(2012/03) Mar 2012

darine_gal
If your womb is retroverted, it is possible to see the baby size as smaller cos of the position of your womb. You'll hv to check with your gynae if your bb is position at the back of the retroverted womb, if so, then harder to scan until baby is bigger.

Adel : i lazy to scan but i use my hp to take a pic ... so as and when i miss my bb ... i can see the pic on my hp ... haha sound stupid .. but this is my 1st preg ...

qin
YES!!! OMG..... hahahaha small world! Which one were you? I'm heading to her clinic this sat with my naughty son again
Wish I could say hi to you!

Mrs Carice,
Not stupid just full of motherly love for your bb lah :B

Darine-> WC Cheng delivered my hubby years ago, so went to see him as recommended by my mil. My hubby wanted an experienced gynae so in terms of experience, WK Tan is next as she was the 1st to join WC Cheng. We also read from forum that she is very nice and experienced, so thought we'll try her instead. Turned out to be a good choice.

I've actually seen LC Cheng before in my first pregnancy (emergency call to TMC, he turned up in place of WC Cheng). He was nice but we wasn't very impressed.

Mei (mei1175)... i see... i know WK Tan is the celebrity gynae right.. lots of local female artists see her...haha.. and her q is already terrible...

Darine_gal: my case is same as yours. No hb detected and growth is slow. Did your gynae use v-scan?

LuthAdel & Mei: do ur gynae do v-scan? May I have your gynae number?

Thanks everyone. Now trying to book appt for today with other gynae. Call to book Dr John Tee but he will only be available on Monday
got to try others.

Jer (dreamer_j3r).. yes.. v-scan all these while... did the water bag and yolk sac grow? my next visit is monday... that's my verdict day.. jia you!

Darine_gal: I never do v-scan. It did grow but according to my gynae, the growth is too slow. Tomorrow is my vedict day. My gynae even slot me in the morning if no hb, will do d&c straight away.

Jer-> Yes, she did a V-scan when I saw her at 6weeks. Seeing her again this sat. The clinic's no is 62534122. She's always busy so you may need to get the nurse to slot you in and tell the nurse its an emergency. Take care and be positive ya!

Darine-? Yes, heard she delivered for celebs like Zoe Tay. Haven't seen any celebs at her clinic yet. Haha.

Jer: Dr WK Tan is recommanded by my GP but didnt choose her cos of her terrible long queue. My gynae is Dr Jeanette Chen at TMC too recommand by a nurse fren of mine. the 2 times i went for my appt both also got hb 1st time is v-scan 2nd can scan from tummy le.. she is very friendly too. see if you want to see her to seek for 2nd opinion. stay positive ok.

Jer, I think you must definitely seek a 2nd opinion first before you see your gynae and decide on what to do. I understand it's quite difficult to see baby in early stages without v-scan

<font color="000080">Mei >> My sis went to WK Tan for her 2nd, but totally hated her. LOL. I think depends on person and chemistry... esp for emotional sensitive things like pregnancy.

Jer and darine >> Before 7 weeks I think all use v-scan bah? Cos otherwise too small cannot see!</font>

Jer,
Your gynae is strange. At such early stage how to see via tummy scan unless you hv zero fats around your tummy area!

My gynae's contact is 6256 4664 (Dr. Yvonne Chan) Do relate you situation to the nurse so that she can slot you in. She does v scan for early trimesters

Qin,
I'm seeing her this sat too at 11.40am
Hope to see you there and if you're there do say hi cos I cannot remember who is who 2 wks ago :p

Jer: i agree with the rest, at early stage have to do v-scan otherwise sure cannot see de.. &amp; whichever gynae you gonna make appt with you got to let the nurse knoe your situation so that they noe it's urgent and will slot you in soonest possible.

Jer

Last time I request my Gynae do tummy scan at early stage she say not accurate one say do v better. Only after 1st trim then can do tummy scan.

Adel

Actually I don rem too Coz that day I saw one of the kids injured the head while playing that y I can rem :p mine is 12.30 so don think can see you there.
did she schedule you for Oscar? Mine haven't.

Jer (dreamer_j3r)... go for ur scan asap if the nurse can slot u in now... so at least can put your mind at ease... keep us updated... all the best!

jer and darine, all the best yeah. Im sure all will be fine
talk to baby more!

adel, im still reading your blog. haha. nice pictures! I love the baby room you prepared for bryan. So is the cot from ikea? Good?

Qin
Ya the naughty boy who fell and hit his head is my son :p hahahaha he is so active!

Not scheduled for Oscar yet as I'm only in my early 8 wks + during the last scan, my amniotic fluid was low in the water bag so got to keep fingers cross that this sat will show bigger water bag esle may not be good

Jer,
You'll be in very good hands under Dr. Yvonne Chan. I had selected her from quite a number of well known gynae and ended up with choosing her. She is very gentle &amp; approachable and you won't feel discomfort when doing v scan by her. That is why I'm back to her with current pregnancy.

I'm crossing my fingers for you that all is well

phylee,
I got the cot from wholesaler then and it only cost me $299 with mattress and 1 full set of baby bedsheet + cot protector. My son is still sleeping in the cot as a day bed now even though he is really tall for his age. I do have another cot from IKEA which I put in the hall when he was younger so that he could nap and I could do my things and keep an eye on him

<font color="000080">Hi qin! *waves* Eh I switched to tummy scan le :p 9 weeks. Can see ah, very clear!

Jer >> All the best!</font>

hi guys,
thanks for the reply for the OSCAR test. Hope everyone of us will pass. Anyhow, this is the digit scan only.
I am seeing the gynae from O&amp;G partners at Gleanegles. His name is Prof Ng. Anyone seeing him?
can't sleep well last night until 3am. What time you guys start sleeping? My hubby doesn't want to sleep until 11pm+. I think I need to sleep early to get sound sleep.

phylee: wow! so u will be buying everything in set of 3!!!

must be so exciting, hahaaa
Adel: thanks for sharing your blog, lotsa info, will find time this weekend to read, your son -- handsome little fellow

Thanks tethysea..

Juniorme
I only felt my no.1's movement in the 20th week and stomach getting harden could be braxton hicks which usually happen in the later stage..

Adel,
Does blighted ovum result in ms? Are the symptoms similar to pregnancy?

Jo
Thanks for the compliments: My son is really nice but super active and inquisitive so very tiring for us :S

Lotusmum
Unfortunately, blighted ovum will result in ms. It is a case where there are multiple abnormality to the developing fetus that the body reabsord the growing embryo. That result in just a water bag and no baby in sight. If you read my blog under miscarriage, there are descriptions to it.

For you, try not to think too much since you're still very early to see

Hi Tethysea: *waving* nice to see u here. Hehe. Mine last 2 week scan still v scan. 9 weeks too. Nvm as long bb growing healthily v or tummy scan does nt matter hehe.

I just did my Oscar. Result will be known in couple days. But I see the nt thickness a bit borderline. Plus my age older somehow feel result may not b so good. Keep fingers crossed.

<font color="000080">GG Lee >> Don't worry too much k... my sis's also always OSCAR test results not so good, but her kids are fine. </font>

Nope, but I saw from screen measurement is 2.7. Usually shd be within 2.5. My gynae says is slightly borderline. But she prepared me dat for those of us age 35, the formulae works against us cos the 3 inputs used are age, nt, blood test. So if age and nt not favorable, a bit harder to have a good risk score. My boy time my result was v good, 1:5000.

Don't worry so much ya GG. OSCAR test is only a probability test and like what Tethysea says, her sis didn't get good results for all 3 pregnancies but they all turned out okay.

Tethysea, just wondering. Did your sis do the amniocentesis test after she got the OSCAR results?

GG
The normal range is from 1 - 3mm max. Yours is still under normal. Don't worry and try to get the age factor out of your system
You can be of certain age but your engine can also be working like a 20+!

hi ladies.. didn't post for awhile.. coz was rather busy @ work.. but i still read when i'm on my way home on the train..

jer and darine~ jia you! think positive! sometimes it's due to late ovaluation.. so bb is smaller..

i'm counting down to end of first trimester.. tot ppl says that 9 &amp; 10 weeks ms will peak.. but i'm getting better.. not sure if i'm already used to it.. but these few days i keep having cold.. sneezing non stop before going to bed.. anyone experiencing this? i dare not take flu medicine..

anyway anyone start to drink milk powder for mums already? any good brands to recommend? &amp; are we not allow to take low fat products?

I have seen two gynae during this pregnancy 11weeks time. Both doc told me no need to drink milk powder; just drink normal milk. I think it's because the fetus is so tiny at this stage better don't drink other pills and milk powder yet. Drinking normal HL milk daily is enough. Just eat enough nutrients from natural food.

Jer>> good u find another gynae for 2nd opinion.
To share a little more… actually I went to two other gynaes first before deciding the current one.
And all of them told me, that time I at week 6/7, i cannot see anything by tummy scan.
True enough they cant see anything at the first appointment by tummy scan.
I allowed the female gynae to do the V scan at the first appointment and we saw a blinking dot at week 7.

Two week later, at week 8, I decided on a male gynae and when he perform the tummy scan, still cant see much.
Then I let him the V scan lor, since I decide on him…
But his eqiuipment as compared to the female gynae’s one is not so good, cos image not so clear le…

Hence, I think equipments play a part on the image, but we prefer the male gynae.

For ur case, I feel ur gynae is a bit strange why did not offer u do the V scan to confirm further.
Cos for my experiences, tummy scans at early stage really cant see, cos of our skin, our fats, and our BB so tiny tiny less than 0.5 cm… how to see??
And I also think ur gynae cannot be so quick to decide to take out the BB….

Going for a 2nd opinion is really a better choice!!!
Don’t take away an innocent life easily!!!

All the best… good lUCK to u…

marpreggy: my gynae told me to try milk powder thus she given me a few to try.... so far only anmum works for me i will puke after trying others or feel very unwell like sick. alot of my preggy frens told me at least 1 day drink 1 glass of the milk be it milk powder for mums or normal milk. i realise i can't torlerate normal milk now adays. i will feel very unwell after that. mayb you wan to give it a try.

Marpreggy>> the past two days I also have cold, running nose, in fact I feel unwell last night..
Flu again and I took flu medicine before I sleep. Hm… I got from the clinic one, it’s a syrup form and doctor is safe for pregnant like me…
I try not to take but I really cant stand it, I cant beathe when lying on my bed, and got the choking feeling so decide to just take it lor.

After I took the flu syrup, I cant sleep too… feel naesea and then get up to take nausea medicine again…
This one from gynae also…
Hmm… I am one who cant stand all these strange strange things I me, like a sick miserable person.
I told my HB I feel miserable cos unwell feeling.
He told me “pan tang”, cannot always mention it one…
But… I feel lousy lor…
On my way home in the car, my nausea suddenly cames, quickly grap a packet bag and vomited…
Wow… really tough heh…
Pray hard, my MS is like wat books mentioned, 2nd trimester no more le.
To think of it, I feel really wanna to cry….

All MTB, jia you…..

marpreggy>. For me on the milk powder… hmm.. all along I have been taking Anlene milk every morning.
On my last visit I got some samples from my gynae, they are smilac, and other two I cant remember…

After trying, I brought one of them, dunno wat xxx pro, and start drinking it every morning…vanilla flavour.
Its just a replacement for the anlene milk for me.
Sometimes like last night I cant take much during dinner, before sleep I had a small glass of anlene milk lor…

For my last visit at week 9, my gyane did a tummy scan &amp; can see bb already. Not taking any milk powder as I feel it's too heaty for me. I will get constipation after taking the milk powder. Thus, I stick with bottled milk.

marpreggy:> Good to hear that your MS is gone. Mine peaked since last weekend but still not as bad as when I had my 1st bb.

JuniorMe:> I understand how you feel regarding MS. For my last MS, it was so bad that I don't talk the whole day unless required (even at work). My staff even came to ask me what happened as I'm usually v bubbly &amp; talkative. MS really drained me and changed me to a grumpy &amp; puky monster. Luckily this time it's not as bad... i stuff myself with bread, crackers or sweets &amp; the MS will slowly subside.

JuniorMe, same same too.. MS makes me want to cry all the time... maybe it's my first child, didn't expect pregnancy to feel so bad... at the supposedly peak of MS somemore... feel lousy whenever MS strikes... v depressing.