(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Re: sleeping

I wish I can try the Ferber method but cuz my boy stays with my ILs during weekdays, it's not possible.

And I think they will scold me if I even attempt to try this cuz my ILs really spoil my boy, keep saying your boy cries differently from other bbs, etc. Actually, not sure if my Bb does cry differently from others or not, cuz when he cries, he really cries until choke/cough & using his lung/throat.

Now @ coming to 8mths & weighing 8kg, we still carry & rock him to sleep. I wonder when is this going to stop.

Jaclyn & keer13: your bb is waking up to play or for nite feeding? You can try the milk reduction method if bb is waking up for feeds. I used this last time to train bb n bb could sleep thru the nite by 4mths, cos I could not bear to use the CIO method. Agree with the mummies that there must be a bedtime routine so bb knows that it is time for serious sleeping, and don't wake up to eat or play.

Porridge:

I never cook stock one. Just throw what I have in to cook. Sometimes v sian/no motivation and if there is nothing to cook, I will always turn to HB cereal~ But so far the chicken porridge has turned my bb from a porridge hater to a porridge eater. Chicken porridge plus pumpkin is v delicious!

Ann: your bb so good! I tried to put the HB puff in his hand to see if he can self-feed, but he just waved and the puff dropped onto the floor.

baby sleeping thru the night: I’m counting my blessings too. My boy started to sleep thru the night at 3 mths plus when I was about to return to work. No special methods used. It is as if he knows mummy needs to work, so don’t disturb her! Last feed is at 9 plus pm. He self-dropped the night feeds after I gradually increased his day milk intake. Occasionally he does wake up in the middle of the night to ask for pacifier. When he was younger he will cry for it. At 7 mths old, I saw him searching for the pacifier himself in the dark. He was successful and went back to sleep. He usually sleeps from 10PM till 7 plus AM. We don’t need to rock/pat him (i think since 5 mths), just a bedtime story, a song or two, kiss goodnight, lights off (only small night light on) and we leave the room. If he is not ready to sleep, he will toss & turn about or sometimes sit up and play with his soft toys. We let him be and when he is tired, he will sleep.

self feeding - milk: My boy has been holding his own milk bottle for a while, since 7 mths plus. We started training him by letting him drink on his bouncer while we hold the bottle for him at 6 mths plus. Sometimes we will put his hand on the bottle and hold the bottle together with him. Gradually he knows how to hold it, so we just sit by his side and watch him drink in case he chokes. He can hold the bottle and finish all the milk (about 220 to 230ml). When he doesn’t finish (20 to 30ml left) and start playing with the bottle, that’s when we know he is full.

self feeding - puffs: He also started by playing with the puffs. After I showed him that the puffs can be eaten, he tried to self feed. Very cute & hilarious to see him try to open his palm and get the puff into his mouth. After many practices, he is getting better at it already. So, just continue to let your bb try self-feeding.

Mommies:-

Keep trying to give BB their treats to hold by their fingers... then guide their hands to put the treat into their mouth... my BB C is like this too at a start, will just drop anything in her hands then cry for it... now she is learning to move her fingers to "bye bye" the IFC teaching her. And I am teaching BB C to feed HB Puffs/Melts etc to her mouth. So far so good ... fail few times, successful few times... hahaha

Charliebrown - Mine wakes up to drink, most of the time. But sometimes, only drink 50-60ml. Most of the time, it's every 3 hrs in the night & he drinks around 120ml. He's a small eater & so he does not tank up much during the day. He's having 2 solids per day (lunch & dinner) & drinks total around 700ml of milk per day. Reducing method seems good too. Yes, will try it out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my boy had forgotten to wave bye bye liao! each time i say bye bye

he will put his hand inside his mouth! dun tell me he think that's bye bye? -_-""

now teaching him to clap hands n he did it! but dun noe if he

will 4get again.. haha...

he's trying to stand and walk but dun seems to have the strength to do so.

he is like moving around every min! he simple cant stop! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

only at times he will sit guai guai on my lap and nua...

but that's seldom.

Mummies, the dietician at KKH says it is important to hv 1 meal of porridge per day for bb (altho cereal is more convenient and high in iron+vitamins) coz need to teach baby to transition to the normal type of food that we eat. So best to give 1 meal cereal and 1 meal porridge. Plus 700-750 ml milk + 60ml water per day.

Any tricks for babies to like the teething rusks? Bb Ev holds it, puts in mouth for a short while then throws away!

Bdmummy: mine is always either 2 meals porridge or 2 meals cereal wif fruits/veg purée. Cos I find it hard to cook 1 portion of porridge for bb. So if lunch is porridge, then dinner is the same thing. My bb will spit out the plain water if using spout magmag.. Intend to upgrade to straw magmag.

just to confirm, chicken stock is just chicken + water put to boil? will there be any taste? and do we need to remove the chicken skin (if any)?

i think that the storing method jaclyn mentioned is useful.. but if put in ice cube tray, must find those with lids? otherwise it will be exposed to the freezer "air".. by the way my mum told me that if u wanna give bb leftover porridge from his earlier feed, don't re-boil as there will be a lot of air. either steam or warm it up.. my mum will warm it using her rice cooker.

Any of you mummies using chinese herbs si shen in your stock?

I've been doing that coz my mum and a few friends suggested that i do so to improve the pi(2) wei(4). no idea what that is actually.

How I prepare my stock is:

Buy pork bones (long gu) from market coz this portion is not as fatty and usually quite lean. I will always blanch the bones or meat first before cooking. Add a bit of ikan bilis and throw in the si shen together. Boil for 15 mins on the stove and transfer to my thermal pot and leave overnight. I will cook the stock at night. The next morning my helper will use to cook for the day's porridge and keep the rest for other days. usually i will make abt 3 days worth of stock in one session.

during cooking of porridge, have tried adding in fish slice, carrots, pumpkin, sweet potato, broccoli, spinach. so far my boy eats all of that.

when i don't have time to cook stock, i will just ask my maid to cook plain porridge with the small white fish accompanied with veggie puree. that is also quite tasty actually.

currently my boy is taking 4 milk feeds (150ml per feed - he's a really really small drinker) and 2 meals (either cereal with puree or porridge). I would give him some biscuits/dessert puree at times depending on whether I want to stretch his feeds to coincide with bedtime feeding. He will also take some water after each cereal/porridge feed, but not very much.

my boy is learning that cereal is actually not as tasty as porridge and takes a really long time to finish his cereal as compared to porridge. His favourite puree is pear. I tried red plums the other day which really gives very good soft mashy poop. lol. but it's too tedious to peel the skin and puree. =|

sweetkiss, yes you can buy chicken breast and the chicken carcass to boil. It will be very sweet. You may want to try adding in carrots to boil together which will make the stock very sweet. Good to remove chicken skin and any visible fats. If I see that the stock is oily, I will filter it using the oil filter thingy.

if you have the avent storage cups, you can use that to store your stock too. I use that, but I don't freeze coz I don't cook very much at one go. mum insists that once you freeze you lose a lot of the nutritional value...

oh i actually use a small claypot to cook porridge... that's how my mum did, so i just followed... and yes, steaming the left over porridge will be good enough for 2nd feed.

Have not started to prepare purees. Wld like to check how you defrost the puree to add into porridge? or simply just dump the frozen puree into the porridge n let it melt by itself?

Justina, I would bring down from the freezer into the fridge the night before so that it would have defrosted quite nicely by the time baby needs to eat. If not, you can either microwave it slightly or place the container into a cup of hot water.

Kat: my mum too.. in fact she will throw away those frozen purees i pass to her, saying that bb shldnt eat overnight food. so usually i only put in fridge and feed bb within 48 hrs, any later than than i eat them myself..

justina, i store puree in baby cubes. to heat them up i will pop the whole cube into my pigeon baby warmer at 70 deg.

bdmummy: 700-750ml of milk ah.. but hoh my boy now only drink 3 times a day lei.. so at most only take in 630ml on a gd day. Seems like he is quite low on milk like that.

Taka baby fair: I went down just now with the intention to buy cot bumper and baby can read dvd. They only sell in set and not just cot bumper alone. For baby can read dvd, the flip cards, they only have set 2 and not set 1. Set 1 production had been discontinued. So in the end, I bought Pigeon fruit juice and Pigeon instant porridge. I also manage to buy the baby yogurt from Cold Storage at Taka. Bought 2 packs. Hehe!!

sweetkiss, it's best not to give leftover porridge at all. my mom cooks it fresh every time

chicken stock: yes, just chicken and water. good enough for baby. you may also add in carrots, corn to make it sweeter provided your baby has already tried them on their own. i will remove the skin. some recipes i came across for asians say that we can add spring onion to the soup stock

Kat, i will be trying plums next. i just realised that prunes are actually plums, honey plums, in fact. so ignorant of me. you can try giving peach to your baby - i don't peel the skin but cut it in half and scoop up the flesh, then mash. my girl likes pear, too.

sweetkiss: I just use chicken breast (with bone in) to boil. You can add carrots if you want but I am stopping pumpkin and carrots for my son temporary. both my mom and my MIL commented that my son is turning "yellowish"!!! So better stop awhile just to play safe =P

Btw I remove the chicken skin when I boil otherwise it will be very very oily! Oh and you can buy ice cube trays that come with cover, not expensive at all.

I would recommend not using left over porridge at all.. just make 1 serving if possible. That is why it is good to portion out the chicken stock so you can make the small portion you need. Currently i am serving 1 feed of porridge and 1 feed of cereal.

Kat: previously I also didn't freeze and put in toyogo (air tight) tubs to store, i normally use within 2-3 days. However while talking it over wit other mommies yesterday, some mentioned that this can cause a tummy ache. Also, I read on wholesomebabyfood that cannot leave stock in fridge for more than 24 hours unless frozen ..

Justina: I will take the frozen cube of puree, put into normal room temperature water for about 2-3 hours until it softens. Then I put it into my pigeon's milk bottle warmer for about 20 mins at high temperature of 70 degrees. By then it would be nice and hot to add into porridge.

Everyday I am more and more amazed at our babies. They have developed a sense of taste so well. My son absolutely will not eat porridge that is plain without puree (even though it tastes so good with chicken and ikan bilis). Must add that cube of puree then he will eat !

ica, it was so tiring to peel the skin off the prunes. I think i used 6 prunes to make only 4 cups of puree (baby cubes). But i find the prunes too sweet so i don't let E eat it as a dessert, unlike pear. i will mix with cereal to sweeten the cereal up and de-sweeten the prune. I have't tried peach, but I have tried nectarine. E likes that too.

when E turns 9 months next month, i'm gonna let him try tofu. in what sort of recipe, i haven't decided yet. anybody has any suggestions?

*today no mood to work so i'm busying myself here! gonna express milk liao...*

ann: i saw cot bumpers taka baby fair.. its on the wagon opposite the shelves selling pillos, etc. im also looking but dun have the designs i like.

ica: i assume honey plums = prunes = nectarines? i tried giving my gal but she dun like also. sigh.

btw my cousin passed me his son's cot few mths ago. it is those 4-in-1 type but he lost the plastic parts that can allow one side of the cot to pull up and down. anyone knows where got sell replacement parts?

i tried magmag & avent magic cup my girl doesnt want. even when i used the step 1 teat for magmag, she is so smart to know it is nt her usual teat. refused to drink.. how to make her drink from it?

jaclyn, your baby may be haveing carotenemia - too much carotene. not harmful but doesn't look good lah. just go slow on yellow/orange food

Kat, hahaha. wait till you give baby blueberries - even harder to peel. hmmm.. maybe i'll just scoop up the flesh from the prune, rather than peel off the skin. that's what i do with fruits that are soft

does anyone know about the price for Avent Mini Blender with feeding set?

Im very losuy, til now not yet get a blender for my bb..

Anyone using this model? can give some feedback?

claudia, my girl also doesn't like the magmag spout. think it's the rubber. so i bought another sippy with a firm spout but still soft enough for the gums by Playtex. she takes to it but has been using it more like a teether. she's drinking water from the magmag sippy but using L teat - no progress at all! maybe go straight to the straw?

SK, prunes and plums are from the same family. nectarines, peach are from the same species

carol, you're not lousy. i also only just gotten the avent steamer-blender last week. think just the mini blender is about $69-79?

mag mag spout: Same here, my boy hates the spout, refuse to drink water from it and only want to bite the spout! Gotta go back to the teat and he drinks happily...how ah? Go straight to straw or try other brands?

Ann: Sometimes my boy also drink 3x a day only so total 600ml, but eventually think this will increase. So too big a concern [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Claudia: Oops... I just bot a mag mag with straw today! haha, my boy refuse to drink from spout, so i am hoping that he can learn to drink from straw (ambitious hor)

Kat: I buy the bottled pureed peaches from Heinz, lazy to cook the prunes/peaches on my own coz the yield is very low after pureeing.

My son can finish 1 whole tub of yogurt! Not the small yoplait ones but a regular sized tub (those for adults).... he really loves yogurt!

I bought these for him:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5225750.jpg]

claudia, sweetkiss, ica, vernie: same loh. my bb likes the magmag cos can bite the spout. and now he likes to shake it cos got the water sound. But I have the straw leh, so maybe let him try first. It is always tedious to make him drink water.

magmag straw: Btw some of our babies can drink from straw already (unfortunately... not mine. Mine just bites on it). So why not you mommies try ! Maybe your child can surprise you hehe!

charliebrown: I cup feed my son water.. he slurps it down.. i'm not sure if this is "right" or not but sometimes after a tough job of feeding him.. it is a relief that he will just intake the water without fighting with him over teats and stuff!

bdmummy, no need to cook/steam the fruits oredi. for soft fruits like peach, pear, i mash instead of puree. you'll feel that the yield is higher. hehe

Jaclyn - wooo, your son is even more advanced - cup feeding. eventually babies will progress to that level. as long as he's drinking water, whatever method that works, just use it lah

JTS, my PD told us to let baby drink more water and when my mom told him that H is drinking more than 100ml a day, he said "good, good". so i guess should be at least 100ml?

my girl super not adventurous. papaya, pear, apple, prune juice, pear juice, apple juice she dont like. i am gonna try potato + chicken stock & meat porridge for her this weekend!

can bb eat corn now? hw to make corn puree? use fresh corn on cob or frozen corns in a pack de?

Sweetkiss: Wholesome baby foods suggest 10-12mths. Apparently nutrition of corn compared to a majority of other vegetables is substandard so can save it for later. haha, my niece is 2yo, luvs corn, but does not like to bite them - she just swallows the kernals whole!

From the site: "Corn is another one of those confusing food when it comes to baby feeding. Most sources do say that corn is best given after 12 months old. One of the reasons is that corn is a potential high allergen food. Another reason is that corn may be a choking hazard. Further, introducing corn after 12 months old, as a finger food may be more appropriate because an older baby / toddler should be able to properly "chew"/mash the nibblets."

bdmummy.. thanks. coz hor if i were to serve corn i will steam and puree as usual. so the choking part no worries. but since it is recommended to give after 12 mths, i shall do so then. coz i personally am a corny person!

Re: sippy cups

my boy also dislikes drinking water from sippy cups! I have Avent & NUK sippy cups but he doesn't know how to use them, only likes to chew/bite too! haha.

So still using milk bottles for water le...

E can drink water using the magmag soft spout but at times he only likes to bite on it then pull it out of his mouth, resulting in a "pop" sound. it was cute initially but not after... -_- then i will tell him off sternly and don't allow him to touch the bottle unless he is truely drinking.

Jaclyn, oh think I will start freezing the stock then, provided I can find enough space to store them coz I still have my frozen milk inside...

Its really amazing looking at how our babies progress right?

I'm blessed that my baby sleeps through the night too. She'll fall asleep by 930pm and only wake up at ard 730 once she reaches my mum's place. However, after she falls asleep, she would "snooze" once half an hour later, just to check that I'm around. My hubby puts her to sleep nowadays, but when she "snoozes", only I can touch her. I might wanna try the sleeping method mentioned cos I find it disruptive for me to get things done once she's asleep. And also, during her first month, she literally was a night baby (sleeps in the day, awake throughout the night) so I think now God decides to make things easier for me.

Spout magmag: mummies, my bb hated the spout magmag. My mum just asked me to change to straw, and she immediately strted sucking from it. But she has yet to control the speed of sucking, cos she now tends to choke slightly as she drinks. So maybe u should try changing to straw.

I'm heading to taka fair on Friday to look for the upgraded car seat. Hopefully can get a good buy.

Swimming in public pool: Mummies, when is the best timing to swim at the public pool? Hoping to find a timing where water will be warm enough for Kayden to swim.

Hi mommies, just curious, does any of you leave your baby all alone in a room to sleep? If yes, other than baby monitor is there any other safety precautions that you use?

Junie,

is the swimming on 25th Mar confirm at the nsrcc??

Irene,

usually if i put bb sleep on the bed.. i will cover the surrounding with pillows & bloster.. than as & when will check him out.. =)

Ann, go around 4 or 5 when the sun is not so strong. The water will be warm if it has been very sunny the entire afternoon.

Jasline, better don't leave baby to sleep on bed unattended. I did that to E when I was at my Sis place. Even though we checked periodically, he managed to wake up and climbed over the pillow/bolster and fell down onto the floor. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Looking at these few days trend, will rain in the afternoon leh.... Junie is NSRCC's swimming pool sheltered?

hihi Jasline & Kat thanks for replying to my queries. What I meant is leaving baby all alone in a room to sleep through the night. Not with maid or parents or caregiver or anybody. Just the baby alone in the room and in the cot/playpen.

hi dear mummies! Sorry I didnt manage to read all the post but i managed to browse thru and its interesting to read abt sleep training and recipe etc. While you ladies conquer new milestones.. i am still here battling with reflux! My gal has done a barium test followed by xray last week coz the gastro specialist feel that she too old for reflux. Most babies grew out of it latest by 6 mths. Tomo i am finally going to meet with the feeding team so that I can make an appt to meet the gastro specialist following week once all the test reports are all. I ve packed nearly half my house for tomo appt! There will be a speech therapist, feeding specialist and a dietician. All these are alien to me and I am not sure what to expect but I am hoping/praying/ wishing to see some light!

My gal is very underweight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I dun dare to feed much coz she cant keep her feed. the most she can drink is 4oz and usually abt 3-4 times a day only. I ve stopped cereal coz she was vomitting seriously a couple of weeks back. Whatever she eats..will all come out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] even porridge. And doc said her throat is so sensitive that even happy melts can choke her and coz her to vomit eveyrthing out. I am very traumatised by my bb! Every feeding session is sooooo stressful. However, now that her medication has increased YET again and tripled in dosage... there's a slight improvement. I I juz hope that she will recover soon! Hopefully no need surgery coz the specialist suspect that something must be wrong with her stomach..

As for developments.. my gal can wave bye bye, throw kisses, point to things she wants or places she like to go. She can also recognise names n faces. However, she also bites and throw tantrums! She refuses to be pram around or be in car seat. She skip commando crawl and went straight to crawl on four limbs but still can fall face flat onto the floor and will cry whatever that is in her stomach out! I am so sick of this battle with refluX!!! I want my baby to get well soon! to be normal! and to enjoy food! and to beef up!

oh.. my place is so congested with baby stuff that I think its time to get rid of some so that can make way for new toys! anyone knows how to start a thread in the WTS huh?