(2012/01) Jan 2012

Carpe - Yup .. We must not over look anything about $$$$.

I cannot afford Private Hospital cause i dont wished to burden Hubby, it does not matter which hospital i deliver cause labour is still inside a small room accompany by hubby and the midwifes and the gynae.

And paying anyting more than $4K for a normal delivery is not worth the money i personally think. I rather keep the $$$ for future usage.

I am not discouraging anyone to go private, please go private if not KKH labour ward full house wait i got no room to deliver my baby.. kekekkekee

CT - wow....u have everything worked out for you and with 3 children and 4th one coming, i think we can salute you for keeping level headed..i think if me, il go bonkers already..hehe

Ladies, earlier, i buay tahan so go buy clear blue kit....its a cross but slight blue..but still visible....ive one more left so tomorrow early mornnig il try again.....then il take the next step to totally tell myself im pregnant.... *shudders* But funnily, i do not have so far any symptoms except missing of period and my basal temp is pretty warm....

Coyote & Stella n all mummies to be - congrats....
Hope your pregnancy journey will be a wonderful one...

CT: Like Ms Carpe Diem i too think u r an inspirational. I am a homemaker like u yet i feel useless when many wanna take over my position.

I only have 1 child. My hubby earns more than your hubbie, home finance by cpf, no car, no maid, no credit card, no renovation loan. Besides the hse, we are debt free yet i still feel like what he is earning is like nt enuf.

Actually i think the problem lies with me. I don't trust anybody else taking care of my DD. My DD has never ever been separated from me even for few hrs since the day she was born but yet i feel so miserable not earning my own money. I feel guilty each time i buy "my wants" using his money.

I hv ever told him abt it and he scolded me. He told me he work for me and children, why so scared. He is very nice yet i can't help feel bad.

Actually im going mad. I wanna tk care of my own kids yet i wanna earn my own money so badly....

Agree about the point that private has many of it's advantages. I have heard about TMC's excellent breastfeeding programme, which has very attentive lactation consultants who will go around and help new mothers correct their breastfeeding technique. I also heard about Mt Alvernia's excellent nursery care for newborns. The postnatel classes at TMC has been 1 point that had attracted me to TMC.

BlueY- Is this ur 1st? Usually symptoms doesnt come so early for many. I never had any MS for my #1. But for this #2 im feeling different.

I keep craving for tom yum..hahaha..If cannot find tom yum i eat Maggie Asam Laksa. I just wanna hv something Sour n spicy...

Millie's mum: I know, I feel the same way too. It's the fear of only depending on 1 source of income right? And the sacrifices a stay-home mum must make... Few shopping trips, eating out at nice places, spa, beauty treatments or just spending on something nice for ourselves.

And these are just the material parts, I also think we may be missing out on the social support. E.g being around peers (in our offices they are our colleagues) and occasionally chit-chatting with them, having access to an organization's resources and benefits e.g childcare leave...

I know what you mean, and realistically, these are some of the costs....

Blue_Y: Try 48 hrs later? That's what the instructions on my pregnancy test kit tells me to do if the results are unclear.

I was just talking to a mother whose child is less than 6 months old. She had mentioned that previously when she was expecting that child, she was so ganjiong that the day after her period is late, she had checked and the results were positive. She quickly went to confirm with a gynae.

Ms Carpe dIEM: U r right. My ex-colleague called e the other day to invite me for her wedding. i badly wanna go but i turn her down.

Reason: Use hubby $$$ for Ang Bao, then i live baby for a while ask him take care. I feel bad. I feel he just come back work then must take care of 15mths old active baby..
I used to be a spa therapist in one of the world's top spa for few years. Yet nw when i look at myself in the mirror, i am so ashamed to call myself a qualifed therapist. Feels so low confidence. Im nw so scared to even bump into any friends or ex-colleagues.

Millie's Mom: I am actually still shopping around! I've heard quite a few good things about Dr Adrian Tan (who an acquaintance says is one of the best gynaes in S'pore, but I don't know how true it is) and I've also heard many good things about Dr Benjamin Tham. I'm using the check ups in 1st and probably 2nd trimester to get a feel of the gynaes then make a decision...

I know how you feel... Don't worry, just have to put your mind to do something to your hair or skin after you've given birth to #2, with time am sure you'll get back your radiance. Agree with you maybe wedding dinner is too expensive an opportunity to catch up with a friend. Why not re-arrange a time to meet over an inexpensive meal? If you just do it periodically (once a month, once 2 weeks), think it's ok. Full-time mothers do need adult company. It's ok to let your husband take care of your child periodically, as long as it does not interfere with his work or deprive him of too much rest.

Millie's mom: Haha, your mentioning of Tom yum made me crave for Tom yum, and I wasn't even hungry 5 min ago. Hee! Think I'll go make myself some oat and eat Tom yum tmr. Hee

Millie - this is my second..my DD is 14mths coming 15mths very soon. But perhaps , cos my 1st one, i have no symptoms too...But i was a 'sleeping beauty' during the 1st 3 mths...hehe...always falling asleep anywhere, anytime..i fell asleep on my laundry while folding it...i sat on the floor, i fell asleep sprawled. That's for my 1st..

So far im anticipating the 'sleeping beauty' phase..but so far so gd..hope it last..cos now i got a kid, i cant fall asleep on her! hehe

Ms Carpe - i know...:p..48hrs..but the wait is killing me....unless someone hide the pregnancy test kits from me? hehe

Anyway, financial wise, me and hub are very comfortable for now...we both work...his money used to buy things for home, food, expenses and my money for myself, splurges n online shopping..No credit card, no car....hdb by cpf.... As a young couple getting a new home thats quite compact, we both very 'on' to renovate the place to make it nice nice. So now, if this is positively positive, im wondering how to accommodate my 2nd one cos i broke one room to become entertainment room. Next, ive been sending my dd to my mom's daily and picking her up daily. With a second one, two will be too handful for my mum to handle, i guess. So that is the reason i feel a little lost when i realise that having the 2nd one will make things a lil uncomfortable until we manage to settle in. Im also not comfortable with having a stranger in my home and dealing with my DD who may one day be closer to the stranger instead of me who's working. So kinda feeling in a dilema..hope to find a solution soon...

CT: Can share some of your invaluable advice on what we can do/eat to take care of ourselves and our bb in 1st trimester? If you have any thoughts on preparing for 2nd trimester, will be good to hear these from you too? Thanks!

Blue_Y: Haha, whatever makes you happy!
Maybe just manage your expectations if you're going to test again before 48 hrs, so you won't feel let down if the results are again not clear.

Good morning mommies!! I just found out that I'm pregnant with my number 3 on vesak day! :D this time round I have no symptoms unlike the other 2 previous pregnancies.Taken by surprise this time.Hope u mommies will enjoy your pregnancy too :D

Hi CT

does ur part time nanny do part time domestic chores? looking for one to lessen my house cleaning so I can rest more.

Im also thinking of taking no-pay leave after my baby arrives. also worry abt financial as my parents r old n also dont want my hubby to feel financial tight as he need to give his mum too. dilemna..

Gd morning all! Today I feel so comfortable wearing a no-waistline sundress. Hopefully no one will suspect, I hate to lie.

Millie's mum - how abt working P/T? Actually I envy you, you have a set of skills whereby you can do a home-biz. Many are converting one of their hdb rms into a massage/beauty/hair/nail salon. U can consider that, be your own boss ;)

Big hello to hfgaga!

Btw TGIF yeah....can rest for 2 days liao loh!!!

Next monday is the scan hope they can see the heartbeat. been praying hard for it.

Has anyone already see their baby heartbeat?

last mon scan only see amniotic sac and yolk sac, hope next mon will bring better news that e fetal pole can be seen

What is aminotic & yolk sac & fetal pole? My gynae only told me is a sac....

U are doing your scan so frequently?

hi coyote

the amniotic sac will be the space our baby will develop in. The yolk sac provide the nutrients to the embryo till the placenta takes over.

No choice lay as gynae want to check whether the pregnancy is developing well.

Have u done any scan? what e results?

Ms Carpe Diem,
Did u mix me up with someone else? What results?

Coyote,
I stay at Punggol. There is a pretty popular Female Gynae nearby my place. But i heard she's quite expensive.

Morning All

Coyote: Ever tot of that(doing at hm) but my DD nobody take care if i stay in room to do a client. No helper. Maybe after the 2nd get helper then see situation.

Tuete_Cottage: I live Jurong West St 93... Are u nearby me.. hehehe..

My scan wont be till Next Friday.. Excited but nervous tho its #2... I tot having #2 i would be more relax. I still end up worrying. But this pregnancy diff frm #1. #1, no cravings at all thruout, no appetite and no ms. This pregnancy i hv been craving for tom yum every night. Goodness im so scared when during the checkup i hv gain so much...

Ms Carpe

Through out the pregnancy just eat for 1 not for 2. I drink low fat milk everyday pregnant or not pregnant. So milk is my daily routine in the morning. Cause i dont want to gain too much weight.

I dont have pantang so i eat everything. Some people say cannot drink green tea, eat spicy food bla bla bla,

My 1st pregnancy i love Curry Maggie so everyday eat 1pkt curry maggie, my boy delivered safely 3.75kg(40Weeks),

2nd boy i drink more coffee just crave for it and eat beriani chicken he was 3.45kg (38weeks) due to a FAll waterbag leak so got to induced labour.

3rd Boy i LOVE green tea and OLD chang Ke curry puffs. My boy delivered 3.5kg(36weeks) due to my high blood pressure, the bb was pressing at my nerve vain therefore it cause the high BP. After deliver him no more High Blood Pressure.

I dont let the legend and the myths control my life. I am a free and easy.

Hi,sharing my wifey delivery cost at KKH dated Mar2010.FYI.

For mummy
A1 Single ward, KKH
Stay - 3 Days
Normal delivery w/o epi (Only laughing gas)
Total - 3,670 (Cash-1120, Medisave-2550)

For baby
Neonatal - 2 Days
Total - 650 (Medisave - 650)

Hi millie

Yes I stay in JW st 93 too, blk 989. U stay near there too?

Hi Dh74

Does ur wife chose her own gynae for the delivery? subsidized or privaye suit patient?

Hi i live in Tampinese. Anyone live in tampines? My first scan i can see something flicking and the gynae told me is the heartbeat..its so amazing..Just wonder, usually gynae count the due date from our last menses. so i am about 7 weeks now, but to be exact, when i went for my pap smear test on the first week of april, i have not conceive at that time. so to count from the following week, i should be about 5 weeks only. How mommies here actually follow which calculation?

BlueY: My Baby born in Feb too.. wakakakaka.. i live in 989 like Tuete, and hv a baby born in Feb or to be exact 8th Feb 2010 like BlueY

Huh both of u same block!!!!! What a coincidence! Can form kids' parties. I once saw an angmo programme abt time-mgmt and 2 families actually do combined afternoon kid programme. Eg all kids gather at 1 mummy's place and the mummy will be the nanny of the day and the other mummy can enjoy the afternoon off. Then take turns.

<font color="aa00aa">Wow, this thread is moving so fast!

(X) (ttcx) - hmm…we are friends on FB? So you had no. 1 in Sept 2008? Hint as to who you are cos you are using your nick here?

steffy (tinkerw), millie'smum (ezmeralda) - yes, I was lucky to have had a very uneventful C-sec. The area around the incision was numb for about 2 months, but other than some soreness when I coughed/sneezed, it was otherwise pretty painless. I am now a great advocate of C-sec; the whole surgery took just 45 minutes &amp; I liked being prepared for the baby rather than have the waterbag burst suddenly. I also think that people who do C-sec lose weight quicker cos the gyne can remove the unwanted bits internally :p

Then again, there are of cos people from the other camp who think that you don't become a real mum until you have gone through labour...and of cos gynes wont suggest going for C-sec unless there is a real reason why you need it (baby too big, pelvis too small, or like my case cos I had a prior fibroid surgery &amp; risk uterine rupture from natural birth)

Stella: congrats on your scan!</font>

Looks like some mommies have already gone for your 1st gyne appnt! Am so jealous - I won't get to see baby for another month!

Millie's mum - you are having cravings? How about the rest? cravings/nausea/other signs of pregnancy already?

Right now, I don't feel preggers at all. Was the same with no. 1 (Kieran) - ended up being abit paranoid about whether he was growing properly that I did 5 pregnancy test in the 1st trimester! I had no pregnancy symptoms throughout, so hubby is warning me that maybe this time I would get it 2X as tough (choy!!)

h.fgaga (hfgaga) - Welcome!

Btw, when are you ladies planning to tell everyone else that u are preggers (immediate family/colleagues etc)? We were too excited &amp; practically told everyone as soon as we found out for Kieran's case (like at this stage) --- but obviously it makes sense to wait till the pregnancy is more certain! I do need to tell my boss sooner rather than later though, cos I already have travel plans for work right up till November, and I think the last month to travel for us would be around Oct/Nov.

(X): I saw your previous message (now archived under "Archive through May 19,2011") "I just tested on those cheap strips i bought from overseas BP thread. Haha... those selling at Watsons/Guardian too expensive!" and I thought you had just tested your results. I've re-read your sentence and realise you are just sharing what type of pregnancy tests you had used, sorry for the confusion. How was your last gynae check and how many weeks pregnant are you?

And thanks for the sharing of site, I'll visit it soon!

dh74: Thanks for sharing about the costs of delivery. Appreciate it. Those costs don't include the charges of your gynae? If these costs do include your gynae, could you share which level (e.g consultant, senior consultant etc) your gynae is from?

CT: Thanks for sharing on your food routine.

MayC: My main symptom is that I'm hungry all the time (except when I'm sleeping so I can generally sleep through the night) and my taste fluctuate between meals when I only want to eat full-flavoured food to times when I only want light, soupy meals. Oats however appear to be a constant which my taste and stomach can accept no matter the time of the day. There is slight nausea but Thank God no vomitting.

Someone asked about which gender we prefer, somehow, I feel I can be a better mother to boys, but my husband prefers a girl. Haha...

MayC,
Already huge hint... Teakwando class.
I have no plans to annouce yet. Same as u... i also told everyone abt my #1 when i was 6 weeks preggy as cfm by gynae.
But for this... i think i'll wait. A few sad MC stories on my co... think not a good time now to share my news yet.

I'm also an adovocate of c sec. Motherhood can be enjoyed w/o the unneccessary pain. Keke...

Ms Carpe Diem,
I'm in week 6 now. Seen gynae last week. EDD is 11 Jan. But this being a csec as #1 was csec, prob will be ard xmas week. Yikes!!!

Qtn - iherb doesn't have a local site right? Is it still cheaper to order &amp; have the vitamins shipped to Singapore? Right now, I am getting my son's supplements from Vitakids.

MayC,
Way cheaper to get from iherb than vitakids!
I have some orders on hand now... but not enuff to reach form a batch.

Can PM me ur list. u still staying at Punggol/SK area?

(X): Wow, my EDD may be around the same time as yours (Well it is estimated as 6-8 weeks, I'll most probably go for a scan next week to more accurately determine the date) and I think coyote also has a similar EDD.

It may not be so bad having your delivery date around Christmas week. If a confinement lady will be an option you use, you should have no problems getting her services for at least 1 week, better than nothing. They may not want to be available during the CNY month

Ms Carpe Diem: The delivery bill is all inclusive, like delivery suite charges, lab test, daily treatment fee and stuff. Yes, include the gynae delivery fee too.

Gynae is SF Loh from KKH. Think he's Senior Consultant.