(2011/05) May 2011

mmm..my gynae say OSCAR test results is not immediate. cannot remember how many days also..think it depends on the clinic?

dun think the test tells u if it's positive or negative. but rather, let u know if it's in the higher risk or lower risk. if higher risk, hubby and i will need to start preparing ourselves. rather start preparing ourselves, than to be shocked when the bb arrives

the couple needs to be aware and prepared what it takes to take care of a special child. there are relevant support for special children, but the social stigma can be quite overwhelming for some people. i haven't really broach this topic with my husband, so when the time comes, we will have to make the decision if we want to keep the child, or let it go, so that my child will not suffer in future. just my thought.

http://picasaweb.google.com/107435811188765719302/MummyBabyStuffs#

dear mtbs, sorry to disturb again. have added many new items. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i've alr delivered my gal & looking to clear the abv items. hope mtbs can find them of interest to u.

pls refer to abv link for related pics & descriptions. all items are described to the best of my knowledge. items u see in the provided link are all up for grabs (except for those that have been RESERVED), items once SOLD will be removed from the link.

if keen, pls SMS to 96495528 for fast deal. pls do NOT leave PM or postings in the forum as i'm unable to keep track of them. calls from unknown nos. will not be entertained.

here's wishing all mtbs a safe & happy pregnancy!

nope. Oscar can only help to predict if the child has a higher possibility of any birth defeats eg down syndrome.

can only tell the sex in the next detailed scan. i think u can choose a 2D or 3D/ video scan.

just a word of caution. if pregnant mummies put on too much weight, ur gynae will send u for a glucose tolerance test to test for gestational diabetes.

for my 1st child, i lost about 4-5kg during the 1st trimester cos i was vomiting very badly. in 2nd trimester, my appetite was very good (partly i also didn't control diet) put back about 2kg/mth within the next 2 months. My gynae send me for GTT and tested I got gestational diabetes. Had to test for sugar level after each meal but no insulin jab required.

For 2nd and 3rd pregnancy, I monitored my diet and try not to have too much sweet stuff. Also went thru GTT but results was negative.

As such, pls also be mindful of your diet.

so, (just my personal suggestion), consume in moderation.

joycep, hope u dun mind me saying. not too much soyabean cos of the sugar content. I was so depressed when I had gestational diabetes but i shd be thankful that I need not go through the insulin jabs. just need to closely monitor my diet.

hi christine, thanks for the reminder. everything has to be taken in moderation. i also don't drink soyabean every day, just as and when.

I was ignorant and suffered quite a bit. Btw, I took quite a bit of soya bean milk and fruit juices then.

I had to prick my finger 3 times a day to test for the sugar level. It is on my medical record that I can gestational diabetes. Any new insurance policy that I take up, the insurance company will question and scrutinize my medical records.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

christine - then now no more gestational diabetes?

I saw newspaper mention pregnant lady will get gestational diabetes more easily just want to ask you all know about it then i saw your post.

i agree with Christine... consume in moderation

When abt seven mths preg, doc will normally send us for glucose test. I failed the test and my readings were very high (i think abt 11+).. i also consumed soya beans milk (vitasoy and fruit stalls)and fruit juices during my 1st preg... i had a very smooth preg (no ms, not much weight gain, no discomfort, etc) and ate alot... can finish whole plate of rice with vegs and meats.. even my preg colleagues with ms envy me that i can eat well..

i remember the nuritionist was telling me which type of food to take and how to use the test kit to test the blood sugar after each meal (i was luckiy that i don't hve to prick my finger before the meals...only hve to do after the meals).. initally staring, need to prick fingers before & after to take the sugar readings... after some time, doc said no need to take before as it's normal.. only need to take after meals... there are times that i hve high readings and low readings... got to take down what i hve ate that results in high readings... normally is food with gravy, noodles, etc.. even fruits also got sugar level... so normally eat main meals and test sugar levels and then eat fruits... it's a very xin ku journey as hve to prick different fingers (otherwise kept pricking on 1 finger, it will be painful and bruised) and i very scared of needles (although it's a very tiny needle)... for this time pregnancy, i went back to my doc who helps to monitor my previous preg... he said now no need to control diet, just eat as normal and he will help me to monitor...

Susan, every preg will be different... there's no guarantee that 1st preg got GD and next preg no... but there's a higher chances of getting diabetes in later life...

no gestational diabetes for 2nd and 3rd preg.

yes, due to hormonal changes, there is a increase risk of gestational diabetes for pregnant woman.

as Auroa has correctly pointed out, for woman who had (even once) GT during pregnancy also stands a higher change of developing diabetes in the later stage of life.

Ello! Have been following the thread but was too tired and nauseous to join in. =)

my edd is 3rd may 2011, this is my 2nd one. I am working part time and my gynae is Dr Eunice Chua. will wanna deliver in Mt A.

Will join in more once i start feeling better. *crosses fingers*

I'm letting go of 2 brand new standard neck bottles 250ml @ $6 each.

1 tin of 400g Similac Stage 2 milk powder, selling at $12 each.

Letting go of Medela PIS Advance (Backpack) @ $460

Good condition. Used only a few times.

Warranty included till June 2011

Interested parties, kindly Email me: [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4529386.jpg]

Helo ladies..I'm back to thread!

My gal was down and hospitalised, was busy looking after her, no time to check

Welcome all new MTBs..let's have the journey along together

Sorry to disturb, I have already delivered and looking to clear some brand-new and preloved baby and maternity items. Please refer to this link http://picasaweb.google.com/116194716505027587843/ItemsForSale?authkey=Gv1sRgCOf1kYbm-8Ta1gE#

for related pics and descriptions. Items include My brest friend nursing pillow, pigeon cooler bag and Dale abdominal binder.

If keen, please PM or email me at [email protected] Thanks!

PS: just to add, for every purchase for $15 and above, you get 5pcs of Drypers S for free. so for $30, u get 10pcs and so on. while stocks last!

how's everyone today? feeling rather tired today, but happy because it's the end of the day already. looking forward to the weekend, so i can have a good rest.

apple, hope your daughter gets well soon.

@apple,

Glad to hear she's recovering. Take care too.

Joyce,

Can't wait for weekend to come so that my hubby can help to look after my boy while I can hv a gd rest. Luckily he's on off tmr too. =)

Thanks Joyce & jerejoy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya, can't wait for the weekends to come..need plenty of rest!

Hi ladies, jus came back from my gynae n gotten my edd date! Finally can someone add me to the list.. Thanks

Name :Applesg(Lin)

Edd: 12 May 2011

TMC, Dr Wong Mun Tat

BB #2

Today I saw my BB's heartbeat.. So happy!!

Anyone ms subsiding? Mine is bad enough.. Puke everyday.. So sian..

Three weeks ago was eating like no tomorrow that i gained abt 4kg but appetite suddenly downsize so much two weeks ago(which is gd la)...

Haiz.. Really hated this morning sickness thingy.. Hope it'll pass soon(although doc told me it'll get even worse...zzzzz)

Hope u gals get to rest well n eat well ya!! Nitz

my MS worsen, now only dare to eat porriage and small meal in between... feel like vomitting and my gastric is bloated with gas, feeling very terrible. My gynae told me the Duphaston pills will cause bloating, i guess that's the reson why i'm so bloated.

I yesterday and today took mc due to my MS, my boss was very unhappy lo, but i dont care lah, i think now my health is more impt... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Anyone knows when will our MS subside, around how many weeks?

sherry,

yes i agree, health more important.. try not to take too oily food..

lin, muz be so happy to see bb's heartbeat rite.. mine still can't see.. sob sob.. hope everything will be alright..

My MS start to reduce liao.. a very bad sign hor.. haiz.. anyway nothing much i can do.. just pray hard...

jia you all mummies...

Mummies morning! My ms is giving me hell too! I was on mc since moon, today decide to go work if nt work cant finish. Every meal I take, it's indigestion feeling n feel tat things are near my throat but no puking. Worse is every 2 hrs I'm hungry . When u pple say about plain wtr then I realize it's the cause of discomfort but I'm a water person! Sigh....

Sherry, most will subside in the 4th mth but there r pple who hv it thru out the pregnacy.....

Good morning everyone! Hear so many of you talking about the oscar's test.. Is this compulsory? My gynae will be going on 2 month's leave next month, so wonder if the hosp will arrange another gynae to see us during this period...

Morning ladies..

Seems like alot of us are going through tough times huh(ms)?

Jus hope it'll pass soon.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrs Lim: hi there.. Dont worry too much, I think u'll be able to c ur BB's heartbeat on ur next visit to the gynae.. ;)

Min21: hmm.. Oscar's test is not compulsory and I think ur gynae will refer u to the hospital to take the test. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi everyone...

long time nvr log in... my ms is on and off.. now change to night time.. sometimes can puke a lot..sometimes just a bit..

can we actually feel our bb heartbeat? dunno if i am thinking too much?? i can feel e heartbeat beating fast..haha

need advise on supplements..correct mi if i am wrong...

0-3mth folic acid

3mth and above calcium and fish oil..

hi Lin,

How is Dr Wong? I tot of signing up a package with him when i am back in Singapore (4mth by the time).. read a lot of good reviews abt him.. he deliver in tmc and mt a?

Morning Ladies.

I am new here. Just got to know 2 weeks ago that i am pregnant for 6 weeks. Went to gynae yesterday and hear my BB's hearbeat. It really is a very joyful and wonderful sound to me and hubby.

As one week ago, the gynae could not detect my BB heartbeat and even mentioned if by this week still no heartbeat then he will have to wash away for me. Have been feeling lost and sad for the whole week but now i am filled with joy and hope.

I am currently consulting those chinese sinseh for my vomiting and stomach bloat-ness. As after my meal, my stomach will feel weird, kind of like bloated and no energy to stand straight. But after drinking the medicine, i am feeling better. At least the bloat-ness is not longer then and i have not been vomiting since i have the medicine.

Have asked the doc if it will harm the BB, he mentioned that i have to continued drinking till i am better in order for the BB to be healthy.

Forgot to add that my EDD is from 11 May to 14 May 2011.

Thanks bubblepearl for adding me into the list.

Serene: Overall Dr Wong is not bad. He's a man with few words.. So Normally u'll have to prepare some question to ask him before ur visit. He do deliver in TMC n Mt A. His stitches was gd tat's y I'm going back to him this time too.. ;)

Hi.... how's everyone??

Weekend is approaching... Have a great one...

For mummies having MS, hoping MS shoo shoo away....

Everyone got to take care...

Sorry to disturb, I have already delivered and looking to clear some brand-new and preloved baby and maternity items. Please refer to this link http://picasaweb.google.com/116194716505027587843/ItemsForSale?authkey=Gv1sRgCOf1kYbm-8Ta1gE#

for related pics and descriptions. Items include BN Avent Light Moisturizing oil @ $15, My brest friend nursing pillow, and Dale abdominal binder.

If keen, please PM or email me at [email protected] Thanks!

SOLD items will be deleted in the album, so it won’t be confusing.

PS: just to add, for every purchase for $15 and above, you get 5pcs of Drypers S for free. so for $30, u get 10pcs and so on. while stocks last!

loves the smell of weekend. a few more hours to the end of the working day. have a good rest everyone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pinkiepiglet, not sure abt other MTBs, but I personally would appreciate if you can post your ad on the respective sections "WTS".

U just posted yesterday, today another post. will you be posting everyday? I hope you can respect the MTBs here and do not intrude into the thread unless you have any sharing or information that you which to contribute.

similarly, for jjbabie, pls keep your rightful thread.

Many thanks.

dear mummies, I'm doing a Bp on Sophie the giraffe , baby first toy. It's a natural rubber teether made in France. If anyone is interested to order for mummies in this thread, special discount can be given to u all ya. Cos all is ready stock. Pls pm me ya. Tks.

Serene, if not wrong, folic acid should take till delivery.. fish oil is advisable to be taken from 7th mths pregnancy onwards but not all can take the smell.. some mummies took it and tends to "burp" alot... can also take it after delivery...

So envy MTBs who have scanned and heard bbs heartbeats.... i hve to wait 2 more weeks before my turn....

hi auroa,

Ok..cos I m sick of eating my blackmore pregnancy n breastfeeding gold supplement..2 mth supply..now half way done..Buttocks itchy..went to buy..Haha..its 2cm long plastic capsule with all types of vitamin n minerals..

Hi lin,

I m 1st time mtb,vaginal delivery need stitch?I tot Juz push then ok liao..hee..

Serene, arrugh, can think of the size of the vitamins... must be very diffcult to swallow... ;)

For the vaginal delivery, gynae will need to make a cut in order for bb to come out... thou dilated abt 10cm but still need to cut too... just in case if bb comes out and might tear the viginal (imagine tearing even painful)... dun worry abt it... if you are under epidural, u will not feel the cut at all (i was previously under it and doesn't feel anything).. next morning (after the epidural wears off), i feel slight pain ... i think it depends on yr gynae's skill.. my hospital gave me something like a basin which for mummies w vaginal birth to sit on it... put salt and warm water and sit on the basin... it sort of relieve the pain and very soothing... at first i thought it will be painful... imagine to sit on salt water but it doesn't....

just to share... yesterday i went to see my chinese sensei and told her that i feel bloatness in my stomach and very diffcult to sleep... the air seems to be trapped inside and can't comes out and feels like LS.. She told me not to take soyabean and milk (i'm lactose intolerant) for the time being...she said that preg will leads to bloatness and those will adds on to it and to eat less bean foods for the time being too... stopped yesterday and feel so much better today...

All MTB, Happy weekend... rest well, take great care ...

Me going to KKH for appointment on Tues, first appoint ... yesterday went to see GP, suspect me more than 12weeks... my menses ar not regular ... so worry now ...

Auroa, which hospital is tat so gd give u the basin? I've to buy my own n did the salt water terapy when I had infection on the stitches, tats cos I sit too long.... Long story too....bad experience.... Watever it is, 1st time mummy pls get urself a confinement lady.... If ur mil insst wanna do for u, make sure she is experience with other grAndchilds, nt those experience 20 30 yrs back....

But fo the water terapy, I find my body too weak to soak in it every day, we are nt suppose to touch water ....my mom n aunts give me their old time remedy! I refuse to listen to my mom n one by one my aunts swear by it, i decide no harm trying since I'm suffering for so many days le! Use metholalum.... Something that spells like tat can get at Chinese medical hall, it's a green bottle cream, with menthol, after apply at the stitches it's so smoothing n cooling! N true, it heals my pain n infection fast .... But I got to diligently apply it aft every pee....I wish I wasn't that stubborn earlier when my mom told me....

Juz bear in mind the cream helps.... I'm gonna use it next round even there is no infection... Find it's better than the spray doc give.

Sh, not lah, the hospital (Mount E) didn't give me free... got to pay but i kept it.. the nurse told me to bring it home and continue to use it for abt a week to heal the wound and to keep for next child. Think it cost me less than $10 bucks.... i agree w u to get a confinement lady for 1st timers... i refused my mil to help as she's very nagging (talk non-stop)... she did my sil confinment for her 2 kids... my sil was so stressed as she nagged at her every mins/secs... knocked at her rm door at nite whenever she heard the bb crying that she have to lock the rm door and cried inside the room.. her husband comforted her and to tahan till the confinment is over... worse still, my mil is that the type that can concentrate on 1 item at a time... she was carrying the bb during the full mth celebration and was busy talking to her relatives that she forgot that she was carrying her bb and she opened her arms and the bb nearly fell to the floor.. luckily she grabbed the bb before it reached the floor and she was laughing abt it... my brother-in-law face was so black that time.... another thing is that my mil also not very considerate... she even asked her sisters to come over to my sil house to play majong... how to rest like that.. my mil was so angry that i din let her do my confinement that she went ard the blks telling pp that i'm very diffcult to please and i don't like her cooking... i even overheard her telling it to my confinment lady.. so angry with her... after this incident, we are not in good terms...

During confinement, i did bath everyday as it was very hot during that mth... my confinement lady was too lazy to brew the herbs for me to bath... she only did it like once a week... i hve to pester her to do it for me .. her hygience is also a problem... but i can tell she likes bb... so i closed one eye and tahan till she leaves..