(2011/01) Jan 2011

Any mothers here expressing milk cos bb is not latching on? May I know for day 6 post delivery (ie day 7), how much milk should we be producing each round? I barely squeeze in 30ml each time only.

Breastfeeding:

Alot of mummies asking abt the amt of milk that they should be producing.. I read from the handbook for breastfeeding is that we should not be judging by how much milk that we can express out. Instead, we should be monitoring the number of times that the bb is passing motion and urine..

As for latching on, i think must let your lactation consultant see if the latching method is correct or not.. According to them, not just giving the nipple to the bb but instead the whole nipple area for the bb to suck on...

Hi ivf me trying also to get my supply not really stable yet and also barely 20 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

dear all...

congrats to those who have popped![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and it's definitely VERY interesting and informative when reading about your birthing experiences!thanks for sharing!!!!

As for those who are BF, persevere on![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Though i have not gone through this, I know it's not goin to b easy but if u persist on, u'll be successful 'moo moo'![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hahaha..

I'm still waiting for my lil' boy to come!!!

Patiently waiting...like many of u!

ivftwins & lily>> i'm barely pumping 10ml from each side everytime.. bleah.. still pumping the colostrum now.. having blocked ducts now..

tmr am going back to pd check up for baby's jaundice level.. shun bian go to gynae let him check the stitches.. am still on painkiller..

CDA + baby bonus.. i'm having a headache from reading the forms.. bahh.. birth cert registration also not done.. seems like so many things to do still!

Sigh we mus jiayou!!

Me also gg to pd flw up for jaundice level tmr and stitches nex Monday pinky ur also c sec rite? Yr charges so much cheaper than mine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

lily.. urs is at MtE which is the most ex of all the parkway hospitals.. mine is at glenE which is not as ex as urs.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] plus u chose c-sect on 1st jan which will bring up the cost for ur gynae.. my gynae alr charged me extra 800bucks for doing c-sect on 2nd jan which is a sunday.. i can imagine the additional charge for c-sect on a public holiday is even worse..

Pinky ya lo[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] as my gynae only deliver at mt e but my gynae nvr charge me extra jis the normal but the hospital charg 400 more for ph and the ga doc fees cost me 600 plus that already add up to extra 1k [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] well all over money gone anyway [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

as for the CDa and all u nvr do it at glen e? I hav done my at mt e all done and submit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm going to be admitted to hospital tomorrow! :D

wow! So excited!

Gee... Praying hard now that can stand the birth pain. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good afternoon,

nice rainy weather and everyone is relaxing.

BF mums>

1) Mums, do drink more liquid as u need to replenish the liquid going out of ur body(milk).

2) U may also drink the Lactation milks available.

3) The more the baby suckle, the breats will be stimulated

Lastly, do not be disheartened... Every women's body is different for different pregnancies. So dun blame urself or the baby.

Best Wishes in BF...

Any 2nd time mums around who have already popped? Just wondering, will the 2nd pregnancy be earlier than the 1st pregnancy? Has it been true for you?

Need some idea... Tks in advance.

Lalitha, for mine, #1 was born ard 37+ weeks and #2 about the same time.

Lily, how is your boy taking it? With new school and all?

Charleen, u having contraction now? How do u know u only need to admit hospital tomolo? Wishing u a smooth delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pinky & lily> same! me also going to PD tomorrow for baby's jaundice level follow up. hopefully it stay low since we discharged from hospital yesterday.

let's persevere with breastfeeding together!

ps: I also haven't done baby's b-cert, baby bonus and CDA stuff!

btw, anyone got any suggestions where i can hold the 1st month celebration for baby if its not convenient to do it at home??

doreen,

congrats!! your birth story is very interesting leh..midwife is right, already 8cm dilated, no point to ask for epidural...well done!1

Hi Mums,

When to see gynae yesterday and there's no sign of delivery yet (36wks)... although am really very tired already... but i am abit contradicting also I wished to hold BB to full term coz I want a more heavy weight BB but at the same time feeling tired from carrying the ball around.

I will do my strepB test and VE next week (wk 37) to see if there's any signs.

Sometimes I have bad BH that I thought I am going to delivery anytime.

Those who have popped, jiayou!!!

For BF - as long as you constantly latch/ express the milk floow will come in. I rem for my #1 I almost give up coz of the miserable amount each time I pump... like 5-10ml per size..The pump works very hard so does my nipple, they were so sore. Luckily I didnt eventually but I totally give up on pumping and just latch on demand.. manage to BF him for 9mths...

How's confinement? Shldnt be that bad right since the weather's been kind for stay at home lately =)

I have BN items to let go:

Pigeon baby lotion @ $10

Pigeon breastmilk storage bottles 3pcs/set (150ml/50z) @ $10

Pigeon baby cream @ $10

Avent pre-sterilised cups 240/8oz 10x refill cups w/o lid @ $12

Interested pls pm.

Hi All Mummies and MTB,

I am at my 37th week. As my edd is on 25th Jan! But so far I dont feel anything weird. I still sleep as per normal but of course do wakes up once or twice every night.. but I am back to sleep very fast. Is it normal? Hehe..

I am curious about how we go applying our ML? My HR printed out a set of forms for me to fill in and the date that I want to start my leave. But from what I have read from the forum, it seems like we should consult our gynae before deciding when to go onleave. I am abit confused whether should I decide myself or is best to consult my gynae first?

And I would like to ask, any mummies hire post-natal massage lady to massage your body after delivery?

cookiefleur>> yeah.. i hope jaundice level stay low too! still deciding whether to continue with this pd or not since he has another clinic relatively near to my place compared to glenE..

poormummy>> confinement is getting terrible.. i havent washed my hair since sunday and i feel HORRIBLE alr.. so OILY.. omg.. i wanna faint.. not able to shower but just wipe still bearable.. but not washing hair is like... DISGUSTING..

those BF jiayou! i just drink whatever's offered to me by my CL as she said can boost milk supply.. i think she's really right.. hehehe.. this morning only pump less than 20ml in total from both sides.. just now at ard 4pm, i pumped again and it went up to about 35ml in total! still very little but improvement! so yeah.. those with CL, do trust them! the papaya-fish soup does help! heh heh.. on my way to being a moo-moo for the next few months..

joanna>> i did contact a post-natal massage auntie.. but due to c-sect, i still havent start yet.. only can start 2 weeks after op.. but if i'm not wrong, for natural delivery, can start immediately the day after discharge from hosp for better results!

mummies that went for c-sect, can i just check if all of you are wearing corset or wrap/binder to help with the wound?

hi piux & Kimmy,

thanks..

haha... was quite funny... this morning went to check... doc said tmw 6pm go admit hospital then most prob sat will pop out already...

so Hubby and i happily left TMC and go for a good lunch as today is also our 1st year wedding anniversary :D

after lunch, start to have contractions, and started timing... started with 50mins interval... so we thought of going shopping then catch a movie before coming back to shower and prepare... but the 40mins interval got too constant till i'm pretty painful thus after shopping we came back to wait... but then till now regularly is 40mins apart... hoping can pop today but seems like chances quite low as now is already 9pm and still 40mins apart.

If BB pop today, will be same day as our wedding anniversary... but now seems like tmw then will come instead of 8th (sat).

Can help me update? I'll b having natural birth. But looking at the situation now, instead of EDD 13/1/11, should be tmw 7/1/11.

Pinky

U very 'guai' leh. I think I will start to wash my hair even when in hosp. I even packed my shampoo/conditioner/body foam. hehe..

Want to look fresh to receive visitors.

I teared each time I read each mummies birth story. So happy for all of u when u get to hold the bb in your arms.

Oh gosh. Still got so many of you yet to pop.

pooh..

i actually packed my toiletries too.. but the only ones i used were my toothpaste and toothbrush.. not able to shower in hosp is not that bad.. coz there's air con.. but now at home, in the day, cannot blow direct fan, eating a lot of "heaty" food is causing my body temperature to go up!! arghzz.. anyway u wouldnt feel like bathing even when u can start to get out of bed.. u wont have the energy to do so.. all u wanna do is just nua ur time away.. hehe..

Charleen, ur gynae quite accurate ler... My edd also 13th... No contraction so far n tummy not low yet, seems like going to be over due...hope bb will come out soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thank u misty for replying...

how does contraction pain feel like?

kinda forgot... but having lots braxton hicks and kicks from baby at the ribs...

pooh>

pls dun get emotional le, our D-day is not far... we are all almost there...

Let's count down together. Best wishes to mums going to pop and those who have popped...

mummies help..my medela freestyle US set not function now...i dunno is the machine or battery problem. How?

Now cant pump, both breast very full of milk, scared might choke my baby cos the flow is too fast for her to latch direct...

Hi kimmy,

U or ur hubby might want to call or bring it to the medela service centre to check:

Medela Service Centre

81 Toh Guan East

#03-01 Secom Centre

Singapore 608606

Tel: 6562 6298

Mon-Fri 9am to 5.30pm

Sat 9am to 12pm

My fren took her US set down to repair as well. Dunno how much she paid tho.

She meanwhile pump out her milk manually using hand...

Since then, she has a spare manual pump just in case.

How are you guys feeling today? Today was supposed to be my last day of work before my ML starts on Monday but I woke up in the morning 6am with the feeling to pass motion. It wasn't productive and when I clean myself, there was blood and mucous, so I decided not to go to work. Am going to my gynae's clinic later when she opens to get an assessment...wonder if this is it...

Hi kikapo!

I have exactly the same symptom as u! I woke up this morning to pee and found tinge of blood! But I dun feel any pain or contraction. Have yet to call my Gynae.. Wonder is it false alarm...

Aiyo aiyo!!

To all mummies that yet to pop.. Dun b too Gan chiong!! Theory is not entirely right! 15mins contraction still can take ur own sweet time..

This morning woke up at 1am, 5-15mins contractions then we rush to Tmc. Been pain & in contraction from 1am till now, 9am, contraction of every 3-5mins... But... Doc just said prob still gotta wait till this evening 6-8pm!!

Haha!!! Cry Liao!!

Gas not much help..

No sleep..

Can't eat much.. No energy..

Siao liao... :'(

Hi Morning mummies...

I woke up ard 3.15 am to go to loo.. found a bit of brownish discharge.But no pain or contractions.

I had a check up yesterdae, gynae did VE so was wondering whether it could be due to that.

I went to bed again and woke up at 8 plus,wiped and found same discharge. Still no pain or contractions.. i wonder what should i do?

any advise??

Komathi,

call ur gynaes office for advice. The nurses shd know the exact symptoms n can let u know.

Pooh/pinky,

I didn't feel like bathing in hospital either. Was so tired from delivery n it wasn't hot in the room anyway. Had such a steady stream of visitors that I couldn't really think of other things. Plus the breastfeeding took so much energy.

Charleen,

Jia you and do deep breathing when u feel the contractions coming. I found that helped somewhat, at least until ard 4cm of dilation when the peaks get stronger. Progression of labour differs for everyone so don't despair. My gynae also thought I would take a lot longer to fully dilate.

Mummies already home with baby,

how often does your bb wake in the night for feeding? Mine woke once last nite but suckled on and off for over an hour!! My poor breasts....

Thks Pinky for your advise.

Can anyone advise me on the maternity leave? Should we consult our gynae when to take leave so as not to waste the maternity leave or is up to individual?

I am still at home cause gynae office says no point i go in now...should wait till contractions are at least 5 mins apart before I report at labour ward...so sianz...wait and wait...until hubby also fall asleep on couch already...

Maybe I shld go catch a movie...hahaha...

Pinky. I full understand. Since last fri before I give birth I bathed, today is the first time I bath n wash hair. Simply cos I m gg to see gynae later. Else think my mom will not allow me to bathe till 10 days is up.

For bf: life is challenging. Been pumping, trying baby to latch on n I am surviving on 40-50ml each pump. Then supplement with formula cos my son need more milk! Which brand if formula are u guys using?

pinky,

I tahn not to wash my hair for about 14 days and I CANNOT take it anymore, so oily and itchy and I see dandruff all over my hairs...si yiakky and I wash with shampoo twice and I scratch very hard..So scared that the dandruff will stay..gambateh in BM

pooh,

Teared is quite normal I guess, cos for the first week, when i think of the moment my baby born and sounds, I will still teared at home..but be happy k...

CL,

thanks for the address...I was so sad the whole nite and the breast sore like almost stick to each other (too full). Baby drink and the milk kept on flowing out, till I wake hubby up and tell him at the pump. He went and check for me, and somehow he manage to on it and it show low batt, weird thing is I put it on charge yesternite...I will go and buy a cheap manual pump just in case...

luckymummy,

I laugh out when I saw your msg*my poor breast*. My baby will drink at around 12plus-1am, then wake up every 3hours+ for second milk. she will fall asleep while drinking but i will just touched her chin then she will continue to drink. about 15-20 minutes..

kikapo,

may be may be....jia you..:)

Hi all! Just to update that I delivered a healthy baby girl, Sophia, on 3 January 2010 by sort of emergency c-section (scheduled same day due to various reasons but at least not as baby was coming out even though contractions fast and furious before op started) at Mt Elizabeth. She's 2.93kgs and 50 cm at birth.

Congrats reia!!!!!

i am still wonderring if i can buy the tummy binder with pouch $130, which you guys rave about in the earlier post (months ago.) hmm...

Congrats reia I am still at mte in 3 Jan mayb u are jus nex dr!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] how much is yr bill ex rite?