(2011/05) May 2011

vv - I did the epi c-sec on 38wk 5d during #1 coz she already hit 4kg :p Hmm..epi is more ex than GA I suppose, but only slight different.

Insertion of epi till deliver of placenta & seal up takes about 30min depends on anesthetist & gynae.

Talking about healing, it is very individual and the gynae's skill. I do not have pain at all when I get down fr bed the very next morning, but gotta walk slow. I removed the stitching thread on day 8, no feeling at all..hehe

As for diet, gotta avoid chicken and egg for the first 2 weeks. If u cater, u can inform them u underwent c-sec, they know how to prepare for u.

I ate lean pork, fish(ngoh yu), tonic soup for the 1st 2 weeks. I also took roasted pork..haha

vv / auroa : want to check with you, for the 1st few days/weeks of school for the lil ones... do you call up the CC and check with the teacher on how's your boy/girl doing?

hannah, vv, auroa, val, apple,

Thanks for the concern... she is at full time childcare... last sat nite she is still playing at my mum place... no fever no nothing, very happy, played until dun wan to go home... when i settle her to sleep she is still ok... but after i came back from rws... her temp was at 39.7... after tat till yesterday... her temp is constantly at above 38... there is once shoot up to 40.2 somemore... onli drop once... tis morning her temp is at 37.4 when she woke up... but increase to 37.8 after her lunch... so i sponge her, put fever pad, n let her sleep on the cooler pad... if she still having fever after her nap den i will bring her back to kk... if her does temp drop till no fever before, does tat mean tat it should not be dengue fever? just check her temp it is 37.2... not sure if i should bring her back for blood test anot...

vv,

my gal oso is a breech baby... i have c-section at 37 weeks cos of my constant gastric problem during pregnancy... my gynae did try to turn the baby down by turing my tummy but no use... i did ask my gynae before if my 1st one is a breech baby, is there high chance my 2nd will be oso... he said no link wor... so dun worry lah... just wait until when u wanna give birth den the doc will decide if u suitable for natural birth...

my gal like to colour too... but sometimes is like 3 mins interest onli... haha...

vv,

its true nt worth to take leave for gynae visit unless u have plans for the day lo. does ur gynae have any evening clinic? my gynae has so i can still schedule for evening visits but he charge slight higher for evening clinic.

i am ok to go for evening clinic just tat v hard to bring my boy along if i am in office on tat day lo. i try to bring my boy along for the visits lo.

hahaha, u arent alone lo. i wanna rest too but i also dun wanna touch my leave =P But then again, i also seldom take mc...last yr i took at most 4days of MC for the entire yr...

gd u planned ur schedule for nov n dec. at least u can try to apply for leave early and likely will approve since u gave ample notice rite? I am planning to look ard for another job or even a part time/hm based one during my ML...

My plan is to take 1 shot 4mths ML frm the date i delivered lo. nt taking early as I wan to fully utilise the time with baby n #1 aft the arrival of meimei lo. till date, no replacement in or hired yet...duno when will come in also but is nt those perm one, will just cover me when i am away. abit sia lo, imagine when i am back will be 1 woman show again =(

hahhaa, so far my boy nv complain hand tired la but he always a perfectionist. When he color, he tends to color out of the line so he always wan us to help him so he can color within the line lo. even when we keep things, he will wan to arrange things on his own like based on design then colors etc. sometime cant tahan him. hahaha.

Yes. its quite cute to see their make no head n tail writings/drawings but i am also looking fwd to his improvement! hahaha.

auroa,

we havent decide which branch...coz both branches are quite far le...hahaha. and in the event my hb cant send/fetch then i have to drive liao =P

melody,

i starts to get tired easily and backache v easily and cant walk/stand for long but so far i think water retention / swollen limbs still ok for me. i can still wear my rings w.o prob.

dolly,

I will email the teacher weekly to chk on my boy's progress. and daily when my mum fetches my boy, i will also ask my mum to ask the teacher on his progress/behaviour for the day =P mayb i too ks. =P

yaer,

40degrees is v high! usually if my boy hits 39 degrees n above, i will send him to KKH A&E le esp if I do nt have the bufen bullet. If her temp do drop to normal temp later, i will still suggest u bring her to pd to chk for ease of mind lo. this is hw i feel la.

haiz..just nw while went out to tabao lunch, tripped on the carpet in the office building n almost fell forward...lucky i manage to regain my bal but hurt my legs in the process...gonna have bruises le...was quite worried but feeling better nw when i feel my gal moves...hope everything is ok...

val : oh... i thought to call up & didn't even think of writing a email to them...

i'm so worried about my girl even though she's in good hands... she cried the moment she's at the gate le... yesterday she went to the playground with her classmates & teachers.. my hb and myself went to peep at her... she cried again when she saw us... we have to hide behind the pillar then she cried even badly... i'm so heart-pain...

Hi, I'm from Dec thread... got a U-shape pillow (for milk feeding) which was given by friend, still in good condition but as I am not using it, would like to give to someone who need it. Pls PM me if interested.

dolly,

i seldom call up unless really urgent and i cant wait lo. Actually they have a communication book for the teachers or parents to pen down any things we wanna let the other party know but I prefer to go via email as faster =P

she just started huh? Give her time to settle dwn ba. They tend to cry more when they see parents lo..as its like can see us but cant come to us so poor thing lo. Aft long weekend, my boy also v cranky n emotional....these few days have been a nitemare bringing him to sch...

yaer,

its another form of bufen but its those bullet form to be inserted from the butt. stronger in dosage thus can bring dwn high fever faster than oral med. It was given to me by KK when my boy has high fever of 39.2 and he refused oral med. Sun when u went KK, did they give u?

val : oh.. i've no idea whether do they have these communication books?

yeah.. started her 1st lesson on monday... so we went into the class with her.. we left her without her knowing... yesterday, she started to cry once we left her behind with one of the teachers.. from there, she's started to cry... when we picked her from school.. her teacher told me she has cried for an hour... don't know how long she has cried for this morning...

dolly,

mayb u can chk with ur gal's sch. for my boy's sch, weekly they will send us info sheet on what the kids will be learning so I just use email method since I have the teacher email and she is ok to communicate with me via email.

Dun worry, i am sure she will adapt to it in time to come. Some kids take 1 mth to adapt lo. Perhaps you can try telling her u be going out for awhile and pick her up at xxx time. Most impt must assure her u will be coming back to pick her later.

Yaer

Maybe its some virul infection due to some dirtiness in CC or maybe at your Mom place? My boy kena before, fever without any other symptoms. The fever can last for about 3 days plus. It will go up & down. So I just keep sponging him till the fever subsides. You monitor another day and see how?

37.2 ok as long as not 38 and above. I heard from my PD that young babies and toddlers body temp will tend to be higher abit. So we just have to monitor every hour if they are having fever.

Oh ok, no link arh? Haaa, like tat I can at least rest half of my mind. Quite worried leh.

Then how u handle your C Sect after that?

Val

Yeap. Mine dun have night clinic. For now, I just have to "keng" MC once in awhile. Then waste a few days MC for the remaining gynae visits. Cos last year visits were once every 4 weeks. So not many leave days wasted. Now, gonna be 3 weekly and 2 weekly and then weekly. Sounds like many leave days to consume leh.

My partimer, I managed to get one old-timer used to cover my colleagues whom went to maternity last year de. But still have to go thru my Superior & HR for approval. Haz. Hopefully can go thru earlier.

Be careful when u walk. Sometimes I would also trip over sth and I will be scared too. Rem to look out especially floor area when walking carpet, roads... etc. Take care yeah.

Apple

Wow, your confinement foods sounds YUMMY!

Thanks for your advice. So how much did you pay in estimation after medisave deduction, which hospital, bedded? How many days did u stay? 4D3N?

vv,

then no choice if she dun have nite clinic le. Just try to take mc lo =P if paisay take full day take half day? =P

If you have a part timer in mind u can trust quickly submit to your superior n HR for approval ba. At least once its approved u can start to train le - 1 thing off your mind =P

Ya, today nt paying much attention when i walked so i didnt really see that the carpet was popping up abit. hehehe. Will be more careful in future. Somemore my hb nt in Sin nw...anything i have to self settle =/

dolly,

relax. only 1st week. give her time to adapt =)

dolly, she will cry at least for 1 week lah. but i think J quite sociable type right. she should be able to adapt quite fast. Yes pls drop and go. dun let her see u lingering around. If she sees u, they will cry harder.

Its hard for the parents to see their kids cry but trust us, she will pass this stage and soon, she will enjoy CC and school!

yaer, its fever suppository inserted via tha anus, backside, it can bring fever down very fast. And since not from same family as paracetol, u can give it together. I only give when fever shoots up close to 40. Other then that, i dun like to use the sup esp now that my ger is bigger.

If u bring to KK or GP, they can insert for u on the spot.

Dolly, also remember, dun be late when u go pick her up esp during this 1st critical week when she feels insecure. she needs to know that u will be there to pick her up at the time u promise her (which is end of school)

wha last night i had major calve cramp man, recurring somemore!! so damn painful!!!.. finally buey tahan and woke hubby up to stretch my leg!!! it went on for sooo long! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Val

No la, I dun feel pai sey to take full day leave. Im just concerned my leave days... Heehee, dun wanna waste the leave days ma. Hahaaa...

Dolly

During my boy's 1st 2 WEEKS at CC, I called up the CC every alternate day to check with the teacher in charge. Then I also speak to the teacher every morning to ensure he is adapting well.

You can actually call the CC de. And also, you can ask your gal as well if she is ok at school and so on.

val / starfruit : yeah.. maybe i'm too kan cheong.. hopes she's able to get throught it quickly...

starfruit : she's quite sociable when she's with us... but i'm not so sure how she's doing at cc... yeah.. that's why my HB pull me away once she's started to cry...

apple: really? Gosh.. your msg came too late. I had kimchi ramen in the end. Will try that tomrrow.

starfruit: u know what works for me when I feel a cramp coming or have a cramp? I usually quickly flex my feet from the ankle - you don't even need to get out of bed / wake up to do this. It usually eases the cramp. Try it the next time.

Dolly

Can call la. Cos at then, my boy very clingy and cried like slaughter-pig like tat when I left him there everyday. My heart so pain and I also cried when I was walking to bus stop. I cannot accept the fact that Im leaving him all alone there.... So I called sch lo to make my mind rest more. Heeheee. Maybe u call twice a week? Like every Monday & Thu?

I got a medela swing single breast pump to let go off at 50% discount. Its bought in Jan '11 but I gave up on bf-ing, thus have no more use for it. Do PM me for details.

vv - My gynae is exp, c-sec charges $5k, daily visit $250, I'll be staying at GEH 1 bedder the package around $4k+ and if not mistaken, medisave can use close to $4k. So cash around $7-8k if nothing major.

dolly, for 1st 2 weeks for new enrollment, I will call after i reached office... same here, my girl will buckets of water and 1st week normally will cry for at least an hr.. previous cc knows i very gan chong and will call me after they settled her down/after she stopped crying.. the teacher-in-charge will take photos to let me see what's she doing in the day and update me the activity via email or via communication bk... current cc dun have email but got monthly newsletter to update on their activities and the teachers will call me in the 1st week (after i left the premises to let the teacher settle her for day 3 onwards) to let me know how's she coping and after tat will be via communication bk... the teachers also will update me verbally daily if there's a need to, for instance, my girl din eat much during lunch as she doesn't like the food or she refuses to listen to teacher's instructions tat day, etc... just to check, if yr girl cc dun hve communication bk, what is the means of communication? verbally update or data sheet update?

yaer, the fever went down? if so, maybe no need to see PD bah.. seems like viral fever but will need to do blood test to see whether it's dengue fever... monitor first... the bullet med will helps to bring down the fever very fast.. my PD gave me once for my girl for high fever... i find it really effective as her fever went up very high ard 39.4 and the med immediately (abt half an hr bah) bring it down to 38.5.. my girl viral fever normally will last fr 1 week to 2 weeks.. depending on individual.. i normally will bring her to yu guo for massage if high fever persists for abt 3 to 5 days... the chinese sensei will prescribe ling yang and i will bring it back to brew for her... normally after the med/massage, her fever will goes off within 3 days... the chinese sensei said tat viral fever is another form of HFMD...

vv : i called up the cc and have a talk with her teacher le... she told me that my girl cried on & off... only after she's out to the playground & back to the classroom... she's settled down... i'm so relieved after she updates me...

dolly, go ahead and call the cc... understand how u feel... it's a new environment for her and parents tends to worry... for me i will call as and when esp if she's sick.. even to check whether she's hve taken meds/lunch or cranky, etc.. the teachers will understand lah...

Good morning mummies,

It's Thursday! 1 day to Friday..

My girl had constipation last nite.. She start to get cranky when she saw us last nite.. Quickly brought her to gp and she kept crying while on the way there and waiting for her turn.. She cried even loudly when the dr inserted a pill into her anus...

Mummies, i was so pissed off by my hb last nite.. He told me that the clinic accept payment from bb bonus and why I didn't use it.. Oh pls. Told him that I didn't know the gp accept payment from mcys for normal consultation. Thought it's only for vaccination... He added on.. You don't even ask them whether do they accept mcys payment.. He just kept on blah blah...

Then next thing, he wants her to rest @ home today.. Don't want her to go cc.. Explain to him that he will break her routine if he wants her to rest @ home. Kept telling me that she's in serious condition and I still want her to go cc..

Oh pls... I'm so fed up...

morning,

Dolly, is she ok, how come constipation? not enuff fluid or been eating too much heaty stuff. Hope its not a result from stress in school.

actually i agree with u, if she is feeling ok, can send her to school cos she needs to continue with her routine. but i also think your HB xin1 teng2 her lah, thats why suggested that she rest at home today.

Good morning, haven been here for a while. How are all mummies? I have hit 28th weeks, going for my check up tomorrow. Wonder how heavy is my bb now. My tummy's quite big and everyone is like asking me if i'm due to deliver anytime. Already feeling the weight to lug around...

Dolly,

Cool down. If ur girl just started cc, prob its good for her to go if her condition is ok since she have not got used to the cc yet. If you break her routine so fast, she may think that she can dun go. Prob ur hubby is worried that her condition may not get better as she still adapting to the new environment. When my boy started cc in Jan, i had to take one week leave, he oso cried during separation. Now still cry but slightly better. I was veri worried for the first week, but gotta learn to let go and let my hubby bring him to cc so at least i won't see him cry, dun feel so sad. So as all mummies have said, the kids will adapt, but they need time. Just that we have to learn to let go.

BB bonus can use for other things like cc fees etc ma, still will get to use one so norm clinic visits i oso dun use.

starfruit : yesterday after the insert and taken the medicine... she looked relieved after flushed out all her bowels... we also don't know how she's got constipation.. we don't let her take heaty or fried stuff.. she's been taking porridge, rice or even pasta... my hb keeps telling me that could be due to stress... i told him, she's don't like to drink water...

starfruit / bbpooh : told him le.. she's just started school.. we are trying to let her adapt the environment.. if he's going to stop her from going to school just becos she's having constipation.. she'll think of all excuse just to avoid school, then how?

starfruit, i told him that i'm equally worried about her when i leave her at cc... but we have to be hardhearted and that's what he told me @ the 1st place...

bbpooh : i told him that bb bonus for school fees and vacine.. but didn't know can use for normal consultation... like that also being tell off by him.. haiz... "gek sim ah"...

Hi Morning Mummies!!

Wishing everyone a very happy and prosperous Rabbit New year.

I was on leave from 27th till yty then start work, busy with the new year preparation and backlog so not much time to log in.

Hope everyone has enjoyed the long holiday.

I have a slight fall on 28/1 and I thot the slight sprain is ok and simply ignore. Monday night i see my leg a bit swollen and decided to go for tui na..then these 2 days become so pain, cannot go down stairs properly..dunno whether need to see gp or go tui again..

Dolly, basically for constipation I think is ok to let your gal go to school. Just need to let the teacher knows and ask them to give her more fluid and vege and medication if there is any.

wayne : haiz... my hb's so worried that she'll have diarrhoea after taking the medicine... faint man.. told him that there's teacher to monitor... she only take the medicine as & when she's hard stool... but he insist wanting to let her rest @ home... told him she'll never learn to adapt the environoment if he wants her to be home if she's facing stress...

dolly, tell hb dun worry, the cc is very expereience to handle all situation. If her condition worsen, they will call u to bring her back. good to let her interact with her new frens there and maybe from peer pressure, she will drink more and get less constipated.

Actually i also didn;t know can use bb bonus for GP but a bit troublesome to activate BB bonus for GP consultaion right? why dun u use it for CC, can deduct more at one go.

Morning Mommies!

Dolly

Hey, I understand how u felt. Sometimes my hubby also nagged at me until I really just want him to shut up. But again, by looking at your hubbty reaction, I think he is just gan cheong over your gal condition. Cos he may think that constipation is quite unbearable especially if with pain for a little gal, its unlike us adults whom can take it.

But on our own point of view, we just want them to get used to it, even though down with slight cough/flu and all, I still let my boy go CC because I feel that he should get acustomed to the 'germs' in the school lor. Heehee... So both of us have different views from our hubbies. My hubby love to tell me this, "u better take leave and bring him to doc...etc". But he dunno the severness of the condition because we are the ones looking after our lil ones. So they just want to make their stand, and let us know they care and wants us to action to their requests. At times, I will just tell him no need la, small sickness, just eat med at home can liao.

WayneMummy

How are u? Like long time didnt see you le.

My calf part (behind my legs) already started to swell a bit liao. But I just leave it cos I think its normal.

Why u wanna go tui? I tot its normal to swell liao around this period. Could it be the 'tui' then the pain become more intense; cos of the force exerted, u dunno ma.. Maybe u should seek GP advise if u should go tui a not. For me, I just use my hands to rub a bit to make it more comfortable.

BBPooh

Maybe your fluid inside more in your tum, so tum tum a little big. U must be careful when u walk yeah... Nowadays towards end of the day (ie at night), I started to feel heavier than normal/other times of the day. I feel so pek chek in the night, moving around in the night at home is a chore man!

Starfruit/Dolly/bbPooh

I heard there is an admin fee incurred to use BB Bonus for GP visits right?

Actually the same de ma. If we dun use it for GP visits, we also use on CC.

Dolly, your hubby failed to see this point. At the end of the day, its still 'our' money to use. Just tat this extra can be put into a better use, i.e. CC than just GP visits. I feel la. Cos CC more expensive. Heehee

starfruit : he took FCL today to take care of her... told him this morning.. don't just girl have slight problem make her stay at home.. will not do her any good...

exactly... every mummies only know bb bonus for cc and vacination.. who will know that it can pay for normal consultation... sometimes, he don't even want to bother about this minor domestic affair.. and shoot me off with this unreasonable question...

vv : do you know i'm so pissed off last nite... the way he express as if i don't gan cheong nor worried? as i've told starfruit/bbpooh earlier, it's not as if she's having fever or other serious ailment...

rgd the bb bonus, he's thinking since it's our money... why we want to come up with cash since we can use bb bonus? told him that the current monies in bb bonus can only last for about 3 months of school fees... and after which, we'll still have to top up again... he himself said that he can claim the lil ones' medical expenses from the co.. so why bother use the bb bonus?

Good morning..

Dolly - hope your girl is getting better. If she doesn't like water, u can add abit of ribena but very diluted type.

U can make some barley water for her too!

It is good for her to continue her routine at sch bcoz she just started.

vv, I go tui because i sprain my feet slightly after the fall from the stairs..luckily i hold on to the railing really tight else i tummy down..cannot imagine the consequences..and then I ignore my sprain as it is a bit pain only until Monday night i see my feet a bit swollen so tues i go tui lor.

Now if i walking down the stairs, my feet is pain..also dunno if GP can do anything to my feet or i just leave it to slowly recover.

morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, prob yr hubby is gan cheong with yr girl as it's 1st child and also going to cc at the same time... let him go ahead to take care of yr girl.. if he faces cranky fr yr girl, he will still need to turn to you for help.. personally i find tat after kids starts to attend school, they tends to hve constipation... most likely the vegs in cc might not be sufficient or child refuses to eat fruits which is in the case of my girl... she's quite selective in the fruits tat she eats and needs teachers to encourage to eat.. at the most she eat 1 small piece and dun want liao.. so whenever at home, i will tend to increase her vegs/fruits intake... so far my girl poos almost every day.. if not will be at least 2 days then poos... my sister's girl even worse, 1 week dun poos and needs GP to "dig" it out for her (partly bcos her mil always cooks fried/heaty stuff tat causes the constipation).. really heartpain to see child going thru tat...

Wayne, u ok now? be careful.. i also hve a fall last mth.. luckily i cushion my fall by using my left hand palm, so i din hit directly on my tummy...suffered left hand palm bruises and took nearly a week for it to go away..

dolly, u should let him claim from his co since child medical bills are covered, save the bb bonus for CC lah. BTW, i heard u can use #2 bonus to pay for #1's CC as well. i dun think i have started using my bonus yet cos my ger is in Kindy and kindy dun allow use of it.

Wayne's becareful leh.dangerous to fall now. I think we are all very clumsy in our current state need to wear sturdy shoes and be more careful.