(2011/01) Jan 2011

Congrats to all mummies who hav popped! To those still waiting, jiayou!

I gave birth to my boy on 6 jan after 12 hours of labour n emergency csec. My boy weighs 3.12kg n measures 50cm. Can someone add me to e list pls? Thanks!

Abt BFing:

I wanted to bf my boy exclusively but couldnt as my supply cant meet his needs. So now i'm supplementing wif FM n i find myself getting reliant on FM  He's also getting used to bottle feed n has started getting frustrated when i latch him on. Dunno izzit cos he has to suck to get his milk instead of milk flowing from e bottle to his mouth. My boy is also regurgitating milk after each feed even tho we hav burped him. Izzit cos i've overfed him? Is dis normal? Milk actually came out from his nose on 2 occasions, shld i bring him to PD?

Abt limp in armpit:

I hav a lump under my armpit during pregnancy. Gynae says it's like our 3rd nipple n it will disappear after delivery. Mine is getting smaller so mummies dun hav to worry...

Abt PD:

Has anyone heard of Dr Wong n Dr Edmund Koh? Both of their clinics r at tiong bahru area. I'm tinking of bring my son there for his vaccinations n checkups.

I finally realised tat motherhood is bittersweet. It's depressing when i cant seem to calm n soothe my boy but it's heartening to c him putting on weight n growing everyday....

Mummies! My another brand new concen! My girl is almost a month old now. Her poo changed to yellow from black after 4 days since birth and since 3-4 days it is light green in colour! Ny idea if she needs attention? Apart from stool she is perfectly fine .

Hi, I will be going for my C-sec tmrw morn at TMC. Will reach hospital around 6am and my scheduled time is 8am. Went to do admission today and some blood test.

So excited tat I can see my gal soon..... Will update after I give birth...

Daphne : Yay! Happy for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Have a smooth delivery n fast recovery !

Hi all, thanks...I'm very happy n excited also.

rachel, yeah u can visit me... haha.. but guess I cannot come out of bed. Will update u all tmrw...

Delivered my bb on 13 Jan via c section and he's 3.6kg. No signs of labour and gynae estimated big bb during appt. Thor c sec was scary but surprisingly ok. Nurses at Mt A are really patient and helpful. Will definitely recommend and go back there again.

Anyway, does anybody's baby has a lot of saliva in the mouth? Mine seemed to have a lot while latching on. Dunno whether it's normal

LZZ,

I was assigned Dr Wong while at TMC. He seems ok, but his clinic is too far for me to continue seeing him. Charges are $55 for first consultation and $45 for subsequent ones.

Sherill,

I think your diet will affect your baby's poo. Should be nothing to worry about. If I remember right it's due to lots of veges.

Daphne,

Have a safe delivery!

Daphne hav a smooth delivery!! Soon u be carrying yr bb! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Daphne! All the best!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Abt lump, try massage till it break down.. Works for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sure am tired with all the pumps n latching.

For those worry abt supply, dun stress..

Drink more soup. Like green papaya soup, Can also use ripe papayas. My Hubby & CL bought too many then in the end, i ended up drinking ripe papaya soup which is v sweet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] drink more dates teas [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] lastly, rest.. I was wirrying & cried the first 2days qhen I'm back home.. But with all the soups & teas tat my CL makes, on 3rd day, milk start coming in. Now each pump is abt 80-150ml depending on which pump of the day.

Nearly over slept n had engorgement this morning.. Thank God CL brought my BB in for latching.. Else gg to b super painful!!

Also let ur BB latch on as often as possible as it will stimulate ur body to make more milk.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

grumpus - thanks for your encouragement :) after that incident, she was ok drinking my EBM during the day, but at nite there was one time when she took 1 hr to drink the EBM, after that still top up with FM which she drank quite fast, so my CL comment again cos she prefers FM. I hv a feeling that it may be depending on my bb mood rather than what she prefers. Anyway, gg to ask PD later since bringing her for checkup. I always thot that BM is more tasty than FM, cos some people say that FM taste quite awful altho personally i hv not tried before.

Sputnik,

U r totally right tat it could be bbs mood. Could be when she was drinking ebm she was still sleepy so drink slowly. One hr later she was more awaake and went 'eh I'm still hungry' keke

So far I only heard of bb reject fm and prefer BM. Never heard of the other way round :p

Hi Kikapo, noticed from the chart that we hv the same gynae....

Her package is different from the rest right? As in she bundles in her delivery charges together with room rates.

Can I know how much did u pay in the end? How many bedded did u stay in? I dont want a surprise when i deliver...

Hi mommies. Does all of u have a pd already and started bringing baby for regular checkup?

Since I m discharge from hospital, i hv not brought my baby to any pd for checkup as Kkh does not assign a pd unlike tmc. Kkh instructions is that is baby is healthy, there is no need to bring them back to Kkh. It is till vaccination that we need to bring to any polyclinic or pd of our choice.

daphne,

guess ur baby is born by now? Congrats!

Sherill,

yalor..same here..baby refused to sleep since 10plus till midnite..i was so angry and tell my in law next morning but she kept saying tat she seldom carry her.WTH lor...today morning carry her again, i pumping out my milk cos too much to latch baby, so i wan to pump b4 she ask for milk which i know it will be happened soon, after i pump out, went to pantry to pour out and store, in law went to my room. My baby been straining her body and make the A A A sounds since 7plus and last feed at 630, so i know her next feed should be around 9plus. MIL carry her the moment baby A A A..was so angry and ask her to put baby back. I dun wan to be rude but seriously she never listen and try to understand the logic bhind.i told her she been making the A A A sounce since 7plus, is she going to carry her even the whole nite...she dun understand at all lor..pissed!

Thanks luckymummy! We're going to bring my boy to either dr koh or dr wong for his vaccinations n chkups. Dun like to bring baby to polyclinic cos too crowded...

hi mummies who gave birth via natural,

Can i ask if you have any pain in your pelvic area? I gave birth 5 days ago, but i still feel pain in my pelvic area and some pressure especially when i walking.

i have an opened tin of Friso 1 to give away. opened on 14 jan 2011 and used <5 scoops only.

anyone want pls let me know.

dun want it to go to waste.

Hi littlepigpig, do i need to make appt wif dr wong for e 1st visit or can i juz walk in? Need to bring my son for his 2nd dose of hep b vaccination. Was given an appt at polyclinic but i wod prefer to bring him to pd...

Sputnik,

I have the same prob with u. Just like during preg pelvic pain. Now worse coz accompany with the wound down there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Doc said will be like that n will not subside so fast....

Breast milk,

When will my supply come in? I am still with pathetic colostrum on my day 3+ now... Bb can latch on n sleeping along sucking at my breast for 1 hr. But right after delatch, he can finish 70ml formula milk. That means he did not even drink any colostrum from me within that hour latch on? A bit discouraging.. Wat can I do to get milk kick in fast?

Grumpus

i've PM you.

sputnik

i have the same pelvic pain but i have it since pregnancy. read that it takes time to recover from it. i still feel the pelvic pain some times and i've delivered 15 days ago. slowly. try to rest more and move slowly.

LZZ

vaccination at polyclinic is strictly by appt onyly. shldn't wait that long rite? i juz made appt for next mth for 2nd dose of Hep B vaccination.

ivftwins

i was assigned a PD by my gynae but lazy to go all the way down to glen-e as the polyclinic is juz 2 bus stops away and my colleague recommend me a PD that is jus 1 MRT station away. think it is safe to go to any PD near your place and the nearest polyclinic for vaccination and checkup.

puix - oh really ah...i dun seem to remember having this pain after i gave birth to my gal the last time. Tomorrow i will ask my gynae since gg to see him.

Supply for bmilk will usually start on the 3rd day, but may not hv enuf for bb. And bb will need milk starting from 3rd day, not like the first 2 days when they still have reserves. I took fenugreek to increase my ss but ended up with a bit of engorgement, u may want to try taking as well but dun take too much from the start.

puix,

start pumping. that helps to get the milk to kick in faster.

it's not that yr bb didn't drink any colostrum from u. it's just that colostrum volume is usually very little and he just needs more than that. once yr milk supply kicks in, u shd be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Puix2: don't dismay. My milk only came in day 4. The key is let the baby suckle. The suckling will send message to your brain to produce milk, but since u hv given fm, then u might have altered his appetite and increased it. Just take lotsa fluids like soups, red date tea and like what grumpus suggested, pumping can help stimulate.

Tulip3: you can start massage 3-7 days if u delivered naturally. Depending on ur massage lady too. If csec, have to wait till 1 mth. But I hv heard that some massage lady can do after one to two weeks. As to who look after, usually it's the person who does ur confinement.

Mummies, i tried pumped it out but the colostrum turned into bubble through the avent electric pump n hard to flow into the bottle.. Is it normal?

Chabby, do you follow a schedule to bring your baby to be checked by PD? I am referring to normal growth check and not vaccination.

For vaccination, i know polyclinic can do it. but how about growth check?

Does that mean we do not need to bring baby to any PD untill he feel unwell?

Anyone seeing SBCC (Singapore Baby and Child clinic) here?

chabby - I also had the pelvic pain since i was pregnant but thot that it shld hv gone away since i popped already. Guess hv to give it some time to recover...

Hi chabby, not sure whether e waiting time will b shortened since there's appt. N also whether e vaccination will b done by e nurses or e doc. I was tinking if bring to pd, can shun bian do healthcheck for baby.

Hi puix2, i'm also using Avent pump n had e same prob when i pumped out my colostrum. There were some bubbles inside, seems like it's normal but make sure there's no more bubble before u feed ur baby.

Hi mummies, can i noe how often u pump out ur BM? I'm not latching baby anymore cos i wan to monitor how much he's drinking. If i dun latch baby, does it mean my milk supply wont increase? Pumping will also stimulate milk supply rite? I'm taking 1 fenugreek every morning now but i read somewhere tat i can take more than tat. Any advise on dis? Thanks!!

Hi mummies, anyone knows where can get green papaya? I stay in sengkang... Can't get it from pasar besides compasspoint... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

me start my massage ytd guess wat i develop rashes!! And the lady say it's norMal due to stomach wind but she use her own blended oil so I tahan and toda she bind again than I feel painful at my wound so my CL say better to take off so. I took off and saw lots of swollen red lines so ithy and uncomfortable [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] "sob sob" so my flat Tummy out of reach then....:...(

Hi Puix

try sheng shiong at serangoon or Hougang mall wet market? Rivervale plaza market this one shld be nearer to u? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

LZZ,

Pumping might not stimulate as much as latching, so now I'm trying to let her latch abt twice a day but spaced apart so nipples can rest. If you only want to depend on pumping must be as frequent as bb's feeds. Which really works out to a lot of time wasted in a way, and very tiring too. Can't imagine life after confinement when I'll handle everything by myself.

My gynae said fenugreek can be taken up to 3x daily. I'm taking that amt for now since I'm still trying to boost milk supply.

ivftwins

was advise to see the PD 1mth later for 2nd dose of hep B and checkup. but i make appt for m baby at polyclinic on 8 Feb. i'll update if there's routine growth checkup provided by the staff at polyclinic.

LZZ

i remember the waiting time is rather short. accompanied my ex SIL for such routine check-up before. was quite fast. my colleague also say quite fast as they won't wan the babies to stay in the polyclinic for too long for the fear of them getting sick.

but the check n vaccination is done mainly by more experience nurses and not doc. if u wan to shun bian see PD, then go to a PD. PD is also more detail in doing checkup and explaining the possible after effects of each vaccination.

remember to check if you can use the CDA account to pay for the PD you are visiting. dun waste the CDA account.

puix/LZZ

was advise to take 2-3capsules of fenugreek..3x daily by the parentcraft at glen-e. i'm taking GNC ones. cost 29.50 per bottle of 100 capsules.

LZZ,

It is possible to bf through pumping only. But like luckymummy said it's very time consuming and tiring. U hv to pump every 2-3 hrs, store the ebm, wash and sterilize pump. Then when bb feeding time u hv warm up the ebm, feed, wash bottle and sterilize.

If bb can latch well it's much easier to just latch.

lily,

u better stop the massage. worry your c-sec wound kana infection or affect your healin. that'll be bad.

ur healing is the most impt, slowly w the slimming. the body will have its way to slowly reduce the water in the body. jus go toilet more.

Lily,

my massage lady also told me I might get rashes etc but I was not affected. Think you shd stop yours for the time being. Or use a less potent oil like baby oil and don't go near your wound. Not sure if will still have slimming effect though. How long has it been since your csec? Maybe shd wait a bit longer.

Puix,

also got mine from gnc like chabby.

LZZ - it is definitely possible to increase yr supply by pumping. I did it for my no 1. At first my ss was pathetic, by 2nd month my gal was on full EBM, and i had enuf to freeze. My freezer became full of frozen bmilk that i almost ran out of space. U can take 2 fenugreek 3 times a day.

sputnik, really! I am thinking that my ss is not going to last past this month since my bb's demand has gone up but i am barely coping with 100ml each day. took 3x fenugreek today.

if by 2nd month i dun have enuff to store, i think i cannot sustain this pumping and chasing feeds each day and night.

Sputnik

Ysterday, I took my baby to see the PD, then I took the chance to go and see the lactation consultant abt my failure in BF as well as the lump under my armpit.

She told tat the lump is a 'extra breast' cos of my engorgement. If I massage the breast and bb manage to suck, it will go away.

I feel the lump is smaller now, cos my bb manage to suck (now for long though).

Thanks Chabby & Luckymummy

I sms my massage lady and i already remove the binder and see how it go and she call me and will see how tmr...fingers cross hope everything wil be fine and the itch will stop..our Hubbies must really LOVE AND TREASURE US! We sacrifice so much..our body pain and all...:p

pooh - LOL.. extra breast...i also feel mine is getting smaller. Probably cos my breast no longer engorged. I also try and massage the breast and the lump when i bathing with warm water running on it.