.. He say is due to ligament stretch .. When I have that feel i have to walk real slow if not very uncomfortable

Hey mummies

Cayden's mum
Pop already?

SG
Don't worry, baby is well cushioned

Haru
Alamak, hope your washing machine can be fixed soon! Mine is aircon that's acting up

Guess who has been on "thomson staycation"? Me! I got admitted 2 nights ago at 3am cos of regular contractions 5 min apart. I woke up thinking "oh now gynae say go when they are 15 min apart and mine were alrd 5 min apart". Also they were accompanied by back pain and knee aches, not like my usual BH. All that talk about #2 being faster made me even more panicky so off we went to TMC. Went to delivery suite and was all prepped for delivery but wasn't dilating. No action at all.

In the end got kept overnight for observation and after 3 CTGs and 3 VEs (I hate that!!!), I was told I was having mild contractions 4-8 mins apart but remained dilated only at 1cm so kena sent home in shame haha.

Well at least I know my way around TMC now and got to taste the shiok food and baby is happily growing in hotel mummy with no intention of coming out today.

My "staycation" cost about $1k incl gynae fees sigh. BUT I had the best rest ever. Maybe that's what I needed

pinkbunny,
glad to hear that you got a good break! did #1 miss u when u were in hospital? better get e aircon fixed soon (don't want it to break down during confinement!)

Mrs. Kang,
thanks for e advice! was getting a lil anxious coz i have no idea how braxton hicks feels like and wonder what was e cause of e cramps...least i know its nothing to be too concerned about. =)