(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

vic ma,

good good. yu ze has chinese reader time daily in cc.

yesterday, i was tell his chinese teacher that he cried when i sent him to berries class. his teacher commented that the whole class don't speak mandarin to her when she first started. now then that they started speaking to her cos she tell them she will tell mommy that they don't speak in mandarin. hahahah.....

Chlosper

Please perservere as my girl only started to be cheerful this week. She was clingy and always whining to the maid....like super glue you know.

Finally she is ok with going to school.

Vic ma

I got similar bra at chinatown for $15!!!

Wondering whether is the same. Is really comfy but those with big boobs will not hold lor.

Maylene

i saw NTUC selling for 3 for $50 similar.

big boob depends how big - B -C still OK. bigger than that i think not so good support - but good for home wear lor a light support bra.

but the shape is not as nice as the pictures i feel. the pictures have ben altered abit perhaps for advertisment purposes

Hi all! Disappeared for a while as flu struck the household. Thankfully things are getting better. Emma is still crying on and off at drop off. Hope she settles in very soon. Heard good things about berries. Any mummies enrolled their tots in berries?

ming8110,

yu xi just started her first berries class last sun. manage to get her in cos gor gor queue for 1 year at bishan and still no place. then they started a brand new class to accomodate those on waiting list and i was offered a slot for gor gor at 845am in bishan. my friend told me they have a new branch at safra toa payoh, so i ask about it and send both at the same time in safra.

looks interesting from her first class. their topic is on cny, so she came back with a plastic plate made '八宝盒'. well since its their very first enrcihment class, both cried like mad and refuse to let me go. end up the teachers there had to carry them into their own class. so super paiseh loh.

Berries is the chain started by tv personality? The lady?? My friend a Chinese teacher featured in good morning sg just joined Pornsak's startup too. But it's at Bukit Timah.

If only last time they teach mandarin so fun! Me is a banana!!!!

I started todS on berries too as he was speaking like a banana. First lesson I was allowed in last week. The topic was about new year. But next lesson I'm not sure if he would go by himself.

So far he's is good in full day cc. Started eating school snacks and lunch. Even dragon fruits. Peer pressure is v effective.

Not sure about kumon. Not too many enrichment I guess..

I'm keeping to berries because dad is too potato too.

hj,

yes, i'm going to keep to berries for at least 1 term before i decide to keep or not later.

i have 2 telling me chinese is yucky and refuse to go for class. too bad, they have to complete at least a term

haha chinese not edible how can be yucky?

lolz.

i like your style Celyn - no nonsense. its a good method to try to adopt too i feel with supplements.

(me is cos i already bot it - u better try few more times!)

hello mummies..

today's hot topic -> ...berries, bananas & 香蕉 ..^_

whhhaha ..ok im like a banana also..but these days i find myself more willing to read & understand 香蕉 stuff more..probably due to pressure from my boy's CC ctr who has Mandarin class factored in in the curriculum...[IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif]

celyn ...hw much are you paying a term for berries? ...haiyo im tinking of enrichment classes for todE but but but still cant get dwn to doing it..lazy mummy here.

Wah banana i like!

Berries - issit a weekly enrichment class? cant seem to find their website. Mimi speaks wif a banana accent too. I tink kids these days super banana! whahaha...But their curriculum sounds fun. Incorporate play wif learning and most impt of all, no homework coz its ultimately the parents who will be completing the assignment..;p

Haha ya my boy will have to stick to it for a term too cos I paid for it already!! Think it's $400 for 12 lessons. TodS class has 5 kids on a weekday night .. He was happy cos I was in the class. Not sure when step out tmr ...

the classes are not bad priced HJ,

the english & chinese speech & drama class we have within school hours (pay extra as its optional), they get service providors to come & conduct the classes. its around $100 a month & $10 disc if u take both english & chinese.

what i feel about such classes is - within the school there is some discrepencies. for eg GYM maybe they cannot get enough to make the class so just one class a week - they have to accomodate the younger students so the older kids very bored with the same simple exercises.

while lang speech & drama classes depends on which teacher u get. - i understand from friends from myolder girl's batch - some teachers are better - they can engage the class. - some cant. & they cannot give u 2 of their best teachers for eg.

so one class will get the better teacher & the other the average teacher.

i found the english class a little messy as even 2 of them in the class very young adults cannot control the class. while the chinese teacher (very strict) can control the class perfect well.

the circulium for the chinese class is a little beefier i feel as #1's pin yin & reading ability has improved alot = together with the usual main teachers she had.

cos stricter & more beefy - she feels its abit more "boring" till the end of the class were there is games.

while she likes english class - cos there is overall fun.

vic ma,

looking at your pricing now, yu ze's enrichment class is cheap then. i sign him up for art and english speech and drama at $200/term.

**Gasps** we are trying to sustain a living yet these kids are continually ripping our livihood apart wif all these enrichment lessons!! how to be SAHM like tat...$%@%$@DJFHKJDH%$!!!!!

my hb was saying hor, at this rate one child $600 a month, $7.2K a yr say start from PG1 18 months times 4.5 yrs - around $30K goes to the CC in the time they spend in the CC.

SCAREY le!

I haven't send my kids to enrichment yet. Dunno what to sen for also. But when they go it will be a skill or sport n not academic type I think. I dunno but I feel my gal already learn very much Chinese from Nursery. But maybe cos my Chinese is super LAN. So a lot of the Chinese stuff she says I don't understand.

Wondering how to delete her singlish tho. Every sentence super singlish.

Maddie

my friend was super siao about correcting prounciation but ended up killed the child's joy to read & took her quite a few months to reverse the damage.

I suppose we can do it slowly ourselves speaking more clearly - i think the superior Singlish English should be fine. lolz.

habits can change with repertition?

I am still waiting for didi to give me more words!!

maddie,

i try not to speak singlish to them. when i hear them saying loh, leh, hai yo. i will tell them not to use it cos its not nice. then i happen to do it and they heard it, they will tell me to stop too and tell me its not nice. then we will just say sorry to each other. its going on quite well.

Yes, on most times, I do try to speak proper English to them. But there are some times I will just lapse into singlish myself. My hb also not helping, and now todM can say ‘wa lau eh’ altho thankfully she prefers my version of ‘oh my goodness’ for now.

Am gearing up to be SAHM without helpers and possibly without childcare for both kids as we are relocating. Any advise for me? I’m super intimidated by the thought of being a DIY parent cum housekeeper 24/7!

Hi Maddie,

Where do u reckon your gal pick up her singlish? My gal's teacher speak proper English to her so all her singlish she picked up from home but nowsadays I watch my language so she doesnt do it anymore.

I know this is not the right forum to ask but the oct 2011 mommies thread is dead so need some advice from you all here. My #2 boy is 15 months old. He cannot talk i.e. no single word with understanding, he babbles his own baby language. He only understands 2 actions - clap hand and high-five. PD told me she will only worry if he cannot speak 1 word with understanding by 18 months. Should I just chill or bring him for further assessment?

Ruru

2nd child just chill.

I tot #2 will be faster since there are elder siblings around + cousins to stimulate his speech - NO just as slow & infact slower.

I feel its a BOY thing. girls tend to pick up speech faster perhaps they are more sensitive & sensory?

i wont really bother if the PD says its ok. then again 18th months if still cannot - as long as there is no ear/listening problem i think already done test whist infant right? should be not a problem as each child develops differently.

yyou might want to play more singing human voiced music to him during the day & speak to him more perhaps - speak slowly to help him maybe grasp the words more?

I feel with #2 we tehn to treat him like baby & talk at him instead of talk to him - that is my GUILT! lolz

i would monitor loosely. no need to panic at this point unless PD says & recommends further tests. ask the pd if at this age even at 18 months will further tests in this area scare the child or not too. (speech i think maybe still ok - my poor boy kena the skin prick test - i so xim tia but cos allergy rashed up so many times even swelling bo bian had to diam diam go for the test)

this is a bo chap mother's reply - you might want to balance it up with your own intuition as i feel a mother knows & feels bestfor her own kids.

ruru cat,

seriously no single word? bus, ball? he actions all his need?

i'm not sure how serious it is. my boy can understand what we say and follows but he babbles his own baby language too. his speech is very selective. we understand him through his action. my pd then suggest to give him speech theraphy if he doesn't speak by 2 years old. her advise is to 'force' him to speak up to get his needs/want. tell us not to give him through his action. things get better when he goes to cc at 18 months. during his cc time, teacher also understand him through his action and he slowly speak up. his speech is still not as good as mei mei who is 2 years younger.

http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/7939847.html?1358528864

i want to try to hot Treatments for tummy. not sure if its the same but i saw somewhere after 6 ampoules can reduce tummy by around 3cm? give & take this as the best possible results & say maybe every box 10 pcs can reduce 1 inch i think i quite happy le lolz!

anyone wants to share 1-2 boxes with me? i dont mind having 3-4 boxes. thiking of getting hot ones for myself for tummy (flabby la & for arms/thighs they recommend the cold version) i want to buy a 2kg dumbell for my arms instead.

I know cos its a liquid - to speed up & max the use best to wrap with cling wrap after you apply if you bother.

Hi Celyn,

Yah, no single word at 15 months old. He tells us what he wants with his gestures and actions.

Hi Vic Ma,

Yah, boy usually pick up language skill slower than girl. Something to do with brain development. Yah, worried but not sure want to push him as sometimes push also no use. Haiz.... Worried.

ruru

& they dont care.

boys usually more carefree. they dont even bother with it.

but until all peers already talking then he also not talking - what i experienced is frustration cos he could not communicate what he wants. CC is a good cure pill for all these. #2 after 1 yr then start to talk more - still words & starting phrases. he went in around 18 months while jie jie went in 2.5 yrs old - within 6 months alot more words. jie jie already short phrases when she went in. NOW talktative!!!!!!! have to separate from her buddy in talking crime during class.

ruru cat,

you have plans to send him to cc? maybe you monitor till 2 years old bah if you think you can tahan it. try to 'force' him to talk and see if it works.

Ruru: I would think that she picks it up at home… she is quite perceptive and listens to when hb and I speak to each other too and she will repeat what we say like a parrot. Sigh, guess we shd stop singlish. We will be moving to ang mo country and I worry that no one will understand her if she does get a place at nursery there. My boy is now 12+ months and can only say one word with meaning. Mum mum… he just started saying mama, and I like to think he knows what it means. The rest is just baby talk. When he does want something, his word to us will be ‘EH!’ Def slower than his jie jie, but I’m chilling like vic ma. 15 months is really not time to panic yet. See pd also they will just monitor.

maddie/ruru

you think classmates too?

since our kids might be singlishing away - the more the merrier & you know these kids can talk non stop & they are together so many hrs a day lor

Maddie - envy envy...SAHM! my dream but can only remain a dream [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]....my gal not only speaks singlish but also with an indonesian accent ...*faintz* no prizes frm guessing frm who lor. My #2 can also call mi "mama" when she starts crying..hahaha...of coz i dun believe she can tok oredi but jus tat she alwasy calls mama wen she is fussing or crying.

Rurucat - i tink ur boy at only 15 mo stil has much room for improvement. I read if by 18 mo, cant say a word then can bring for assessment (like wat ur pd advised). Also, if he understds wat u're saying and he can articulate wat he wants by pointing or showing then he's absolutely fine.So prob u wanna wait till 2 yo then if stil no progress then can seek alternative advice? I noe in gen boys really abit slower in speech BUT once they start they cant stop toking..heheheh

Hi sg_sc,

Yah, I hope so too. Keeping my fingers crossed. Haiz....will update all when the magic moment comes and my little prince decides to open his golden mouth!d

Sgsc: yup, am trying to be positive about it. I realize that todM naughty behaviour is half contributed by her didi cos she will want whatever he has or is going to have and that causes me a lot of headache. I purposely limited contact between my kids and my maid so that they would not end up speaking with Filipino accent and suffer from separation issues if we decided to send her back at any time. Good news is that tho they are both happy when she looks after them, my gal so far has no Filipino accent and when she went home for 2 weeks, she totally did not ask where Aunty went.

Vic ma: anyway when we go away to ang mo land, NO ONE will speak to her in Singlish, except prob hubby and me. So we will really know whose fault it is if they continue speaking singlish.

maddie

lolz!! that's a good one!

Celyn

my #2 1st call is jie jie i so sad!! i cannot recall when but so sad its not daddy or mummy.

i lost my 1st place!!