LOL! I am like the Phantom of the Forum siah... past 10pm then log on. By then there is a whole stream of posts to catch up on!! LOL!
TEE SHIRT DESIGN
Thanks for all the positive feedback. =) If u want, we can try to do a bulk printing of the tee to wear!
I actually made 4 designs - 3 that have this kind of "OEI I AM PREGNANT" effect. I could not find any that I liked in the shops lah.
(( WISH-
Btw "I am not fat. I am pregnant." tees long out in the market. Hehehe. Can find at Kiddy Palace, but I dun like the material and the font used.))
Then the last design is personalised. Basically, my 4th design has my ultrasound of Noah over my tummy area with some text. Hehehe.
If you all want, can look for a place to do bulk printing then we share cost. XD
========
WISH -
CONGRATS!!!! WOOHOO! =D So proud of U! Wonder whether I will ever resume the paper chase hahaha.
Strange leh! My clinic at KKH also informs via SMS before the apptmt. When I used to go private gynae for Kaelen, they would call to remind me.
KKH PTE SUITE and that fast track payment scheme-
I did not subscribe for the fast payment scheme because very frankly $488 upfront is not a small sum for our family at the moment as only hubby is working. I am not taking on any projects until a year after Noah's birth. I refuse to spread myself think mentally and physically & my hubby agrees with me. It's ok if we dun have that $100 voucher lol, we have been so blessed with toys, necessities, clothes etc etc for the baby. =)
NESS-
For KKH, pricing can be found here for room rates etc -
http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientsAndVisitors/HospitalChargesAndPayment/Pages/RoomRates.aspx
I recommend that you speak to the nurses at the Pte Suite to find out more as well. =)
TYPE OF WARD-
I have not decided on what kind of ward to go with. Lol. I am not particularly fussy so we'll see how. I am ok if I dun have a 1 bedder ward, the next after that is 4 bedder then 5 bedder, followed by 6 bedders. ^.^
At MAH previously, I went for a 2 bedder ward but the other bed was unoccupied until the last day, so it was like I had 1 bedder. Lol.
I was warded at Gleneagles before a loooong time ago, and I shared a 4 bedder ward & did fine. I am basically the sort that can sleep anywhere and can sleep through noise. Lol.
I guess I will make my decision after I tour the wards in KKH. The hubby is basically leaving the decision to me. He just wants me to feel happy. =)
==========
EVIAN (on ROMPER/ PHOTO) -
Group photo sounds like cute idea hehehehe.
A friend of mine has his own studio (he did my pre-wedding photos). =) If you want, I can see if I can ask for a favour hahaha so we can get him to light and shoot for us. He is helping me do a portfolio for Kae. I barter traded with him for the favour hahaha.
I like the B&W photo suggestion as it can be flattering for both the babies and us PLUS it has a timeless look. We can always have a hint of colour ala Anne Geddes.
What we can do is I can try to get my friend to take the photo and let us use the studio- lights and a clean backdrop will make it look nice PLUS dun have to fight crowds at restaurant, easier to arrange babies i feel.
DIGITAL IMAGING FOR PHOTO - I VOLUNTEER FOC =D
After the shoot, I can then help us all do the Digital Imaging for the photos for FREE, email everyone the high res file, and then we can go print the files individually on our own if we want.
===========
*** ROMPER WORDING IDEAS-
1) "(insert name), Age 0, MILK-AHOLIC"
2) "Will Smile For Milk"
(Babies tend to naturally/instinctively smile a lot after they are done feeding milk. BEST time to take smiley baby photos. Not comfy with the WORK theme coz my baby sure isn't working for his/her milk. WE ARE! Hahahaha)
3) "(name)'s Got FRESH Milk"
(A take on the GOT MILK? campaign)
4) "Milk Maid" or "Milk Man" (with name above or below)
=======
DRESSING FOR PHOTO SHOOT SUGGESTION:
Actually for the photo's dressing, I recommend we all just stick with plain white rompers or plain pastel coloured ones coz the simpler the romper, the more attention on the adorable facial expressions of our little ones. =) If not, the design of the romper will fight for attention if it is too complicated. Lol. I agree with Mami- I think Mummies can either do white and kaki or white and denim. =) Classic, timeless and not cheesy. =)
SELF DESIGNS (SHARE SHARE IDEA)-
I will prob go print my own rompers too one of these days for fun. My marital surname is WEE... so I will prob design something like "I am a WEE babe" or becoz my kid is called Noah, I might do one "Ark building in progress" with a progress bar underneath showing how many percentage, or a pic of an unfinished ark in progress. Lol. It is an inside joke lah that my family members will get. XD For these I will prob buy white rompers or baby tees and get someone to print for me. XD
If anyone wants me to help them do something like that, PM me. =) If I am free, I don't mind designing for fun. Grins.
===========
JOODZ
<<and>> -
TO JOODZ / ON HELPERS:
What a scary maid/helper story! There are good maids around - my aunt has had her maid since she had her first one who is now in Sec1. She is really a part of the family and when her Dad got killed in a hit and run in Philippines, my aunt and the girls hug her and wept with her. My aunt and her hubby are close to my younger cousins but the girls are also close to the maid & my aunt can trust her to keep them in hand when she has to go on work trips etc. She is more family member than a hired help.
WHY SAHM? OUR REASON.
For Ian and I, we prefer that I remain a SAHM. I tried working when Kae was younger but I hated missing all those moments when he was growing. So I freelanced instead and also am a SAHM. This gives me the best of both worlds- control over my work arrangements & be paid for work when I do them, as well as time with him. I believe this is the arrangement I am sticking to as well with Noah and possibly #3 (thinking of a 2-3 year gap btw Noah and the next one).
Of coz if I work full time, I can earn close to 3k a mth lah... This would have meant a lot more $$ for family expenditure etc. BUT for me $$ is not as important as family togetherness. I can do without the luxuries to be honest & we live simply and we are very happy. God has blessed us immensely. We don't send Kae for a ton of enrichment classes but we read with him, take him to the library, watch good documentaries and shows, play educational games with him... and he is doing great. =) He picks up a keen passion for learning and reading without feeling pressurised or stressed out.
I think being a SAHM really promotes a closeness with the kids. I grew up being ping ponged btw my aunt and my grandma as a kid coz my parents were both working. My r/s with my mum sucked for the longest time as a result. My hubby and his sisters all grew up with different nannies when young coz his parents were both teaching. They only lived with their parents when they started schooling (primary school). As a result, it took time for the siblings to bond with each other and it took time for hubby to get close to his parents (who were fairly old when he was a kid. In fact, my FIL retired from teaching when he was still in Primary School and would bring him for breakfast every morning before taking him to school).
HELICOPTER OR FREE RANGE PARENTING? MY TAKE.
BUT having said all that... being a SAHM doesn't mean I am a helicopter parent. I discipline and I set boundaries, BUT I don't hover over Kae all the time. We instilled in him the importance of being trustworthy and responsible from really young. No lying, no rudeness is tolerated in our home.
I set him tasks to do each day, we use a kitchen timer to set intervals btw study and rest times, and I leave him to decide on what he wants to do during his breaks in btw revision time (read, play Lego, play Wii, draw, etc).
I allow him to go to school alone and he helps out with household chores. Last night, he helped throw the remainders on the plates after dinner into the bin, to soap the plates and utensils and pots (I rinsed), and to clean the table and place mats after that whilst I mopped the house. =) He has to keep his own laundry etc. I don't believe in waiting on him hand and foot. Our policy is EVERYONE has to play a part in the family to maintain the house. XD Kae also knows how to sweep and mop the house. The next step will be teaching him how to help wash the toilet hahaha.
And the other golden rule hubby and I have decided on- NONE OF OUR KIDS ARE ALLOWED TO USE THE COMPUTER/LAPTOPS IN THEIR BEDROOMS until they are 18.
They are to use it in the common areas like the dining/ study/ living rooms.
This is becoz I used to have my own com in the bedroom and I seriously abused that privillege and my parents lack of techo savviness. I used to game late at night when they were asleep til dawn hahaha (I played Command and Conquer and Warcraft online via telephone modem with my friends)... or I would surf sites I shouldn't be surfing hahaha.
IN CONCLUSION-
We allow freedom within a set boundaries. So it is free range parenting but it does not allow them to go wild. Lol. IMHO there will always be a need to have rules and regulations, although space, understanding and love to let them make mistakes and learn from them must be allowed as well. We must not be overprotective but we shouldn't be over complacent either- both are extremes.