(2011/01) Jan 2011

Hi Fabiola,

Oscar test include NT scan and a blood test. Think NT scan alone is not enough to determine the risk of DS so it's better to do a blood test also. But I think it's optional. You can discuss with him if you dun feel like doing the test.

I did do Oscar test for my first baby in KKH. It cost about $300+ also. It is done by a sonographer.

Will he be doing the Oscar test for you? Did he tell you how much it cost?

I'm in my 12th week... for my case, OSCAR not accurate for twins hence only can do NT scan. My EDD keeps shifting... from 5 Jan to 31 Dec /1 Jan. I have started to feel the pressure of a bulging stomach... beginning to have back ache on and off. Same for MS, on and off and appetite still poor. I actually lost 2kg during my checkup last week! gosh...

Today is so quiet here.

When I feel nauseous, i actually need to eat something then the feeling will go off for a while. But I always got this strange taste in my mouth and dun feel like drinking plain water. I rather drink some sweet drinks to get rid of the strange taste although it will come back again. Dun remember being like this for my 1st boy.

Snowy, try to eat more cos twins needs more energy for you esp in the later part when yr stomach gets bigger.

i will be 10 weeks tomorrow, the MS feeling is getting stronger everyday. I have to try to eat something and every morning while brushing teeth i will gagged, luckily haven eat anything so nothing to vomit out.

having small meals but frequently, already fat liao by the rate i am eating will be a fatso in no time

just went to gynae for 3rd checkup today.. 12w1d today according to scan.. EDD now pushed forward to 3rd jan 2011.

did the NT scan and it measures to be normal. also drew blood samples and gave urine sample for the oscar test. the tests cost me $310!

gynae gave me DHA, calcium and multi-vitamins tablets to take every day already..

think most of u MS starting to get better.. but i seems to be getting it.. i will gag when i brush teeth in the morning now. appetite also getting smaller.. sigh..

hi apple

just read that you are seeing dr LN Sim from TMC.. we are seeing the same gynae.. i was not with her for my #1.. heard gd feedback abt her n recommended by my friend so decided to change gynae this time round.

Hello All, me back from my 2 days MC finally. down with flu. went GP but the medicine he gave me think too mile. no effect at all. haiz. nose still stuck...

I checked with my Gynae on the OSCAR test. he wrote a note to explain to me but i left it at home. Base on memory, i think the OSCAR is a test which consists of NTscan, blood and urine test to check for down sym bb. the accuracy for the test is higher compare to just blood test+uring test or scan. I did a triplet test for my previous pregnancy. i think it consists of blood test & urine test only. Gynae told me the test i took 60% accuracy only. Gynae also say if the test result came out to be positive, then he will advise his patient to go for the amnio test to confirm. There is a certain % of risk for miscarrige for this test. but the amnio test is 100% accurate.

Gynae leave to me on which test i want to take. He say me not high risk group. not yet 35YO. so up to me. i think i will go for the same test like my last preg.

Hello All 2nd time mommy,

May I know if anyone of you using medela breast pump? Do you have any feedback or doubt with the material quality? My breast connector seems melting after sterrizing with my AVENT IQ24. not sure if i have "over cooked" the material or what. not sure whether to get back the soft shield breast connector for replacement or if there is other solution.

Hi Ting,

Ur gynae said the same time to be abt the OSCAR test. Think I will take the oscar test since more accurate, although I'm also not 35YO yet...

Who's ur gynae?

Yes, my gal is still in TELC.... doing pretty well... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Daphne: I heard Dr Benjamin is really very nice and patient man. My fren has very postive experience with him. Too bad I prefer female gynae.

I got this strange taste in my mouth too and its sickening haha. My Ms is also getting stronger......... really sian

Hi Min! How do u find her so far? when will u be seeing her?

Hi apple

i find her ok so far... but she does look quite stern on 1st impression. i be seeing her this monday, 28 june, right after my OSCAR.

Btw, i also have this metallic taste in my mouth which is yuckky...

ting,

i was using medela previously. found the soft shield also degrade due to frequent sterilising. did some research and apparently the soft shield not meant to be sterilised. only the standard breast shield can be sterilised cos it's hard plastic.

Hi hoshi, pai sei. i get your child gender wrong. I think the tests are to be done sometime between 12 to 14 or 16 weeks. can't remember. must refer to his note. but i remember he said must be during this period else the result will not be accurate. I will be taking the test during my next Gynae visit when my bb 12 weeks.

Hi grumpus,

Do you have the article that state that the soft shield cannot be sterrilised? Oh dear. i been using the degrade softshield throughout. don't know how harmful.

The standard type is the hard plastic type like avent wan? you got use before?

Hi Apple,

Yeah, Dr Benjamin Tham is really very nice and assuring. Even though his wife passed away last year, he still talk about her when I last visited him 3 weeks back. Telling me how his wife found out she's pregnant when she's breastfeeding... I even saw a photo of him and his wife behind his table.

I used the Philips avent manual breast pump for my boy. Already washed and put aside for future use.

ting, grumpus

i m using Medela PIS previously. had the soft shield connector. Oh my, it turn out of shape after several sterilising and my boobs hurt after pumping. i like the hard plastic cos its more comfortable.

anyone knows the cost of replacing the motor of medela PIS? mine break down after 16 mths of usage. dunno whether to get a new one or just replace the motor.

Min, haha ya she is stern looking and straight to the point one but dun worry she is also experienced and assuring and nice too. I still remember after the delivery of my #1, I went back for checkup and she found me so engorged and have problem breastfeeding, she is very encouraging and even make me sit in the other room and ask one of the nurse to help me and even get her to do downstairs and help me purchase a nipple shield to use and she will drop by once in a while to check out I was in the room until my breasts is sort of emptied even though the clinic was packed. Still grateful to her although I still failed in my bfing later on haha.

Daphne, I intend to get the avent manual pump to use cos I have heard many good feedbacks. I have the medela dual pump and it hurts for me.

Hi coconutz,

May I know the plastic breast connectors you referred to is it the personalFit or comfortFit type?

Have you call up Medela service centre to check on the servicing charges? I not sure if the PIS still available to buy. only see PIS-Adv online. Mine is PIS-Adv. I find it noisier than PIS.

Mine is Dr Henry Cheng...

Speaking of pump, not sure whether shld start investing now? Last time I was using the medela mini electric.... pump like 45min to 1 hr only less than 50ml....

Now LengLeng is organising spree for Medela PIS or Freestyle... a lot of mummies getting freestyle. Heard reviews and comments that it is very good... and can be handsfree.... so still thinking abt it...

Avent manual pump heard it's good, but very tiring coz need to keep pressing.... sigh..

hoshi,

think can hold off investing in a new pump now bah. otherwise warranty how? u won't be able to use until 6 months later leh. i'm sure later in the yr will hv spree also.

Hi apple79, I also have the avent manual pump. Yes. It is comfortable and portable.

But i think this manual pump will benefits those mommies with alot of milk supplies. meaning every pump can have alot of milk flow wan.

i am those who have miserable supplies. pump for 40min then got enough for my bb. siong man. immagine myself pumping non stop fot 20min for one side then another 20min for the other. breast comfortable lor but not my hand. that's why i switched to PIS later.

Yup, now reading up and doing my research, coz very ex leh.. waiting till last 2 months then buy lor... anyway if buy from overseas, waranty also can't use much coz heard that the price of repair is almost the same as buying a new pump.. hehe..

Also for mummies that pump out the milk, how do you heat up the milk? Using conventional way (ie. put bottle into cup of warm water to heat up) or using the milk warmer? If milk warmer, which brand is good?

Recently my friend just gave birth & I caught her using Medela Swing, its so so quiet...compared to Medela Single Electric pump + Avent Single Electric pump.

apple

Avent single electric pump is good, though its noisy. Get the single electric pump, it can be transformed to manual pump if you desire. So you can see which one you prefer. Agree with Hoshi, its too tiring to do it manually, will hurt your wrist.

Based on some of my friend's experience on Medela freestyle is that, it takes too long to set it up (handsfree).

Hi hoshi, last time i bought mine from ebay store. i compared the price think the SMH spree is more ex. you may want to check out before you place order. err...i think ordering from oversea there is no warranty rite? and you have to buy the power adapter locally.

the handsfree sounds interesting lei... ;)

ting, i tink mine is the comfort fit.

oops.. paiseh, mine is also PIS adv. I luv the PIS Adv le... my milk supply tripled when i use it. but have to work hard at increasing the supply. pump more frequently to increase. I remember i set the alarm at night to wake up to pump : ( but after the supply established, bf is a breeze for me.

I agree tat the Avent Manual Pump can be very tiring at first. But once I got used to it, I only take 10 mins to pump out 180ml of milk.

Apple, think if the single electric pump can be converted, then might be useful also. It's actually cheaper to buy when there's a fair. I went to the last motherhood fair at expo and the price of the avent pumps are so cheap...

hoshi,

at home i use warmer to warm up ebm, mine is the pigeon warmer but i think warmers are all abt the same. outside use hot water to warm up.

ting,

the plastic one actually quite uncomfortable. when i first started pumping i used the plastic one but was so painful so i switched to the soft shield. but after that when i switched back to the plastic one it was ok already. i told my hubby i got iron boobs liao from so much pumping.

Hi coconutz, i also got wake up at night to pump. but maybe i got let my bb latched on before that. so every night only see few drops of milk dripping into the bottle. so low morale. i only begin using my PIS when i return to work. only then then i see that the milk bottle begins to fill up.

Hi Daphne, i really envy you lei. I got one colleague like you also. she used 2 sets of avent manual pump. she chop chop 5 min can pump same amount of milk as me when i have to pump for 25min. haiz...super low morale.

Anyone got any secret receipe to increase milk supply?

Hi grumpus-iron-boobs ;p,

your plastic breast connector got size?

i so stupid. things degrade liao i also don't know to change.

Grumpus, thanks for ur pointer, think I will go back warmer.

Can check with you gals for initial BF, when supply not established, what do you do? Keep getting baby to latch on? For my first child, BF was very very tough as my supply not yet come, and bb refused to cooperate and latch on, then supply come, but blocked, end up high fever 2 times... sigh...

hi hoshi,

i've tried medela mini electric but it failed me. and yes its pretty painful and noisy when operating. so i switched to Ameda instead...

its a dual pump and also with battery-operated function. it was bliss after using it and its also easy to wash with only a few small parts..

ting,

you may try fenugreek from GNC to increase milk supply. but it doesn't work for me ;p i took motherlove milk plus and it works...so it depends on individuals.

ting,

the plastic connector has different sizes but i just used the default one that comes with the pump, dunno which size is that.

i was 100% pumping cos my girl was in hospital for the 1st wk and never learnt to latch, so i was very attached to my pump and it's condition :p

I'm also 100% pumping as my boy refused to latch on. He's crying as it's too hard work for him. He prefer the bottle instead.

For the first few days, I gave my boy formula as there's not much supply. But I still try to pump as much as I could so tat there won't be blockage. It's also good to massage yr breast to prevent blockage and it actually increase milk flow faster also.

I drank the anmum lactating milk powder for more milk flow. Think it works for me and I manage to bf for 8 mths. But once pregnant, the milk flow is much lower. Anyway, need to stop also. Try to eat more so tat can hv more energy..

grumpus, same like u, i find the plastic too hard for comfort and my nipple hurts after pumping. hence bought the soft shield which was worse. amazingly the plastic shield work wonders after tat.

i let my boi latch on for the first 3 mths. n 100% pumping after i return to work. the midwife keep telling me to pump after latch on to increase supplu. tiring yes... but supply will increase.

Daphne: Motherhood fair is once annually?

Grumpus: Do u happen to live in the east? I am not sure if u are the one whom I bought from you your friend Quinny Speedi?

Hi apple,

I'm not sure if it's held once or twice. I went last year also around this time when I am pregnant with my first boy. But remember hearing someone mention there will be one more fair around Dec. But not sure if it will be hold by motherhood or other exhibitors.

apple79,

nope dun live in the east, is not me who sold the quinny speedi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fwah! Thanks for all yours kind advices.

Seems like most of you did 100% pumping.

For me, my girl refused bottle feed and insisted to latch on whenever i am with her. i let her latch on until she is 13 month old. the problem with latch on is that i don't know how much she is feeding on lor. haiz. oh ya. that time i also have another problem and that is my girl refused fm. that time i was so stress cos i don't know if she got enough milk. but base on her physical dev, PD told me should be ok.

Hi shycloud, fenugreek doesn't work for me either. i heard that we may need to eat alot then got effect.

Hi Daphne, hmm...i don't know why i never thot of drinking milk to improve milk flow lei... this time i will try.

Hi Hoshi, if you want to avoid bb rejecting to latch on. you may want to delay introducing bottle feeding in the beginning. you can request nurses at hospital to spoon/cup feed your bb with fm. the idea is not to let your bb get use to the milk flow from bottle. i read that the best time to get bb to latch on for feeding is during the first few hours when they are deliver. For me, My Gynae gave me motilium to kick start my milk supply and it works well for me.

Will be seeing my gynae tmrw when I'm in my 9 weeks. Hope everything is fine.

I felt tat my stomach is showing earlier this time round. Remember the last time, ppl can only tell when I'm 4 mths pregnant. Anyone same as me?

These few days, my nausea is getting better but I will wake up to go toilet at nite more often. I started to get worried cos it's only the 9th week and I shd be at the peak of the MS. Hope I'm not scaring myself.

Not much pregnancy symptoms for my first boy but everything turns out fine also. Maybe I worried too much.

Sometimes when I carry my boy or trying to clean him, I will suddenly felt like my stomach got a strange feeling. Like a waterbag moving about. Anyone feel this way also? Not sure if it's the way i sit tat it's uncomfortable.

Hi Daphne, don't worry. when i m at my 9 week, my nausea also got better. but on and off it came back. yesterday evening was worse....

think we can still track our preg thru other preg signs. for me i got bitter taste at my tongue which spoil my appetite. and i felt exceptionally tired lor. my tummy also begin to show le. :p

Im selling customised and personalised handmade products like beansprout pillow, taggies blanket,customised stuff toy and more other items suited from newborn even till pre-schoolers

we are also having a free giveaway handmade hairbow, so you can visit our site for more information [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://mumobaby.blogspot.com

daphne,

my tummy is also showing earlier this time round. last time i was abt 6 mths preggie and ppl were still asking is it i'm preggie :p

i hv no symptoms at all, only minor indigestion and discomfort if i eat too heavy a meal. other than that, no nausea, no loss of appetite, nothing. i was also quite worried, but mon just went to gynae and everything is fine. bb happily waving it's arms and legs. i'm sure yr bb is fine too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sometimes when i carry my girl, i will feel a pulling feeling in my tummy, and as if there is 'something' in my tummy. but i never feel the waterbag moving abt feeling.