(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

btw, anyone feeling more energized? i cant seem to sleep more, will wake up everyday about 5-6am even though i slept at 11ish every night..

feimei, better quickly call your doc to ask first cos i read that folic acid is esp important the first 4 weeks of the formation of the bb's spine.

milo, here's mine

EDD: tbc

Gynae: Dr J Chen

Hospital: TMC

this is my baby number 2.

milo: my EDD shld be the same as serina....13th dec.... :D

nateM: yes, just bot the folic acid...will start taking tmr morning....thanks for ur advice! ;D

wow milo.. seems like I am the only undecided one.. still can't complete your spreadsheet yet.. only can tell u it's my 1st.. :) **blush**

hi milo... can update for me on the table..

Gynae: Dr Sng Soo Pheow

Hospital: Gleneagles

Baby #2

EDD: TBA

feimei: some of my friends know their bb gender at about 11-12 weeks for boy, and for girl usually about 20 weeks.. my #1 was girl and gender detected 20 weeks.

Hi EonEon, where you done your ultrasound scanning when seeing Dr.Tham in KK? Before seeing him or in his room? going to see him for the first time in next week.

Hello mothers!!

Wow the thread is moving at an amazing rate! I spent at least 10 mins reading through all the post!!Haha..How have everybody been?!!

Dear Eon and Milo, yep..thats the company for you..Where do you think they make so much money from right? There was not a single ounce of empathy from the HR department when I spoke to them abt the pregnancy..Nonchalantly, they say, YOU MUST RESIGN..Good riddance I'll say..I just miss shopping overseas..Things are so cheap..especially baby stuff..regret not stocking up..Oh well.. Eoneon, no sunny side up!! Eggs must be well cooked and harden..So gotten succumb to other cravings..No Sunnies!!Haha..

Dear Ling, like you I wake up in the middle of the night to pee and it takes me quite a while to get back to sleep..Yah,it was never like this before i got preggie..I usually sleep like a pig and very very rarely wake up in the middle of the night.. I think we are normal..Almost 80% of the moms here also experience this..so we are safe..haha..

Dear Feimei,yeah sure you can get a scan on your first visit already..Just that what you see will vary depending on the week you are prganant at..If its at your 7th week my love, you shld be able to hear bb's heartbeat already!!!That shld be oh so wonderful!! Im going back to listen to my bbs heartbeat on my 7th week too!! Oh yeah, with regard to the folic acid, I agree with Nate you gotta start it asap..Its important to help in the formation of bbs bones...If you can get hold of the tablets yet, start on the powdered milk Dumex mamil, I bought from NTUC..They have folic acid and other nutrients..

Dear PSH and Eoneon, i found this online on the sleeping position..

http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/sleepingpositions.html

What are the best sleep positions?

The best sleep position during pregnancy is "SOS" (sleep on side). Even better is to sleep on your left side. Sleeping on your left side will increase the amount of blood and nutrients that reach the placenta and your baby. Keep your legs and knees bent and a pillow between your legs.

If you find that you are having problems with back pain, use the "SOS" position and try placing a pillow under your abdomen as well.

If you are experiencing heartburn during the night, you may want to try propping your upper body with pillows.

In late pregnancy you may experience shortness of breath; try lying on your side or propped up with pillows.

Dear lena, thanks for the info on the hormone pills..I can heave a sigh of relief already!! I also feel very emotional and tempermental recently lah..got my hubby fuming..But I cant seem to control it sometimes so I told my husband to be patient with me whenever I do get a lil bit more overbearing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Im trying to stay happy and not worry abt our fianacial woes but it does hit me every now and then..Oh well, worrying only give you something to do but doesnt solve the problem..So i just gotta keep my head up and trust God and my hubby.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think its a surge in hormones tats cause havoc on our emotional wellbeing, dont worry too much, everything will be ok!

Dear Cynthia, I sleep very little these days too..and feel quite energetic sometimes..I wake up rather early which is so unusual before pregnancy.haha..But I do feel tired intermittenly..So I guess thats pretty normal too?

Dear Cynthia, oh man..cold milk not good ah??Oops I been drinking cold soya milk almost everyday!Haha..Okok..if thats the case I better watch in cold milk intake...Thanks for highlighting!

Dear Natem, I think its never too late to see the gynae as long as you feel fine..My sis in law didnt even know she was pregnant until her 3th month..so for her first trimester, she basically went abt doing her normal things..baby girl came out well and healthy still [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] As long as ou feel fine I think its safe to see the gynae later.even better cos you'll get to see more from the scan!

Ok dearies,catch you ladies a lil later..gotta run!! eh eh..no running...I'll walk..haha..

tratties: Wowww....still a long way to go...hahahaha...ok lah...shall wait anxiously...kekekeke....thanks for the info~

Hi All Mummies!!

Juz cm bk frm my chkup...finally saw my beanie...both my hubby n i r so excited when we saw it den after e doc let us hear e hearbeat we were even excited...hehe...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_happy.gif]

milo, here's my detail:

Gynae: Dr Heng Tung Lan

Hospital: Parkway East (fka East Shore)

Baby #1

EDD: 3 Dec 2010

i notice my EDD is same as JasKoh

Serina: Thanks for e infor.

Lena,

My blood is flowing like nobody business... been changing pad every 2-3hrly! Its crazy and I m feeling giddy n headache le. But no choice. Its still fresh red. I also not sure brown is not good or fresh red haha. Dr Adrian didnt say much as this is not first time I guess. But this round is more serious than previous. 3rd time pregnancy liao, expand contract too much inside hahaha!!!

Serina,

Hmm You can be energetic that is good! I don't really like pregnancy. All my previous 2 is crazy. Horrible MS and spotting. Now this spotting again and MS have not kick in yet since I have not really touch into 6weeks. Some say when bb heartbeat is there, MS will kick in as their blood is running in ours which makes the hormones more crazy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wonder how true.

Reduce drinking cold drinks is good as too much cold may have frequent leg cramps in future. Fresh milk is still bit losing out to Powder milk. But sometime we just hate e smell of powder so just take fresh milk or soya milk to make us less guilt towards our lil one inside yeah! Moderation bah i guess.

Sometime after we are preg, we will tends to like or do something which we never do in the past. Like you been waking up early still feeling ok is an example too hehe. I am like this too. But now I have no choice as my #2 is stil waking for night feeds for nothing! So my day & night all mixed up..

Milo,

Here's My data

Gynae: Dr Adrian (CCK)

Hospital: Mt A

Baby: 2 + 1 coming

EDD: Estd 14Dec

cynthia: wat is MS?

serina: i already got hold of the tablets from the phamacy, will start tmr morning but i also decide to buy the power milk as well, but of cos not drinking daily, maybe @ least twice a wk...(i scare of milk powder smell, i will puke!!! but no choice, for the sake of little beanie, i hv to take it), so in this way, will my folic in-take too much????

feimei, ms is morning sickness [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i am currently taking 5mg of folic acid per day in the morning on top of all the healthy (if any) food that i am eating for bb sake.

milo: ooohh...yahor...didn't think of morning sickness...kekekeke...silly me...

Hmmm~~~i tend to be forgetful recently.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

does ur healthy food include folic acid as well? yes, i bot the 5mg one...soo one tablet each morning after breakfast...but if like i say, gg to drink powder milk twice a wk, then that day consumption of folic acid will be too high? +_+

cynthia, i pray for you that the bleeding to stop quickly too! you are so brave to go through all these for the 3rd time.

feimei, MS is morning sickness i think.

how much does it cost to see dr first time? can anyone share? my last time was 3 years ago so forgot liao.

just now was talking to my boss about work ... was about to bring up the preg news but dunno how to say lei. last time i didn't have to tell boss cos i already visibly pregnant when i went for job interview.

going home soon liao! yipee!

Dearest Cynthia, the bleeding is that bad? Oh dear..Is this normal? Why so? Thats why they always say, the things mothers are willing to go thru for their babies..Im so sorry for your discomfort and I really do hope that the bleeding will go soon..So that means you gota up your iron intake too since you keep bleeding? I search it out,dark green veg and hard boil eggs love..Got it on the cold drinks, Thanks Cynthia!!

Dearest Feimei!! Im glad you got hold of the folic acid,start on it!! I think its not too much if you were to take the milk too..I take it almost daily but I reduce the amount I take..Instead on 6 spoonful I take only 3 spoonful with lukewarm water..But there are days when I cldnt hold milk so I just skip drinking it on those days.. The milk just provide us with another means of providing the required nutrients for the growth of the baby.. If you like to know more, go on to their webpage feimei..They have alot of info on that site..I learn quite a lot of things there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the page is www.dumex.com.sg

Dear Nate, my first visit came up to a cost of 200+ so i took up the package immediately cos it cost me only 550 and its unlimited visits, scans and vitamins.. I end up paying only 50 for the additional hormone pills i took not under package..and 42 for GST tsk tsk tsk..haha..

PSH,you are most welcome!

Erm, this is a little embarrassing, but any one still continuing with intercourse at this point in time? So sorry to post such question...

But Im hoping this isnt putting my bb in any form of danger???

Hi Cynthia: Wow, feel so worried for you while reading your post... R you working? i think you need alot of bed rest in this case cause i ever heard this kind of cases before.... The mummies also got bleeding like menses but they still managed to gif birth to healthy BBs, Reali need alot of bed rest till the symptoms becomes better... Or do you tin you should go to KKH just to check in case? I dun tin i can wait if i'm you... sure get very scard and kan chiong liao.... Really hope your bleeding stop soon..

Hi Serina: Wow... your link about the sleeping positions is very helpful.... Mi too feel angry easily too but i tried to cover it if possible... Haha... if not... those around me very ke lian... Lately i cannot tahan those smell of the food especially garlic... Erks... I now tryin to eat more soupy stuff cos helps to increase my appetite... if not reali difficult to consume food cos feel nauseous but dun vomit that kind... I think you better check with Dr Adrian whether you can have intercourse at this time cos for my situation (spottin and cramps), i was asked to stop fully till further notice... haha... Pity my bf.... I got a colleague who need to stop fully throughout her pregnancy cos her placenta was too low...

Hey Eoneon: Tin you better try to get used to slpin on your sides.. hehe... i too love sunny side up but guess we gotta gif it up temporally liao... haha...

Cynthia, u better rest more and dun move too much. Excessive bleeding sound dangerous. Eat more red meat to replenish.

Serina, u very lucky energetic is not in my dictionary since I got pregnancy.

I have been sleeping at least 8 hrs every night so I hope it helps.

Wah,,, 200 for the 1st visit? Sound exp. I thought 100 will do. But most package u can only sign from 12th week. I will check with my gynae later.

I am on my way to my 1st gynae visit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] excited.

Have a good dinner mummies!

serina: which type of milk powder did u buy???? care to share?

actually i read on some information website, intercos is not recommanded during 1st tri becos bb still haven completing building his/her hse....beta wait til 2nd tri when bb is well protected in the placenta....

nateM: I love to rest on my tummy when I watch tv in the room, but hubby forbid me from doing that now, so last night when I accidentally rolled onto my stomach, I start to worry that I might have cause harm to my little beanie with my weight.

I just came home from facial. did normal collagen facial without any machine thingy. my beautician told me her other clients went to her for facial till the week before their birth. she said normal facial can. i think its psychological bah, i keep thinking my complexion is looking better. wahaha... mad!

Cynthia: Really arh, then at least I feel more at ease le. Now paranoid till sleep also must think twice how to sleep.. keke..

Is the taste of Anmum very strong?

Dear Mummies: Can we have a show of vote who is drinking what milk powder? I cannot make up my mind. I really am scare of milk powder smell and taste. Definitely puke loh.

Yes, I am taking a lot of veggie, fish and meat.

Lena: What course are you taking? Should be able to defer based on valid ground, right? Dont give up, it will be a waste of your previous effort.

You can ask the beautician to adjust the height of the bed. That was what my beautician told me. She said once my stomach becomes bigger, she will have to start adjusting the bed as I will have backache and problem getting up after facial.

milo: really appreciate your effort in consolidating the table for us. Muack!

feimei: I think from 4th months onwards, we can start scanning for the gender le.

Miss Taurus: I saw Dr Tham last Saturday and did my scan then ^_^

Serina: That kind of company can forget about it.

Oh yah, you reminded me. Luckily I never buy my sinful breakfast. But my colleagues bought even more sinful breakfast for us. Lontong... Yum Yum... I finished the whole bowl. Dont know why, appetite today is absolutely good and no morning sickness at all.

Thanks for the link, it is really insightful.

PSH: So happy for you. Hope I can hear my little beanie's heartbeat the next round.

feimei: Wow, another insightful site. Xie Xie wor...

Cynthia: Take good care of yourself, sounds serious to me.

feimei: yes yes, i will puke too. Scare of the smell loh.

nateM: I spent $150++ for the first consultation.

I told my boss about my pregnancy le. She seems fine so far.

Serina: Wow! Thats cheap compared to the single payment we make each time. But I cant sign any package even if there is now as Dr Tham is moving to TMC. Wonder if TMC has any package.

Serina: Dr Tham told me having intercourse is fine de. Keke... (I didnt ask him hor, he volunteer the information. hahaha)

Lets pray all mummies and little beanies will be safe and sound. Little beanies, please be strong, ok?

PSH: huh, how come the doctors are saying different things de? then we should listen to who?

Lena: I sleep on my sides at times too. Just that when I rolled over, I have nothing to worry then. But know I have to worry about rolling over and crushing my beanie with my weight. Wahaha... (Sorry beanie, you have a heavy-weight mummy!)

ling: keep us updated.

Now Now Now.. I am getting confused. Why Dr Tham told me can have intercourse while most of the replies I see here said cant. I must check with him on my next visit.

cynthia, pls rest well and take care ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eon, u are most welcome! its fun when we are all reaching our edd and one by one we go popping!

feimei, yup on top of watever i eat, i still take my daily folic acid supplement.

nate, think my first visit is the most exp! my eyes almost popped! i paid 399 for it becos of the brown discharge + jab + med + blood test... hopefully the rest of the visit are cheaper else mummy going pok soon!

i think i am the most naughty one here.. have been pigging on burgers and coke till my friend reminded me that those are bad for baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] seems like only sinful food stay put! soupy bland stuff tends to end up in the bowl!

for my no 1, i hardly touched on milk or fish at all except for the fish oil that i am required to take in the 2nd trimester. for no 2, slightly better with milk and fish. else i supplement with yogurt and cheese [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good evening moms!! Im very free today, so keep checking in every now and then..If not ah, it will be so hard for me to keep track of all the posts..

With regards to the milk,Im taking Dumex mamil!! But I just found out from my bro in law that he says its heaty..Hm..I dunoe, I'll keep trying and let you know if I do get heaty or not yeah..I have been on the milk for abt a week already,so far I feel ok leh...

Dear Ling, woohoo!! Have fun! My first visit was full of anxiety!Haha,but it was good to see the black spot..At least I know Im preggie for sure..haha..I have to pay 200+ because of the pills,consultation and scan,thats why i figure i might as well sign the package on the spot cos its only 550!!So so so much cheaper..

I do feel tired every now and then too but I wake up very early these days..Maybe also because I stop flying already..Haha..recovered all my energy I lost out during my flying days..

PSH,Lena,feimei and eoneon,thank you for the info.. Im gona try to stay away from it as much as possible but even if i do it, I'll be extra extra careful..hehehehe..doing some reading abt intercourse during 1st trimester, according to them it is perfectly fine and encouraged but gotta be careful abt introducing air into the vagina ok.. Enjoy couplehood and pregnanthood!!

eon: i oso can't decide which milk powder to buy oso lol....just went to ntuc just now...dunnu which to buy...end up i did not buy...hahahaa...

i was tinking...drinking powder milk, will cause heaty to us???

Eoneon: u referring to which matter huh??blurr le...=P hope u can hear yr beanie's heartbeat soon.

my doc did mention tat its ok to hv intercourse but to prevent any complications, it is nt recommended to hv intercos during e 1st tri.

milo: yes yes, sure fun loh. its like queueing up to give birth loh. keke...

Serina: Keep us posted on the "heatiness" of the milk powder.

feimei: haha, I think if I go ntuc, I will end up like you loh. Faint!

PSH: Me referring to the intercourse loh. Different doctors and sites saying different thingy. I think so long as we take due care, should be ok bah. Just have to remind hubby to be gentle loh.. keke *blushing* *blushing*...

Oh mine! I ate a big bowl of home-cooked bee tai mak with 6 pieces of baked chicken nuggets! I am eating too much!!!

PSH: haha.. natural to be fearful now.

crown: dont be disappointed. could be still early hence could see nothing. Cheer up ok,

Dear Mummies.... I am going to log off now. Cause super tired le.. retiring to watch tv in the room. Good nightzz and sweet dreams all mummies. May little beanies grow healthily.

Accompanied my wife to our first visit to Gynae (Dr Wee HY) today @ KK. EDD 10th Dec. Seems like I am in the right section of the forum afterall ... hehe. But a bit weird as it seems all/most are mummies here.

Doc gave my wife a jab due to her prolong spotting which refused to cease even after taking days of folic acid and hormones pills. Other than that Doc assure us everything is fine.

Haha..welcome daddy yugal!! Its nice of you to want to know more to ease your wife's pregnancy woes..Dont feel weird!! We are all soon to be parents!!We can all learn from each other and some of the experienced mummies here!! So how was your first visit??Must be exciting huh..!

Dear Crown,i think no response maybe we are still at our early stage of pregnancy..Dont fret,soon enough you are gonna get responses you wish you can lessen!!Heads up girl!!

Goodnight to all too!! Oh i wanna ask..anybody getting lower back aches? I been having back aches every now and then.but im not sure if this is normal..A lil scared to why im having lower back aches at this point in time... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Serina: Yeah, it sure is exciting but I did not get to see the heartbeat, unfortunately. I was told to leave the room when the nurse conducted a vaginal scan.

Thinking back, maybe I did not "declare" I am the husband or is that the SOP during the initial scan?!? Anyway, our next visit will be to my Gynae's private suite clinic, should be able to see and hear by then.

morning mummies....

serina: u r not alone...i do get this backache on n off too.... :D it's normal de~~~our uterus is expending mah....soo body got alot of adjustment to make before all got settle down...dun worry!!!

welcome yugal-papa.... :D

good morning! so many posts to catch up on!

serina, yah i'm having the backaches too. i remember last pregnancy it was so bad that the dr referred me to see the physiotherapist. i think it happens to some during preg ba.

thanks for the inputs on the cost of 1st visit. must prep to burn a hole in pocket!

re: milk powder

i love milk but the formula really quite pukish if drink everyday. for me, i'm lazy. i think obimin should cover all the necessary vitamins the baby needs. later on maybe take the fish oil for the omega3.

Morning Mummies!

Oh, I dont feel good today. Was just telling you gals that I have good appetite and no morning sickness yesterday. Today is bad. The morning sickness syndromes are taking a toll on me. Terrible. Late for work and now trying to squeeze the horlick and some biscuits down.

yugal: You are most welcome to join us in this learning journey. And like what Serina mentioned, there are experienced mummies here whom we are learn from.

Serina: I have lower backache in the morning when I am trying to scurry out of bed. But I do have issues with my back. Old ailment so I dont know if thats the contributing factor.

yugal: from what I know, hubby doesnt have to leave the room when the doctor is doing the vaginal scan. And why is the nurse doing it instead of the doctor? Strange.

Anyway, make sure you are not "chased" out of the room the next room. Haha...

Hi ladies, I am new here..just tested this morning and got a faint positive result. I think I am probably very early in my pregnancy. This is my 2nd pregnancy, I have a one year old girl.

I have some spotting as well, just hoping it'll be all ok. We're due to go on a family holiday trip next week so I hope to be able to manage with the pregnancy, our little monster and still have fun!

eon: take care....eat slowly....

chilli: welcome into the big family....

milo: hang on there....u hv our support.... :D

Good Morning Everyone! This thread is very much alive!

Are there any ways to deal with nauseous? My wife's is getting quite bad these few days especially in the morning and evening.

EonEon: Probably that is the SOP for the 1st checkup, including height, weight and urine check? I really have no idea. But we were told our 2nd appointment will be scanned by our gynae at his private suite clinic. Even though I do not know what is the difference with the one we first met him in, at least sounded more assuring.

Oh wow, just realised the EDD of your baby tiger is the same as ours! Where is KH/TMC?

Morining Mummies, wow so many post to catch up till i'm getting confused... haha

Hi Eoneon: I'm taking a diploma course which first semester comin to an end after the 3 exams starting from tommorrow... If i want to defer, i need to pay the skool around $100+ (just to reserved seat)and i dun tin i can go back to study in short period if i have a BB cause i dun really have people to help me look after.... Luckily it's only 1 semester so i dun feel so wasted to quit...

Thanks for the info about adjusting the bed, will check with the beautician if i'm going... Hee...

Hi Milo: After you got the jab everything, r you still having spotting? I'm so worried... i just took the jab on tue evening but yesterday night and this moring, i see spotting again when i wiped after urinating... Tin the jab din help much... I have also taking the hormones for more than a week liao... Is anyone experiencing the same tin with me?

Hi Yugal: Seems like your wife is experiencing the same thing with me.... My Dr has given me mc throughout to rest so i'll be returning to work on mon... But after resting for a week liao... My spotting still haven stopped.... Really worried...

Hi Serina: I haven experience back ache yet... But do feel abit giddy at times... Dunnoe izzit becos i rest or slp too much liao... haha... Feel tired so easily...

Lena: My wife just gotten her jab yesterday and she is already on folic and hormones pill since last Saturday. She claimed the spotting has pretty much reduced but still ongoing. Will update again later when she is up. She is still in bed on a one week MC till our next appointment next week.

yugal: Can you give your wife some ginger tea? It really helped me with my MS for my first pregnancy. My hubby made his own ginger tea for me. Was really yummy and of cos..full of love. ;)

My hubby also got me some motion sickness wristbands to help me with my MS previously. You can get them from travel shops. He also got me some aromatherapy (minty smell). So..all these help. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But still felt sucky lah..its a phase. Jiayou!

Hey all, don't feel too bad if you don't like the taste of formula milk. When I went to the prenatal class conducted by TMC, Mrs Wong (teacher) said that as long as you eat a balanced healthy diet, you don't need extra supplements like the formula milk cos it will provide more than what your body needs and end up in waste anyway.

Having said that, sometimes when I feel bad about eating too much junk food or if I know I haven't had a balanced diet for the day, I will supplement with a powdered milk drink, just to play safe. I guess then you have the peace of mind that your baby is sufficiently nourished for the day.

Not sure if the powdered milk is heaty but it is really quite fattening.