(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

MVH

Ur gal took her last dose of prevnar jab alre? Did her injection area swell? My boy got a swell of abt a twenty cent coin and it is very hard. Today 5th day Liao. Not so swollen and hard. But can still feel it like insect bite.

How come my pd does the prevnar jabs on odd timings. And my boy's mmrv is next wk! He is not even 14 mths yet.Very strange.

I think i will hold the jab first cos he haven't eat the full egg yet. He jus had 1 yolk and half white last wk.

Rach,

Are you letting your boy do the chix pox jab as well since he is in ifc now?

I am considering cos the chances of him getting is higher due to ifc and also 2 wks mc is very taxing for us. it will be hard to take care of him due to the itch and discomfort.

Mine take 2 jabs for prevenar at 12mth and 14mth. MMR-v will be taken at 13mth and 15mth. i understand last 5-in-1 jab will be taken at 18mth.

Taking abt chickenpox. I'm thinking of it now. I really have super bad experience taking care of my sick boy last week. 3 nites nvr sleep leh. Can't imaging if its chickenpox. Hmm.... gd idea to take leh. Last time I always tot best to let him have chickenpox and then natural immune, now need to rethink this part.

yah,

cos it's 2 wks mc with all the scratching and itching, crankiness..if take meds within 36 hrs contracting, it's about 5 days. So.. still thinking.

Got vaccination doesn't mean won't get.just milder form.

bak

its better to do the mmrv at 15month. Both my PD as well as the polyclinic nurse told me the same thing. There isn't anything wrong to have mmrv done at 13mth, but safer to do it at 15mo.

My pd recommended mmrv at 15mo, I'm still thinking if i should give him mmr and chix pox jabs separately. Also, if i shd just go to polyclinic for the jab, will it be cheaper? I will definitely give him the chix pox jab. My friend's child has it and when the mother gets shingles, she wasn't affected at all.

For prevnar jab, i understand if the first shot is given past 1 yo, then only two jabs are required. If done below 1yo, should have at least 3 jabs. My boy is taking prevnar13, and I checked up on the info, indeed, there are 4 jabs required. And mine is on schedule. At first I thought my PD made a mistake, since most babies did only 3 jabs the most.

http://www.prevnar13.com/Vaccination-Schedule-For-Prevnar13

is MMRV jab and Chicken pox jab the same? Gen is gg for her MMRV jab when she turn 15 months.

i very confused now, how many dose of MMRV must she take ar?

Rachel -JL 2nd jab got swollen. i dun due to nv taken properly as he struggle and we nv hold him properly.

The last jab is fine.

It will slowly fade off. just like mosqito bite.

Yes, the MMRV (with chicken pox) doesnt mean wont get, just that it wont be so shoing for them.

The nurse told me mmr will cfm get fever within 2-5days de.. have to monitor.

Finally JL had his last dose of prevar and next mth gotta take another jab again.. walao ehz...

Royce Playgym.

Been there yesterday and it was fun!

There are a lot of toys...

JL is trying to befriend with other bb toodlers and it was so fun seeing them playing around.

The toys are relatively new, many small items to play with and some basics gym over there.

Had signed up and will bring JL often for a fun playout!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Let's have a meet up next time mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MMRV will have sign of fever aft a few days later.. cross finger..

my clinic i call and they say $220. for 2 dose if i rmb correctly

just called Polyclinic,... MMR is free..

chicken pox vaccination = $72

Side effects for MMR

Mild Problems

•Fever (up to 1 person out of 6)

•Mild rash (about 1 person out of 20)

•Swelling of glands in the cheeks or neck (rare) If these problems occur, it is usually within 7-12 days after the shot. They occur less often after the second dose.

Moderate Problems

•Seizure (jerking or staring) caused by fever (about 1 out of 3,000 doses)

•Temporary pain and stiffness in the joints, mostly in teenage or adult women (up to 1 out of 4)

•Temporary low platelet count, which can cause a bleeding disorder (about 1 out of 30,000 doses)

Severe Problems (Very Rare)

•Serious allergic reaction (less than 1 out of a million doses)

•Several other severe problems have been known to occur after a child gets MMR vaccine. But this happens so rarely, experts cannot be sure whether they are caused by the vaccine or not. These include:

•Deafness

•Long-term seizures, coma, or lowered consciousness

•Permanent brain damage

haha duno leh..nvm la..ard that range lar..still cheaper to take in polycinic... under PD, can change to Polyclinic? im with polyclinic, enjoying alot free jabs leh haha

winnie,

my girl is taking 2 doses of MMRv at 13mth and 15mth. this was recommended by my family doc. by the way, i remember need to take last 5-in-1 jab at 18mth.

Sunflower is right. Polyclinic offer free MMR and pay $72 for chicken pox jab.

bak

the reason why i chose to give separate jabs is not to give the vaccine on the same day. If you wan to do it on the same day, might as well go for mmrv.

ya i also prefer to separate..i scare too many at one time, the side effects might be greater..or too siong for him.. 3 types of measles already quite siong for his body to handle.. but if separate, means can also have twice fever.

my girl is going for her mmr on 11 Nov.. now i'm worried that she might get fever after her jab..

my hb and i are planning to clear leave during that time.. initially was planning to go somewhere..

now i dun even dare to plan..

angel

my ifc teacher teaches me to give "pao sheng" before the jab. Wonder if it works. Now that you remind me, i forgot to check his vaccine appointment duno got clash with our phuket trip.. alamak!

sunflower,

sounds scary! i already postpone his MMR jab from last mth to this mth 13mths.. but most of you are going at 15mths.. she said the earlier the jab, the earlier the protection..

so the cooling water is pao sheng? how to cook uh?

Hi Rachel,

Thks. According to PD, it maybe her character loh.. She ask us to calm her dw by reading books.. But I heard at this age, they r self destructive. Dunno true or not.. Haiz..

Rachel,

my gal only got a tiny small lump for a few days. It is hard but after a few days, it becomes soft.. maybe there is tension area the jab area during jab? Leave the lump dry n see if it subsides for the next few days ba..

polyclinics got different bosses so the prices might be different a bit.

my pd advises to take MMRV together. Coz juz pain once and fever(if any) also one time.

I also checked wif my pd about MMR related to autism, he said it is not true and safe to take.

anyway, it would be good to take MMR in my opinion. I kana measles before i can take the vaccine when i was less than 1yo and guess what i spread to my brother who is in my mum's womb.. my mum din get it though.. my brother is born wif a hearing and eyesight impart. So those planning for 2nd or 3rd baby, get yr kids vaccinated!

pao sheng:

my mum give pao sheng to my gal before her jab. this is to prevent fever. normally she buy small bottle and boil it with water for about half an hour.

MVH,

how to kena ur bro in ur mum's womb? the doc scan and found out?

Pao sheng,

old folks say can take gripe water before jab..hahaha strange..i think pao sheng sounds more logic

ahnah,

my son will pull and tear off the newspaper..that cover at least secure..

baka, i went diaso, dont have leh

sunflower, doc asks my mum to separate me from herself, coz will spread to bb in womb n might have side-effects.. but my mum said i cry n cry when i left wif my ah-ma. so no choice i stick wif my mum. only can confirm my bro kanna the virus after he is born..