(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Eliss, i have a zojirushi thermal pot, 8L some more. wahahaha! usually for cookware, i invest coz i've bought those really too-good-to-be-true items and ended up throwing them away

and, you can also cook tonics with it. i made bird's nest. wah! like you said - really good! and also can stir fry, steam, fry but i've not tried yet. and with soups, after 8 hours in the pot, it's still piping hot

wow Jaclyn! BB G can eat a lot!

BB J only eat those barnie bowl sold in KP, on good day is 1 1/2 bowl of barnie bowl.

Yes jac, my hubby say look yucky when i cook spinach and fish porridge, but BB J likes it! smell nice lei..

Steamer cum blender: is it necessary to buy the steamer n blender? Or can we just do it on our own? Cos saw at bb fair philips selling, but dunno to invest or not

Diapers: shld I buy pampers cruisers or drypantz? Both promo work out to b the same price, abt 32 cents per pic

Oh no ! Does that mean Im feeding him too much!?

kepsis: I donno about the rest, but this steamer and blender is the single best appliance I ever bought for my baby! Its awesome!

kepsis, it's not necessary but like Jac said, it's easy to use. steam and blend using 1 appliance vs. 2-3. initially i didn't want to but succumbed to it last week. just happened Carrefour had a promo for $160, so asked hubby to go grab. think it's the same bundled deal at the Taka fair, which is going for $179

Jac, if G can eat, just feed lah. baby knows when to say no when they're full [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

how I wish H can eat as much - she doesn't seem so interested in food now. does teething cause disinterest in food? i read that when you eat, blood flows to the gums and may cause discomfort

kepsis.. i think pampers better. drypantz cutting is so small..one side the diaper will always stuck to the middle, so one of her butt cheek gets exposed de lor! or maybe my girl has a big butt? she wears XL for huggies. the waist area got lots of allowance but butt fits nicely.

jaclyn>> my boy also can finish a full bowl of food. am using the green pigeon bowl.

he seems to enjoy eating semi-solids than milk. Everytime when feed him semi-solids, he will open his mouth big big and if he's hungry, we must feed like a "machine gun"...if we're too slow, he'll cry/make noise, haha.

so i dun think you're feeding him too much.

kepsis: I agree with jaclyn! Best appliance ever esp for FTWM like me. One appliance to steam and blend, quick and fast, easy to wash!

Nan HA, Nan Pro: I just realised their Stage 3 is for 10 mths onwards while other milk brands, Stage 3 is usually for 12 mths onwards. Gotta do another milk switch again soon...

one easy way to wash the blender is to put water, pump some liquid detergent, and put it to blend. so u can remove any sticky puree in the blender easily.

Wow.. So much raves about the Philip 2-in-1 steamer/blender. Must admit that that I have way under-utilised it though. Bought for a few months & just did a few purees & that's about it.. What should I use it for?

Baby B is on 2 solid feeds of porridge for the day. Lunch & Dinner. So, it's always the same food for the whole day. The porridge is usually cook from stock made from pork bone. Chicken or Ngor Hee/Cod Fish & carrot or potato is usually added to it. So, there's already vegetables in in. Thus, do not need to use the blender at all as the carrot & potatoe can be easily mashed up. For fruits, we gave apples & bananas which we can easily feed baby directly with it.

Any other ways that I can fully utilise the gear? Thanks all.

kepsis,

alamak i juz bought 1pkts but not from the fair, wasted!

u still there? tollyjoy got good offers?

TGIF! Looking forward to this weekend...got many things to try out haha... letting bb drink from straw, drink milk while lying flat or w pillow, plus check out slow cookers! think MIL has thermal pot that she doesn't use, then maybe can 'take over' it!

BTW, any mummies staying near Bishan and hv done research on child care centres? Thinking of sending my boy from Jan 2012.

How do you mummies freeze the purees? Any good storage ideas to share? I have the Avent via cups but that takes too much space in the fridge & my MIL screams at me. Any good ice cube trays that I can lay my hands on?

With regards to baby sleeping alone - This is not possible for me now as I'm still staying with my in laws so there's no luxury of an extra room for that. But, when my new house is here in July. Hopefully, I can celebrate B's birthday by giving him a nice room. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Talk about birthday, how's everyone planning? For me, I had just decided on the Elmo theme. Will order balloons from BP in SMH here. Reckon that it's more trouble to rent helium tanks & inflat ourselves so I will be ordering some latex & foil ballons from the seller here. I'm taking a package which consists of 35 latex ballons & some foil ones, total price with delivery is only $79.90. Sounds reasonable. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] For cakes, decided to order a 10" square cake. Does anyone know if this is way too small for 50 pax? What sizes do you all intend to order? Also will be engaging a friend/photographer, he charges $68 per hr. Think price wise, he's quite reasonable. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vernie, you may want to call up the company hotline to check what is the diff between Step 2 and 3.

Bb Ev is on Dumex Mamil Gold, I kaypo and call up hotline and they told me that for Step 3 and 4, there is sugar added to the milk powder whereas Step 2 has no sugar. And the good stuff like DHA, AA etc, Step 2 has more compared to Step 3 and 4 (that's why 3 & 4 cheaper). So can take Step 2 even up to 2.5 yo. Checked with dietician at KKH and they told me same thing, in fact recommended to continue with Step 2. Guess it also depends on the amount of nutrition that bb is getting from solids as well.

Any mommies going to bb fair later after work?

Anyone going to sign up SL package in the fair?

Jellypurin, may i know about the studio package?

Yes mommies, i also started using the steamer & blender thingy since last week and i only have thumbs up for this invention!!! it motivates me to make purees for my boy everyday...

and because i didn't use a slow cooker to prepare his porridge, usually i will put the cooked porridge into the blender and blend it together with veggies like broccoli, potato, carrot or pumpkin! and the best thing is to be able to see your little one enjoying the food that you made!

so happy! and not to mention that it is easy to wash as well. very few parts i would say and all washable parts can be removed very easily!

i'm going to try chicken with veggie puree this weekend! can't wait!! hehe

btw mommies,

can you please recommend me a good brand of thermo flask to get for storing baby's porridge when we need to bring out?

keer13,

i use ice-cube trays to freeze my purees then like ice transfer all into an air-tight box to store

bdmummy: Thanks for the tip, yup, think i better call them and check what's the difference between Step 2 & 3. If 3 has sugar, then I will prefer to stick to 2. On bb self-feeding milk, mine lies on the bouncer & drink on his own. I stay in Bishan. Not sure whether I will send bb to CC but i kaypoh and found 2 new CCs will be opening in bishan this year: http://myfirstskool.com/location-new.html, Perhaps can consider.

keer13, I freeze the purees in Petite Creations baby cubes, got them from http://babyetstars.com/index.php?cPath=29&osCsid=df8bbe6f46cb64ee0c6baee9a9282796, which is the cheapest I found online (other sites selling at $16). But at $12, still quite ex right, so I also recently bought BPA free small round containers from GLAD (same brand as the clear plastic wrappers) which can be used in freezer, microwave and dishwasher - cheaper at $4+ for 8 containers). You can buy ice trays w lids, saw at NTUC X-tra before. I intend to try freezing chicken stock in ice trays next time as suggested by other mommies.

For SL package, will it be him taking the photos? Or his assistant ha?

Blender: wow so much good reviews... Oki I'll go convince my hubby to sponsor me ha ha! Thanks mummies!

Tollyjolly: I left the fair already, I notice the prices seems like the same as what is offered at Robinson.

Bbfair: pigeon never join this fair

keer13: me planning bb 1st bday since jan. haha~! im doing a hello kitty theme. balloons still deciding. i also saw the kind of pkg u mentioned but dunno to splurge on them or just buy plain balloons, blow them and stick them ard the chalet..

for cake, i ordered 2kg 2-tiered cake from pine gardens, and some cupcakes. im expecting 25-30pax.

carol: I kaypoh and answer the question u have for JP. The studio package is from Sean Lau's new toddler studio called Studioplay (http://www.studioplay.com.sg/). The props & settings will be different from Classic Baby. If you want those cute flowerpot shots, then take the baby package.

hehe. me too! I ask my hub and myself also to save bit by bit since Jan!

He say im too kua zhang.. -_-""

Gotta save for his photoshoot, bd cake,goodies for IFC, teachers.

celebrating in 2 venue, then today my hubby ask me, so how to celebrate his 2nd bd? KNS..1st bd also haven prepare.. lol

bdmummy, i'm also using the baby cudes from Petite Creations! they are great to use though...and i think $12 for 8 cubes still ok. at least the lid fits tightly and you know when you want to store the made purees in fridge, it is also quite safe!

best is, it can be put directly into a microwave for fast warming!

i read that some other baby cubes, the lids may pop up upon freezing and that will contaminate the food liao.

hey mummies. hope its false alarm but since last mth, have either been puking (yellow bitter stuff) every morn or gagging. it could be due to my persistent dry cough which i have since cny. now it's almost a week since i missed my period. i did have an accident last mth but my mense came on the next day when i was abt to get the morning after pill. so cant be preg right?

Wow SK!! Heehehe! Just a FYI, I have been puking yellow bile throughout my pregnancy. Even 8+months I will wake up to puke the bile.

But 1 week of missing menses still abit too early to check with pregnancy kit :D anyway.. hope to hear good news frm u heehee

Vernie: Just to share with you on my finding for Nan Pro. I went to Baby Fair just now and had asked the sales staff about Nan Pro 2 and Nan Pro 3. The person say not much diff in terms of content. Just that certain ingredients had been reduced and certain ingredients had been increased to suit the baby's nutrients requirement at their age. But the person also mention that some babies might not be able to accept Nan Pro 3 cause there is a slight different in taste from Nan pro 2. This is the same case when we change them from Nan Pro 1 to Nan pro 2. She also say if baby dun like Nan Pro 3, we can continue feeding Nan Pro 2 till baby is 3yrs old. No problem with that. But in the end, I also bought a tin of Nan Pro 3 for Kayden. Just now I also called up Nestle Baby Club to request for samples of Nan Pro 3 to be send to me. So in case, Kayden really dun like Nan Pro 3, he can stick to Nan Pro 2 and I can still sell the unopened big tin of Nan Pro 3. Haha!!!

Keer13: I use the Snappies bottles (which I bought to contain my BM) to contain the puree. Think it was a good buy for me. Cause can keep reusing it. Hehe!!

Baby Fair: Not very crowded yet when I went there. I bought 2 packs of L size Huggies Ultra diapers at $13 each ( I thought I saw $14 per pack but they charge me for $26 in total). They give me 1 free packet of wet wipes. I also bought the Heinz fruit puree, vege puree and Heinz Pasta. They are going like 5 bottles for $10 or $5.40 for 4 bottles.. something like that. I also bought a tin of Nan Pro 3 and a few Gerber bottles of vege / fruit purees. I subscribe to Mother & Baby magazine and got free gifts of 3 packs of Huggies ultra diapers and 2 packets of free wet wipes. I also bought the cot bumper too. Bought quite abit of things. Haha!! Luckily hubby working nearby so manage to get him to come to expo and stuff everything into the car.

Sweetkiss: Test lo.. you could be like me.. just never ovulate or it could be you have hit the jackpot.. haha!!

Can anyone tell me if the Foogo food jar is good for keeping porridge? I just saw Robinsons selling $50.

Is this a good buy?

Supergal,

I am using Foogo food jar. According to MIl, the food jar only can keep the food warm max 5 hours.

I prepared porridge for my bb every morning at 8am. I will keep 1/2 of it in the food jar for bb 12.30 - 1pm lunch. MIL said still warm.

Got 1 time bb took nap until 2.30pm. MIL said the food not warm anymore.

I bought it from amazon (joined the overseas spree). total cost to me is S$28 (the foogo food jar + shipping cost) but got to wait almost 1 month.

Carol: Have sell toys.. I bought a Combi brand stroller toy for my boy. Got other toys too but I never see much cause I bought alot of toys for my boy liao and he is not interested in toys at the moment. Haha!!

Supergall, I bought the Thermos Foogoo food jar from BP at $37.

I nearly bought an activity table at the isetan sale. But in the end got something else. Thinking of getting a 2nd hand one. The one selling at isetan was $69 I think, half price. It's based on the BBC children show In the Night Garden, if anybody is familiar with it. Iggle-Piggle. Hehe.

Eliss,

thanks for the link for the baby care advert. dint get a chance to say cos was busy crazy after..

boss wants to fly TKY last min tomorrow...

Carol: Err...i think it was Sean Lau himself who did the photoshoot for me...he looks like the pic in his website...LOL! I assume it is him lar...

Ann: Thanks. I think Nan HA should be the same? Anyway, i will give them a call and ask. Come to think of it Nan HA/Pro 2 says from 6 mths onwards, not 6 to 10 mths, so like what the staff said we can continue with it till bb is 3 years old if we want to and no need to switch to Nan 3.