(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Irene, I leave b to sleep in his cot by himself in his room. There is nothing in his cot, no blanket, no pillow, no toys. Just the cot bumper. The baby monitor is turned on so I can hear him if he cries. Remember to adjust the cot to its lowest so N cannot climb out.

AK, all the best to you. Your baby's normal, just that her stomach is a wee bit sensitive. You're nearing the tunnel. take care

MVH, me kaypoh a bit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] What Ann meant was that the cards come in 2 vol. A full set of DVDs/CDs have 5 discs

Ann, if you're still interested in getting the cards, can try this webby. but lift-the-flap cards vol. 1 are also not available here

www.yourbabycanread.com.sg

Irene, my baby's cot is in my room. we knocked down the wall separating the master bedroom and the study, so it's quite big. to answer your question, if you put your baby to sleep hugging a toy, pillow, bolster, make sure to remove them once baby is asleep. and the blanket, if you are using one, tuck it below baby's arms. but one thing unavoidable and unpredictable is that baby may and can turn to sleep on tummy without making any noise. i've encountered that a few times and fortunately, my baby knows to turn her head sideways. i've to turned her on her back

At this age (approx 8 mths), can I assume that babies will always turn their heads to breathe. Moreover they know how to turn over already... even though E is sleeping with my helper, he has pillows, bolsters and stuffed toys in his cot!

AK..

your gal is bb Vera right. great to hear that she is making some improvement.

Hope that the specialists can advice you on wat is happening to ur gal and things u need to look out and any food to aviod to further improve her reflux.

Understand wat u had been going thru. But have to continue to Jia you..

actually at the end of the day, my girl will shift all the pillows to one side and she will be lying on nothing. but her smelly bolster never leaves her arms. haha. do ur babies suddenly wake up (as if still in dream mode), flip to tummy, look around and flip back to sleep again? my girl does! sometimes she flip with eyes still closed then flip back to sleep.

I read that once a baby knows how to flip on his tummy to sleep, he will have the strength to turn his head sideways to breathe. But always put baby on his back to sleep for babies below 12 mths.

My bb likes to flip to his tummy to sleep at nite. He will then adjust and adjust his head. Sometimes not happy with his position, he will kek noise and I have to flip him back. But he is still sleeping leh..

Kat, you're wrong. never assume - anything can happen. my friend's 8-month-old baby suffocated - flipped/turned to tummy and didn't turn the head to the side.

CB, I didn't ask. no one thought that would happen. i also dunno - tie them by their arms and legs to the cot? hahaha! but there's this sleeping bag-cum-blanket for babies - dunno whether it's "heavy" enough" and whether it'll be too hot

sleep positioners won't work any more ler - my baby can fling them out of the cot. they're light as they are meant for NBs

Sweetkiss

My bb did tat too..

He will flip and lie on his tummy , head down with his eye closed and I will usually flip him back.

got one scary occasion when my girl was only 4-5 mths. that time she was still sleeping with me on my bed. my pillow (those adult size soft one) which i usually hug to sleep covered her whole head! when i saw it in the morn, i got a shock ok. i removed the pillow & she was still sleeping with her head turned to the side. happened twice somemore loh.

she's using those terry blanket to sleep now, i will wrap it under her arms, around her body.. but usually she will kick them away.

hi ica, mai i know is ur blender with steamer is made in China/England or Msia?

btw, may i know is the mini blender same as blender with steamer? only difference is one with steamer another one dun have?

AK: Baby Vera will be fine. You are a great mummy and you have come a long way. Whenever you have thoughts of giving up, look ahead and tell yourself that the light is just ahead. If you give up now, you will lose it. But if you pursue further, you will have the light in your palm soon. Jia you!!

MVH: Ica is right, I was referring to the flash card and not the DVDs. Hehe!! Sorry for confusing you.

Ica: The lady at the company told me that there will be new flash cards coming out at the end of the year. That is why they discontinued the flash card for Set 1. Should I just buy the dvd without the flash card or should I buy the dvd and set 2 flash cards? What do you think?

Irene: My baby is still sleeping with us. My hubby feel uncomfortable with Kayden sleeping in his own room till he is 1yr old. I thought that was quite old liao. But if Nathan is sleeping on his own at night, I think just the baby monitor is good ba, also lower his cot and raise the bar. Remove the soft toys and keep less things in the cot.

Sweetkiss: Kayden does that too. I was shocked to see him flipping like that with his eyes closed. Haha!!

Ann, ya the lady told me the same; i was asking her about lift-the-flap vol. 1. geez, i dunno. maybe you can buy the DVD and print out the words, make them into flashcards? WTS section maybe?

ica, i think is different blender ba..

i read from website mini blender is made in China wor..

i cant find country of origin for blender with steamer..haha, if it is not from China, then i better buy with steamer one..

Thanks for replying! I agree that even when baby knows how to flip it is still dangerous. Most SIDS occurs during 2-4 months. That's around the period when baby start to flip. In fact I think it's most dangerous when they know how to flip as they would tend to flip in the middle of their sleep but might not know how to flip back or turn their head to the side.

When I was pregnant, we set up the nursey and place the cot in a seperate room from us as I thought I would let bb sleep in a room on his own. But my colleague who is a father of 3 strongly "recommends" me to put bb in the same room as us. Then I went to read up on SIDS and was quite worried too so till now we don't dare to let my bb sleep alone. Previously when my MIL or Mom came to help out, they will sleep in bb's room. After they left, we have shifted the bb cot into our room. Even so, sometimes I still wake up to check whether he's still breathing. My hubby always laugh at me for being paranoid haha.

Recently my friend told me that her niece has been sleeping all alone since birth. Even though they have a maid, the maid sleeps in a seperate room. There's baby monitor but the bed is not "naked" like what Pris did for B (a recommended way to reduce risk of SIDS). The bb girl is now 8+ months and all is well. I was just wondering how safe is it to really leave bb alone in a room.

My hubby is a light sleeper and althou bb can sleep thru sometimes, he still wakes up occasionally. hence I am thinking whether now is a good time to move bb back to his own room so that my hubby can have better rest. Or should I wait till 1 yr old when the risk of SIDS is much lower???

Charliebrown: i read that expert actually recommend against the use of sleep positioner due to SIDS.

ica: The lady at Taka baby fair told me to buy the flip card for set 2 and just choose the words from there which I wanna show my boy. I am wondering if I should just buy the dvds and dun need the flash cards. Haha!!

i have alot of sachets the following for exchange for Diapers L Size , wet tissues, milk powder number 2 formula.

Nestle Cerelac stage 1 Brown rice

NESTLÉ CERELAC® GOLD® Infant Cereal Oats with Prunes

please come and do exchanges... my girl prefers porridge then cereal so i am clearing them.

expiry is feb 2012.

mummies can email me or pm me.

Ann, ya lor. if there's a new vol 1 coming out, i'm sure they'll revamp vol 2 right? make them yourselves lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irene, you're not paranoid, just being careful. i do that, too, waking up just to check that my girl is still breathing

Being a mother, you can somehow sense your baby. there have been a few occassions where we've put her to sleep, closed the door as the aircond was on, and went about doing our stuff. my mom was in the hall watching tv but at lowest volume, me in the kitchen washing the feeding stuff. but i sensed that my baby was crying and told my mom. my mom asked whether i was sure and true enough, when we opened the door, she was crying but not loud enough to be heard, face all wet with tears, so kelian

Irene: i behave like you at times too...

just like ICA mentioned... i tell my HB "bb is crying awake, go carry her out" hb will cfm doubt me... but since that once ... he dare not doubt me again...

even now BB C sleeps thru' the night most of the time (accept these 2 nights - maybe cold morning hours 5am) I still will check check on her... just to make sure she is ok... sometimes i even resort to move her position to make sure ... hahaha

Ica: Haha!! No time to make la. By the way, I just read something online that we should let baby learn by reading to them and not by showing them dvd. Moreover, we should let them learn through play. Now I think maybe I should just head to the library and borrow baby books to read to kayden. Cheaper and better. Haha!!!

actually i think it depends on when you think your child is ready... if you are worried and all, then cont to let bb sleep in the same room. will u put a bb monitor if bb sleeps in another room? will u still go out and check on ur bb in the middle of the nite? if yes, you r still prone to waking up ur light-sleeper hubby.

but then again, those ang mohs already let their bb sleep separately since birth. so it is up to the parents.

for me, i am not ready to do it yet, though i wish to train my girl to be more independent. i will only let her sleep alone when she is ard 18 mths or old enough to understand my instructions, and able to walk etc.

I am in the opposite situation. I am wondering when I can move back to my own room? We sleep with bb in his room - me on the single bed and hubby on the pull out mattress. My hubby says our MBR is just a walk-in wardrobe now. We only go in to dress up and use the master bathroom. Our MBR is rather small, if we put the cot there, room will be really cramped.

A number of my friends start to let bb sleep in their own room when #2 is about to come. Their kids age gap are mostly 2 years, so they start to train their #1 at about 18 mths plus. But I think this has to be done carefully, else #1 will feel that he/she kena chased out because of #2’s arrival.

Vernie: i think so too... i am planning No. to come in 2012. so i now slowly introduce my BB C to roll/flip/drink milk to sleep now... only last night wants me to hug hug sleep for 3-4 min then pushes me away to put her dwn on my bed... then few flips/rolls, she sleeps ready... lately she has been like this ...

Our bb sleeps in her own cot but in our room because of space constraints. When we move later this month we fully intend to let bb sleep alone in her own room. We use bb monitor with video and her cot is completely empty except for bumper. So far so good coz she sleeps by 8pm but we only sleep at 12 so we monitor her from the living room during our dinner and all...

But now I'm worried abt her sleeping on tummy. She always flips all over the place in her sleep. Every hour different position. I think it's quite impossible to flip her back every time. In fact the first time she flipped was in her sleep! But she cried for help coz couldn't flip back at the time. But now if I try to flip her onto her back she will whimper and roll back onto her tummy. Every now and then i check her for breathng, hubby thinks im siao. I think she's quite strong la can flip back and crawl and all. Prob less chance of suffocation? Really cannot monitor her the whole night!

peanuts: ur hb doesnt understands u in this way why u keep checking bb's breathing... my HB can sleeps straight thru the night at times dont even know bb already had a dream feeding and for me to prepare milk, i have to "crawl" over HB to go over to the other corner to do it. then "crawl" back to feed BB... -!-lll

both my kids sleep in their own rooms.

ashlyn from birth and alwyn from 6mths.

alwyn slept with the maid for 4 months, then with me for 2 months. just 2 days ago, i downgraded him to the floor with the playyard. so a single size mattress inside the playyard. we put a bb monitor so that we can hear him. to be honest, he is so loud, i think we can hear him without the bb monitor too...haahaaa

i have been motivated by you girls on sleep training that i tried last nite. he normallly wakes up 2-3 times each nite. i df him at 12am and then when he wakes at 4.15am, i gave him water. He was angry with me but after awhile he just slept. the next time he scream was 6.15am.

hopefully he will get the signal that wakeup = drink water so better dont wake up. hahahahaha

Yogurt : After reading that so many babies love yogurt, I went to cold storage to get the baby yogurt for my boy to try. wow! he really loves it. finished it record time. hahaha.. really glad to find something he loves.

thanks so much for sharing your experiences. I think if I put my bb in another room, even with bb monitor with video, i will still be worried and check on him every now and then. will probably start letting him sleep on his own after 1 yr old =)

JTS, my bb feeding schedule as follow:

6-7am: 160ml of FM

9-10am: solid feed

12 noon: 160ml of FM

3-4pm: solid feed

6pm: 160ml

8+pm: light solid feed (e.g. yogurt or 2oz of fruit puree)

10-11pm: 160ml

1 solid feed is usually 2 tbsp cereal (with 30ml of milk) + 2oz fruit + 2oz vege or 1 bowl of porridge. For porridge, I use half organic brown rice and half organic white rice and add fish/chicken/pork, vege and sometimes organic tofu. I also add ikan bilis powder to the porridge sometimes. My boy's milk intake is on the lower side so to make up for his intake, I give yogurt and add milk into his cereal.

grace! ^5 lar...

past 2 weeks ... I started training to sleep herself... then whenever middle of night wake up, i thought BB C was cold, so pull blanket up for her. then i totally forgets about the milk she might be asking for... as after pulling blanket she no sound ready.

Then at times i thought BB C super glue... wants to sleep so close to me ... as she cries awake.. i thought she had a bad dream... so i put her in my arms, hug her and we both drift to sleep... again i forgets about her milk... hahahaha !

then this week, think she knows ready... wake up no use... mommy will just pull blanket or hug me... lolx ! i recall back after reading ur post, i am feeling so funny about myself... train my BB without realising i am training her already

Mamil Gold Discount Voucher:

I have the following to give away. Please PM me if keen. First come first serve. Collection at MRT between Boon Lay to Commonwealth on Tue-Thur in the morning or evening.

1) $5 off Mamil Gold stage 2 (900g) expiry in Jun 2011 (redeemable at Fairprice, Watsons, Carrefour, Sheng Siong)

2) $5 off Mamil gold for stage 2-4 (900g). Valid from 14 Mar till 27 Mar. Valid at Cold storage, market place, giant, shop & save, guardian

3) $5 off Mamil gold for stage 2-4 (900g). Valid from 28 Mar till 10 Apr. Valid at Prime & Sheng Siong

4) $5 off Mamil gold for stage 2-4 (900g). Valid from 11 Apr till 24 Apr. Valid at Carrefour & Watsons

5) $5 off Mamil gold for stage 2-4 (900g). Valid from 25 Apr till 15 May. Valid at Fairprice

For #2-#5, refer to picture below:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5229552.jpg]

Playpen: Hey mummies, I wanna sell away my Graco Playpen. Anyone know of anybody who is interested to buy one? My boy hardly use it. I think less than 5 times. So still quite new.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5229721.jpg]

Ann, either post in the WTS section or go thru the WTB section - just flood the sections lah. hahaha. that was what i did. eventually they'll be ppl interested. that was what i did for my bjorn carrier - sold oredi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irene, peanut, beannie: Yeah. I always wake up to check on bb- the way he sleeps, to flip him back, or if he is breathing, etc. Although bb learns to sleep thru the nite, mummy cannot sleep thru. BUT the daddy can. and he said I am paranoid. I think this checking will not stop soon, maybe when bb is older then we can zzz in peace. haha!

grace: your bb will soon learn not to wake up for water!! keep trying!!

Blueberries:

If I buy organic blueberries, do I still need to peel the skin for bb to eat?

Ica: I cannot post in the WTS section which I had already PM the moderator but obviously no use. I had went to WTB section lioao. But just posting here to see if you all have any friends interested to buy a playpen.

hi mommies, any of you feeding your babies cauliflower and broccoli? Read that they will cause gas. Is that true?

Checked with dietician in KK and she says np to feed coz will give only half tablespoon to 1 bowl of cereal/porridge - which I think is very little lei (haha, normally i put in quite a lot of veg/fruit)

Ica, thanks for yr info on the DVD. Thou of getting the full set if it is useful.

AK, I understand how u feel.. My bb is also a reflux bb since 3 weeks but she got well ard 4-5 months... It is so heartpain to see them vomit everyday, almost every feed.. U got to take care n like most of the mummies said.. The end of the tunnel is coming! Hope bb V gets well soon!

Ann, not no use, just hv to wait lor. I also can't, still waiting for that elusive email from the moderators

Charliebrown, the wholesomebabyfood webby seems to say no need. Just make sure you wash them thoroughly, organic or not. One angmoh parenting website I went to, one mommy said she peeled the skin and gave her bb as finger food

Swim date on 25/3/11 (Fri), 4pm @ NSRCC

Sorry for the late reply mummies.

Been very busy to read through most of the posts.

Yup, it's still on.

So far only the following mummies, am I right?

1) mrslong

2) jasline

3) eliss

4) julie

5) noknok

eliss, the swimming pool area is not sheltered, but i doubt will rain cuz weather's quite erratic and somedays it's really hot!