(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

those with terrible ignorant inlaws, bring them together when u see PD for the jabs ? and get the PD to explain to them to importance of breastfeeding and how FM cannot compare! shut them up once and for all ?!

I bought the pupsik sling for myself. And also bought the Lascal carrier which my HB & I carry BB in when BB's a few months older.

I like the Lascal carrier, which cost abt $180, cuz the spine support is very good.

hi keropi, I am taking 1 fenugreek pill every 3 hours so 1 day I take about 7-8 pills. so far so good. can really see milk supply increased.

suntan, i m also staying in the west! i live just 10 min from jurong point.

ILs: I think most if not all new mummies have the ILs problem. The very first day I gave birth, my ILs already made me upset. Actually my MIL is a very nice person but somehow as my pregnancy progress and till now that bb is born, more and more problems and issues surfaced. The first thing my MIL did when she came to the hospital after I gave birth is to complain to my hubby for more than an hour. I was so tired after giving birth and had to ask them to go and talk outside the room. And of course there are many other stories ...... Just glad that they stay quite a distance from my house and hopefully won't be coming over too often. MIL just said that she wanted to come over today but hubby not around so she will come tml instead. hopefully it will be fine.

sun tan -- my mother always tell me.. cause im not their own kids.. they wont kan cheong. esp when celeste is a girl, the treatment was entirely diff to when i had a boy at first..

but who care.. its MY child

Suntan and ceres,

I joined a private bulk purchase 3 yrs back. Think I got my ergo (organic material) plus infant insert at ard $260? but value for money coz used on 2 kids already and now going to be used on my #2

Hi Ladies.

How are all of you feeling today? Today I brought BB Kayden back to my office to distribute cakes. He just wanna sleep. Haha!! We try to get him into the baby car seat. But he was wailing away. Hubby asked me to ignore him but he was crying and crying for abt 10mins.. I feel so upset.. that 10 mins like hours to me. I couldn't stand it anymore and finally pick him up and cuddle him then slowly he fell asleep. Of cos hubby was abit pissed la.. then I told him maybe we try again when he is in a better mood. Hai....

Fenugreek: I had been taking this since I discharged from hospital. 2 pills and 3 times a day. Seems to be helping me. This morning, my first pump is more than 120ml.. it was full to close the brim of the bottle. This is alot.. normally first pump I only yield 120ml these few days. 2nd pump is about 100ml to 80 ml. Then the rest of day, will yield abt 60ml each time I pump.

Now instead of feeding EBM 3 times a day to my baby, my milk is enough for 4 feeds and more.

Breastfeeding: Although my EBM still not enough for my BB to be on TEBM but I am satisfy liao. As long as he gets to drink my milk. So mummies who think they dun have enough breastmilk, pls be patient and dun be upset. Must think in positive way that as long as BB gets to drink our BM, even 10ml only, it's still an achievement. Never blame yourself for not producing enough BM.

Ignore MIL, CL or any other pple's negative comments. Dun let the words affect us. So let's jia you together. So far, my CL is very encouraging. Every morning, my first pump alot, my CL will comment that wah.. that is alot of milk.. be it 60ml, 80ml, or whatever amt, she will still say alot. Then she will tell me BB, see mummy pump so much milk out for u to drink. When she feed my baby EBM, she will tell BB to finish it cos mummy took a lot of hard work to express for him. So hearing her say all that really encourage me alot.

AK: I understand how you feel abt maid.. i also hear alot of negative things abt maid which really scare me. My mum also told me one story during my confinement that happens to one of her frens.. the maid was angry with the employer and put bleach into BB's milk.. and BB is now mute. I got really scared by that lo. But I also know I got to slowly let go cos my FIL really need a maid to help him look after Kayden. So whenever the maid is carrying the BB, I will tend to move away to curb my urge of snatching the BB away from her. I will do that subconciously one. Hopefully, one day, I will come to term with her handling my kid and I won't move away anymore.

ann,tatz a lot of milk!mine stil like tat.goin 2 buy e fenugreek 2 eat 2!i wil jia you!nw my freezer gt 4bottle nia..i hope i can survive.e medela dual pump like cant express al my milk.when i squeese tats a lot more eh.y ah?

cheese: I am going to order the Organice Mother's Milk tea from iherb. I heard that one real good lei. Going to try. Hehe!! 4 bottles is also alot lei since you are also latching your BB right? My Ameda pump also the same. After I pump le, I will hand express out till no more liao. I think maybe all pumps are like that ba.

vernie: Oh.. she only take work from the confinement agency. She is from PEM confinement agency. Her name is Irene. She is nice and PD also compliment that she is knowledgeable. Maybe when I wanna give birth to 2nd BB, i will go back to agency and ask for her again. Hehe!!

Haiiiz I am in the same shoe as all of u that have MIL probs. Mine worse.. I gotta stay with her.

She wasn't so bad last time but now that theres a baby.. really everything oso nag nag nag. She only wants to do things her way which is why I really don't trust her to be with my baby alone. Sigh! Even after I tell her that our doc says can't do this or can't do that.. she will still do it her way and insist that since "she brought up my husband" that her way is the right way. How I wish I can be peaceful with her. Shes so weird in the sense that when other ppl do its not OK, but she herself do is OK... she always complain ppl not clean when touching baby, but she herself like to carry baby right after she exercises (imagine how sweaty she is, her whole t-shirt drenched with perspiration). I also just keep quiet cos really don't want to conflict with her. Else how to stay with her?? I gotto stay with her forever lor.

Till now I haven't talk back or fight back yet.. but really at times I just want to blow up at her. I am only tolerating because I don't want to stress my hubby. I normally complain to my hubby about her until I feel like I'm such a complain queen since theres SOOOOOOO many things I'm unhappy with her about. Until now I just keep most things to myself liao.. cos just too many things to complain abt lah. Even my mom, sis, aunts and even grandmom that come to my house to visit also say shes a really difficult person. My mom really sympathize with me and always call me to ask how I am. She so scared i go into depression cos of my MIL!

My MIL also treats my maid quite crappy even though she "prides" herself to treat maids well. My maid always complain to me about her. I fear she will chase my maid away which scares me because I am damn lucky to have a maid that is able to take great care of my baby.

And Pillow.. you say bring my MIL along when I go see the doc with baby? I really don't want to! Thats the ONLY time I have that is just me, my hubby and my baby. I really treasure the time I can go out and have some peace from her.

BIG SIGH! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I just finished my dinner. My CL will always cook herbal soup for me which is for lunch and dinner. Lunch I never drink the soup cos too full. Luckily I didn't drink it cos when my CL serve me the soup for dinner.. she told me to take out the tree bark that drops in before drinking the soup. After finishing my vegetables and rice and proceed to the soup, I look at the soup and found something white floating on it. I scope a few out and look.. At first I thought it was some herbs part.. then when I use my finger to take one and see.. i saw eyes... They are WORMS!!! Yucks!!! I bought the soup herbs from the confinement agency.. this is the first time I found worms in my soup. Wondering should I call to make a big fuss abt it. Thinking back of the worms give me goose bumps.

Hi Rachel,

I've engaged Mdm Suria (from Mdm Ida's team). I am only starting my massage on Monday so cannot comment on her service yet but feedback has been good from the forum. Her charges is $50/session if I did not remember wrongly. Minimum 5 sessions. For natural birth about 5-7 days later can start the massage. I starting mine 1 week from natural birth. Mdm Suria contact is 97954574. Mdm Ida's contact is 94249829. But do note that they were fully booked when I tried to book with them about 6 months ago. BTW I also stay in the west near Jurong Point.

Even though i have not pop yet, but i got a feeling that my mil will pop by our place everyday after her work (she is working nearby)!! I really dun wish her to do that! I can alr foresee the problems that i am gg to face with regards to her and ALL her confinement rules! Think even at my own place, i wont have peace too! Just hoped that she doesnt stayed till too late!! So far wat is the most ridiculous confinement rules you mommies are force to do or told? That day my mil told me that whenever i drink or eat, i MUST sit down, if not when old age, my womb will fall out...i was like duhz.....

Wow more and more mommies staying in the west le. Keke..next time after gathering, would have kakhis to go back together alr.

sun_tan, i was told about the drinking one...must sit down and drink...so i just follow lor since this one is easy to do...the one i cannot tahan is can only wash hair once a week...if u do massage, the massage lady also does the scalp...cannot tahan not washing the oil away...

Hmm for me, this round I just do what I wish lor.. My mil isvery nice to me... She even conspired with me and not let my mum know i bathe at night! My mum popped by last night when I was abt to bathe. mymil would actually tell me to quicklybathe b4 my mum showed up.

I can't stand not washing hair after massage too. So oily

vernie,

Its easy to do but seriously i find it very stupid. No logic at all..as for the massage of scalp, one way to prevent oily scalp is to wear shower cap. I also cant stand my scalp to be oily.

sun_tan, year lor...very stupid and not logical at all...but i just do it whenever i can remember lar..

another one i was told is cannot eat yam for 40 days after giving birth, otherwise down under will be "itchy"? I dunno what logic this is...but since yam is not my regular diet, this one also easy to follow...

Aiyo, my boy has been latching on on and off since 830pm. Finally gave in and asked my mil to take over..coz I reek of milk smell so boy will root automatically. The minute I put him down, he starts to complain.

Told my mil she can carry him but lay him down on his cot once she sense that he is drifting off to lalaland...

I'm gonna sneak out (I mean not let my mum know) tomorrow to attend a birthday party [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Confinement? Well, need a sanity break at times!

sillyhp: Hahaa tomorrow I am also going to sneak out to watch zhou jie lun! My only problem is that i scared my breasts will hurt cos can't pump and no baby to latch! What do you all do ar??

Jaclyn,

High Five!

Well, I Ren for few hours when I had to rebond my hair... same like u, no baby no pump... hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But I pump real hard when I reached home wor.

Wow... i am finally feeling the contractions! after 39wk 2days i have a 'xiang yang' contraction. BB making improvement. Lol.

Today is not the day haha, bb still happily staying inside, but i can feel that she has not much space to move about already. Just came back from Orchard, went far east plaza and paragon instead of plaza sg.. walked for about 3 hours, my legs and butt hurt.. then just sat down and wait for hubby to come.. but feel good that i walked quite a bit today, exercise! then climb the stairs from taka to lucky plaza, not a lot of steps wah but almost out of breath!

I have a baby sling too, from moms in mind, the material is quite cooling. but i have no idea how to use it. I also bought a baby carrier, cybex to go (hubby doesn't want to use the sling, he wants manly kind). So i bought this, can carry in a lot of ways, hubby wants to carry baby like a backpack (but i told him only when baby is older when she can turn her head/ hv strong nexk muscle) so we decided to buy cybex, i also like babybjorn but cannot carry baby at the back T_T

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4273334.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4273335.jpg]

ah..

finally back. KO for 2 days.

my number 1 is sick and we went to the PD yesterday. Had to suck out her phelgm.

SHe and didi must have pak kat. each take turns to wake up 4times at night for 2 nights already.

hopefully tonight number 1 will sleep thru.

ah.. the challenge comes when CL leaves...

no more beauty sleep liao.. no more sleep thru night. and my bb lagi clever, decide to not want to drink bottle milk once CL leaves.

faints.. wish me luck.

Shann: contraction only. Haha.. but at least got abit consistent and pain ar... better than nth. Hopefully can tong still midnight than 24 Jul. My HB wan 24 Jul & ytd he told BB can come le and say if can come 24 Jul (sat) after daddy knock off (tmr he work half day).

If really come tmr then i really dunno wat to say.

thanks for all the words of encouragement.managed to log in now as today i went for checkup and got my family came to visit me.im feeling much better.thanks for everyone concern.

For my cl,she still ask the same thhing..like tape recorder.when im bf my gal or after bf she'll ask the same thing 有奶吗?不够我我去泡奶。same...think when i slp also can dream abt this..i did close the door.but she always without kknocking come in.if i lock the door just like this like very rude lei...bt i think if i cant tahan i will do that.soometimes i find my husband very useless..so sad to say that..he shld b encouraging me abt bf.bt when bb cry he'll say give her fm la.she hungry...y cant he say something more supporting or encouraging.i didnt have an enjoyable 9th mths pregnancy yet all this nonsense contiunes after birth.....den dunoe y my bb gal cry..i latch her she dun wan...i know she wants to be carry in order to slp.put her dwn the cot she cry too...then must carry her.then they'll feed her fm.my bb currently is 1 week old taking 50ml abt 3hrs.is tat ok?may i know where to purchase the fenugeek(i dunoe hw to spell)i would wanna try...

and today i face another prob..if i dun have a breastpump now hw do i pump out my milk now...today ive not been pumping out..im worried i might have swollen breast..when i told my hubby tat my i think my breastpump is not working well he say nth wrong wad...kaozzz!!!!! bt i know la..like no suction like dat.i use hand hand press a little bit got milk come out..nw my left breast seems hard 1st time like tis..think im gonna get a breastpump fast... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif](( any recommendation???

Ceres,

Are the contractions regular? If yes meaning it's the real thing alr!! Congrats ya! Soon le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Grace,

I bought the book u recommended. Just started reading but so far quite interesting n quite a good read.

i think back...as mine is a shotgun marriage n i went thru alot during my pregnancy stage..i cant accept the changes n my husband doesnt seems to be participating in this parenthood...he think that he go work earn money means doing alot for the family...n im alone at his place...until i throw things at home shouted at him when i lose control...then i move back home,i feel much better with my parents n dogs ard mi..n at least gt home-cooked food to eat everyday 3 meals!!!! i really grateful n thankful to my mama that cook nutritions food for me n i gave birth to a healthy n 3.18kg bb..starting doc say my bb alittle underweight when i went for checkup..bt when i give birth to my surprise my bb is 3.18 kg..so happy..bt my hubby doesnt seems grateful..tats hw i feel n sense it...i n him have lots of quarrels when im pregnant.he didnt do anythin behind my back.but he just nv pay attention to me..let the days goes by..he didnt even talk to bb iin my tummy..when bb born den he talk..n when bb gt prob eg,heat rashes,breastffeeding prob,hiccups...etc.....then he start panic..then i told him : i tell u before already right during pregnany time..then he'll answer back: got mehz???.....sometimes i dun even wanto talk to him...just nw my breastpump doesnt seems to be working well..then i told him....nw he's slpin...if i complain he'll say...tml see hw lor..nw im tired..tml i gonna wrk ot..hais..im not trying to demand things....but y???? i shed lotsof tears during pregancy nw give birth also cry..where is the happy me?i dun wanna let my parents knw..nor my family (to protect my hubby face)Y????? i know i saw my daughter face i will feel better..bt nw im typing tis tears just flow dwn...this is not what i want...this is not the right way for mi to go thru pregnancy stage n after pregnancy...i wanna be happy...i wanna look blissful..if only i have another choice......

Michelle - cheer up... are you and your husband in your early to mid-twenties? During and after preggy, our hormones went haywire... temper easily flare at the slightest minor issues...

You just given birth to your daughter, lots of things to learn. Milk supply will come in real soon... its okay to give BB formula milk to supplement her feeds...

My milk supply come in slightly higher quantity in second week....juz latch as often as your girl wants, if you think she has not enough then give FM.... but always latch first... Dont be too affected by your

CL and your husband comments... you and husband are OTJ, just like everyone of us...

Fernugreek - u can buy from GNC, a bottle costs about $39...recommend dosage is 1-2 capsule per day, my gynae asked me to take 2 cap three times a day.

im 23 n my hubby is 31...i know ouur hormones change..cant he understand..during pregnancy stage he always label me emo...im not...i agree little bit thing i flare up..i just cant control..i wun for nth flare up.i tot things goes better after i give birth..wah...confinement gt more things moreva a baby ard...im williing to learn and im still learning...bt i cant do it alone..plus those comments...arent i be relaxing or resting duriing confinement..i went thru so much pain during labour and pregnancy stage...i got a healthy bb thanks to my family...wad abt my ownself?myself???wad i get??????i dunoe wad to say...now ask u ask me wad i wan..i dunoe already...

As for the Fernugreek,i heard guardian selling also???seems like fernugreek really works..

hi suntan & all july mummies,

would like to join the club [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Suntan,

please add me to the list...

Miow Dr Eunice Chua TMC 2 Boy

EDD: 20-Jul

Born: 10-Jul

Baby not named yet.

Also suntan, my previous CL said the same thing about sitting down at all times to eat and drink.

Sounds ridiculous at first, but when i think through, may have some logic. when we are pregnant, our internal organs are displaced a bit, once the baby is born, the organs need to "re-organise", so with the sudden extra space, to prevent the internal organs to be "displaced" too much, so better to sit down to eat n drink....

hehehe not sure if its all bs - but what the heck, sit down & lie down whenever we can - cos all new mummies needs rest!

Now, back to pumping milk....

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4273712.gif]

Suntan: hmm dunno how to say leh.. from just now till now on off got. i am only waiting for water bag burst... cuz i dunno how to time and see if real. Well at least not like last few time awhile gone. i go slp wait for bag burst, lol.

Miow,

welcome! We have the same gynae n our boys were born on the same day! Were u the lady whom I met in the small room for CTG on the 9th?

I gave birth on 10 July 4.18pm... U?

Michelle,

sorry to hear abt ur plight... If u need professional help, can go KKH. Think it has a help centre for post natal blues...

Think happy and u will be... So try to look at ur BB more and think abt all the happy things regarding BB

Michelle: Dear girl, you're on a dangerous road to depression.. try n pull yourself out of it for the sake of your darling gal. Try and block out all unhappy things and just focus on the fact that every step we take.. even though small steps.. its all for our baby. We need not bother abt anything else.

For fenugreek, many places selling.. can go check any pharmacy or GNC. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ARGH...can't seem to be able to sleep tonite. BB's super active, wondering if it's due to the durians I had after dinner...high sugar content = active BB in tummy? :p

Morning Mummies,

Looking for a great and entertaining toy for your little ones? We have a few brand new sets of bright starts pdts for sale..

This is a great swing for new born...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4274266.jpg]

The InGenuity™ Portable Swing features the innovative TrueSpeed™ Technology, which provides sustained swinging speeds even as baby grows and gets heavier. The swing automatically recognizes baby’s weight and adjusts the swing speed to maintain a consistent swinging motion. With innovative solutions like TrueSpeed™ and on-trend fashion combined with the quick fold-and-go mechanism, this portable swing is the ideal travel companion.

Features and Benefits:

.TrueSpeed™ Technology that maintains 6 swing speeds even as baby grows

.Whisper Quiet™ operation for peaceful swinging

.Comfort Recline™ seat with 2 positions to suit baby’s needs

.Swing Timer has 3 settings: 15, 30, and 45 minutes

.Removable head rest

.Cushioned foot pad and side supports for ultimate comfort

.Removable Toy Bar – pivots back for easy access to baby

.6 Melodies to soothe baby with volume control and auto shut-off

.Machine Washable seat pad and head rest

.5 point Harness keeps baby secure

Weight/Height: Up to 25 lbs

The rest of the pdts as followed:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4274267.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4274268.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4274269.jpg]

For more pdt details, pls refer to http://shop.ebay.com.sg/mave003/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=25

ceres, i bought my bathtub from mothercare, it was 50% off, came with hooded towel, wash mits, a small plastic container for washing face, hair & bum. i can't remember how much i paid for it, less than $50 after the discount.

for cheaper alternative can get from those neighbourhood stores where they sell plastic pails and other stuffs.. less than $10

mine is using the one from my wedding.. the dragon and the phoneix red red colour one for all my kids

Wah...

Coco: Oh i saw it in pink for the 50% off one a set with hooded towal and a dunno wat pail.. Was thinking of buying from mothercare as well but feel abit exp.

Junie: wanted puku from giant but that day i went there they dun have new piece so i didn't buy. Still thinking also there are sizes... dunno wat size to buy also.

Cool: I also wanted to buy from mkt, heard cheap and sama sama just no colour or type to choose maybe later when HB back go check out my mkt got sell or not.

But i confirm buy the support from mothercare for BB lie down when bathing.

ceres: kiddy palace got sell those bathe support net too.. less than $20 i think.. my friend gave me the penguin one...:p.. cute and good to use