(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Jolene

Take care of your health. Then you will have strength to take care of your kids. If you need help for your #1, you can look for me. I will be at cck during weekday, so can help a bit.

Work:

I had finally decided to accept the new offer. So I wont have the leisurely to work at home next year January onwards. Kind of sad, meaning i have less time for my kids. But think of the good side, I wont have to worry about the job insecurity. I am worried because I do not have any tasks these few weeks and was idling around. Just happen that this new company look for me, and was convenient, so have to change now. Initally plan to change mid of next year.

Now I have close to two months of freedom. Really must make use of this times to spend more times with my kids and family.

Cath, me! I don't have Citibank card. Can help me to buy in event if it's cheap? I have pm u my no. Thanks.

BTW, I think one of u guys' PD is in Orchard Paragon, rite? Can let me have the details like Dr name, contact, unit no and operating hrs? My baby like got running nose... thinking of bring him to check.

Friends

U are talking about Dr Low? If so better call to make appt if not waiting time is very long...

Even if is walk in also call to inform them.

Anson International Paediatric & Child Development Centre #13-07 6836 2802 Dr Low Kah Tzay

Thanks cath.. If u checked out e price nx tues le can post here? Hope I've time to go down..

My bb on sleep strike ( is there such a thing?) don't wan to nap!!! Luckily I took zoo leave or my mum will faint!

Jolene, is ur bb better?

jolene,

but @ least your hubby will be overseas for 1mth only right? 1mth is better than 3mth wor.

hope your bb scan will be ok.

peck,

oh well. looks like we are the stern mummies in our little ones' eyes. =p

my hubby rarely scold or beat #1.

cath, can let me know how much is the raycorp? if good price, then can lobang u to help me get it? i dun hv citi tangs card. btw... where do u stay?

sheryl, got gai gai clothes... wear at home lah. then whenever u take pix, will always look so pretty. else like jenn say, when they outgrow it... will be so wasted.

mine always in her white home clothes. so most pix look about the same. haha

zinc... what's zoo leave? :p

My boy dun wanna sleep well for the past two nights. Yesterday was worse. Woke up dunno how many donkey times. I just latch n latch n latch n latch n latch... Until I forgot to clip back my bra. Several times he even cried in his sleep. Sian...

Sheryl, ya just wear any clothes at home. Although I feel wear home clothes is more comfy. Esp the little holes singlets. His 6-9 months rompers r getting short. My mil likes to buy clothes for him. Almost every week she will pass me a shopping bag. I wanna faint, just ask her, is there anything else that she wanna buy for her darling grandson.

Jolene, your mil same age as my mum leh. When I went for widsom tooth extraction, my parents also din wanna help. Say can only help to look after my dog during the surgery. Not even the night before. N ask me to bring my dog home once my surgery finished. We were so angry with them. But still they r my parents afterall, angry angry a day, also wun angry liao. I feel so cheap.

jolene, be strong for ur bb. he will be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cherish, must hv been a bad scare. just monitor to make sure bb's milk intake and all ok and no fever.

for my #1, once she learnt to flip... no more bed for her, including the nights, unless i am always by her side. we bought mattresses to lay on the floor.

kids mimicking us

haha... i had my share of it too. but i had more fun than frustrations. when she starts mimicking me, i'll always say 'C is very naughty' and she will cleverly twist her sentence to tell me 'Mummy is very naughty'. hahaha.

she is 4+ now and has grown out of this... tho she will still parrot me once in a while. so hv fun ya... u will miss it. hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xiao xin... my bb too! usually, in the middle of the night... she will fall asleep while latching. these few nights, no leh. still wide awake and fuss abit while latching. i was wondering if it's another one of the passing phase or problem with my supply [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Zoo leave is ccl.. My ex-p calls it zoo leave! Haha cos u r supposed to use these days to accompany ur kid to e zoo etc to spend quality time..

re: baby signing time

xiao xiin, i am prob getting just vol 1 and 2 first.

bliss, u can get just vol 1 from http://www.lingenius.com/signing-time-baby-signing-time-baby-signing-time-p-660.html or http://www.terrifictikes.com/2010_05_01_archive.html

re: weaning

i just got this book "Top 100 Baby Purees" by Annabel Karmel. just thot to share these 2 things i read in it:

1) vitamin supplements

if your baby is being breast-fed (breast milk doesn't contain enough vitamin D) or is drinking less than 18 ounces of infant formula a day, you should give your baby vitamin supplements from six months to two years of age. ask your pediatrician for advice.

2) introducing solids

it isn't a good idea to delay introducing solids any later than six months. your baby needs to learn how to chew and swallow food, and learning to chew also encourages the development of the muscles that are essential for speech.

hi cath, jolene, brambles, peck,

thanks for ur words. i'm better now. ya, i still hv long way to go =)

cath, how is ur boy? hope he recovers well too. how much is raycop selling? i like to get one too.

yah bliss. I'm referring to Dr Low. Will call to fix appt. Thanks so much[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tywong, i got the book from amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0743289579/ref=oss_product can show u when we meet for lunch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i love avocado with honey and milk too.

from the book: cut a small avocado in half, remove the pit, scoop out the flesh, and mash together with a little of your baby's usual milk. simple as it sounds! serves from 6 months and it is unsuitable for freezing.

xiaoxin,

my bb too!! for the past two nights.. nearly drive me nuts. last night is the worse night for my past 5 mths!!

usual bedtime is 7pm and he woke up at 8.30pm. dozed off in my arms at 9.30pm. woke up after 10 mins. put him down again at 10.30pm woke up after 10 mins. lastly put him down at 12am. slept till 2am, woke up give pacifier, 3am woke up latch, 4am woke up n cry big time until my hb also wake up.

best thing is #1 woke up at 12am cuz of #2 cries.

nowadays, #1 woke up cuz of #2 and #2 woke up cuz of #1. super sian... my dinner takes more than an hour to finish!!

i should learn to let my bb wear gai gai clothes at home! haha! my mom sure got thing to say....

Tigerbaby,

i also have annabel karmel book! but i feel vit not needed. if u go vitakids n find vitamins u realise more vitamin is more suitable for 1 yr old n above. so for a reason i believe babies don't have to take anything extra.

Re BST

Thanks tigerbaby. i've place my order with terrific tikes for vol 1. there is only 2 DVD right ? cause i saw got series 2 from BST offical website. and i'm so confused... i already got vol 2 so no point buying the whole set if the audio CD is nth much..

friends,

no problem... dr low is good.. but not a person full of words.. u ask something he answer something. but i like that he always open doors for patients. haha!

bliss, i guess as long as when we start solid, we feed them well-balanced food can le, just like us adults. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] unless recommended by PD, i also wun want to give unnecessary pills.

for the BST, there are actually a series for adults and another for baby. series 2 is for adults one.

Bliss, signing time has 3 different sets altogether.

(1) baby signing time, for 3 months to 3 yo, 4 vol

(2) signing time series 1, for toddlers, 13 vol

(3) signing time series 2, for toddlers also, 13 vol

I think zoie's suggesstion is to get baby signing time vol 1-2, then can proceed to signing time series 1 (just the first few vol will do) which is more interesting than the baby series.

I think u just get bst vol 1 n with your current bst vol 2, enuf already lor. After bb finish these bst vol 1-2, then u can decide u wanna proceed to bst vol 3-4 or series 1 vol 1-2 ( for toddler).

The cd not much use. Unless u wanna listen to the songs on the car. I think flashcards more useful, mummy can refer to them if we forgot the hand signs. But of cos not necessary lar.

Did I confuse u further? Haha!

Tigerbaby,

Yes agreed!!

Re BST

Got adult one arh?! Haha! Didn't know.. I think quote easy to pick up when watching with bb leh.. Today he can watch more than 15 mins eyes fixed on my lap top. I feel lap top is closer so he can concentrate better. Maybe cuz my tv height is very high so he got to raise his head to watch.

Since he is keen in vol 2 so I order vol 1 again...

Sales

Tml there is a baby warehouse sale. Anyone going?

http://networkedblogs.com/a5wmm

Xiaoxin,

I got it.. I think vol 1 is actually enough already!! Cuz just basic like eat drink sleep is good enough...

After 1 yr old I expect my son to say "eat, milk, water" instead of signing to me.

Vol 2 got more like shoes, socks, cars etc... These words should be express by talking instead of signing... Vol 1 can really aid bb to express their needs which is more important.

At times I do wonder if bb will over rely on signing... My mum even ask me will bb become mute or not if bb dun have the need to talk..Haha!

When I let #1 watch when he is 1yr old already useless cuz he can express himself with some simple words so he dun find a need to rely on signing to me... Or use cry n fuss to get what he wants.. Haha!!

BST:

I think everything in moderation. i have many friends whose kids turn out fine but i also know of one who has to send her daughter to speech therapy cos she refused to talk.

Zoie, oh dear, her daughter watches bst n refuse to talk?

Bliss, my mum also ask me the same thing. I think we must guide the child to verbal expression lor. Like how they start with eating purée to eating chunks then table food. Her babysittee is now 19-20 months, still cannot talk. I always see him $&@#%^*£+{€#( I dun mean vulgar language huh), or point n AHhh non stop. When ppl dun understand him, I can feel his frustration. Usu they only talk at 2 yo right? Other than words like eat, drink, sleep, I think emotion words r also important. Like pain, sad, angry, happy, like, love. then we can know our bb's feelings plus they will know how to express their inner feelings.

Okok, I will just buy bst vol 1 n 2.

Zoie, how u sling your bb out everyday huh? I babybjorn my boy to tiong bahru n my shoulders wanna pi jiak already. I will never do it again. Rather use stroller. Can protect my boy under the hot sun plus can hang my grocery bags.

Bliss, thanks for recommending the kellymom website leh. I read thru it n now feel much more confident in starting solids. Before that I was very lost. I am surprised that there isn't much info to drown me, the info is rather straight forward. Even got a list on the sequence of foods to introduce first. Some if the stuff in kellymom r different from wad I read from my guidebook. Like giving veg or fruits first. Kellymom is very comprehensive n clarify all my doubts! Impressed! Oops.. Cath is salesperson for exersaucer n I become salesperson for kellymom.

Btw hor, I saw two types of oats in ntuc just now. Under the brand "origins". Rolled oats n baby oats. Rolled oats is bigger which is the normal size, n baby oats is much smaller n finer. Which type shd we give?

bliss, after i see the pics of E in the exersaucer, i very gian!!! but hahaa... the one that i rented is coming today.. hopefully my J likes it

Zoie, must queue for how long huh? I wanna rent the jumperoo for my boy to play. Heehee...

Already for two days, got ppl ask if my bb is two months old leh. I think they dunno how to see. But I can't help but feel a bit sad.

if there is stock, dont need to queue...

at how many months can baby play jumperoo?

xiaoxin: dont be sad... baby is the most precious in ur sight, ignore the comments of others. most importantly, baby is healthy!! size dont matters =)

zoie,

that's scary! but then ya everything must moderate lor... i bought wink to learn as well. haha!

hmm some talk really early. but some wait till 2 then open their mouth but doesn't matter as long as they are growing well and active.

my #1 talk at 8 months or so.. he can say mum mum, ball etc.. by 18 mths he can say water, food, toys, play, banana, apple, open etc etc..

but he did slow down abit after 2 years old and pick up again after 2.5 years old.

#1 speak 80% chinese. i speak to him in 2 language... very funny.... i will repeat a same sentence in english n chinese and i realise he learn chi very fast.

by 18 mths he can say wa4 tu2 ji1 and that's his fav. then only until he start cc 2 mths ago he pick up english really fast and speaking in full proper sentences but chi abit lag behind again..

my mum has been nagging me about him speaking eng cuz she thinks eng is important where i think chi is important leh...

babybjorn

this carrier often give backache. and not very good by hanging bb at the crotch. u tried sling ? actually after bb stable can use hip carry is much easier to sling them.

now i try to use ergo more often but if there is a choice i will still prefer stroller... ergo back also will pi jiak! haha! and i prefer bb fall in love in stroller than carrier..

kellymom

that's my fav website and somewhere i refer to when i have problems... they have forum as well and packed with alot of good infos unlike SMH. i remember posting in the forum re bfing when i had #1 and the person in charge of the forum will answer each n everyone qns unlike other forum which is a disccusion type.

so u will start with oatmeal porridge ?

is my first time start with oat also.. #1 takes oat cereal off shelves and i feel like giving something different for #2 since i'm like so free at home. haha.

i think get rolled oats and blend into powder to save the hassle of blending into smooth texture everytime. i'm not sure what is baby oat leh. is meant for baby?

or u can soak oat overnight for better benefits.

read this.. very good infos on oat

http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/baby-oatmeal.html

zoie,

hee! the exersaucer arrived last night.. he played for 10 mins and today he knows how to turn 360 degrees.. he loves it the the max! can stay in there for 20mins. until he tired also won't make noise.

actually i didn't want to buy for him leh but see that he enjoy toys so much then i get him one. intend to rent too. but my hb say just buy n sell also pay abt the price of rental.

am thinking of renting toys. can't afford the space n price for more toys

xiaoxin,

why ppl say ur bb 2 mths old ? cuz small size ?

Zoie, on toyrental.com, where do you click huh? I clicked on baby toy and toy rental, but it brings me to advertisements.

how do you all select toys to buy for your babies?

i feel stumped at times.. there is such a great variety but its not possible to buy all. what are some that I should keep a lookout for? heh i think my boy only has like 5 toys?

Bliss

Nowades kids learn so fast! e is so smart can turn 360 degress already. Yesterday when i cam back from work, my in laws was telling me that K can follow them from living room into bedroom and manoveure out into living room when they go out.. i think he is progressing very fast, so much faster than his Jiejie. Very amazing.. at 5 mths 10 days can orientate himself so well. So happy when i see him doing and displaying new tricks everyday.

some silly qns to ask

oats just buy those quakers type also can right?

puree = blending?

then to blend e oat just use a normal blender? Can use e philips 2 in 1 steamer cum blender? If can then I will go and buy one..

frm e kellymom web it says to intro banana/sweet potato/avocado first, meaning shld nt intro brown rice first? confused!

so it's banana/sweet potato/avocado than oats/brown rice?

aiyoh.. so confusing!

zinc, i also confused abt introducing solids to bb. seem like it's a new thing for us to learn again.

hope mummies here can help and share share the knowledge. Thank you! =)

Zoie, which exersaucer you rented? Ya cool down haha, let him play 1 month first and see if he's still interested. They lose their interest very fast, then you can rent another new toy for him.

Zinc ya so confusing abt what to feed.

I read somewhere that its better NOT to start with sweet food, but fruits are sweet right??? blur..... then chinese aunties tell me chinese babies just need to eat porridge.

tywong: i rented the smartsteps ABC.. not many available now

aiyaaaaa.. i dont think my hubby will let me buy. anyway he is gg infant care soon so wont have that much time to play.. its just at THAT moment of 'gian-ness'

Sheryl,

Im like you but I have too many booties done by my elder relative until last sunday I realised that my bb cant wear it liao and this one is a new pair! cos I only let her wear booties when she goes gai gai.. opps but lucky her clothes most of them still can wear cos she quite small size... hope she wont be small size big foot..

cath

good to hear you have a fantastic mil... I guess in the end all a blessing in disguise if you never keep changing nanny then you wont have the best nanny in the worl dfor your #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cherish

oh dear I hope your bb is okay.. makes me worried too... cos my bed is so high and the floor is marble! yikes

Bliss

the warehouse sale makes me so gian to see see cos so near my workplace.. haiz but I on half day leave so no time to go down liao