(2011/01) Jan 2011

i have some nursing tops and pants from Mothersenvogue for Sale. Preloved but condition 10/10 as worn only afew times. please take a look at the links for pictures and measurements.

Bourbon Rosettee (white)

Retail Price: SGD 65.90

Selling @ $25. size M'

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=94

Britney Bubble Tank (brown)

Retail Price: SGD 59.90

Selling @ $25 size M

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=85

Cleopatra Tunic

Retail Price: SGD 69.00

Selling @ $15 Size L (the embelishments on top has fallen off abit, but its not obvious)

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=14

Woven Harem Pants

Retail Price: SGD 69.90

Selling @ $30 size M

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=109

Comfy Sateen Pants (khaki) - this one doesn't have pockets

Retail Price: SGD 82.00

Selling @ $25 size M

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=31

Comfy Sateen Shorts (khaki)

Retail Price: SGD 45.90

Selling @ $30. Size M (this one only worn ONCE to try)

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=45#

Comfy Sateen Shorts (white)

Retail Price: SGD 45.90

Selling @ $20. Size M

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=45#

Please PM me if you are interested. thanks

VE... VAGINAL EXAM

After a VE it is normal for u to have cramps n brownish spotting or some discharge...

But if they dun subside or the crampy pain go away, then u need to call ur gynae.

At the VE, if ur starting to dilate n efface(cervix thinning out) then its always good to be ready to go to hosp if ur in crampy pain or call ur gynae. becoz u might be having contraction pain n r dilating further. If u plan for epidural, better go n admit before u dilate more than 5cm, coz after that no use taking epi... just go natural birth... tahan the pain n go for it... use breathing technique... to keep u calm n composed.

Hi mummies.

Haven't had time to log in. Been busy shifting house and unpacking.

Komathi,

I have the same symptoms as u cos gynae did a VE for me yday. I had slight spotting but gynae said it will be like that unless if discharge is brown with mucus then prob have to go hospital. Otherwise to wait till symptoms appear

kimmy>> u very lucky.. got a lot of supply.. mine still pathetic.. last min a while ago is like 35ml from BOTH breast.. poor son.. can even be full on my BM.. bleah..

kikapo>> update us okie? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] soon will be ur turn!

ivftwins>> i only allowed to shower and wash hair tomorrow.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so today i made sure i tied my hair up very neatly so that not so obvious that it is extremely oily and stinky.. hahaha.. heng my gynae never comment on that.. anyway my hubby bought Frisolac for baby to supplement as my supply is still very low.. wanted to follow NanPro given by hospital but he found that it's manufacted in Philippines so he went to research and bought Frisolac.. PD ok-ed it just now when i brought son for checkup..

luckymummy>> usually my boy will take his milk around 11 to 12mn and wake up about 4 hours later for his next feed and sleep till morning alr.. he's currently drinking abt 60ml of FM.. he will finish his milk in 5min!

kimmy>> i'm going to wash my hair 2 or 3 times tomorrow and apply super a lot of dettol shower gel when i get to shower tomorrow.. otherwise.. YUCKS..

mummies waiting to pop>> all the best! especially those showing labour signs! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u'll soon hold ur little one in your arms! hang in there!

Pinky,

I have not washed my hair for about 12 days already. Wonder if I can beat Kimmy's record of 14days or not. Haha! I use dry shampoo to spray everyday, so far I asked hubby whether my hair smelly or not, he said no. As for bathing, not yet too but I do 'dry bathing' everyday with Cetaphil cleanser & wipe after that. My Csec wound area is still covered by the white bandage pad, stitches will be removed next week. When will you be removing your stitches & bandage? As for binder, I am still faithfully wearing day&night the one the hospital gave to tighten my tummy.

Chercat: u are superb! Today is day 7 of surgery and had removed stitches.

The after shower n hair wash feel was fantastic. I was sweating so much that the head is wet all the time. Pillow is wet after lying on it. Glad that I survived 7 days.

I used Chinese herbs to bathe. Not just hot water.

Kimmy: u are my goal. Hope to bf successfully till my bb can latch n I have spare to store.

ladies...

came back fr gynae today @ 38th wk. gynae gave me 2 options : 1) to induce OR 2) wait for natural labour starts. Reason being: Cervix is already open, BB is approx 3-3.3kg a good wt, bb is mature enuff to pop into the world, there are risks if bb is inside womb for too long.

our decision: to prob induce on monday (subject to some calculations for chinese calendar)

anyone has gone thru induction? what it the procedure like?

I am measuring contractions every 6-8 minutes, fairly regular...apart from the bloody discharge earlier in the morning, i think the real mucous plug fell out earlier on. I literally felt it being discharged...

Will monitor to see if I can tahan before checking into the labour ward at 12MN so I won't kena charges for just the next couple of hours...

Wish me luck [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chercat.. Wah.. u power.. never wash for 12 days alr.. I really cannot take it alr.. today my gynae took out the dressing le.. mine no need to remove stitches.. I dun see any visible stitches.. my binder I wear on off.. oops..

Kikapo.. jiayou!

ivftwins, pinky:

Dont worry about milk production. I was doing lesser than that when I had #1. It will slowly increase over time. If baby is not having enough, you may like to supplement with FM. In the meanwhile, keep latching to stimulate supply. I was only able to full breastfeed after confinement though I did supplement with FM from time to time. As long as you are taking in enough fluid, let nature takes its course. Jia you ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Don't be too stress out.

Kimmy:

Power! You can tahan so long without washing your hair. Haha luckily recently the weather is quite cooling.

Kikapo:

See if you can tahan, otherwise... just go to the hospital. Doubt you want to take the risk of delivering of before you reach the hospital babe. Btw, can wait at the hospital without checking into labour ward first? 3.5 more hours to go! Jia you!

Jass.. my CL just helped me massage my breasts.. hopefully will get better.. not latching baby now.. mostly giving fm now.. hope can increase to feed ebm at least once a day now..

Moms ! I m lucky in that get to bath n wash hair 3 rd day after discharge from hospital as soon I arrived home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my MIL agree that hygiene is more important and some more hot water can stimulate Breast milk flow n reduce engorgement ! However, must dry hair quickly n wash on sunny day only!

Kikapo! Good luck. I agree with the suggestion of waiting in hospital n check in at 12 if no emergency! Labour is very tricky n u wouldn't want to end up having problems on the way in case ur labour is short one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] all the very best! 2 hr to go.

Thanks Ladies..am still hanging in there..contractions are fairly consistent, 5 mins apart..1 more hour and I will be on my way to TMC [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi kikapo

My fren just delivered in TMC.. Apparently 11pm onwards is considered another day.. No need to wait until 12mn !

U might want to check with them..

Hey kikapo! 11pm is confirmed counted as next day liao at TMC, so no need to wait till 12... All the best! Wish u smooth and safe delivery!

Washing hair:

Tomorrow is the 12th day of confinement for me! I finally get to wash my hair!!! Scalp has been so oily, but because of cool weather, am counting my blessings!

Baby updates:

Tessa went for blood test again today for jaundice levels, and it went up again. Doc said it's normal, but still need to monitor. So next Thursday, go prick her again. She already know when she gets pricked, cos the alcohol swab touch her heel, she let out loud cry already before the needle even touch her. Sigh!

Bf-ing:

Been latching on baby by demand and nipples are really sore! Am also taking fenugreek to boost supply. I had a consultation with auntie lilian from TMC's parentcraft center and am so glad for the stuff she taught me. I latch baby better now, more confident in Bf-ing and also learnt how to cupfeed baby. =) highly recommend auntie lilian if anyone is having problems with Bf-ing.

Btw, I had bad experience with the nannies in the phototherapy ward of TMC when Tessa was warded for jaundice. Mommies, if u are in same situation, highly recommend that u feed baby urself if u express BM. The nannies there cannot do cupfeeding at all! I pumped 40ml and watched her cupfeed my baby, I think in the end, baby manage to drink 15-20ml only, the rest all spilled. =(

cookiefleur,

is ur consultation with auntie lilian chargable? if yes, how much? coz most probably I want a session with lactation consultant when at hospital.

Kikapo,

Jia You Jia You! u mus be already on ur way to TMC. So excited for u! All the best n have a smooth delivery! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kikapo>

Best wishes, keep calm and soon u will deliver ur precious baby... Will pray for your safe and sound delivery... it would be an easy labour.

I went for my checkup yesterday (friday, cos it past midnite orendi).

I am confirmed going for c sect on 11th of Jan in the pm. Did all the paperworks already. 3 more days before the arrival of my little one.

So excited and scare at the same time.

pooh>

Best wishes... Pack everything and relax ureself. Enjoy the final moments of being pregnant before the delivery time.

Take care...

pooh>

Just wondering... y u need to do a c-sect?

Becoz my edd is the same as urs... But I will only be seeing my gynae on 10 Jan. then I will know the status of my labour too.

Tks for sharing.

Hi Miaiko, yes it's chargeable. Do note that rates are cheaper if u make appt compared to if u walk in. It's ard $60. Actually there are lactation consultants who will make visits ard the delivery wards to make sure u r latching correctly. I made appt only after I was discharged cos my nipples really sore and I was not sure if the latch is correct. If u make appt, remember to ask for auntie lilian! =)

good morning mummies,

cookiefleur - could u pls share with me wat ur baby's jaundice level was when ur daughter had to do phototherarpy ? my baby was discharged on day 3 with 225 level and on day 4, the pd checked and said it was 224.

pd's conclusion was that it had peaked so no need to worry - and only to go back for check again 5 days later.. i'm just wondering if the jaundice levels will go up after day 4 cos i was told above 260 means hospitalisation..

thanks very much in advance

Hi monster mum

my gal was 193 and she need to stay in hospital after a day of the photo thingy drop to 163 I think it depends on yr pd analysis I was pretty angry When my gal jaundice level was not that high but yet need to stay extra day in hospital [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] incur extra charges and also inconvenience

Kimmy,

that's how I feel about my poor abused breasts. I can barely recognise my nipples anymore.

Cookiefleur,

how has your bf progress been since your appt with auntie lillian? I'm thinking about going in. Baby appears to be taking in the whole areola but I'm still extremely sore n sometimes bleeding slightly with what I think is some pus. I had a brief session with one of the lactation consultants while in hospital but I cld do with more assessment I think.

Pinky,

your son seems to be quite considerate! 4 hrly at night is not bad. Last night my bb drank from only 1 side at 3am for 20min n cld only last 2 hrs.

I don't know if I'm producing milk yet or is it still colostrum.

Hi Lalitha

Right from the start, I set my mind on natural. But as I enter into the last trimester of my pregency, my gynae did ask if we would like to consider c sect right away instead of natural. He forsee that I MAY need c sect cause of my pelvic is narrow. He is also worried of my high blood pressure. My gynae did say he would let me try for natural if I really want to as its my first baby.

After discussing with my hubby, we decided not to try for natural, and go for c sect straight away instead.

Reason:

1) We do not want add stress on my bb and myself as my blood pressure is realli high. (I am on the small size btw).

2)We do not want to incurred cost from both Delivery and Operating side.

3) With my high blood, afraid that my bb will shrink inside if my blood pressure cannot be controlled. So better to take her out once she reach 37th weeks. Do not want to induce if I cannot deliver via virginally.

I did talk to a patient at my gynae's clinic yesterday and a few of my friends who went for natural but all end up in emergency c sect. All of them shared that their gynae did warned them they may not be able to deliver natural. And all the positive stories on c sect seem favourable.

So after a week of consideration and weighing the pros and cons with hubby, we decided not to risk the bb and myself. Afraid that, I will trumaise the bb inside.

hi lily,

thanks for sharing.. wowwee it looks like the acceptable range of readings for jaundice varies quite significantly from pd to pd..

did u end up staying in the hospital an extra day with ur gal? cos it wld be quite inconvnient to bf if u werent with her, no?

Hi mummies. beem busy for the past few days and din access the pc since i'm lazy to set it up at my mum's place.

juz came back from glen-e and my boy has to be warded for jaundice.

will go back to see if he's ok for discharge tmr. will try to come and update my posts later after a good long nap.

Ya I think so too I did not stay extra nite as it's gg to be costly so I stay and feed home for dinner and back to give her las feed at late nite mid mite they feed her fm

all the best Pooh & kikapo!

Jia u, the rest of us!:p hehehe....exciting journey ahead of us![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Would like to ask how did u all wash your old toys passed down by other ppl? especially soft toys? do u put into washing machine ? they toys may change in shape...i used dettol to clean the rest...

Pooh: jus op for csec. I wanted natural also... But when I did my epidural e aesthetician cannot find e right spot... Ended up kena poked like 10times... Which by then I m in hysteria...

When my gynae broke my water after e epi... E water was green and bb in destress... I think my hysteria caused her to chua sai (scare till shit come out) in e end need to do emergency c sec using GA....

So glad my bb is fine in e end... But I have so much medication in me that I cannot even move for e first and second day... Cos I got epi + laughing gas + GA.... It's almost impossible to breastfeed.. But I heng cos I opt for single room and hubby with me all e time.. So he carried e bb to me to latch every 3 hrs.. Even in e night.. I feel so guilty towards bb when I hear her cry n I cannot stand up to carry her..

E c sec wound will hurt but I think if u take natural also down there will be painful.. So it's sama sama one... Hope u have a smooth delivery!

Luckymummy.. last night son didn't wanna sleep.. gave my CL headache..

Last night my CL helped me to massage my breasts to clear the blocked ducts.. this morning when I pumped, it felt wonderful to see faster flow.. supply also increased rather significantly but still slightly below e amt that bb is drinking.. hoping it will go up further!

Nimkulut: ah yo, sorry to hear the bad experience on yr delivery. And ouch... they cant find the right spot for the epid? tat is so bad of them. Did you raise the matter up? Hope they did not find a trainee to do it for u. u must have gone thru a terrible time. *hugshugs*

Hi, been busy this whole week at work as need to clear all the work before I start my ML.

Pooh, dun worry... C-sec is really very fast & easy. I did not hv any vomiting etc after the epi for my #1. And I can walk on the 2nd day. My gynae will also let me know if I need to change my C-sec date when I see him on Mon. Good luck to you.

Hi monster's mom

I think themeasurement is different. My daughter's jaundice level was 15.8... Doc discharged her only after 2 nights of phototherapy when her level came down to less than 11.

Luckymummy,

Much more confident w bfing now. Really no regrets making the appt w auntie lilian. =) before I saw her I was worried that one of my nipple is too flat for baby to latch properly. Auntie lilian used a nipplette to help me and now I have no problems. The sore nipples also getting much better cos latching properly, so it's just getting seasoned and used to baby now. Sometimes still painful, but it's much better than before the consultation. =) hope this info helps.

Congrats to all mummies who hv delivered! Hope u all r recovering well n enjoying your baby..

To those still waiting (1more week for me)... Jia you!

cookiefleur - thanks - it does seem like it. anyways, i suppose the best option is to have faith in the pd.

sore nipples - hv u tried using the nipple cream from lansinoh? it was highly recommended to me - but i hvnt had time to go look for it. i'm using the medala purelan - which is essentially lanolin ; as is the lansinoh cream.. does seem to sooth the sore (and blistered nipples) quite quickly... at least enough to tahan the next latch...

i thik i just discharged my mucus plug, brownish red in colour. But if i still dun hv contractions i dun hv to go hospital rite? Thanks!

hey mummies, here to update my birth story

9.00pm -warded

10.20pm - VE + 2nd tablet of prostagladin

12.10am - mild contraction set in

3.00am - contraction intensify. woke hubby up

3.30am - can't tahan. ask hubby to check what the hell am i waiting for? what are the signs before being pushed to labour ward. hubby say wait till 5am as nurse plan to push me to labour ward after 5am! and we stupidly tahan and wait!!

4.45am - ask hubby to call for sister and request to be pushed to labour ward

5.00am - sister came in to administer enema to clear bowels

5.45am - wheel to labour ward and wait for epidural as contraction hits hard. thighs were trembling in between contraction due to the pain

6.30am - epidural administer. shivering starts due to side effects of epidural. water bag break shortly and 5cm dilated. hubby took picture of the labour ward bed side frame which has many scratches to show me to help me relax.

7.00am - increase dosage of epidural as the contraction increase and can start feeling the pain again.

8.45am - nurse came in to get me pushing for an hour. switch off TV to make me concenrate.

9.45am - gynae came in to help w the last part

10.00am - cha siew pau is born! bonding initiated after the basic check. baby cha wheel to nursery to be clean.

11.00am - i feel very sick and horrible suddenly. side effect of oxyctin cuz me to vomit out the plain water i sip during labour. press the bell but no one came. end up throwing up the plain water on the robe. imagine being hungry, throw up water and feeling super tired!

11.30am - nurse sponge bath me and wheel me back to natenatal ward.

2.00pm - drank some soup and throw up again! only start to feel human after a 45min nap and tea break at 4pm

10.00pm - finally got out of bed