(2012/03) Mar 2012

phylee (phylee)... i think it's esp normal for you to develop a bump much much earlier then any of us right... after all u have 3 babies developing with u! they need lots of space!!!!

my outbreaks are so bad everyone is asking... haiz... forehead, mouth area and even on the nose area! ALL OVER....

Hello! Actually I thought it may be a good idea to buy 1 or 2 pieces of maternity pants or skirt first. At least give tummy room to grow and us to breathe hee... I guess blouses still can fit as long as they are loose enough.

maternity clothing
I bought my maternity pant from spring and mother & vogue. It's good to invest a few cos tight pant or skirt can worsen your ms.

MS
yesterday my ms suddenly disappear. i was so happy and managed to went down to orchard to do my facial and do some shopping. But at the end of the day, i start to worried about no ms. luckily it is back to find me again this morning.

So far i dont really have MS. however i have problem on certain food like if the fish is not fresh .. i start to puke .... same goes to some of the food.(a little of smell)

Morning everyone,

Just seen my gynae ytd morning and baby is growing well... so much bigger then the last time i saw baby which is only 2 weeks ago now in my 8 week 6day. my gynae even say baby is moving alot inside... my next appt is 4 weeks later and was asked to do Oscar scan before seeing gynae...

orang: dun worry if your ms is gone as long as baby is growing well it's alright. as i did ask my gynae how much i dun feel so much of ms and she told me it's individual's body some pple dun have a single ms thru out the whole pregancy so dun worry too much relax and enjoy. sometime i dun feel any ms at all and i feel energised, i also talk to baby and tell baby to be good dun let mommy suffer and it really works.

Hi Wenwen,

About the Oscar test, where you plan to do. My gynae always ask me to see him in 2 weeks time. I plan to drag a bit longer this time and do the Oscar test before seeing him to.

Orange: my gynae is at Thomson Medical so i have to do it there. if you feel ok with dragging to see gynae den should be fine, usually gynae wan to see u more is to monitor the baby growth... if keep seeing gynae in every 2 weeks also very expensive.. Usually your gynae should advise you where to do Oscar scan. where is yr gynae located? cos when it's time to do the Oscar scan they got give me a form for registration and the scan. by the date i do the scan i will be in week 12.

wenwen
I used Clarins before and I find it good. I bought the stretchmark cream for day and the tonic oil for night and fortunately, I did not sustain any stretchmarks during the last pregnancy. I'll use the same again this time round but will only start will my tummy shows more around 14wks onwards. Good to start using it early

Wenwen,
The stretchmark cream is pleasant and the tonic oil is very nice but if you're sensitive to smell, the tonic may be a little stronger for you. I love the stretchmark cream as you can dress and go for work after application. I usually use the oil in the evening and zzz with it. My belly was very smooth and nice then and I hope to achieve the same this time round.

<font color="000080">Mrs Carice >> Yar I don't really have ms too - only when I come to office then will have, lol. BB allergic to work!

wenwen >> I'm also doing my OSCARS 3weeks later before seeing my gynae again.</font>

Wenwen-> I used Elancyl during my first pregnancy after the 1st trimester (Advised by the salesperson at TMC). Found it okay. No stretch marks.

Hmm feel relieved after reading posts abt MS...
Mine is so off and on ...I get worried sometimes...
But my hunger pangs are horrible ...
Cant wait for dr appt to see bb again...

Hi Ladies, my family jus kne abt my pregnancy last weekend. And my sister told me to speak to my bb now, so that I can eat and the baby can grow. I dont kne is it psychological or my bb really listen to me or the MS peak is finally over? My MS now is quite under control, not as terrible as before. Suggest you all to talk to bb also, hopefully you will feel better.

Last thurs i went for my 2nd gynae visit and bb is 7 week coming 8 week. =) Hang in there everyone, Jia u and keep a relax and positive mindset.

i hope my MS will be completely gone soon, in 4 weeks time! Fingers crossed. =)

good noon everyone...

tis morning on half day leave to sleep...
cos last night pee and cant sleep le…

do u gals pee in the middle of the night?
Ever since I preggy, even before I test positive, I found myself need to get up at least once to pee….
Even though I empty my bladder well…

About OSCAR, I think I need to ask more from my gynae this coming sat.
Looking forward to see my BB this sat… kind of long 3 weeks since the last visit.

I don’t actually feel sleepy nw, but kind of unwell feeling in me…
Last evening before knocked off, I puke out all the walnuts I has for snacks… wasted!!

Isn’t it good to have the MS gone?? I wish it will end soon, my placenta can take care of all the jobs and my hormones are all balanced soon….

I brought my maternity clothings few weeks ago, and haven’t wear them yet..
Just get them ready…
Now I just wear those more flared top and loose pant to work…
Trying to wear current clothings longer, or dunno after preggy can wear still or not…

For the stretchmarks creams, I heard from my gf during their pregnancy they used clarins too… most of them have good comments on it.
One of them even use the shower gel too…I probably get this brand for my tummy later stage, nw tummy nothing much, when 12 weeks onwards then apply ba.
While the bust cream I start using le…

Another qtn… do u feel anything inside tummy now? I thought I feel something moving inside especially when I lie on bed trying to sleep…
Probably I just over sensitive?? hee

Hi Junior-> For me, I generally wake up at least once to pee now. As the stomach gets bigger, the frequency is going to increase. So I try not to drink too much water about 1-2 hours before I sleep.

Err... I haven't felt anything moving inside my tummy as yet...

Junior: I've been peeing a lot even b4 tested +ve. But it's kinda slowing down now. Though night min wake up twice to pee &amp; once to drink water.
Abt the OSCAR test wat this test consists of?

Mei: i tested Elancyl when i was at TMC. Think i'm sensitive to the smell. Feel like puking after smelling it.

Adel: alot of my frens recommand Clarins too.. mayb i will give it a try.

Jia: i agree with you. after i talk to bb i feel much better too. even if i feel unwell but dunno why after i talk to bb i will feel much better and got the energy to work... esp during work my work is piling up so i will tell bb to be good let mommy finish the work.

Junior: i will wake up in the middle of the night for no reason. mayb bladder full but doesnt seem like it too. i felt quite abit of itchness on my tummy everyday... so i asked my gynae ytd when she said that bb keep moving during the scan. i ask if the itchness is due to bb moving and she said no... its the changes of the skin. when we r pregggy the whole body goes through change even our skin... so can start to apply lotion or stretch mark cream to reduce it.

Wow..
So fast some of the mommies here already going for oscar test..

I just went for my 1st appt yesterday, apparently can only see the sac, no heartbeat, nothing..gynae said maybe it's still early and should be around 5-6 weeks instead of 8 weeks, going back again in 4 weeks time..

Hi Mabel-> As far as I can recal, I don't think there's anything much you need to do to prepare for OSCAR. They will basically draw a few tubes of blood (which makes me freak out everytime as I'm so afraid of needles) and do a scan to measure the thickness of the area behind baby's neck I think. Then they'll use the data collected to work out some probabilities.

Mabel
Here are some tips that I wrote for myself in my blog:

- Do keep a full bladder for the scan (we were not told and I had to drink lots of water while waiting for my turn)
- Once you've done your scan, don't rush to the toilet.

- You will need to pass the blood test form to the lab and they will need your urine sample

Adel: so OSCAR test is blood test. Oh dear I've lots of prob taking blood. Hahaaa. Few tubes somemore. Will take a long time. Hope I've a skillful nurse. Normally can't find vein &amp; got to use fine fine needle. Your info v helpful. Thanks lots!

Ladies, thanks for the feedbacks…i tried to cut down water intake, but will still have to get up at least once in the middle of the night.
Sometimes hard to doze off again.

For the OSCAR, I am unsure… I heard it’s a very detailed scan on the BB, especially the water content at the neck area, and the proportions of the BB.
If they suspect any, then will pop inside to check… which may have some risk…
Pls correct me if wrong, experienced mummies… :p

Talk to BB is like talking to ourselves like that??
Hmm… haven’t try talking to my junior yet…
But I did try to feel my junior at my tummy, and my hb will said don’t press too hard on it!!! LOL
My abdominal there seems to be a bit more harden…

For BB’s movement, hmm… I read is usually at week 20 onwards hen we can feel it…
Though BB already start to move inside us nw.
I guess probably I am too over sensitive!! LOL

<font color="000080">Juniorme >> Heh... well, for mine bb started moving around already from the scan, and you are about 1 week earlier than me, so maybe you are feeling the movement? I think my cat can hear something moving inside, cos she keeps trying to nudge/pounce at my tummy these days.

Adel >> Thanks for the tips! Need to fast before the blood test?

Lotusmum >> No worries ok, probably just miscalculated the O.</font>

I agree with Mei on the in-between looking pregnant &amp; fat. I like that description! MS is a bothersome thing &amp; I'm praying that it will go away immediately after 12th week. Not taking much water too as it feels yucky. So now having sore throat! Maybe my gal spread it to me as she has running nose &amp; fever since y'day.

Tethysea:> You allergic to work while I allergic to rest. My MS will come in early morning &amp; evening. Pity I can't sleep thru' my MS as I need to wait for my gal to sleep &amp; she don't usually want to sleep till 1030pm when I force her. I wish I can go somewhere overseas &amp; sleep for 1 week!

LuthAdel &amp; wenwen:> I can't be bothered with stretch mark cream since my tummy oredi filled with stretch marks from previous pregnancy :p

Adel-> Saw your blog. Your tummy is still very slim and nice at 8 weeks.
Mine is at least 1/4 rounder in front.

Jo-> Don't worry, you're not the only one. My blood test took quite a long time as I was very scared and can't relax, so blood flow very slow. The nurse kept on telling me jokes to make me laugh to relax me. I'm even scared of the needleprick blood test. haha...

tethysea
I think no need to fast cost not doing sugar level test. If you're taking the glucose test, you'll need to fast.

The OSCAR scanning is very uncomfortable as the technician will hv to press on your tummy with super full blader. I tell you, I can still remember how I have to rush the nurse to quickly take the blood test form so that I could give her my urine sample!

However, you'll feel good after the scan cos more or less you'll know your bb's condition.

LuthAdel:> Thanks for your blog link. V useful information esp for 1st time mummies. Ya I rem the whole thing was a v long process plus waiting with a full bladder is no joke!

My friend who is a MTB in Feb 2013 recently failed her OSCAR test. She's doing CVS today (taking fluid from placanta) and will be on 3-5 days of MC. I'm worried for her &amp; hope everything goes well as this is her 1st pregnancy.

I will be doing my OSCAR soon in 3wks time. Hope everything's ok then I can skip CVS or amnio. I wish all mummies in this thread passes the OSCAR test too.

Zelda,
Hope your friend's result is ok. I heard from some of my friends who had to go through CVS that the procedure is very painful.

No need to fast for Oscar test. Just make sure bladder is relatively full.

I used many bottles of clarins in first pregnancy. No stretchmarks. Hope this round will b ok too

Mei: u scared pf pain or sight of blood? so u decide natural or c sec? Hahaa. I'm not scared of pain la just v hard to draw blood, most times end up w more than 1 poke.

Best not eat when need bladder full, rem ate bread than all the water I drank like absorb by bread. Stomach bursting yet bladder not full enough. Sweat Heheee
Yea! Wish all MTB pass our OSCAR!

Jo-> I think I'm more scared of the blood than the pain. The thought of a syringe extracting out blood or nurse squeezing out blood from my body is enough to make me freak out.

I don't think I have a choice but to go for C-sect.
Cos I had a fibroid operation back in 2005 and my first pregnancy ended up in emergency c-section. My boy was a week overdue and induced by gynae in the morning. Was dilated till 7-8cm but when gynae came back to check on me about 1-2 hours later, somehow the dilation became smaller. As I've supposedly been in labour for >12 hours and dilation was not okay, had to do c-section.

today, i went for my gynae appt. still can't detect bb hb and growth is not as well as expected. My gynae said friday morning need to go back and check again if still no hb then have to terminate it. I want to go for 2nd opinion, anyone got recommendation?

<font color="000080">Jer >> Ordinarily I'd recommend mine, but he's on leave. You can try his colleague Dr Brian Chow - I just saw him this week and he is very patient and gentle, and very experienced. He has clinics in Lucky Plaza and Boon Lay, but the Boon Lay clinic is cheaper I heard. Sometimes it's a matter of equipment and whether the doc is experienced enough to use the equipment! Stay positive!

Adel >> Your blog is great! I think I should start one too, to document... lol

Jo >> Haha yar I have same problem. Forever cannot find my veins. But I'm a blood donor, so now have quite distinct scars to mark the correct spot. Heh.

Mei >> Yes, I hope I pass the OSCAR... my sis didn't pass for all 3, but all her kids ok leh. I suspect I might have the same problem due to genetics. :S</font>

hello mummies , would like to ask ..

is OSCAR test a must?

will the gynae ask us to do? or is it need us to ask for the test ourself?

Jer,
good to seek a 2nd opinion. Meanwhile stay positive, k?

Mrs Low,
don't think OSCAR is a must. My gynae didn't ask me to do and I think I probably won't do it too.

Junior,
I took half day afternoon yesterday to go back and zzz too. I wake up at least twice every night to pee. Worst will be waking up at 6+ then cannot get back to sleep anymore. But it should get better as the uterus moves up in the 2nd tri.

Re: Clarins
I used up 2.5 bottles of the oil for my last pregnancy but I still have stretch marks so I think doesn't really work for everyone. Or maybe if I didn't use, I would have even more stretch marks, haha!

Yay, I'm hitting my 11th wk today! Hope the MS peak is over already.

Junior,
I'm seeing my gynae this Sat too.

Jer... all the best... good to seek 2nd opinion... i'm having the same problem... already coming to my 8th weeks supposedly... till now i have yet to see baby's heartbeat and growth is not as well as anticipated... but i'm tryin to stay positive... u too k...

Jer,
Do you want to try my gynae Dr. Yvonne Chan? She is very good in scanning and during the last pregnancy, she managed to scan my son's face better than the 3D image! I hope yours is not a bligted ovum and that the baby is just slower in appearing. I've know people who only see their bb at 10wks cos of tilted womb.

Please do seek 2nd opinion ok. *Hugs*

Adel : thanks for sharing ... i do create my blog but all i have is my feeling on this preg.

Ladies : i do feel abit aching or cramp at my tummy area ... dont know is it because i am too tired. anyway tomorrow will be going to see my gynae. hope bb will be ok.

Jer : you should go for 2nd opinion. hope things will turn out well for u. have u decide which dr u going to see.

Jer,
You may want to consider Dr WK Tan from TMC? Her queue is very long but she's very nice, motherly, patient and experienced. She's in her 60s already. I saw Dr WC Cheng for my first baby but he has since retired so saw Dr WK Tan instead. Very steady and reassuring lady.

Tethysea &amp; Mrs Carice,
Thanks for visiting our blog. We created the blog when I first got pregnant but resulted in a blighted ovum. At that time, there was not much information about it so we started documenting just to share info. Subsequently, we were pregnant with my son and so began the fun journey of parenthood

What we have written in our blog to share now becomes useful for ourselves again and I'm glad I recorded it for reference

By the way, the ultrasound scanned pictures from our gynae will fade in time so if you want to keep it, best scan it