(2012/04) Apr 2012

lovexuan: think this time round, you dont have to specify TBM to the nurses liao, cos now all hosp encourage TBM. unless really no milk, then prob need to tell them to give bb FM, which is chargeable. I think last time FM is not chargeable so they just take and feed.

lilcactus, that coconut is too big to buy home! buy the smaller thai coconuts(white with flat base) but don't get round brown botak coconuts. my mum said that's too cooling.

really? ok, then that's great! i am sort of outdated cos my girl is already 5 years old this year... :p

Lilcactus
If the hospitals are not giving the fm freely, that also means there won't be a lot of free empty glass bottles for us to bring home for ebm storage...

and you're right. last time FM was not chargeable and they even gave me a few bottles to bring home! it was enfa in a glass bottle with NUK teat. nice bottles.. lol

Lotusmum, but i read that it's not good to store ebm in glass bottles? not sure how true is it though. here's what it says...

Whether you choose to refrigerate or freeze your milk, you should:

•Use sterilised containers. The best choices are plastic bottles, or plastic breastmilk bags. Glass containers aren’t recommended. It's thought the infection-fighting white blood cells in breastmilk may cling to glass.

adapted from this website: http://www.babycenter.com.sg/baby/breastfeeding/pumpingexpressing/storingbreastmilkexpert/

i bought lots of disposable breast milk storage bags this time. not sure if it will come handy cos never used before. but i just thought it's more convenient than using the avent VIA cups or bottles.

Re perineal massage we used olive oil.. still.not comfy.. tink I'll juz skip it altogether bah..
Lovexuan: i also have clear watery discharge.. thot mite be urine leaking.. but i have another type of discharge.. its clear and sticky.. den when it dries up it actually becomes hard.. normal? Gog to ask gynae tmr..

Heard from my aunties another alternative to coconut is black vinegar.. like a teaspoon to add to ur loh mee or oyster mee sua- wifout the oysters of cuz.. but wif the recent hot weather we will all go for the coconut rite? Haha!

Its reali hot these few days! hubby says can go for a swim den i was like wait they think a whale is coming loh.. den he was like no lah.. they will.oni think its a penguin..

Anyway juz check wif mummies who are popping anytime.. does the swelling reali subside? Izzit another indication that its happening soon?

Lovexuan
Maybe give gynae a call for peace of mind? If water is leaking, doesn't it mean there's less in there for baby and isn't that dangerous? I got admitted when my water bag leaked when I had #1. Better check la ok?

I must remember to make a sign and paste on baby's cot "No pacifiers, bottles or formula please. Only mummy's milk". Think it wasn't right of the nurses to simply give your girl FM without consulting you!!

Belleryn
Wah biang. You are right. The weather these days is seriously hot hot hot. Aircon+fan at night for me!

What kind of swelling you referring to? As in water retention? Not sure leh but I do notice my vericose veins are better now and I'm not so swollen now in terms of joints. But I thought it's my happening chicken stock+winter melon soup that's been helping :S

Lilcactus
I keep asking baby not to come during peak hour cos hard to get cab! Haha

wow, looks like everyone anticipating for e day!! i am on the contrary hoping that baby will not arrive early! coz the cot is still not bought and i just feel unprepared. haha...hubby is trying to feed me non stop to "fatten" baby as much as possible before he's born. i found a stall selling durian near my home this morning, happy!!

oh yes, thanks for the reminder of the coconut. I did drink almost daily for the last 2 weeks and my girl came out pretty clean...=) but i drank it more to cool myself down, haha!!

lovexuan, the water from water bag can drip slowly out too cos the baby head may block it, so it may drip out slowly. Smell it to differentiate between discharge or water.

haru: same with me... everyday talk to bb tell her not to pop out too early as I have not start my maternity... tell her muz be April bb, not Mar bb, lol

Pinkbunny
yah swelling due to water retention.. so if its nearly time it will subside rite?

Ayana
how to differentiate the smell? I also have clear watery discharge but i thot it mite be urine leaking.. have been having it for a few wks le..

belleryn, i have both discharge too. now it's mixed and a lot more than before. clear odourless fluid and white thick mucous that dries up. hmm..my next gynae appointment is on monday...

pinkbunny and Ayana, i guess i will consult my gynae then. probably just call up to check first too. i cannot really differentiate cos all the discharge is totally odourless. does the amniotic fluid smell different?

but everytime i ask my gynae something, he would say it's normal normal normal... unless it's bleeding or no movement from baby, if not there's no cause for worry. now my appointment is still every 2 weeks. though he predicted it may be anytime soon and told me to admit myself once i have the bloody show or contractions. no need to call him! i really cannot wait for baby to come out soon! haha..

belleryn
dunno leh. that's what i read from this thread too. i don't remember how it was with #1.

amniotic fluid = 'water bag water' has no smell. yup yup my gynae also said no need to call. just go straight to hospital if 1) got contractions 2) got bleeding or 3) water bag burst

lovexuan
i'm bringing anyway even though TMC says you'll only need it if you want to register birth at hospital. we won't be doing that cos will still need to 'suan' the little one's name and that takes time

well to me logically, it's the amniotic fluid that keeps baby happy and swimming.... so if it's leaking then baby is left with lesser fluid... what did your gynae say?

re avent VIA cups and milk bags
well, milk bags take up less space. but the cups are reusable. if pumping at work then lesser to carry if you bring the bags la. what's good with the cup is that you can pump directly into it (if using avent pump) then just click on the blue plastic part + teat then directly feed baby. but it takes up alot of space in freezer lor. and the cups are not cheap hor? $31 for 10 cups, usually 20% off when got sale. but when baby is older, can use to store purees and bring out snacks

haru
haha i'm trying to extend baby's rent-free stay as long as possible too! to give me more time as mum of 1! you still have not bought your ikea cot yet? quick go! now got sale! (i hope it's still on?)

coconut drink
ok i don't know how true it is that if drink more coconut juice then baby will come out 'clean'. personally it doesn't matter to me if baby comes out 'clean' or not cos she'll be cleaned up anyway, right? but oh coconut is sooooo nice and cooling for mummy toward end of pregnancy :D

lovexuan: Ai yo..my gynae also would say 'its normal..it's normall.." I will tell him my BB hiccup everyday.. or tailbone super painful..
He also say watch out n keep track of BB movement daily.. guess all gynae say the same thing bah? :p

Just went for my 36 weeks check up..BB not engaged yet ley..though head is lower now... gynae ask me to walk more again ..gynae also did the virginal swap test on me. To check if discharge is normal. Hope they don't call me... they mentioned if i get call from them means i have to be on medication ..

I went for my dr's aptm today. 38 weeks plus 5 days and baby is not engaged. Dr said that and fact that baby is quite big is causing nausea. She told me to eat more soupy food. Dr also told me to walk more but I've been walking a lot!

Hi Lovexuan

I have been a silent reader here. I think you better call your gynae and get checked. My water bag leaked last week. It was not a lot but I suspected it so I went to the hospital and they did a swap to check. When they scanned my water level was already very low. The liquid is just clear and odourless, it was not a lot but it was leaking.
It can be dangerous for you and your baby when you lose too much water (baby need the water to breathe and move) and you can get an infection because there is an opening in the waterbag. In the end I was hospitalised for 2 days, given steriod jabs for my baby's lungs to mature (I was only 34 wks last wk) and I have to take antibiotics now. They allowed me to be discharged cause somehow my waterbag resealed on its own and the water started replenishing. But I'm on bed rest for 2 weeks now. Better to go get checked if you suspect you are leaking.

lovexuan, stephanie> you only bring your marriage cert if you already have your baby name in mind, and want to register the name in the hospital. you've got 14 days after the baby's birth to register hte name. dont tink its 1 month.

lovexuan & belleryn, water in waterbag is odourless. But normal discharge got a certain smell, at least mine got hahaah.. urine aso got smell... Better call yr gynae to tell him what is happening.. Cos I learnt in the childbirth class that if leaking need to go hospital, as per what jellio said.. Ya, need to bring marriage cert for birth regis..

Cayden's mummy
Yay your popping day is here!! Good luck!!

So many April babies are kanchiong to see their mummies and coming out in March!

I've been getting more tummy aches these days so getting a little worried too!! Ahhhh!!!

Mommies staying at Jurong West area, there's a new durian seller at Gek Poh shopping centre, right outside Prime Supermarket.

He just started his durian business less than a week ago and I've bought twice from him already. Not bad!

pinkbunny: i've been getting more and more contractions and some slight crampy feeling these days. even last night (usually when i sleep, my stomach relaxes as well), i keep feeling contractions even! i am getting worried too! keep checking for any other signs like water bag break or show or discharge! Later better go for my coconut drink first! Hahaha

Brand new 400g similac stage 1 letting go at $12. Good for standby for 1st few days after bb born where BM supply not in yet. Expiry on 21 Sep 2012.

Collection at Sembawang MRT at evening time only. Or at my blk at Admiralty Link.

PM me if interested.

Lilcactus - it might be false labour, if its real, the contractions will continue and become faster, like every few mins there will be once.

cayden's mum
jia you jia you. 2 min interval contraction is very frequent le. the dilation could be quite fast. have a smooth delivery.

b@by: ya its false labour, but still the frequency is more lately. and i'm worried cos i cannot feel contraction pain one. so i didnt sleep well, worry that it'd be too late if i wake up with sudden pain!

Lilcactus
Lol at your priorities: must have coconut first! Hahaha. I'm at gynae's clinic now (and the song playing is "push it" hahahha) so will go for coconut later too :D

pinkbunny, yes we already have the name in mind and wish to register in the hospital like with our #1 instead of going down to ICA again during confinement. i guess i got to bring along then!

my gynae just said it's normal! discharge comes in all forms and it's common to get more towards the end. he did an ultrascan(not vagina swab?) and said baby is doing well. i just cannot help but feel weird about this water discharge which i never got before!

i am a sahm. in fact for #1 i stopped pumping after baby's full month. i just latched on cos she hates ebm remember? haha.. not sure about baby #2 though! every baby is different! i am using hygeia breast pump. i bought both milk bags and that avent VIA cups(yea! doesn't come cheap!). let's see which is more useful for me this time...

Ms Tan, ya! i know my gynae is very professional and can tell by one look if there is a problem. but i still feel maybe he should elaborate more to make me understand better?

jellio and Ayana, i will go and consult my gynae once more!

thank you mummies! it feels so nice to know that we are all due on the same month..at almost the same stage so we can share with each other our experiences!

Fantasy, i missed out your post. could it be just a discharge after peeing? cos we need to exert some pressure while peeing and the discharge might come altogether. like many mummies here suggested, better to consult our gynaes.

i usually leak water when baby stretches and exerts pressure at my below. i will feel his head at my cervix, get a prickly feeling then the water will flow out.

cayden's mummy,
all the best!!!!

i just went to get my wisdom tooth extracted. it has been causing me lots of discomfort and pain. at first i thought it was just some gum problem but it was lingering for more than 2 weeks so finally got it checked and turns out it was my wisdom tooth that was infected. hope this will stop e pain!

ya, nowadays i also get nervous when I feel any pain or discomfort in the tummy area in the night when sleeping.

pinkbunny,
ya, i really gotta to move my butt and get the cot! hubby is planning to go down early next week to get it and set it up.

Cayden's mummy
Jia you! All the best yah! Do kip us updated!

Juz finished my gynae appt.. told him abt the discharge.. did a scan and there's still plenty of fluid.. he say bb quite happy inside! Haha! But he did a swab test juz in case.. turns out fine.. 'discharge is very normal' his quote.. but still if there's any concern muz say loh..

Haru
wisdom tooth extraction at tis stage? Wah! At least ur pain is relief!

Re coconut
can drink if have sore throat? Nothing like a coconut to cool ur day!

Haha yes it is coconut day indeed! I'm enjoying my coconut jelly now.

Just checked: baby is 2.9kg at 36W1D. She.put on 600g since last appt 2 weeks ago!

He gave me another "err u sure u hv given birth before?" look cos he asked again "you know the signs of labour right?". Apparently (and this I did not know) contractions need not be painful. As long as tummy hardens for 15-20 seconds and that occurs regularly every 15 mins, time to go to hospital liao

My baby must have been eavesdroppingcos she happily gave me hard hard tummy but no pain, for more than 30-40 seconds, in 5 min intervals, then stopped. Cheeky girl.

So I did what lilcactus would surely nod head in approval of: I went to buy coconut to whack!!!

Haru
You best leh still can go extract wisdom tooth!! But ya la, if not now then no time liao. Hope you feel better!!

pinkbunny: oh my coconut jelly! i love that too.. where did you get that? last time, there was a bp on that, now no more. but lucky me, i managed to grab a coconut drink during lunch! yippee!

is your current gynae a different one from your 1st? if not why he so doubtful? oh! he said that? so see, my worry is not unfounded, mummies! dont just wait for pain. yesterday my tummy can tighten until u see a line/dent in.

hahaha cheeky girl indeed. and yes, u r right, whack the coconuts first! anything else later pls!

Haru, is it safe to extract wisdom tooth now? I thought they might advise to wait after birth since so near liao?

Lilcactus
Is it you who work at alexandra? I got my coconut jelly at jalan membina. Opp tiong bahru plaza. It's a fruit shop kinda underground. As in must walk down stairs, not that it's hidden underground

But it's very popular so very seldom they will still have by evening time

BP on coconut jelly? Lol what will they think of next?!

Ya man. Coconut: whack!! Everything else can wait!!!

Funny thought
Any hubbies caught "empathy pregnancy"? Mine did le, for both pregnancies! With #1, HE started having leg cramps at night, before me! With #2, he got nausea! Haha. I said thanks but you're so not getting out of massaging my feet muahahahha

Oh ya. Diff gynae from first
. Ever since 30 weeks he's been reminding me re signs of labour. Cos with #1 it was straightforward - water bag leak. So I didn't have to count contractions etc.

Really, signs of labour should be so much more obvious right? Like baby knocking on tummy saying "ok I'm ready now" or your nose turning bright green or something, right?

And it's 36W6D, not 1D :D