(2011/01) Jan 2011

Bethel, yr gynae did not book the OT for you? Cos the nurse at my gynae's office call up TMC to book the OT and the anaesthetist when I confirm my C-sec date. Guess you will be seeing yr gynae again to confirm the time rite?

For me, I will be seeing my gynae next mon for blood test and final questions. My gynae actually ask me to admit at Mon nite after 12am cos he say I will be charge from tat time onwards but I rather go hospital on Tue morn.

So you chose single room or 2 bedder?

thanks daphne for update my baby info. Yalor, my hubby very blur, he told me 42cm when baby is born. Then i see the details is not 42cm but i din ask to update till now..haha

Daphne, Gynae already booked OT for the afternoon. I am suppose to start fasting from 8am and report to her clinic at 10am to do a CTG first.

She already asked me if i want GA or epidural and i chosed epi already.

As for room, the other time i already chosed 1-bedder, so i assume everything is booked for me? Or do i have to call up TMC myself to notify them i am coming in on 18Jan?

Chabby,

I'm feeding mamil as suggested by pd. Didn't really know what to go for so just try lor. Seems fine so far with no constipation. Mummies you have other recommendation?

Lina,

thks! It's really a great load off my mind to not worry abt latching n how much exactly she's taking in. Yesterday I did latching exclusively again as suggested by my mil n boy did my nipples hurt!! By night time I was back to pumping n it's much better again. Today I flat out refused to latch.

Mummies going to pop,

take care and good luck with the bfding process!

Full month gifts,

I'm only getting a caterer n no other gifts will be given. Too much hassle. I've received the bulk of presents from frens n relatives already so I made sure to invite those pple. Will send a cake to workplace to cover the not so close colleagues.

Hi puix2,

Ya I think it might be, cuz that was wat I experienced before I gave birth the next day. Ur gynae also same as mine right? Best is to call her n confirm. She's on biz trip till today, so prob u can call Kkh 24hr hotline, tell them ur symptoms n ask them to relay msg to her. She'll call u back n advise on wat to do.

Puix2,

Yes, please go to the hospital when it is 5mins apart! I went when it was 1min apart and almost delivered in the car!

Belinda,

Out of package items include drugs/medicine, hand sanitizer, alchol swap, baby ID tag. I did not see any mittens, wraps, or diapers in the list. Probably these are sponsored by the various manufacturers.

Hey Fiona,

We have the same gynae!! Dr Lawrence Ang!

Chelleybaby,

I oso faced the same problem during the 1st 2 nights when I was on total breastfed. My baby woke up every 1.5hr asking for milk.

It will only get better!

Bethel,

I believe you will still have to do your admission on actual day. What my gynae did was just to reserve a room type of my choice.

I went to see PD today, apparently my Lucas boy has slight jaundice. He has been waking up every 1.5hrs to ask for milk and the PD said it is because he is not fed enuff for each feed. And I have no problem latching but I've been tiring him out by asking him to latch 15mins each side when I dun have milk.

So I decided to pump exclusively (only 60ml each pump) and supplement with my fren's extra breastmilk. Cant bear to see my boy hungry!

Hopefully he will recover soon!

Dear all, I'm happy to announce the arrival of my little gal Ellie on 12.01.2011, at 2.646kg, length 46cm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mount A cost breakdown:

Package( c-sec with GA + 3 days hospital) 1622

Single bed room 1200

Consumables 268

Companion 225

Equip usage 128

Facilites 42

Pharmacy 169.45

Doc attendance fee 400

Doc operation fee 1400 (gynae

Doc operation fee 750 (aesthetician - GA and epidural)

Total charges 6360

Less medisave claim 3950

Payable 2110

Baby total bill 972

Medisave claim 931

Payable 41

:D during my stay I asked for e hospital's Logan red dates tea every day.. And i absolutely have to say that it is important for hubby to stay with me for e 3 days... He gave me strength to bf my little one tho I totally bed ridden for 2 days.. He helped me carry bb + position + coax bb to drink milk... Absolutely vital.. At least for me... Else I would probably gave up and asked nurse to feed bb fm..

Hope this helps...

Here's my birth story:

Started feeling menstrual cramp like pains every half hr on 11 Jan, but since I dunno how contractions felt like, I thot it was cuz I had VE by my gynae the previous day (was 1cm dilated then, n gynae said I shd be delivering on the week of 17jan!), so continued to work in office.

Then towards evening, pains were 10-15mins apart, so called gynae to check, n she told me to check into delivery ward when pains intensify.

By 2am on 12 Jan, pains were getting unbearable, but cuz I can't bear to see hubby sleep only a few hrs, so I 'ren3' till 5am when I couldn't stand it any longer.

At 6am, checked into delivery ward n asked for laughing gas, but it din work, n the pain was so unbearable I was already trembling. Gynae came n did another VE, n it was the most painful of all cuz she deliberately broke my water bag to induce the delivery, saying I was already 5cm dilated. At that point, I succumbed and asked for epi.

After epi was administered, it was heaven. Anesthetist said if I feel pain again later, I can push a button to allow more epi to flow in, n if still pain, press again 15mins later. And stupid me did that 1hr later.

Why I called myself stupid, was cuz after doing that, both my legs went very numb such tt I couldn't even bend and open my legs apart properly without them flopping to one side! I couldn't even feel my buttocks, n then later when midwife came she said my bb's head is quite low already, but I can't even feel it! My gynae came in soon after n said she can already see my bb's hair n asked me to call my hb in cuz delivering soon! (hb was drinking coffee with my dad at hospital food court then)

I was so worried I can't push, cuz I lost all feeling in my pelvic/buttock area due to the epi! But gynae reassured me n went ahead with delivering. I tried my best to imagine how a push would feel n PUSHED. After 2-3 pushes, baby Ellie is out!

Me feeling better now coz jus had a session with lactation consultant. had her come to my plc and it's so expensive! But hb said worth it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chubby, CL, yostuba,

Thanks for ur advice. Ya I called kkh, the delivery suite nurse told me if my pain still bearable n 5 min apart for 1st baby will still take sometime. Only when pain is unbearable n about 3, 2 min apart then go hospital wor... I will monitor n see how first... But from 5min to 3 min apart roughly take how long arr?

I back to the forum.

I delivered my baby gal, Kaela on 11/1/11 via s sect. Baby gal is still in hospital cos of jaundice. Not high but don't know why she needs to be admitted. Her level was 11.5 . Hope to be able to bring her home tmrw.

Today when discharge, got a shock of the bill. Need to pay cash of 4.6k. (excluding my gal stay for a atay, which heard add to almost 1k per day.

Sigh. Cause of my high blood pressure, Another Dr came to see me during my 3 days stay cost me almost $500. Just talk a few words cost me so much. *upset*

doing moo moo career.. really hard..

cuz milk still not in yet.. den baby jovan is always hungry..

he can latch on for 20mins suck non-stop..

den change to other breast also suck non-stop..

but when he stop already i put him down den he still cry..

omg.. dun knoe whether he is getting enough milk anot..

my hubby went to buy milk powder already..

think i will mix with FM n BM together for him to drink ba..

very tired..

Pooh

Look at the bright side! The extra cost is to make sure that u and ur baby r healthy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fiona,

I'm scheduled to see him on 18th. But my stitches really hurts alot! I think coz I keep sitting on it that's why it never heals! Does ur hurt alot?

Btw Fiona, my baby Lucas oso crying non stop asking for milk. Now even tho we start to bottlefeed him ard 50ml each time, he will still cry for milk every 1.5hr or sometimes 1hr.. Dunno shld I feed him so often anot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Can't sleep cause of the discomfort from piles. It has been a week but the pain is taking a while to subside..sianz..

BFing - I feel so rejected when BB refuses to latch cause my milk flow is too slow compared to when he takes EBM by bottle. Milk supply finally came in but still nbot a lot. Will continute to pump regularly but think my supply cannot catch up with Joshua's demand. He is on Enfalac as recommended by family & friends

PD - Hubby & I also decided to go to a recommended PD near my plc instead of the one assigned by TMC. The Q at TMC PD is too long and the PD also not very detail cause it feels like she is just keen to clear the queue. I wonder if she even took a proper look at my face when I was there. And friends told me the PD i was assigned will just recommend hospitalisation for bb at the slightest issue.

Everyone jiayou k..now i fully appreciate what they mean when they say that the real challenge has only just begun...when our little angels were still our womb, everything is still within control but once they are out, we no longer have control over so many things. For a control freak like me, it gets really unnerving.

Hi mummies, i have delivered my bb boy Ethan, on 15th Jan at 4:42am without epi. I was in total blank during the labour process because of the pains n only keep breathing in n out the laughing gas n crying for pain. Dint know how many pushes I did, just keep hearing dr Irene asked me to push hard without giving out sound....then after few pushes, pushed out my bb! Cant really describe the details coz i was really in agony, Everything happened in 3 hrs n at the end just heard doc n nurses said that it was a fast process for 1st time birth which took only 3 hrs since I admitted at about 1am+...that time was only 2cm dilation! Really THANKS GOD for listening to my prayer. The next challenge will be the breastfeeding :p I will add on details when I recall the process :p oh bb is 3.06kg, 49cm. Ok think I should rest a while after a fast n furious battle.....

Kikapo

Try taking Fybrogel ?

Fiona,

Jia you jia you.. soon I will join u to moo, now I am still in the insonmia, uncomfortable stage waiting waiting.

Ohh ladies, the alcohol wipes from the hospital for bb belly umbilical cord area is available at Guardian ?? Not sure if they provide here, better get it from Singapore.

Hi mommies.. My baby Owen was born on 3rd Jan weight 2.645kg, length: 47cm. Normal delivery at TMC w/o epidural. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..will update you all my labor story later..;)

Anyone using non contact thermometer for babies?

Thinking of getting one to standby but wonder if non contact or ear thermometer is better

Puix2 and fabiola, big congrats!!!!

Ivftwins

I'm using the thermoguard infrared thermometer. It is definitely very useful and convenient esp when my baby is moving or not to disturb him during his sleep.

They claimed that it is very accurate and it's approved by Sg health authorities. But so far I still dunno if it's really that accurate. Main benefit is convenience!

I got it for $115.

CL: my nipple hurt more Dan my stitches lo..

Nipple will stick to the bra or the breast pad..

When pull out the nipple crack..

Now I dun dare to latch on.. Very painful..

But I haven't start pumping yet..

I wan to total latch on.. But I scare my nipple got infection how.?

Hey Fiona..

I now alternate latching and bottle feed with ebm to make sure my Lucas boy is drinking enuff.

Have u tried applying cream? I have this medela cream for dry nipples which the TMC nurse told me it's safe for baby.. And she asked me not to wipe/ clean my nipple more than twice a day if I never perspire to prevent dryness. If it persists, u may want to call the TMC ParentCraft to ask the lactation consultant for prof advice!

Fiona, go see lactation consultant.. If nipples sore, crack means latching not correct.. BF shldnt be painful.. I experienced it too!! Cracked and bleeding.. Pain is more painful than delivering bb...

Huh.. Meaning I latch not correctly ar..

Can I have the hotline for the parents craft?

Ya.. The pain is really painful.. Until I can cry..

How's your days been?

Gee.. I've been on total bf past 2days & it sure is tiring! My Angel is always on night shift where she is always awake & in the day time, always sleeping! :-/ past 2 nights was like at war.. Thank God we got our CL, but now really dread thinking of the life w/o her :'(

a bit of suggestion, if u are latching & feel pain, do air dry ur nipples with a layer of ur milk. It really heals fast & ur skin of nipple will soon b tougher. Dun give up on latching cos by abt 2-3days of endurance, ur nipples will b seasoned. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my nipples was cracked on the 3rd day of birth, the parent craft Chew told me just persist on latching but prob use more of ur the other gd nippe then the injured one just pump for tat day. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it really helps! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

all the best! Jia you & dun give up.

If u need help or advice, can pm me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

remember, dun stress, u are not alone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I too was stressed till cry but overcome it with help of Hubby, CL & friends [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u can too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

o ya! Anyone need help in BB shower planning? I got a friend name Jolene who is doing this. Can call her if u need her help, just tell her Charleen's friend, she will give some discounts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 92470202

I have an unopened box of Drypers S size to let go at only $45.

The good thing is the diapers come individually wrapped in packs of 2 so great for going out. PM me. Collection in Punggol.

my baby is 4 days old today but each time latch on for only 5 mins every hour! he was latching on for abt 10-15mins every 3 hrs in the hospital but pattern changed when we got home. milk has started to come in so my breasts are so hard and painful!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Any idea how to let baby latch on longer?

Fiona, do air dry ur nipples as much as u can. If u are at home, dun wear bra for the next few days if possible. If nipple drips, just stick bra pads onto ur night gown. Also get someone to help with ur latching on. Must shove ur whole nipple in, together w aerola.

Chelleybaby, is it that ur flow is too fast? If so, try to pump out for a few mins b4 bf.

If too slow, massage w a hot towel b4 bf [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

CL (watertap): Ohh u mean for that few items they charge us almost 400bucks? Wah! Giving birth really ex man!

Any mothers here took the 1 bedded? I dono if a 4 bedded will be good enough?

Is it true that only 1 bedded and above then husband can sleep over??

fiona,

i'm pretty much like u as i do total latching.

i jus bear w the pain and now pretty much use to the pain le. i air my breast after feed and apply cream to help it to heal.

but baby got preference for the right side and not the left. so now left side flow seem slow and even got a lump, probably a result of a c,og duct. now keep massaging while watch tv. hopefully will help reduce.

mine took very long to nurse and either feed very slowly or refuse the bottle. dunno if it's b'cuz i've sufficient supply already or he jus dun lke bottle now...

chelleybaby

try shower before bf.. the warm shower help to increase flow. i tend to leak after shower.

belinda,

which hospital? TMC confirmed only 1 bedded can have company...

Chabby,

I ave my baby 2 times bottle feed a day, just in case she refuse bottle cos when we need to go back to work, at least she get to drink. my fren's baby reject bottle. everyday cry and my fren gotto rush home and feed during lunch.

fiona,

if nipple crack and bleed, really no point to continue latching cos it will hurt u more till u cant BF one day. may be can stop latching, bottle feed for few days, or if u scared baby reject latching after bottle, u do rotation. apply nipple cream.and high chance cos u din latch correctly. May be should get the lactation consultant to help.

challeybaby

baby satisfied easily. when they r hungry, they cry and drink, drink till the hunger feeling gone then they fall sleep. my baby sometime also like tat, drink few minutes then sleep, then cry for milk less than 1 hour. quite tiring. If your breast us sore, u should pump out and store it. at least when ur baby wake up, the flow is not too fast for your baby to drink.

charleen,

baby is like tat, my baby also active during nite, but slowly they will switch. try to wake them up more frequent during day time.

kimmyksc: TMC lor, I wsaw some mummies posted their bill. Den some 4 bedded but got free upgrade to 2-bedded. 2 days for 4-bedded alrdy abt 1k plus liao. Den 1 bedded is abt 2k. Can save abt 1k leh. Only thing is hubby cannot stay overnight and the visiting hours may be a pain.

Congratulations to all the mummies who have received their special gift in their arms ald. Me too is one of the blessed mums =).

My boy, Aren, 2.99kg, 49cm was born on 12/01/2011. Please kindly update the list.

Truely thank God n felt really blessed to carry him in my arms. Sadly, because he have this G6PD deficiency problem and will be under observation till tues so unable to come home with me today. Kept crying when I think of him =( =(. At the hospital, I misses my daughter. Back home, i misses my baby.. sob sob.. why cant i have them both in my arms?

Fiona,

if you are alternating between bfding n pumping, or just trying to let your nipples take a break, go get the breast shield. It's like a plastic cup that attaches to a donut shaped silicone "tyre". Those 2 little things literally saved my nipples from the agony of clothes brushing against them. Mine arefrom avent. So your nipples are encased inside this shell but they won't touch anything. Pure bliss!

Belinda,

ifyou don't mind less privacy or you're not expecting a lot of visitors then 4 bedded is ok. Cld be noisy though. Tmc keeps stating in their forms that u will be charged room rates for the room you eventually occupy. I take it to mean there's nomore free upgrade.

Hi all, thanks for your advice.

Yes i think my milk flow is too fast cuz my baby is very petite. Followed kimmy's advice, pumped out a bit and store before baby's next feed and he really did latch on longer!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh and i brought baby bk today for jaundice check up. Increased from 11 to 13 (which i thought wasn't really that high), but PD advised us to rent the bellibed (photo theraphy machine), which we did so for $350. Oh well, it beats leaving baby in the hospital...

I also pop liao on 13 Jan. My gal was 2.8kg.

Wanna ask.. my CL has this oil for babies, thik it is something like ruyi oil, she said put on the feet and top of head is good to prevent wind from going in. I've not heard of this before, anyone has any idea?

Water bag leak at 4 plus. Currently in hospital, hope it will be a fast one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sputnik, I put ru yi oil on my baby stomach to provide warmth n comfort. I never put on feet and definitely no no on head. The head is so fragile n thin. Dun put such things there.

ivftwins - actually for my no 1, the pd say dun even put on tummy, cos too strong for bb. I guess put on feet shld be ok, but i think i will tell her dun put on the head.