(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Oh dear Zoie... How ar? Gotta seal up that tiny opening? Or I lend u my dog for a day? Lolx!

Last night was my turn. Bb keep waking up n waking up in his sleep. For many donkey times. Sigh. How come like that?I buay tahan n let him sleep close right beside me. Finally he stop waking up. N he sleep tummy down all the time.

Cath, my hubby also same as yours. Even with dog only he also dare not dare not drive alone.

Ergo

me a bit gian. Jolene, which is the $60 webby?

Re Cats - Uninvited Guests

Can consider installing a "mesh fence"? Dunno what you call it. My friend has a cat but her place is without window grill and she stays on high floor. She then bought this "mesh fence" and "install" on the window. It "sticks" on the window by means of a magnet. This prevents her cat from "commiting suicide" and in Zoie's case, to prevent uninvited guest?

elise

i don't know when opening.. but shuld b early next yr..

wad happened to our xmas gathering? can start planning again? haha.. jenn can check for the slot soon right? almost a mth before le

fought w stupid hb over the dog again.. arghz

xiaoxin : $60 ergo sounds questionable!! i wont buy it! dont compromise the safety of ur child. there are some imitations of ergo around, as mentioned on official ergo website.

amoroux: do u know where i can get the mesh fence?

Cath, i saw a papa went to fetch his bb alone once when i went to pick up mine. that papa just put bb at his carseat. cool! told my hubby abt it and he straightaway installed carseat in our car. but he will still wait for me to pick up bb together. asked hubby to take cab if he cant cope driving but he can give me lots of nonsense excuses.

xiao_xiin, how much u paid for the exersaucer? and how long can bb use? i dont wish to spend $$ buying then later bb plays awhile and cannot use liao. like the playgym i bought, bb only played once but luckily managed to sold off. i was been nagged though.

Ergo carrier: I also abit gian leh. heeheeh

Cats

i also very very scared of cats. if i see them, i will run away. hubby did ask me before will i dump bb aside when i see cats coming my direction. LOL

xiao_xiin

thanks. wil cont to take doc's medicine n see my progress.

jolene

u also? thanks. let's take care together.

cherish, guys are like that lor.. super dad is very rare! my hubby also same lah.. expect i go to my mil's house everyday to pick bb with him. then when i am at my parents house with bb, he give excuses that my dad is driving me back, so he dont feel the need to go over! kaoz..

amoroux,

then I guess your manduca is the standard ones cos I read there are those limited edition ones that are made in czech republic, but sgp designs are new ones but hmmm didnt like it so I ordered online [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my hubby was asking me how come I didnt consider beco and some japanese brand called femmecarry

cath

if your mil is better at caring for kids think best with her, think all these change in environment can cause insercurity in the baby.. cos my bb seem to recognise homes cos everytime I go to my bro house in 30-45mins she will wail and scream so loud that her face goes red.. really dunno why

jenn,

same lah! my hubby see me using ergo to carry my #2 & he asked i know how to use anot? carry bb until his thighs there red. zz.

ok, i admit i still dun really know how to use it yet. haven't got the chance to view the ergo video.

yaozi,

must take care else when grow old liao, might give more problems.

cath,

dun be sad ok! @ least you know your bb will be in gd hands rather than nanny's.

office rant:

aiyo, these few days my boss's sis is in my office. think its for the whole week. -.-"

can't surf net properly!

Rabbit, i agree with u!! i can take cab home with bb when hubby said he cant make it on time so i just dont understand why he cannot. sometimes hubby tries to be funny by saying he scared lor, wants me ard to boast his guts. dont know want to faint or laugh.

Bb recognising surrounding

Do our bb at this stage start to recognise their surrounding? i'm staying at my mum's plc yesterday and my boy just didnt want to take his evening nap. can see he real tired but kept looking ard. crying on off and i was so tired back from work and pacifying him that my hand gave way when picking him up from rocker chair. luckily he dropped back into the chair. i was so shocked! cant imagine if he fell onto the flr instead.

jusus, i totally agree.. yesterday no choice but to put my bb at my parents house for a day. my bb recognise bed! put her down she cry..

cherish, haha.. what kind of guts he wants?

Cherish,

If don't put baby in car seat then put where? hahaha... sorry ah, I don't mean to be rude. Cos that means I am very cool on a daily basis. Hahaha...

Rabbit

By your definition, my hubby is super Dad then?

He has no problem driving baby on his own. The challenge is driving both my kids alone cos my older boy will "disturb" the younger one as they both sit at the back.

Rabbit,

hahah, i dont know him loh. mine always need to push to do things. wont do it by his own.

Jenn, i have been carrying bb on my lap in car journey all these while. know it's dangerous but hubby just didnt want to install carseat that time. managed to push him to do it when i told him abt the super daddy i saw. at least now bb sits in carseat. Ya, ur hubby is super dad leh!!

Cherish,

Pls don't do that anymore! That's so dangerous!!! Can you imagine what will happen when your hubby suddenly jam brake???

Gotta go. My emperor crying liao.

Jolene

My mum stay at blk 340. Just opposite LOT1. Now i am work at home mother. But I might change my job to full time next year. But my baby will be taken care by my mother and the maid. Recently I noticed the maid keep making my baby sleep. As I work at home, I can still monitor and control her. As my mother house got sarong, so by putting baby in the sarong and shake him, of cos he will sleep lah even if he is not tired. I just say her off this morning as I noticed that everytime i bring him there, the first thing she do is to put him in sarong and shake him to sleep. I told her he just wake up only!! So I carry him off from the sarong and play with him for 20 minutes until he is tired, then put him in sarong. Dun even need to shake and he sleep liao. And after that he wake up by moving his leg, the maid shake him again and wanted to try to put him to sleep again. I told her off again, saying since he wake up already, carry him lah. Again I carry him out and play with him again. Luckily my workload is not that much, so i can still handle a bit and control the maid for putting him to sleep everytime. But If i decided to change job next Jan, I will not be around to monitor and control her.

And every evening time, the maid will try to make him sleep even though he sleep a lot in the afternoon. I am busy handling my elder son for the dinner, so she will help to carry my baby. After passing him to her, in less than 10 minutes, she sure put him to sarong again!! And then heard him cry in the sarong, but she still want to shake him and say he is tired. I so pissed off, telling her so many times already, if he cry, mean he dun wan to sleep. You keep shaking and make him sleep, and finally sleep liao, this is not because he is tired, is because you have make him faint to sleep. So now in the evening, i will avoid passing baby to her. If i passed to her, she try to make her sleep, i will ask my hubby to carry him. If he is tired, of cos i will let him sleep lah. If he is not, why force him to sleep! I know she want to do housework.

Sorry for my long nagging. Should i change my job? If i give up this opportunity, i might not be able to look for such a good job location next time.

Rabbit got to train ur hubby to tc of bb.. Like mine I also train him to bathe feed n entertain bb.. N to drive bb alone.. Cos I nd a break too!

Cherish, jenn

Until today I carry bb too... My #1 nv sit in car seat before..

Is really dangerous but then we can't use a car seat so no choice got to carry.. Now #1 just put on seat belt and me carrying #2.

SCRAPPERS!

I'm doing another round of spree for yourscrapbookstash.com with 25% dis and free int shipping to SG...

Do let me know if keen!

bluey

thanks. will take more care now. no joke. TCM quite slow in healing. I'm insisting not to take any pain killers.

Rabbit

got a feeling your hubby is making excuses. U have to train him to let him gain confidence so that he can be with bb alone. Think like tt my hubby also super dad cos he can handle bb if I'm not around at all, forever.

Too bad still back pain else dun mind meeting up.

limbox

from the way you describe, maybe your maid dun know what to do if bb's awake? She dun know how to play with bb, is it? That's why she'll automatically want bb to sleep when got the chance. U might wan to guide her what to do when he's awake so she'll know?

Bb recognising surrounding

my bb can do that liao. he'll look around at nanny's place when we bring him over on sun nite n cry when we left. heartbreaking.

Also brought him over to ah ma's place while he's sleeping. When he woke up, he look around the place and cry. Mayb cos not his house.

Bliss

I read that it's worse if carrying bb on lap in car. Mayb put on carrier or sling?

Yaozi,

Ya at times I use sling... Normally I dun put him on my lap. Got to hold with 2 hands... Normally bb n me take cab more often so in cab also got to hand carry...

Limbox, maybe your maid dunno wad her priorities r? Tell her baby first, housework second? She's not that bad actually, the fact that she shakes bb to sleep is not bcos she's lazy but is bcos she wants to do housework. Probably just need to make her understand your priorities for her. I also only let bb sleep when he is tired. Usu dun have to shake much, bb will sleep by himself. But these two days he gets frustrated easily, I suspect due to teething. Saw one more tooth bud on his upper gum yesterday. So poor thing...

As for the job thingy, maybe u can get your maid to jot down the nap times n milk times like wad the rest suggested before? Install webcam at home to monitor.

Jenn, I think your hubby is a good dad. Unlike most of our hubbies who rely on us to tc of bb, your hubby can decide how he wants to bring up his children. Which is very very good. My hubby only say say, wad use confucious method la, but it's all talk no action.

Cherish ya bb can recognize surrounding. When we come

back from outside, I can actually feel my bb relax. He knows he is at home. Told my hubby we need to bring him out more often bcos i feel he very suaku. He agrees but also never do. Only like to ask his parents to come over so that the both of us can go out alone. I need to brainwash him more. There is a kid's birthday party this sat n he simply wants to ask his parents to come over while we attend by ourselves. Sigh....

Cherish, exersaucer can use until bb can stand by himself. The instruction says 9 months. Dun buy the triple fun which can be converted to activity table bcos bb will be not be interested in it anymore by then n also the activitis r not suitable for smaller babies bcos they need to cater to the older babies needs. My boy very funny today. He wants to put the toys in his mouth but they r too far away for his mouth thus make him very pek cek. I think if u dun mind, u can bring bb to taka to try out the set first before buying. However, they will need some time to warm up before they realize the fun of being in one.

Limbox

No one can make the decision for you. You have to work out what's more impt for you and your family and decide from there. I dare say your current work arrangement is a dream for quite a few mothers - able to work and yet be able to keep an eye on the maid and play with your baby between pockets of time you may have during your work day. So have a think about what exactly is bothering you about your current job and try to work from there. You're right that once you give up this current job, it might be next to impossible to find another one with such a good arrangement. After all, Singapore is not that adv when it comes to pro-family work arrangements for Mommies. But, if you are unhappy with your job, that's also a major push factor. Good luck in your decision making! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bliss

Oh... It's so dangerous not to have both your kids in the car seat. No matter how tight you hold them, if the driver jam the brakes hard, the force will throw your kids forward. I urge you to put your kids in a car seat for their safety. And if they don't learn to be in one now, when they're older, it'll be harder to get them to stay in one. A child is old enough to be without a child seat when they're about 8yo, usually about 1.2m cos then the car seat will not strangle them at the neck area as they are tall enough.

my hubby qualifies to be a super dad too! lolz... every morning he will drop me off to work first before driving my gal to infant care. sometimes he will pick my gal up and drive home w/o me. of coz he has had his encounters where my gal cried all the way in the car. ;p

pls start to train ur baby to sit in car seat lest ur car seat becomes a white elephant!

I had mentioned to her many times not to keep making him sleep. She will say he tired liao etc. Sometimes she want to keep to her routine. So by making him sleep, she can do her things, especially in the evening. I had told her try not to make him sleep in the evening unless he is tired. But up to now, sometimes she just bring him to the sarong. I am not the employer of the maid, so difficult to really control her.

She always complain on my mother as my mother pick on her and scold her for little things. She dunno how to say sorry when she do wrong. Sometime when i say her, she will yaya and tell me that he sleep liao. haha. I told her he of cos will sleep after so much shaking. He faint instead of sleep. hahahaa

Jenn,

I bought car seat! I know the safety of it but cannot fit it! My hb drove lorry lor... Even booster seat also cannot fit..

So daddy got to be extra careful... We hardly go out together too... At least #1 on seat belt (waist seat belt) so I'm not so worried...

limbox,

hmm, like some mummies mentioned, maybe your maid need to do housework, that's why "no time" to entertain your bb?

does your mother knows about your concern?

what i tell my maid is tend to my boys first then housework.

It's been a while since I 'contribute'! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BB is 19+weeks old, @ 7.9kg 68cm. PD mentioned his growth is good though I shared about his dislike in taking milk. He just done with his 3 vaccines (6-in-1, Prevenar, Rotarix) yesterday morning. All was well though temp started to hover around 37.5 (axillar) after 12 hours. Still monitoring as of now...

It was great as I used Medisave to pay for the Prevenar (Pneumoccocal) and OCBC CDA for the 6-in-1, Rotarix & PD charges. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

limbox,

My helper will place BB in rocker while she work on her chores. BB will either play with his teethers/cloth books or he will 'admire' the helper's actions/movements around the area. I did highlight that she has to do CHECKS on and off, to make sure he is within her sight. She cun walk off and leave him alone.

Perhaps you can look at your bb feeding schedule and try to plan his daily schedule (includ. feeding/nap time). I am looking to do that soon too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Our Bb nw can take car seat? The car seat last them till 8? It's a law for car seat izzit?

I have e infant seat but din use!! =(

Missbluey, that the thing. Cos I have no control over the maid. I cant tell her not to do housework. If she no do, will ganna scolded by my mother. I just nagging, so far no major issue on the maid, just that I dun like her to keep making him sleep, so will have to keep nagging at her. hahahaha.

Jenn, for my current job, is very task oriented, it is actually quite good for me as i can juggle between work and family. But recently my project have been cancelled. and I have no task at the moment, and heard that there is an re-org. In term of long term stability, changing job is a need. Initally want to wait for one more year until my baby grow bigger, so that i can spend more time in his development. But just happen that this another full Time job opportunity looking for me, that why wanted to change now. As I am working in engineering field, it is quite difficult to find job if the economy is bad. So I dun get this job first, I worry that once i lost job, i might not be able to get job easily. Currently I more like a SAHM then a WAHM. cos i really got nothing to do, so a bit worrying. A lot of people will envy me now as I still get my paid and i can spend time with my kids. If i dun change job,more difficult for me to change when i grow older. People tends to look for fresh people than old woman likes me.

bliss

sounds dangerous. try 2 sit behind the driver in the cab if holding bb? even though we normally get in from the left side else very very dangerous. When I know the force of the break will cause bb to "fly" more if we're holding to him without support, I make sure carrying bb in carrier and put on seat belt over it as well.

Oh, didn't know kids hv 2 b in car seat till 8 years old. Like so long.

xiao_xiin, thx! go taka to try? doubt hubby wants to go orchard coz he always complain he gets headache when see many ppl. hmm, i think i saw an exersaucer in first few years at KKH. proabably will go there since nearer to me too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bliss, i also feel it's dangerous to carry bb in our laps in car. encountered few occasions when hubby braked suddenly and bb and i were threw forward slightly. luckily i held him tight tight. thus i tend to be super alert in car journey too.

My Hubby is a super dad too! He can do all that I do (diaper change/bathe/feed/entertain/put bb to sleep - though not as fast as I can put bb to slp) and he readily does them. Really gives me a break when he is around. But sometimes I try not to ask him to do too much as well cos I know he needs rest and his own 'ME-time' after work.

Haaa .. And during my initial breastfeeding days, he was my lactation consultant cos I couldn't latch baby properly on my own n he had to help me. I remembered I was so helpless once when he went out to run an errand n it was near feeding time, so scared he won't be back in time to help me latch baby. Haaaa

Kudos to him, he deserves some recognition

Cherish, rabbit, yes it's impt to 'train' Hubby else next time u will suffer. Luckily my Hubby is still quite hands on , can change , bathe e babies just that he is quite a poor entertainer. Boring engineer.haha . I can leave him at home w my 2 kids for e morn n afternoon he can bathe them n even do e laundry but of cause cannot expect him to tabao food n feed my ger for lunch or dinner. But at least he can handle

their basic needs i am happy Liao else I can't even have

some free time, if he always go running for his mum w 2 kids

when I nd to go out I will feel paiseh to go out too.

So for ur own freedom.. Train him now else he will take it for granted. :p

Cherish

Aiyo very dangerous. Are u too tired? Must tc o! I'm going to orchard later on, will check out how much is the exersaucer for u. Taka got free delivery if over $200, I think. Robinson has the tea time exersaucer if u want. During cardmembers discount can get 20-30% off $199. Pretty good deal. I wanted to get mega splash exersaucer, think is the xiao xiin's one. But Robinson sold out already.

Bliss

If u r thinking of getting the bright starts bounce about activity centre, Robinson selling at $229. I agree with xiao xiin not to get triple fun. In fact if want to get better get soon else later baby outgrow it fast.

Jenn

My hubby not scared when he cries but he'll become v v pek chek. Then I think I'm the one to be stress cos he'll want to quickly rush to his destination n drive v fast. V hazardous right? I'll tell him, it's ok baby cries. Just relax.

Hope

Must install infant or car seat cos it's safer to put them in the car seat than carrying them. Cos if hubby / driver e brake, can flank forward or hurt bb's back / neck.

cath, r u the one coordinating on the raycop? i just went tangs on mon. the new model is out at $399. the old model now selling at $349. u know when will be tangs' sales?

Cath,

Kiddy palace sell too... But then I'm looking for second hand cuz after this I'm not having 3rd one already. Hb sure disagree to buy new one since this kind of things is extra and doesn't last...

Car seat

There's no car seat that can last from infant to 8yo lah. Must change when baby is older lor. Most infant car seat can last till about 2-3 yo. Then change to booster seat. Think the traffic law is 7-8yo but really depends on your child. Big sized one maybe can remove carseat earlier.

Bliss

Maybe like what yaozi suggests, sling your baby cos holding him with hands is of not much use. Make sure your sling is the sturdy type not the clothe sling. When jam brake hard, the force can be very strong.

Cath

Yah, tell your hubby don't pek chek. Take it as baby is singing. Safety 1st.

Hubby

Actually other than the annoying habit of going drinking even when son is sick and his twice a year golf trip, my hubby is a very good dad. My older boy loves his daddy. My hubby will play and really entertain the kids. When I am tired, he will tell my boy not to disturb mommy and he even bathe the baby to let me sleep in. He just does things really slow cos he's not familiar with the "process". Thus my baby will sometimes bully him by struggling a lot and yelp. My hubby's main job on the weekend is to entertain my older boy so that I concentrate on the baby and rest/ recuperate for the week. So kudos to him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

zinc/yaozi/genice, my hubby still ok lah.. mai haim too much.. because i have a fussy bb lor.. my hubby used to feed her.. but now with the bottle fuss, is difficult even for me. but he is a good entertainer lah. my gal 'talks' to him more than me lor. *jealous* i also hope i can pass back the feeding to him.. with my bb like that, is really difficult.

cath, thanks alot! yep, i was very tired and pek chey from bb crying yesterday. hadnt take my bath, bottles not sterilised yet, water not boiled too. but after his fall, i sort of 'waken up'.. told myself cool down, nvm.. settle bb first.

really feel like buying the exersaucer for bb but i need to come out a reason first else confirm will kena nag again. LOL

hi ladies..

am on leave tis 2 days coz bb went for 3-in-1 jab at polyclinic today. she's nw 6.81kg at 19wks+. has scheduled her pneumococcal n rotavirus 2nd dose next thur but just nw the polyclinic nurse said each dose of pneumococcal shd be 2mrhs apart, not one mth apart fm the 1st dose. anyone can advise? the pneumococcal my gal took was the new type synflorix (spelling unsure).

xiao xiin hw come ur bb so fast 2nd lvl alr? he's v tall? mine still using 1st lvl leh.. but mine is frm safety 1st..

cherish, it's useful! buy it! can train coordination and strengthen waist muscles [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rabbit, my boy also 'jump' and laugh when he sees my hubby coming home.. sigh..

U gers r making me green with envy. Esp jenn n Zoie. My hubby can do change diaper, bathe bb, bottle feed, freeze milk, wash n sterilize pump, carry bb, shake yaolan, but he's not interested to do. It's attitude problem, not ability. Sigh, dun wanna say anymore. At least like wad bliss says, he is not causing any trouble. N I can see that he looks forward to going home after work (bcos he can drink beer n relax ma).

Genice, my hubby also engineering. Heehee... N we r teachers!

U ppl r really daring! The only car trip we had without car seat is the trip back from hospital. When my mil says no need to buy car seat, bcos bb wun wanna sit in it. I was so angry (was still doing confinement). To think my hubby actually listened to her. My reason is even if bb dun wanna sit in it, we still have to show the TP that we have installed the car sear ma.

Bliss the exersaucer I bot is evenflo mega splash. I'm thinking of renting the jumperoo when my boy is 1-2 months later. Then switch back to exersaucer, to have some variety.

oh bliss, what's e exchange rate? i'll see if there's anything to get [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zoie, so scary about the cat coming in! do you stay at a low floor area? sometimes these cats are very smart, they will know which unit to go to. dunno why! luckily nothing happened to bb. take care

Cath: totally understand your situation. my hubby also. sometimes i go downstairs to buy food on weekends or when sometimes i walk to other places at shopping malls, when i walked back, he gave me a black face and said, why leave bb with him alone? he said he damn worried and scared to handle bb! i find it so funny, why men are like that? walau. woman can be alone with bb, men cannot

Cherish: i tink bb at this stage starts to familirize with their surroundings and familiar faces. whenever i call out to my bb or fetch a toy and play with her. she will react by cooing and making all sorts of sounds and by turning the head to look at me when i do that.

Yaozi: actually TCM is slower, but definitely better than taking western medicine. becos it improves the qi and other stuff and treats the root of the problem.

Limbox: i tink you shouldn't give up your job, since its quite good. slowly train your maid. i find it quite stupid, this is common sense meh, just wake up, how can go to sleep again?? aiyo very funny leh.

Hope: yes its definitely necessary for all bb and children to stay at carseat. better to be safe than to be sorry!

Bluberi, u also took synflorix ar. The new prevenar 13 is already available since oct. Shd have taken that ma. I did my research too early n din re-research before taking the jab. So din know prevenar 13 is already out by oct. Regret big time. But hubby says all the same la.

Zinc, the instructions say cannot let bb stand flat footed on the base. He can do that on the first level, with knees bend somemore! So by right he shd be on the second level, but when I put him on second level, only his tip toes on one foot can touch the base n this makes him pek cek as he can't spin in the seat. So I took the risk n put him on first level, keeping a close eye on him all the time, arbo later the exersaucer may collapse if he stands up n bend forward. Safety issue la. Your Exersaucer sounds taller than evenflo. My boy is not tally leh. He only grew 1cm last month. So sad.

xiao_xiin, yup.. bb took synlorix at healthway clinic. but nw i'm unsure if the 2nd dose shd be 1mth or 2mths apart.