(2011/01) Jan 2011

i've been trying to breastfeed and top up w FM. i tried expressing and could only get 20ml-30ml from both sides. prefer to latch on directly but nipples have cracked and bleed. sigh~

thinking of calling for a lactation consultatant to do a home visit to help me with the latching and on using tha nipple shield and so on. any good lactation consultants mummies have engaged?? my gynae gave me the name card of Betty Lee. has anyone engaged her service and has feedback on her? i'm still holding back my breast pump buy. or i shld jus buy a good pump first? any advice on that?? kimmy, any secret to share on breastmilk supply?

my cha siew pau is in the ward tonite as his jaundice level was near 18, exceeding the 15 benchmark which requires admission. sigh~ this 1 nite will cost near 1k for glen-e. my mum was scolding me for not drinkig enuff coconut juice. that's y jaundice. so mummies who have not pop, try to increase ur dosage of coconut juice to at least 3x a week.

chabby - i think u shld invest in a gd pump. I bought the PISA when i had my number 1 and it really helped me to establish my milk ss, cos my gal tend to fall asleep while latching on.

Anyone bought the young coconut recently? Can share where to get it?

I've been searching for it.

Seems like it's not in season now.

Used to get it alot in the NTUC near my place, but now no more!

Going into my 38th week already so I wanna start on coconut juice.

sputnik>

Looks like ur staring labour symptoms... any contraction pain yet?

Luckymummy>

BF babies will cry for hunger every 2 hours min.

Whereas, FM babies can tahan hunger for 3-4 hours min.

That's why some mummies give FM at nite, so that longer resting breaks instead of daytime. Daytime try to latch on demand every 2-3 hours.

Pooh>

Do what u must to have a healthy and smooth delivery. If gynae says C-sect then it should be right. Do not feel bad that u couldn't try natural or worried about the operation.

With the modern technology, everything is easier and we are luckier... Imagine our parents in their days of delivery......... it must have been worst.

My #1 was natural with epi, but I could still move around after the delivery... The anaestatist had a hard time finding the gap between my spinal cord, that she had to poke me 3 times, finally found the spot and I was at ease. That's when she told me that my spinal cord is very cramp and if I always had bad aches... which was true as I am on the over weight side. So she advised after delivery to loose some weight before trying for #2.

So our body frame plays a vital role in our delivery method. As you r a small frame lady, it's possible for u to have a narrow pelvic structure and the baby's growing weight is adding to ur blood pressure.

Dun worry and think too much, just go for it...

Best wishes in having a smooth delivery dear.

Hi bethel,

i oso ask hb to buy at ntuc las few days but they sold out oready..left only the botak thai ones.. so hb juz bought 2 of them..since hb buy oready so i juz drank la. still hav 1 in fridge..today tot ntuc hav but hb go chk still dun hav..hav been drinkin young coconut every wk..hmm tmr will get hb to go chkout the wet market juz near my hse coz las few wk i wen marketing saw they sell young cocounut ask me buy...me nw 39wk3d..bb still comfy inside...

Hi cookiefleur,

ok noted. thanks for replying my post. I shall ask to see her when im still at TMC. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lalitha - nope, no contraction pain yet.

coconut - can try getting fr cold storage. Actually wat is the diff bet normal and young coconut? Not sure if the ones i hv been drinking are young or not...lol..i buy those that r pre opened so more convenient.

bethel - i hv been drinking since i 32 weeks..

Anyone use medela nipple shield? One side of my nipple is rather short and flat so I've not successfully breastfeed on that breast before. Any mommies tried that?

Chabby, can try getting ur mum or hubby to help u massage ur breasts to help clear the milk ducts.. My CL helped me n now I can at least get 40ml from both sides instead of the 20ml.. Will be painful during e massage but will help with the soreness..

Breast pump.. For me, I find medela pisa not efficient for the dual phase for now.. End up I pump one side at a time to increase flow while pumping.. Bleah..

Chabby: my Fren taught me to use warm towel to compress e breast and massage e blocked ducts while pumping out excess milk.

I got my hubby to help - he is ruthless man... Hurts like mad but it works.. No so swollen liaoz^.. Bb also had an easier time drinking from e breast... I think she can extract more milk from e breast from suckling...

Key: ruthless kneading of all blocked ducts!

Ivftwins,

I have same prob as u. Auntie lilian from parentcraft used a nipplette on me to draw the flatter nipple out and now I can feed baby much easier. U can buy one to try but I think it's rather ex. Pigeon has one too called nipple puller, much cheaper... U might want to try before getting nipple shield... =)

good afternoon mummies,

ivftwins - i had a inverted nipple with my 1st child ; and i used a nipple 'puller' thingybob to 'suck' out the nipple before latching. it's like a little sucker with a bulb at the end - can get from taka baby dept.. cheap and chirpy. it works.

Momstermom, cookiefleur: were u already feeding baby directly from breast before auntie lilian used nipplette? My baby hates latching n I am expressing for past week since delivery. I scared baby got used to teat so this meddle product may be able to help me?

Pinky,

is there any particular technique for the breast massage? I've just been using a hot towel to rub right before latching to help. Had some engorgement last night n it seemed to help. But baby's suckling is the best at removing that rock hard feeling in the breast. First time I was so happy to have her cry at 130am this morn.

Don't feel like the massage worked for pump expression though. The amt I collected was so pathetic I just used it to spoon feed baby. Cld it be the wrong funnel size for the Medela?

Lalitha,

yah I've realised that I need to be more hardworking with the bfding. Yesterdays engorgement really made me damn hardworking! And so eager to feed!

Luckymummy>> all the auntie did was to just use the side of her palms or side of pinky finger to press really hard.. Especially on the areas that are v hard.. Should be leaking during the massage to ensure the ducts r cleared.. Will be painful.. But later on while pumping will be much better.. I am not latching baby on anymore after I had a 2 hour bf session a few days ago.. It was a nightmare.. Baby was still hungry, I was frustrated.. So I learnt to just express out instead.. When u pump, u need to press the funnel really hard on your breasts, if not difficult to come out.. Also, I only pump one side at a time, so I use my free hand to squeeze my breast or massage to improve milk flow.. Helps so far.. Do remember to drink a glass of hot drink before u start to pump.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm no expert at it myself. this is just my humble input.. Hope this helps!

Cookiefleur,

thks for e feedback. Yup I also felt I learned a lot from the lactation consultant who stopped by my room. Just a bit worried abt my engorgement n if I'll ever get to wear a normal bra without the breast shields cos nipples hurt if any clothes touch them.

Monstersmom,

I'm using lansinoh n it's very good. I already have another tube on standby cos I'm so afraid I will run out!! This n the breast shields are my new bff. Dunno what my nipples and I wld do without them. Hehe.

Pinky,

does your Medela funnel seem to leak at the bottom? I find I have to lean over in order for everything to flow into the bottle instead of leaking out the bottom. Maybe I need to press the funnel harder. Will try that later.

I'm still hoping I can total breastfeed. Without need for pumping. Find the whole sterilising process very ma fan.

pinky,

your baby very gd leh, sleep 4 hours..I BF my baby, she can sleep only about 3+ hours at nite. day time very jialat, she can woke up and ask for milk every hour..Im really like a moo moo factory. I already called myself moo moo..

Confinement period:

Is horrible after every meal, immediately feel the heat.I tahan 14days lar, see if chercat can beat me..heheh

Chabby,

No special secret to increase milk supply leh. I remember I just tahan the soreness while in hospital, I let my baby latch even pain. I remember someone from parentcraft came and check and she say I got milk supply, then she ask the baby to suck me more. It will help to stimulate the milk. The best pump in the world is BABY!!. No one can beat them. Try to latch and let them suck, but if crack and bleed then no point. Last time I feel pain but lactation say no crack. So i tahan the pain and continue to latch. and I make sure I drink a lot of water, soup, milk, milo..I pump and store my milk, only bottle feed 2-3 times a day and I still prefer to let baby latch cos it does help to increase my milk as I can feel the milk fill up my breast. 30ml may be enuf for your cha siew pao, but let him latch then top up with FM. My cousin last time can only pump 1oz (30ml), now she can pump 6 oz..dun give up.

ivf,

Some baby when used to bottle, they will reject nipple cos bottle is more easier for them, they use lesser strengh to suck. in a way, they get *lazy* to suck from breast. but we need baby to help us in increasing milk supply. You may wan to try latch again. Me last time also worried my baby will reject my breast so I dun reall feel like offer bottle feed, now I slowly to bottle feed few times a day.

Luckymummy>> yeah it does leak if u dun press hard enough.. But a few drops is ok.. I normally only use first phase for pumping now.. More efficient..

Ivftwins,

Yes my baby was latching but she will fight the breast for some time before she latch on properly. After using the nipple puller/nipplette, I find that she latch on more easily. Actually one of the nurses also told me I can use nipple shield but she said that baby may not want real nipple after that, so I decided not to get the shield.

I tried to bottle feed baby last night, just one small feed and i find it's harder today to latch baby correctly again cos she's back to 'fighting'... Not as bad as before, but this make me determined not to bottlefeed again until my supply is well established!

ivftwins - no harm for u to try it .. i think the device only cost a coupla bucks.. i remember it being quite comical when i used it with my son 3 yrs ago.. i would use the thing to 'suck' out the nipple then quickly slap the baby onto the extended nipple before it went flat again.

also like someone said - latching on is the best way to increase supply at the end of the day..

luckymummy11 - i know the feeling!! 2 days ago, i had blisters on the blisters tat used to be my nipples cos my baby refuses to latch properly.. she wont open her mouth big enough for me to shove enough of the auroela into her mouth.. and cos the flow quite fast, she tended to chomp down only on the nipple and clamps down her jaw to control the flow! GRRRR.. but after some lanolin and some air drying (it is also recommended that u rub breastmilk on ur injured nipples and air dry them for healing) , i think the nipples also get toughened.. cos now, on day 8, both baby and nipples seem quite happy. haha :D

Kimmy> how much can u pump from 2 sides? Want to use u as a guide heehee... I can only pump 30-40ml from 1 side, haven't tried 2 sides yet... Scared baby still not enough, but I haven't been topping up w fm.

pinky, kimmy, nimkulut, sputnik

thanks for your replies. i tried using the avent manual pump last nite while baby is in hospital. could pump out abt 50-60ml in total from both sides. hope the pumping last nite help to clear some ducts and i tried massaging the hard areas in between feed.

i've tried to drink more water. (plain water, soup, longan tea) but dun dare to drink too much also cuz worry abt my water retention. my feet are still very swollen. can't fit into my bigger shoes that i wore at 5-7mth preggy yet. only have that 1 miserable pair.

kimmy,

I'm already sweating even while eating the confinement food. I look longingly at the normal stuff that my husband and mil get to eat at every meal...so many more days before end of confinement!

But I did get a bath yesterday on day 4. That was unexpected and very nice. Unfortunately my hair is horribly tangled cos even my strongest conditioner is no match for the herb bath.

monster's mom,

okay, I will look forward to day 8. I am at day 5 now. Jia you to all of us!

chabby,

50+ml is very good to me! I managed less than 10ml from both sides my first time on the medela freestyle. So pathetic. Maybe the manual pumps are better.

When I do get out of the house, I just continue to slop around in the one pair of slippers and birkenstocks that still fit(badly).

luckymummy

thanks. i was quite glad when i see it splurt out n the other side leaks while pumping. but manual need to use both hands. one hold the breast n the other hold the pump. muz be vacuum tight to suck also. take very long. i pump for an hour plus to get 50ml.

so far ok. i din sweat that much. think b'cuz i cheat occasionaly as i wear a dress PJ which is short sleeve and not the long sleeve PJs. i din like ginger n all. so my mum actaully minimise the ginger n alcohol. the weather is not too bad on the west side as it rains n cloudy for the past week.

i got a bath everyday using herbs n i'll cheat n rinse myself using the heated shower after using the herbs.

i think i am going to see a lactation consultant. Either KKH or TMC Auntie Lilian.

My baby is simply not latching on at all. My baby was crying non stop when i could not pump enough. So had to supplement with FM using bottle.sigh....

Now I am still trying to chase baby's feeding needs with pumping.

I fully agree that baby's latch is the best way to increase supply.

chabby - hahaha so i am not the only one who cheats like tat! sometimes i feel a bit bad for wasting my mom and maid's effort to boil and lug the herbal water up the stairs.. but still - at the end of the day, i need to be clean more than my slightly guilty conscience..

pinky,

if full breast, i can pump about 6-7oz both breast (1oz=30ml). Sometime I latch my baby on 1 side, then I pump after 1hour+, I managed to pump about 4-5oz. I dun pump regularly cos my baby wake up almost every hour during day time. Sometime when too full, I will ask hubby to get me a bottle to *scope* the leaking breast while latching on the other side, i can get abt 2oz by doing that. I feel guilty cos if I dun pump out b4 I latch my baby, the milk will *spray* on her face and I have to cover my nipple. Very messy. During nite time, I will wake up and pump at least 30 minutes b4 my baby wake up (baby sleep abt 3 hours gap at nite).

My relax method when pump

manual pump, Normally not so fast unless full till leak. I will lean back and relax, then I can fill the milk is going to leak, then I start to pump and press hard on the other side. press slightly towards to breast & press.

Medela freestyle,

I about >L7, I hold on that 2 bottles then I relax my shoulder and look 45-60 degree up, then immediatly I can feel my milk is coming. i dun press too hard towards breast cos i feel tat the milk is slow if press too hard.

Kimmy>> u power leh.. now I getting abt 60ml from both sides.. just when I thought I managed to supply what my boy needs for 1 feed, his appetite went up again.. sigh..

Today's topic is hot on BF...

I was busy taking care of #1, still hunting the website for a good childcare in Jurong Area...

How's everyone doing? Anyone in Jurong area can recommend a good childcare?

pooh>

No problem, just take it easy... good luck for a painless delivery journey.

Wah mummies,

so many updates!! Been so long since I came back into the forum...

Re: BF

Must go see lactation consultant if bb not latchng on well... I was suffering from sore, cracked and bleeding nipples coz I dunno how to latch my boy on, and he's sucking power is so strong.... After each feed, the nipples are super painful!!... so went to Mt A, saw Sister Kang and her consultants, after 2 visits, latching much better, nipples not that sore... and really, they are very passionate abt BF, so u will try ur best to BF too!...

Can call: 63476641

Chabby: I also called Betty to see if she can come down... but in the end, I went down to Mt A, so I dunno if she's good or not..

Good luck to the rest of mummies who are delivering soon... can see ur baby soon, and it's the start of moo-ing season..

Re: Pumping

Can check when shld we start pumping our milk? Till now, my bb is already 10 day old, but i've not started on pumping... my massage lady says no need to pump, coz bb is the best pump, and if pump too much, later not enuff for bb...

Even the lactation consultant also says no need... so how?

I find pumping very tedious, coz BF already very tiring, then still need to sterilise all the pumps, then pump again... by then, it's almost time for the next feed... How?

Hoshi,

If yr bb can latch well then no need to pump. U may wish to pump if bb dun latch well, or if u're trying to build up excess store in the freezer in anticipation for when u go back to work.

pinky,

I realized my baby also can drink a lot. now 2oz is not enuf for her, I up the supply to 2.5oz when I bottle feed her and she also can finished all. I tried once feed her with FM at nite and she only sleep for abt 2hours not 4 hours..

luckymummy,

I have been eating the same taste of food everyday!!! the only diff is the meat- fish, pork, chicken. my hubby sometime will jio me to eat his *normal* food. :-(..I rinse my body with the herbal everyday, so far so gd..

Counting down to full month - 6 days!!

hoshi - u gave birth on 1 jan at 00:00 hrs rite at glenagles? My hubby spoke to u at 10am that day... hehe....thik u know who i referring to...

kimmy

my babay also drink alot. it's only 6 days old. i BF 40min and still have to top up 90ml/3oz for him. aiyo!

but BF alone dun seem to be able to satisfy him even if i BF him for an hour plus. sigh~ i dunno if i can ever produce enuff to satisfy.

hoshi,

thanks. think i'll call for Betty Lee at the end of this week.

post natal massage

anyone has started? how is it? i intend to start massage at the end of week 2 or week 3 of confinement. but the wrap will make it difficult to move and will sweat badly. dunno how.

kimmy - i read that actually it is not becos FM is more filling hence they sleep longer at nite if they drink FM. The reason is becos FM takes longer to digest compared to BM, so if u hv enuf BM, just give BM is still better. When i had my number 1, i find that giving FM does not make her sleep longer compared to EBM.

Kimmy.. Now my boy needs 80ml.. Now at night he will give prob.. Must carry him than can sleep.. My poor CL..

Chabby.. U can start the massage alr.. Only those c sect need to wait for 2 weeks after op.. I should be using my CL's lobang..

kimmy, you are my idol...i wish one day i will reach the same stage where milk spray onto baby's face...hahaha...

i started double pump on freestyle recently using the hook that hangs onto nursing bra...you may like to try that instead of holding on to the bottle.

i use the free hands to massage breast instead or surf SMH!

Can i ask how long do you pump? i am on L5, 15 mins...wonder if its too gentle to fully offload milk from breast.

chabby, you top up 90ml of what? formula or backup BM?

i realise babies these days drink a lot! that was why in my first week, i had to supplemnt formula cos i was not producing fast enough for him.

Now, i am expressing 100ml of BM at 3 hour interval for his feed.

There was a few times when he latch on successfully and was sucking for close to an hour. I wonder if he gets any milk or not cos he continue to drink from my expressed milk later.

chabby,

wow...ur baby can drink so much. even remove that 40mins BF, 90ML still consider a lot. I ever tried once, offer 3oz to my baby, but she cannot finish and only drink 2oz. I think so long as u continue to BF ur baby, sure can satisfied him :)

sputnik,

I dunno leh, my fren ask me to mix with FM, then baby can sleep longer. I also realized tat BF can sleep longer. So i din offer FM now.

pinky,

at least u got CL to carry him, but after confinement then u will have to carry, ur time to *enjoy*!! I try not to carry her unless she cry badly cos later she get used to it then we are the one who suffer next time. But my hubby doted her a lot and I have to remind him not to carry her too much.

ivf,

surely u can reach that stage but really can be superb messy, i even sprayed on her hairs..my poor princess. I tried to use the handfree b4 but i found it troublesome when I need to massage my breast after 1st pump. Normally first pump I pump for about 8-10 minutes then I massage my breast and continue for another 3 minutes or so, depend on the milk flow, if still have then I continue longer, if the breast is quite empty then I will just stop. I haven send my medela for repair :-(, it's not working since few days back, now using manual pump..

Ya, baby nowaday drink a lot. I follow sherill guideline to offer 40ml, but not enuf for her so I top up with BF after bottle feed. I can really see my baby is growing, so much diff when she is born. even my careless hubby say so..

kimmy - ya, its the general belief that FM is more filling. But last time i also find that it does not really make any difference, my gal also slept longer drinking BM. Maybe it is depending on the bb and not really FM or BM.

sputnik,

Is ur hubby the one who's taking care of your boy who kept running into our room?... haha...

kimmy,

u so good, 9 more days to go!!... I'm like only starting 10 days... still long way to go... but BF is really tough..

Today just started my malay massage, hope can slim down... hehe... shiok, but very oily...

Kimmy:

Thanks for believing me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Even now my baby increased the volume to almost 60 ml now since last week. So I think just increase the amount based on your baby's requirement ! I find FM can make her sleep 3-4 hrs during night so I just give her one serving during night time so I can rest well n also she won't hate FM just in case I m not able to latch her on.

Anyone heard from coconutz ? Has she delivered ?

chabby,

U shld try to start the massage first...

I think quite uncomfortable to wear the cinch wrap, and with all the lochia, sweat, BF... quite uncomfy...

Then after massage, if lochia lesser, can start the cinch wrap..