(2012/01) Jan 2012

Coyote: Hmm i live jurong. will discuss wif my HB if compass pt is okay..

MUMMIES: I tested twice this mng twice n both hv fainbt positive line. 1 Guardian brand, another Clearblue.

I just test again just nw(I know i am kiasu.hehe)n i have clearer positive line....

This is my no.2.. Mixture of excitement and nervous... The waking up's at night n the "TERRIBLE TWO'S" period makes me wonder if i can handle the stress. I a a SAHM. My HB suggested having a maid just nw but i think i will feel like a useless mother being a SAHM yet can't handle the stress..

Anyway i am open to recomendations of FEMALE gynae if any of u hv any suggestions...

Sorry Veronica, no ideas on how to get an appetite for food

Just told my MIL abt #2 that's on the way.. She said that cld be reason why my #1 who is such a friendly baby suddenly becomes clingy to me. She dont even want her dad. She is just so so different. She cannot lose me out of her sight for even a min...

i want 2 baby only but my HB want 3... I really wonder if i can cope. I am 29years this year. I hope my HB wld change his mind after having #2.

STRESS !!!!

keep having cramps.
isit normal? no bleed / spotting. gynae visit tml! cant wait. just no mood to do anything. kp thinking abt the bb.hope bb is growing healthily. ~prayingveryhard~ was wondering if preg can go oversea? as i book a tix to hk which bb will be 17weeks. i duno how to inform my mil abt it. though my mum advise not to go. but i've been looking forward for this trip with my gfs.

2012 CNY willbe on 23 jan. so all our babies born before 23rd is rabbit tail & dragon head according to chinese
calendar.

any suggestion on the hospital? is thomsob medical or eastshore better? anyone with dr heng from eastshore? i still considering on gynae.

Halo mummies happy PH n hope every1 is resting at home.

Me jus tested positive n will be seeing my gynae on this sat. Any1 with dr adrian woodworth at seng kang?

Bigroundeyes,
Actually is ok to travel after 1st tri but if I will u is best not to go coz sit plane got pressure which is not so gd for bb. Jus my 2cents worth of comment la.. But if u wan to go jus be careful in every other way.

Ger, I visit gynae last evening. Although discovered a sac at 0.7cm @ 5wks+ and yet to hear heartbeat is normal but gynae is very negative. I am very upset by the entire consultation. She used phrases like " this is not a baby". " is very small", "your age is your barrier" etc negative remarks. Followed by talking about chances of mc and asked me to give it a chance to grow.

Wah Lao, what the heck are all these craps? I am new to all these and the worst I need are such discouraging words

Millie's mum, I visited the gynae. I don't recommend you. No need to waste time traveling, is tiring. I am sure there are other better gynae around

Coyote, dont worry much. it will effect the growth of the baby. i had mc when bb was 7wks, reason no yolk only sac was Form. i feel pregnant, everything was smooth on my side. just imagine, after few scans gyane sax no bb only got waterbag.

BRE: I think its fine to travel. i went to Perth when i was 22weeks preggie with my 1st...

Coyote: Wahh u better change gynae if u dun hv a gd impression of her.. Its no fun sticking to a gynae that never "ngam" with u. U will prefer a gynae that u like for all your future children too n future check up.

Usually gynae will say 5weeks is small and its still a sac. They usually never mention abt the age till when they wanna check that DS n will give u option to check or nt to check...

This is my #2. During my #1 i check at 5weeks but doc say too early and schedule me to when baby is 10weeks. Hence i am nt in a rush to check yet tho i know its positive. I scared of the comment "too early n its still a sac"

Coyote, just relax and ignore the comment. Just go pop all your vitamins and dont get stress(hahaha tho i know nt easy)... I hv lot of worries when i was preggy with my 1st.. It was just my fear and imagination after all...

Coyote and Ms Carpe,
sorry maybe am too excited for all mummies as my calculation is base on 40 weeks and if both of u starting from 5/6 weeks at this month, it's possible to having a dragon head bb heheee :D

Millie and Coyote,
maybe you want to consider Jocelyn Wong at TMC for your gynea? one of my friend was with her for her first bb and she said Jocelyn is good
my gynea is Adrian Tan from TMC also. he's very friendly, always encourage me, and keep gave me positive thinking.

Bigroundeyes,
i was delivered at TMC for my 1st bb and got a pleasant stay from labour time until discharged. the nurses over there very helpful and if you having trouble during breastfeeding, they will help you and some more the lactation expert will approach you to check to make sure everything fine before we go home
as for your trip better u consult with ur gynea first.

Tks all, I am telling myself n my baby to jiayou be a fighter! We will not be defeated by some negative remarks. Getting pregnant is not easy, we waited for 6 yrs so we will persist.

Cinmay, I plan to go to Adrain tan. He helped to delivered my gf's kids and solved her ovary issue. My gf highly recommends him.

To everyone - Jiayou Jiayou Jiayou!!!!

Can anyone advice me on the fee? For regular pregnancy consultation & ultrasound, are we able to claim from medisave/medishield? And when u visit gynae during office hour, is it normal to get MC for being absence at work? Or we have to take personal leave to visit gynae?

Btw I just want to say tks goodness I have this platform and u ladies here to hear me out. We didn't break the news to family yet so I have no one to talk to except for hubby

Hi coyote: usually I try schedule on Saturday or take leave in first trimester when I don't want to announce yet. Dr Adrian has sat clinic half days but he charge 15 surcharge: I don't mind since I don't want to always take leave.

If I submit mc I don't know how to explain an Mc from a gynae keke unless u are able? Like some pap smear keke... I cannot lah. After 2nd trimester I will announce so I will be asking for mc. My first pregnancy did not pass first trimester, so cannot advise... I went for DnC so the clinic used my consultation bills to claim from medisave alongside the operation charges. In the end I did not pay much cash.

Coyote,
you can sign up for a package that include consultation and normal ultrasound together from the first visit until your last visit before labour. if you want the consultation day to be on Saturday, have to pay additional $15 during your visit.

Redqueen, I understand that. I will see how things go n decide which type of leave to take. Tks. What is DnC?

Redqueen n cinmay, what is the norm waiting time for adrain's clinic?

Redqueen,
Sorry I have no idea how much is his package now. Last year when I signed up for his package was on my 20+ weeks preg and they charge me $600+ so I think if you sign up from early preg, maybe around $1000+? heheee not too sure also :p

Jt_junior..previously my gynae for my 1st child is Dr TB Lim at Mt Eliz

But i am not going back to him...have to wait for him v v long and he doesnt offer package.

This time round i am looking for a female gynae that offers package so that it will be cheaper on hubby's pocket

Anyway i am really hoping that the lunar gender chart is wrong..cos i Sooo want a Girl...I hope my dream will come true..

Well Happy Vesak Day to all the MTBs

Is there roughly a guide how frequent do we need to visit gynae as a regular checkup?

Cinmay, $600+ include what? Ytd I already spent $200+ on one visit

Oh btw i know i m really kiasu..i saw some one posted that 2012 CNY is in Jan 2012 yah...Hmm i m sure confinement ladies charges will be ALL time high for us yah

Amanda, no choice right? High also must pay unless u can get ur family to help out. For me no one can help, everything we must settle ourselves

Coyote: Yah..guess no choice. For my #1, my mil helped me during my confinement and it was Terrible..I had no rest at all as my mil took care of my son..and in turn i had to help take care of a 2yrs old niece who was so hyper active (which is also under her care)..

Really regretted..for wanting to save $

Amanda: which gyane r u with nw? i am looking for a female gynae that offer package too.

Coyote: Usually its once a mth and when hits 37th week, its every week. Wahh what did they do to charge u $200??? I tot usually abt $100+++?

With my #1, i never use confinement lady. I use maid and hv a assage lady..hehehe cheaper..

Millie's mum..i am intending to go next weekend to visit the Gyane after my hubby comes back from the states. She is introduced by my friend. This gyane is at Paragon..will fill you with the details then k

For confinement, i guess i May cater confinement food..and hopefully by then my niece is in FULL DAY child care haha..so i can rest better

Coyote,
normally for the first visit sure will cost u $200+ one, unless u sign up for the package immediately then they will count it from the first visit. $600 is for consultation and normal ultrasound only.

Amanda, to take care of ur niece so that ur mil can care for ur son is as gd as not much help. Just an exchange of task.

Confinement catering is extremely expensive. My colleague just came back frm maternity leave and commented she spent ard $1k for 2wks of awful tasting confinement food. And they just add more ginger, wolf berries n dates to make the food confinement-like. She regreted not getting a confinement lady instead.

Millie mum, my bill is $80 for subsequent visit + $80 for ultrasound + $42 for duphaston + gst

Coyote: what is Duphaston??

hmmm im thinking of i should go private or government hospital? I wanna close factory after this.. Tot if i go goverment hospital save $$$ then can use the $$$$ for slimming..hahahaha

Coyote: sour stuff makes me nauseous. Now my mouth permanently got a bitter cotton taste. Everything tastes weird. So different frm #1. That time everything also can eat. This one is e exact opp.

Millie's mum,
Saw frm other post duphastosa was supposed to be hormone supplement to thicken the wall lining to make the pregnancy more stable.

Are u talking abt kk hospital when u said govt? I understand that subsidize rate will only be given if u are being referred by polyclinic. In this case not sure whether u can choose ur preferred gynae. Otherwise u will b treated like private patient. My sil went kk with her prefered gynae and bill ends up higher than mt. A.

Stella, maybe this time is a diff gender that's y symptoms are diff.

Anyone experience pressure/ pain at lower abdominal?

Cinmay oh okay ... Keke u took package after 2nd trimester right?

I agree with coyote, from asking around seems like kkh is not much cheaper unless u get the subsidized rate. Does kkh offer package?

Coyote/JTML: Hehehe maybe i shld just stick to private. leceh lah polyclinic queue. Usually package offer 2nd trimester. i was with Mt. A with my 1st. Total bill 10k plus...

Coyote: Dats very normal. Its just the water bag and wall thickening..Hehe surprisingly in both pregnancy i can detect pregnancy even before menses due and i even knew the bleeding was implantation bleeding...

hah i tot thats quite standard normal. my fwen gave birth gleaneagles normal birth 9k.

Mine tried for normal birth for 16hrs add epidural then add C-Section end up 10k lorrr..

hello...

i am due in jan and realise cny also fall in the same mth, which means getting a confinement lady is more ex. anyone knows how much more it will cost?

Just read this from internet, here to share:

Learn to sleep on your left-hand side
------------------------------------------------------
It's a good idea to teach yourself to sleep on your left side during the first months of pregnancy. This position helps blood and nutrients to flow to your baby and uterus (womb) and helps your kidneys get rid of waste and fluids. This position will help you to get comfortable and sleep better as your bump grows.

Extracted from http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/sleep/basicsofgoodsleep/

Coyote,
Sounds like u got a bad experirnce with ur gynae.

Well... i dun mean to side your gynae. Maybe that gynae is just being practical, not wanting to get your hopes up. Any case, pls take care. Eat and sleep well till next checkup!

No problem X. She may have her concerns to being practical and my interest at heart. But she made me uncomfortable with the way she convey her messages. I have sorted things out, will take good care of myself and think positively. I have fixed an appointment with another gynae is 8.5wks time ;) CHEERS!

Coyote: I envy u being able to wake up at 4am to eat. I used to wake up as n when i want n sleep when i want.. Eat even in e early morning..

Now with a toddler in hand i cant even sleep when i feel tired.. I regret keep complaining of being too lonely at home dat i keep sleeping during my 1st pregnancy. I keep wanting for pregnancy to be over till i realise nw, i miss my 1st pregnancy. hahahaha.....

i cant hv sleep n eat luxury in 2nd pregnancy...Nw nw with my dearest little Millie having a Bad bad cough, i hv only slept 5hrs...*yawn*

i hope to stop at 2child tho my hubby even hinted he wants 3....

Coyote: How many weeks preggie are u??

Millie'smum,
Ur hospital bills almost same as mine. Mine also ard 10k. It was a planned C-sec coz baby was too big. Gynae ask me not to be hero. Haha... so c-sec lor. Stayed 1 more night coz engorged and baby #1 jaundiced.

millie's mum, not easy to handle 2 ya?! I will try to telling myself i am the lucky one, able to eat.

today is my 6wks+2days.